

## Rhode Island Department of Revenue Division of Taxation

ADV 2018-08 TAX AMNESTY ADVISORY FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS FEBRUARY 8, 2018

## One week left until amnesty deadline

All amnesty-related filings and payments are due on February 15, 2018

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The deadline for Rhode Island's state tax amnesty program is one week away. Filings and payments are due on or before February 15, 2018.

"That means taxpayers have only one week remaining to take advantage of the amnesty program's benefits," said Rhode Island Tax Administrator Neena S. Savage, who oversees the Division of Taxation.

"If you pay what you owe in back taxes, we will eliminate all penalties and erase 25 percent of the interest you owe," she said. "So now is the time to step forward, clean your slate, and get a fresh start," she added.

For the first two full months of amnesty, through January 31, 2018, the amnesty grand total – in other words, the total amount of tax and reduced interest submitted with amnesty returns – is more than \$9.1 million.

## FOR MORE INFORMATION

- Details of amnesty including forms, frequently asked questions (FAQs), and other information are on the agency's tax amnesty website: <a href="www.TaxAmnesty.ri.gov">www.TaxAmnesty.ri.gov</a>.
- Call the Division's amnesty phone bank at (401) 574-8650 to get general amnesty questions answered. (For taxpayer-specific questions involving amnesty for example, a taxpayer wants to know about his or her specific account balance, or which returns have not been filed -- call the Collections section at (401) 574-8941.) For hours, location: <a href="http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/">http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/</a>.
- Send an email to the Division's amnesty team: Tax.Amnesty@tax.ri.gov.

THE RI STATE TAX AMNESTY PROGRAM FOR INDIVIDUALS AND BUSINESSES DEC. I, 2017 - FEB. 15, 2018

