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DECISION 

I. INTRODUCTION 

The above-entitled matter came for hearing pursuant to Orders to Show Cause, Notice of 

Pre-Hearing Conference and Appointment of Hearing Officer ("Notice") both issued on March 

3, 2015 to the above-captioned taxpayer ("Taxpayer") by the Division of Taxation ("Division"). 

The matters are consolidated. A hearing was held on May 18, 2015. The Division was 

represented by counsel. No one appeared for the Taxpayer. The Taxpayer did not contact either 

the undersigned or the Division. The Taxpayer received notice of the hearing.1 As the Taxpayer 

received notice of the hearing, the undersigned held the hearing. The Division rested on the record. 

II. JURISDICTION 

The Division has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-1-1 et seq., 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20-1 et seq., Division of Taxation Administrative Hearing Procedures, 

Regulation AHP 97-01, and the Division of Legal Services Regulation I Rules of Procedure for 

Administrative Hearings. 

1 A letter was sent to Taxpayer on April 9, 2015 notifying the Taxpayer of the hearing date after the Taxpayer did 
not appear at the pre-hearing conference. 



III. ISSUE 

Whether the Taxpayer owes the assessment issued by the Division in relation to cigarette 

and other tobacco products tax and if so, what should be the sanction. 

IV. MATERIAL FACTS AND TESTIMONY 

Tax Investigator, testified on behalf of the Division. He testified that 

the Taxpayer holds a cigarette dealer's license ("License") and a permit to make sales at retail. 

See Division's Exhibits C (sales permit) and D (License). He testified that he is responsible for 

cigarette tax compliance inspections and he inspected the Taxpayer on December 2, 2014. He 

testified that he seized eleven (11) packs of Newport cigarettes since eight (8) packs had no 

Rhode Island tax stamps and three (3) packs had counterfeit Rhode Island tax tamps. He 

testified that he also seized "other tobacco products" as the Taxpayer did not have invoices on­

site as required by statute to indicate where the items where purchased. See Division's Exhibit E 

(seizure report for cigarettes; seizure report for other tobacco products). 

Revenue Agent, testified on behalf of the Division. She testified that 

based on the two (2) seizure reports, she performed an audit for the contraband cigarettes and the 

other tobacco products and issued and calculated the tax and the penalty due. See Division's 

Exhibits E (seizure reports); and F (audit worksheets for cigarette tax and other tobacco 

products). She testified that based on her audit review, a Notice of Deficiency was issued for the 

cigarette tax and penalties due and a Notice of Deficiency was issued for the other tobacco 

product tax and penalty due. See Division's Exhibit G (the two (2) Notices of Deficiency). She 

testified that Notice of Suspension was also issued for 60 days because the Taxpayer had been 

previously suspended for 30 days for cigarette tax violations. 
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V. DISCUSSION 

A. Legislative Intent 

The Rhode Island Supreme Court has consistently held that it effectuates legislative 

intent by examining a statute in its entirety and giving words their plain and ordinary meaning. 

In re Falstaff Brewing Corp., 637 A.2d 1047 (R.I. 1994). If a statute is clear and unambiguous, 

"the Court must interpret the statute literally and must give the words of the statute their plain 

and ordinary meanings." Oliveira v. Lombardi, 794 A.2d 453,457 (R.I. 2002) (citation omitted). 

The Supreme Court has also established that it will not interpret legislative enactments in a 

manner that renders them nugatory or that would produce an unreasonable result. See Defenders 

of Animals v. Dept. of Environmental Management, 553 A.2d 541 (R.I. 1989) (internal citation 

omitted). In cases where a statute may contain ambiguous language, the Supreme Court has 

consistently held that the legislative intent must be considered. Providence Journal Co. v. Rodgers, 

711 A.2d 1131 (R.I. 1998). 

B. Relevant Statutes 

R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-122 imposes a tax on cigarettes sold. R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-13 

provides that a tax at the same rate as RI. Gen. Laws § 44-20-12 is imposed on unstamped 

cigarettes as follows: 

Tax imposed on unstamped cigarettes. - A tax is imposed at the rate of one 
hundred seventy-five (175) mills for each cigarette upon the storage or use within this 
state of any cigarettes not stamped in accordance with the provisions of this chapter in 
the possession of any consumer within this state. 

2 R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-12 states as follows: 
Tax imposed on cigarettes sold. - A tax is imposed on all cigarettes sold or held for sale in the 

state. The payment of the tax to be evidenced by stamps, which may be affixed only by licensed 
distributors to the packages containing such cigarettes. Any cigarettes on which the proper amount of 
tax provided for in this chapter has been paid, payment being evidenced by the stamp, is not subject to 
a further tax under this chapter. The tax is at the rate of one hundred seventy-five (175) mills for each 
cigarette. 
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R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-33 provides as follows: 

Sale of unstamped cigarettes prohibited. - No distributor shall sell, and no 
other person shall sell, offer for sale, display for sale, or possess with intent to sell 
any cigarettes, the packages or boxes containing which do not bear stamps evidencing 
the payment of the tax imposed by this chapter. 

R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-37 provides as follows: 

Seizure and destruction of unstamped cigarettes. - Any cigarettes found at any 
place in this state without stamps affixed as required by this chapter are declared to be 
contraband goods and may be seized by the tax administrator, his or her agents, or 
employees, or by any deputy sheriff, or police officer when directed by the tax 
administrator to do so, without a warrant. Any cigarettes seized under the provisions 
of this chapter shall be destroyed. The seizure and/or destruction of any cigarettes 
under the provisions of this section does not relieve any person from a fine or other 
penalty for violation of this chapter. 

R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-40.1 provides in part as follows: 

Inspections. - (a) The administrator or his or her duly authorized agent shall 
have authority to enter and inspect, without a warrant during normal business hours, 
and with a warrant during nonbusiness hours, the facilities and records of any 
manufacturer, importer, distributor or dealer. 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20-13 .2 applies to "other tobacco products" and provides as follows: 

Tax imposed on smokeless tobacco, cigars, and pipe tobacco products. - (a) A 
tax is imposed on all smokeless tobacco, cigars, and pipe tobacco products sold or 
held for sale in the state by any person, the payment of the tax to be accomplished 
according to a mechanism established by the administrator, division of taxation, 
department of administration. Any tobacco product on which the proper amount of 
tax provided for in this chapter has been paid, payment being evidenced by a stamp, 
is not subject to a further tax under this chapter. The tax imposed by this section shall 
be as follows: 

(1) At the rate of eighty percent (80%) of the wholesale cost of cigars, pipe 
tobacco products and smokeless tobacco other than snuff. 

(2) Notwithstanding the eighty percent (80%) rate in subsection (a) above, in 
the case of cigars, the tax shall not exceed fifty cents ($.50) for each cigar. 

(3) At the rate of one dollar ($1. 00) per ounce of snuff, and a proportionate tax 
at the like rate on all fractional parts of an ounce thereof. Such tax shall be computed 
based on the net weight as listed by the manufacturer, provided, however, that any 
product listed by the manufacturer as having a net weight of less than 1.2 ounces shall 
be taxed as if the product has a net weight of 1.2 ounces. 

(b) Any dealer having in his or her possession any tobacco, cigars, and pipe 
tobacco products with respect to the storage or use of which a tax is imposed by this 
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section shall, within five (5) days after coming into possession of the tobacco, cigars, 
and pipe tobacco in this state, file a return with the tax administrator in a form 
prescribed by the tax administrator. The return shall be accompanied by a payment of 
the amount of the tax shown on the form to be due. Records required under this 
section shall be preserved on the premises described in the relevant license in such a 
manner as to ensure permanency and accessibility for inspection at reasonable hours 
by authorized personnel of the administrator. 

( c) The proceeds collected are paid into the general fund. 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20-8 provides in part as follows: 

Suspension or revocation of license. - The tax administrator may suspend or 
revoke any license under this chapter for failure of the licensee to comply with any 
provision of this chapter or with any provision of any other law or ordinance relative 
to the sale of cigarettes; and the tax administrator may also suspend or revoke any 
license for failure of the licensee to comply with any provision of chapter 13 of title 
6. 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20-51.1 provides as follows: 

Civil penalties. - (a) Whoever omits, neglects, or refuses to comply with any 
duty imposed upon him/her by this chapter, or does, or cause to be done, any of the 
things required by this chapter, or does anything prohibited by this chapter, shall, in 
addition to any other penalty provided in this chapter, be liable as follows: 

(1) For a first offense in a twenty-four month (24) period, a penalty of not 
more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or not more than five (5) times the retail 
value of the cigarettes involved, whichever is greater, to be recovered, with costs of 
suit, in a civil action; 

(2) For a second or subsequent offense in a twenty-four-month (24) period, a 
penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or not more than twenty-five 
(25) times the retail value of the cigarettes involved, whichever is greater, to be 
recovered, with costs of suit, in a civil action. 

(b) Whoever fails to pay any tax imposed by this chapter at the time 
prescribed by law or regulations, shall, in addition to any other penalty provided in 
this chapter, be liable for a penalty of not more than five (5) times the tax due but 
unpaid. 

( c) When determining the amount of a penalty sought or imposed under this 
section, evidence of mitigating or aggravating factors, including history, severity, and 
intent, shall be considered. 
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B. The Taxpayer Owes the Tax Assessed 

It is undisputed that the Division seized 11 cigarette packs for which Rhode Island tax 

had not been paid. None of the cigarette packs had Rhode Island tax stamps. R.I. Gen. Laws § 

44-20-13 provides that tax is imposed on unstamped cigarettes so that the Division properly 

assessed tax on those 11 cigarette packs. 

It is undisputed that the Taxpayer was unable to provide invoices to demonstrate that the 

Taxpayer had paid tax on the seized other tobacco products. R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-13.2(b) and 

Rule 8 of the Division's Tax on Other Tobacco Products Regulation - OTP 14-01 ("OTP 14-

01 ") require that other tobacco products' dealers3 keep on-site complete and accurate records of 

all tobacco products purchased and those records must contain the date and identity of the person 

selling the tobacco, the distributor license, the dealer's identity, etc. Rule 10 of the OTP 14-01 

provides that any other tobacco products that are possessed, stored, retained, or otherwise 

brought in the State in contradiction of R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-13.2 and said regulation shall be 

considered untaxed contraband. In this matter, the Taxpayer failed to have the records on-site as 

required by statute and regulation so that the other tobacco products were considered contraband 

pursuant to Rule 10 as the other tobacco products were being possessed, stored, and retained in 

the State in violation of the statute and the regulation. R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-13.2 provides for 

the amount of tax that is assessed on other tobacco products and Rule 11 of OTP 14-01 provides 

that the Division shall issue a Notice of Deficiency for the amount of tax due on seized 

contraband and that a penalty may be imposed for the failure to pay tax on contraband other 

tobacco products. Therefore, the Division properly assessed the tax owed on the other tobacco 

products. 

3 The Taxpayer is included in the definition of dealer for the regulation as a seller of other consumer products to a 
consumer of other tobacco products. 
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C. What are the Appropriate Penalties 

R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-51.1 was amended effective June 23, 2014. It now differentiates 

for penalties for the first offense and for a second or subsequent offense within 24 months. Thus, 

for a first offense within 24 months, R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-51(a)(l) provides that a penalty of 

not more than $1,000 or five (5) times the retail value of the cigarettes involved, whichever is 

greater, shall be imposed. R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20-5l(a)(2) provides that if there is a second 

· offense or subsequent offense within 24 months of the first offense, a penalty of not more than 

$5,000 or not more than 25 times the retail value of the cigarettes involved whichever is greater 

shall be recovered.4 The prior law set the penalty at $1,000 or five (5) times the retail value of 

cigarettes. The new law differentiates on first and second and subsequent offenses within 24 

months and now provides that the penalty be not more than a certain amount. R.I. Gen. Laws § 

44-20-51.l(b) also provides that another penalty based on the tax due shall be imposed and that 

this penalty not be more than five (5) times the tax due. The prior R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20-

51.1 (b) provided that the penalty was to be five (5) time the tax due. 

Since the new statute is now providing that penalties be calculated as "not more than" 

rather than the old statute that mandated a specific penalty, the new law added subsection ( c) 

which provides that when determining the penalty to be imposed, mitigating and aggravating 

factors such as history, severity, and intent shall be considered. Thus, the statute envisions some 

kind of progressive discipline based on the first offense and the second and subsequent offenses 

with the penalties becoming greater based on aggravating factors. The statute provides a 

standard penalty for the first offense - not more than $1,000 or not more than five (5) times the 

retail value of the cigarettes, whichever is greater. Thus, if the value of the cigarettes totaled 

4 Thus, if there is a violation on January 1, 2010 and there had been no violations in the preceding 24 months, that 
violation would be a first offense in 24 months. If there was another violation on January 1, 2013, again that would 
be the first offense within 24 months. 
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$100, the penalty for the first offense would be not more than $1,000 as that is greater than $500. 

However, subsection ( c) provides that aggravating factors and mitigation factors to be 

considered. Thus, the higher penalty would be for those with aggravating factors and a lower 

penalty for those with mitigating factors. For the second and subsequent offenses within 24 

months, the statute again sets a standard penalty . and again provides for mitigating and 

aggravating factors to be considered. However, second and subsequent offenses within 24 

months already would have an aggravating factor as there would now be a history of violations. 

The Notice of Deficiency issued for the cigarettes seized on December 2, 2014 assessed 

the Taxpayer the tax owed and penalties pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §44-20-51.l(a)(2) and (b) 

(termed "penalty A" and "penalty B" respectively). 

There was testimony that the Taxpayer's License had been suspended for 30 days for a 

prior cigarette tax violation. There was no testimony as to when this occurred. For a cigarette 

tax violation to be considered a second offense, it is to take place within 24 months of the first 

violation. The Taxpayer's License was issued on April 9, 2013 so that the first violation would 

have taken place sometime between April 10, 2013 and December 2, 2014. See Division's 

Exhibit B (business application and registration for Taxpayer). Thus, it can be concluded that 

the December 2, 2014 violation took place within 24 months of the first violation. Therefore, the 

seizure on December 2, 2014 of the 11 packs is within 24 months of the first violation so is the 

Taxpayer's second violation. 

The testimony was that Penalty A in the amount of was derived from the 

statute and the seizure reports. Penalty A is not to be greater than $5,000 or not greater than 25 

times the retail value for a second and subsequent offense. The audit work paper indicated that 

the average retail price for the 11 packs of cigarettes was See Division's Exhibit F. 
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25 times equals The penalty imposed is The Division may have 

based its decision to go higher than 25 times but lower than $5,000 on the fact it was the second 

offense and only consisted of 11 packs but that three (3) of those packs had counterfeit tax 

stamps and not just other state tax stamps. The Division argued that a penalty should be imposed 

as this was a second offense. A history of violations is an aggravating factor under the statute. It 

is unclear if any other aggravating or if any mitigating factors were considered in calculating 

Penalty A. However, it is within the range for a second or subsequent offense. 

The Notice of Deficiency for the December 2, 2014 seizure of other tobacco products 

assessed the Taxpayer the tax owed and penalty B. The Division's position is that only the 

statutory Penalty B can be applied to other tobacco products and that position is set forth in Rule 

11 of OTP 14-01. The penalty B assessed by the Division on the other tobacco products was the 

maximum allowed which is 5 times the tax due. 

Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20-8, the Division requested a 60 day suspension of the 

License as this was a second offense since the Taxpayer had a prior 30 day suspension of 

License. 

The Taxpayer did not appear at hearing and did not dispute any of the assessed penalties 

or requested suspension. No reason has been shown to vary the penalties requested by the 

Division. This is a second offense by the Taxpayer. 

VI. FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Unstamped cigarettes and other tobacco products were seized from the Taxpayer 

on December 2, 2014. 

2. The Taxpayer previously violated R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20-1 et seq. within 24 

months prior to December 2, 2014. 
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3. A hearing was held on May 18, 2015. The Taxpayer did not appear. The Division 

was represented by counsel and rested on the record. 

4. The facts contained in Section IV and V are reincorporated by reference herein. 

VII. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

Based on the testimony and facts presented: 

1. The Division has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-1-1 et 

seq. and R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-1 et seq. 

2. The Taxpayer violated R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-1 et seq. on December 2, 2014. 

VIII. RECOMMENDATION 

Based on the above analysis, the Hearing Officer recommends as follows: 

Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-20-1 et seq., RI. Gen. Laws § 44-20-51.1, R.I. Gen. 

Laws§ 44-20-13.2, RI. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-8, the tax owed and penalties were properly assessed 

on the Taxpayer's unstamped cigarettes and other tobacco products as set forth in Division's 

Exhibit G and the License shall be suspended for 60 days starting on the 31st day after the 

execution of this decision. 

Date: tM kl!j Z,{l, 
7 
WI ) ~~c_ 

Catherine R Warren 
Hearing Officer 
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ORDER 

I have read the Hearing Officer's Decision and Recommendation in this matter, and I hereby 
take the following action witl_l regard to the Decision and Recommendation: 

-----Dated: .,,,\0,vf_ 9, '{Dt 5 

✓ ADOPT 
REJECT ---
MODIFY ---

~J MY 
David Sullivan 
Tax Administrator 

NOTICE OF APPELLATE RIGHTS 

THIS DECISION CONSTITUTES A FINAL ORDER OF THE DIVISION. TIDS 
ORDER MAY BE .APPEALED TO THE SIXTH DIVISION DISTRICT COURT 
PURSUANT TO THE FOLLOWING WffiCH STATES AS FOLLOWS: 

R.I. Gen. Laws§ 44-20-48 Appeal to district court. 
Any person aggrieved by any decision of the tax administrator under the 

provisions of this chapter may appeal the decision within thirty (3 0) days thereafter to 
the sixth (6th) division of the district court. The appellant shall at the time of taking 
an appeal file with the court a bond of recognizance to the state, with surety to 
prosecute the appeal to effect and to comply with the orders and decrees of the court 
in the premises. These appeals are preferred cases, to be heard, unless cause appears 
to the contrary, in priority to other cases. The court may grant relief as may be 
equitable. If the court determines that the appeal was_ taken without probable cause, 
the court may tax double or triple costs, as the case demands; and, upon all those 
appeals, which may be· denied, costs may be taxed against the appellant at the 
discretion of the court. In no case shall costs be taxed against the state, its officers, or 
agents. A party aggrieved by a final order of the court may seek review of the order in 
the supreme court by writ of certiorari in accordance with the procedures contained in 
§ 42-35-16. 

CERTIFICATION 

I hereby certi that on the tj/lt- da .~?015 a _copy of the above Decision and Notice~ 
of Appellate Rights was sent by 4rst cfas mail to the Taxpayer's address on record with the 
Division and by hand delivery to Jµme Marie Maccarone, · eaghan Kelly, Esquire, 
Department of Revenue, Division o:liTaxation, One Capitol 
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