
and pay the tax you owe, 
the Division of Taxation 
will waive all penalties and 
forgive some of the interest.  

The list (at right) shows some of 
the items that are subject to use 

tax. Examples (below) show 
who may owe use tax. 

  If you buy something in 
Rhode Island -- such as a 
computer, business cards, 
or a broom -- you must pay 
the 7 percent sales tax. 

  But what if you buy the 
same thing from a seller 
located outside of Rhode 
Island -- and the seller does 
not charge sales tax?  

  In that case, you owe 
Rhode Island’s 7 percent 
use tax. 

  So suppose you buy sta-
plers, some tape, tape dis-
pensers, paperclips, enve-
lopes, and other administra-
tive supplies for your busi-
ness, for a total of $1,000. 
And suppose you use a web-
site, a catalog, or a toll-free 
number to make the pur-
chases from an out-of-state 
vendor. If the out-of-state 
seller does not charge sales 
tax, you owe Rhode Island’s 

7 percent use tax. In this 
example, the tax is $70.  

  If you did not pay the re-
quired use tax, you can ap-
ply for Rhode Island’s new 
self-audit program. If you 
meet the program’s rules, 

EXAMPLES OF WHO OWES THE USE TAX 
Dentist 

  A dentist’s office bought a 
big-screen TV screen for 
the waiting room, and den-
tal equipment to examine 
patients. The out-of-state 
vendor who sold the $2,500 
in equipment to the den-
tist’s office didn’t charge 
sales tax. The dentist’s of-
fice owes $175 in Rhode 
Island’s 7 percent use tax.  

Lawyer 

 A law firm bought a copy 
machine, as well as business 
cards, desk calendars, pa-
per, and other supplies, for 
a total of $10,000 from an 
out-of-state seller, who did 
not charge sales tax. The 
law firm owes $700 in 
Rhode Island use tax. 

 

Contractor 

A building contractor buys, 
through an out-of-state sell-
er, a total of $25,000 in 
drills and specialty tools to 
use on jobs. The seller does 
not charge sales tax. The 
contractor owes $1,750 in 
Rhode Island use tax. 
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 Computers 

Including desktops, laptops, 
printers, scanners, monitors, 
software, maintenance agree-
ments, and related equipment. 

 Office Equipment 

Including copy and fax ma-
chines, calcula-
tors, file cabinets, 
telephone sys-
tems, humidifiers, 
dehumidifiers, video equip-
ment, and related equipment. 

 Printed supplies 

Including desk calendars, busi-
ness cards, manuals, and train-
ing books, directories, post-
ers, and any related items. 

 Furniture 

Including desks, chairs, tables, 
lamps, cords, 
televisions, CD 
players, DVD 
players, and any 
related items. 

 Administrative Supplies 
Including checks, photocopies, 
paper, envelopes, folders, 
schedulers, books, staplers, 
tape, tape dispensers, clips, 
etc. 

 Cleaning Supplies 

Including mops, brooms, 
sponges, buck-
ets, cleaning 
products, dis-
posable gloves, 
and paper tow-
els.    

If you buy any of the following from 
an out-of-state seller, you probably 

owe Rhode Island use tax: 


