If you buy something in
Rhode Island -- such as a
computer, business cards,
or a broom -- you must pay
the 7 percent sales tax.

But what if you buy the
same thing from a seller
located outside of Rhode
Island -- and the seller does
not charge sales tax?

In that case, you owe
Rhode Island’s 7 percent

use tax.

So suppose you buy sta-
plers, some tape, tape dis-
pensers, paperclips, enve-
lopes, and other administra-
tive supplies for your busi-
ness, for a total of $1,000.
And suppose you use a web-
site, a catalog, or a toll-free
number to make the pur-
chases from an out-of-state
vendor. If the out-of-state
seller does not charge sales
tax, you owe Rhode Island’s
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WHAT'S A USE TAX?

?

7 percent use tax. In this
example, the tax is $70.

If you did not pay the re-
quired use tax, you can ap-
ply for Rhode Island’s new
self-audit program. If you
meet the program’s rules,

?
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and pay the tax you owe,
the Division of Taxation
will waive all penalties and
forgive some of the interest.

The list (at right) shows some of
the items that are subject to use
tax. Examples (below) show

WhO ma)/ owe use tax.

EXAMPLES OF WHO OWES THE USE TAX

Dentist

A dentist’s office bought a
big-screen TV screen for
the waiting room, and den-
tal equipment to examine
patients. The out-of-state
vendor who sold the $2,500
in equipment to the den-
tist’s office didn’t charge
sales tax. The dentist’s of-
fice owes $175 in Rhode
Island’s 7 percent use tax.

Lawyer

A law firm bought a copy
machine, as well as business
cards, desk calendars, pa-
per, and other supplies, for
a total of $10,000 from an
out-of-state seller, who did
not charge sales tax. The
law firm owes $700 in
Rhode Island use tax.

Contractor

A building contractor buys,
through an out-of-state sell-
er, a total of $25,000 in
drills and specialty tools to
use on jobs. The seller does
not charge sales tax. The
contractor owes $1,750 in
Rhode Island use tax.

Questions? See our website, www.tax.ri.gov, or call us at (401) 574-8962.

If you buy any of the following from
an out-of-state seller, you probably
owe Rhode Island use tax:

= Computers

Including desktops, laptops,
printers, scanners, monitors,
software, maintenance agree-

ments, and related equipment.
» Office Equipment
Including copy and fax ma-
chines, calcula- o, o
tors, file cabinets, ‘5‘ j
telephone sys- ,00
tems, humidifiers, ;
dehumidifiers, video equip-

ment, and related equipment.

= Printed supplies

Including desk calendars, busi-
ness cards, manuals, and train-
ing books, directories, post-

ers, and any related items.

= Furniture

Including desks, chairs, tables,
lamps, cords, A
televisions, CD

players, DVD

players, and any

related items.

* Administrative Supplies
Including checks, photocopies,
paper, envelopes, folders,
schedulers, books, staplers,
tape, tape dispensers, clips,
etc.

* Cleaning Supplies

Including mops, brooms,
sponges, buck-
ets, cleaning
products, dis-
posable gloves,
and paper tow-
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