2009 RI-1040ES Rhode Island Resident and Nonresident Estimated Payment Coupons

WHO MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS

Every resident and nonresident individual
shall make estimated Rhode Island personal
income tax payments if his or her estimated Rhode
Island personal income tax can be reasonably
expected to be $250 or more in excess of any cred-
its allowable against his or her tax, whether or not
he or she is required to file a federal estimated tax
for such year.

JOINT RETURNS: A husband and wife may make
joint payments as if they were one taxpayer, in
which case the liability with respect to the estimat-
ed tax shall be joint and several. No joint payments
may be made if husband and wife are separated
under a decree of divorce or of separate mainte-
nance. If joint payments are made, but husband
and wife determine their Rhode Island income
taxes separately, the estimated tax, for such period,
may be treated as the estimated tax of either hus-
band or wife, or may be divided between them, as
they may elect.

CHANGES IN INCOME: Even though on April 15,
2009 you do not expect your tax to be large enough
to require making estimated payments, a change in
income may require you to make estimated pay-
ments later.

HOW TO ESTIMATE YOUR TAX FOR 2009
Your 2009 estimated income tax may be based upon
your 2008 income tax liability. If you wish to compute
your 2009 estimated income tax, use the enclosed
estimated tax worksheet.

WHEN AND WHERE TO MAKE ESTIMATES

1st Estimate due...................... April 15, 2009
2nd Estimate due..................... June 15, 2009
3rd Estimate Due.... ...September 15, 2009

4th Estimate Due..................... January 15, 2010
Note: You do not have to make your January 15,
2010 payment if you file your 2009 return by
February 15, 2010, and pay the entire balance due
with your return.

Mail to:  STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
Division of Taxation

One Capitol Hill

Providence, Rl 02908-5810

CREDIT FOR INCOME TAX OVERPAYMENT

Your credit for income tax overpayment from your
2008 Rhode Island income tax return may be deduct-
ed from the first installment of your 2009 estimated tax,
and any excess credit from succeeding installments.

CHARGE FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF INSTALL-
MENTS OF ESTIMATED TAX

An interest charge is imposed for underpayment of
an installment of estimated tax. The Rhode Island

RECORD OF ESTIMATED PAYMENTS

PENALTIES

The law imposes penalties and interest charges for
failing to pay estimated tax due or for making false
or fraudulent statements.

STANDARD DEDUCTION FOR PEOPLE AGE 65
OR OLDER OR BLIND

Your standard deduction is increased by the follow-
ing amount if, at the end of 2009, you are:
Unmarried (single or head of household) and:
65 or older or blind $1,400.00
65 or older and blind $2,800.00

Married (jointly,
widow(er) and:

separately or qualifying

65 or older or blind $1,100.00
65 or older and blind $2,200.00
Both spouses 65 or older $2,200.00
Both spouses 65 or older and blind $4,400.00

STANDARD DEDUCTION IF YOU CAN BE
CLAIMED AS A DEPENDENT

Your standard deduction if you can be claimed as a
dependent on another person’s 2009 return is the
greater of:

$950.00, or

Your earned income plus $300 (up to the stan-
dard deduction amount),

OTHER QUESTIONS
Further assistance may be obtained by calling
Taxpayer Assistance at (401) 574-8829 and select-
ing option #3, or at www.
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ODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON
N OF TAXATION * ONE CAPITOL HILL, PROVIDENCE, RI 02908-5810

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

SPOUSE’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT

Return this coupon with check or money order
payable to the R.l. Division of Taxation, One
Capitol Hill, Providence, R.l. 02908-5810.
Please do not send cash with this coupon.

DUE DATE
JANUARY 15, 2010
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AMOUNT DUE
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FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX

$ 00



PART 1 ESTIMATED RHODE ISLAND INCOME TAX WORKSHEET

/Sin—gle\ B 1Y oo 13- I =Y [T | A € RSOOSR PRSP PPRRRPI 1.
$5,700 2. Deductions - Rl standard deduction (left margin) or amount from Federal Schedule A, whichever is greater............ 2.
M?fri‘tald filing | 3. Subtract liNe 2 from lINE T.........coevuevviiieeieeieieee et 3.
oin or
CJIualhz;ing 4. Number of exemptions in box then multiply by $3,650 and enter result on line 4 4.
W;‘;";Végr) 5. Taxable iNCOME - SUDLTaCt lINE 4 fIOM lINE B.........co.vveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee e ee e 5.
m 6. Figure your 2009 tax on the amount on line 5 (2009 Tax Rate Schedule) ..................... 6.
separately 7. Alternative Minimum Tax and Other Rhode Island TaXes ........c..cccoeeeeeiiieeeieeeie e 7.
4,750 .
—$ 8. Total 2009 RI Tax - @dd lINES 6 @NA 7 .....ooiiiiiiie ittt et et e e et e e e et e e e e e e et e e e naneee 8.
Head of
household 9. Enter your 2008 RIINCOME T8X.......couiiiii ettt e e e ae e s e e ne e 9.
_ 58350 | 40, Enter the SMALLER Of NES 8 OF O ...orooceooseeeroeeeeseeeees s eeesseeeeeeseseeeeseeseeeesseeeesseeeeeseeeees s erees oo eree e 70.
However, . .
people who 11. Estimated RNOAE ISIANG CrEAItS............couiiieeiieceeeeee ettt ettt e ettt e e et e e eeeeeete e teenteeeeaseeetesaeeeseenessreeeaeeeeareens 1.
are OVer 85, | 12 i@ 10188 € 11 .....veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee e eeeeeeeeeeee oo e e e ee e ee e ee e 12.
blind or can be
claimed asa [ 13. RI Flat Tax - multiply line 1 by 6.5% (.0850).........ccuiiiiiiiiiiieii e 13.
dipeee“?heent' 14. Credit for income taxes paid to @aNOtNETr SEALE..............cuvureeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee s 14,
Standard 15, LINE 13 1ESS IINE M4 ... e ettt et e e oot e e et e e e e s e e e e eaaeeeeeasseeeeabeeeeesssaaeesaeeeeansseeesansneeeansseeeanns 15.
(oeduction .| 16. Enter the SMALLER of line 12 or 15 6.
instructions. ] 17, Rhode 1S1and iNCOME taX WIthNEID..............c..orviereeeiereiecieeee s 17.
18. Estimated Rhode Island income tax - subtract line 17 from line 16........ff i, 18.
19, Enter amount of 2008 RI overpayment elected for credit to 2009.estimated tax. However, if you desire to spread
the credit, divide it by the number of installments and enteFREre....h. ...k i 19.
2009 Tax Rate Schedule
Use if your filing status is
SCHEDULE X - Use if your filing statusnis, SINGLE SCHEDULE Y2.- MARRIED FILING SEPARATELY
Taxable Income (line 5) % of the Taxable Income (line 5) % of the
Over But not over Pay + Oon excess Gl 'Y Over But not over Pay + on excess amount over
$ 0 $33,950 $ === 3.75% | $ 0 $ 0$ 28350 % &-- 3.75% % 0
33,950 82,250 1,273.13 +' 7.00% 33,950 28,350 68;525 1,063.13 0 + 7.00% 28,350
82,250 171,550 4,654.13 + 7.75% 82,250 68,525 104,425 3,875.38/ '+ 7.75% 68,525
171,550 372,950 11,574.88 + 9.00% 171,550 104,425 186,475 6,657.63  + 9.00% 104,425
372,950  ..eeeen... 29,700.88 + 9.90% 372,950 186,475 | ... 14,042.13 “ 9.90% 186,475

SCHEDULE Y1 - Use if your filing status is MARRIED FILING JOINTLY or
QUALIFYING WIDOW(ER)

SCHEDULE Z - Usgif your filing status is HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

Taxable Income (line 5) % of the Taxable Income (line 5) % of the
Over But not over Pay, + On excess amount ovig Over But not over Pay + on excess amount over
$ 0§ 56,700 $ 3.75% |$ 0 $ 0 $ 45500 $ 375% $ 0
56,700 137,050 2,126.25 +' 7.00% 56,700 45,500 117,450 1,706.25 +  7.00% 45,500
137,050 208,850 7,750.75 \ + " 1.75% 137,050 117,450 190,200 6,742.75 + 7.75% 117,450
208,850 372,950 13,315.25 .+ 9.00% 208,850 190,200 372,950 12,380.88 +  9.00% 190,200
372,950 e 28,084.25 | +» 9.90% 372,950 372,950 ... 28,828.38 + 9.90% 372,950
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