
RI-6238 RESIDENTIAL LEAD ABATEMENT INCOME TAX CREDIT 2009
First Name

Spouse’s First Name

Initial

Initial

Last Name

Last Name

Social Security Number

Social Security Number

Address

City, Town or Post Office State Zip Code

PART 1 DWELLING UNIT INFORMATION

1. Property Address:

Paid preparer’s signature, address and phone number

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete.

Your signature Spouse’s signature

Unit #1 Unit #2 Unit #3

2. For each unit: 

Check one that applies and

complete the corresponding

section in Part 2.

Owner Occupant

Renter

Landlord

Owner Occupant

Renter

Landlord

Owner Occupant

Renter

Landlord

Removal

Reduction

Removal

Reduction

Removal

Reduction

3. For each unit: 
Check the type of lead
removal.

4. Costs incurred: $ $$

5. Maximum Credit: $$$

6. Maximum Credit:
(Enter the smaller of line 4 or line 5)

$ $ $

7. Total Credit (Add all credit amounts from line 6): $

PART 2 CLAIMANT INFORMATION

Were you a legal resident of Rhode Island for all of 2009? ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is your household income equal to or less than $40,900 (use the worksheet in Part 3) ? --------------------------------------

Did you incur the full cost of the lead removal/reduction? --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Are you the sole owner of  the property? -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If no, what is your ownership percentage? _________%

Who is the other owner(s)? ________________________________________________________________________

OWNER OCCUPIED PROPERTY:8.

Were you a legal resident of Rhode Island for all of 2009? ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Is your household income equal to or less than $40,900 (use the worksheet in Part 3) ?---------------------------------------

Did you incur any of the cost of the lead removal/reduction? ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Have you rented out property in 2009? -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RENTER/LESSEE:9.

LANDLORD:10.

Is your household income equal to or less than $40,900 (use the worksheet in Part 3) ? --------------------------------------

If applicable, is the household income of the tenant(s) in Unit 1 equal to or less than $40,900? ------------------------------

If applicable, is the household income of the tenant(s) in Unit 2 equal to or less than $40,900? ------------------------------

If applicable, is the household income of the tenant(s) in Unit 3 equal to or less than $40,900? ------------------------------

YES NO

(Number, Street, Apt. Number) (Number, Street, Apt. Number) (Number, Street, Apt. Number)

(City or Town) (City or Town) (City or Town)

Name Address

(CREDIT MAY BE TAKEN FOR UP TO THREE (3) DWELLING UNITS)

Who is your landlord? ____________________________________________________________________________
Name Address

Date Date

Pursuant to R.I.G.L. 44-30.3-3, a claimant must have been domiciled in the state of Rhode Island for the entire calendar year for which he/she
files a claim for relief under this chapter. DO NOT COMPLETE THIS FORM if you were not a resident of the state of Rhode Island for all of 2009.

If removal/abatement, enter $5,000.00 You must have a Department of Health Lead Safe Certificate for removal/abatement.
If reduction/mitigation, enter $1,500.00.  You must have a Rhode Island Housing Resources Commission Lead Hazard Mitigation Certificate of Conformance.



PART 3 WORKSHEET FOR COMPUTING TOTAL HOUSEHOLD INCOME

USE THE FOLLOWING WORKSHEET TO COMPUTE YOUR TOTAL HOUSEHOLD INCOME

Social Security (including Medicare premiums) and Railroad Retirement benefits............................................................................11. 11.

Unemployment benefits, worker’s compensation...............................................................................................................................12. 12.

Wages, salaries, tips, etc....................................................................................................................................................................13. 13.

Dividends and interest (taxable and nontaxable)................................................................................................................................14. 14.

Business and Farm income (net of expenses)...................................................................................................................................15. 15.

Pension and annuity income (taxable and nontaxable)......................................................................................................................16. 16.

Rental income (net of expenses)........................................................................................................................................................17. 17.

Partnership, estate and trust income..................................................................................................................................................18. 18.

Total gain on sale or exchange of property.........................................................................................................................................19. 19.

Loss on sale or exchange of property (capital losses are limited to $3,000.00)................................................................................20. 20.

Cash public assistance (welfare, etc.)................................................................................................................................................21. 21.

Alimony and support money................................................................................................................................................................22. 22.

Nontaxable military compensation and cash benefits.........................................................................................................................23. 23.

Other taxable income, please specify: _____________________ ....................................................................................................24. 24.

TOTAL 2009 HOUSEHOLD INCOME - add lines 11 through 24, enter here and use to answer questions on front of form...........25. 25.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
If you are filing a Rhode Island income tax return and claiming a Residential
Lead Abatement Income Tax Credit, attach RI-6238 to your Rhode Island
income tax return.  Your Residential Lead Abatement Income Tax Credit will
decrease any income tax due or increase any income tax refund.  If you are not
required to file a Rhode Island income tax return, Form RI-6238 may be filed
without attaching it to a Rhode Island income tax return.

NOTE: Documentation of work performed, costs incurred and certification
of lead-safe status must be attached to Form  RI-6238 in order to qualify
for the Residential Lead Abatement Income Tax Credit.  Failure to attach
the necessary documentation will delay the processing of your credit.

WHO MAY QUALIFY
To qualify for the Residential Lead Abatement Income Tax Credit you must:
A) Have been a legal resident of Rhode Island for the entire 2009 calendar year.
B) Be either a property owner or renter/lessee of a residential premise that had

lead reduction or lead removal.
C) Have incurred expenses for the lead reduction or removal on the residential

premise.
D) Have proof of payment for all costs incurred.  

Complete documentation for all costs incurred must be provided.
Receipts    must clearly show lead related items, costs and dates pur-
chased.  Only receipts for required lead work can be used for this cred-
it.  Provide a list of all required lead work that was done and indicate
which receipt(s) and costs are associated with that required lead work.
Attach all of your documentation to this form.

E) Have certification in the form of a Housing Resources Commission regulated
Certificate of Conformance for Mitigation (reduction) or a Department of
Health regulated Lead Safe Certificate for Abatement (removal).  
Attach your certification to this form.

WHO MAY CLAIM CREDIT
If you meet all of the qualifications outlined above, you should complete Form
RI-6238 to determine if you are entitled to a credit.  

Pursuant to R.I.G.L. 44-30.3:
A claimant whose household income for 2009 was equal to or less than $40,900
will receive the full amount of the credit he/she is entitled to receive.
A claimant who rents or leases a dwelling unit to individuals whose household
income was equal to or less than $40,900 will receive their credit after the
claimants whose own income was equal to or less than $40,900.
All other claimants, without regard to income or property ownership, will be paid
after the previously mentioned claimants.  However, if insufficient funds exist to
pay this third group of claimants the full amount of the credit, the Tax
Administrator will make payments to each claimant proportionately based on the
amount of remaining funds.

The right to file a claim does not survive a person's death; therefore a claim filed
on behalf of a deceased person cannot be allowed.  If the claimant dies after
having filed a timely claim, the amount thereof will be disbursed to another mem-
ber of the household as determined by the Tax Administrator. 

WHEN AND WHERE TO FILE
Your Residential Lead Abatement Income Tax Credit should be filed as soon as
possible after December 31, 2009.  No claim for the year 2009 will be allowed

unless such claim is filed by April 15, 2010. However, an extension for filing
may be allowed at the Tax Administrator's discretion for sickness, absence or
other disability.  Mail your Residential Lead Abatement Income Tax Credit to the
Rhode Island Division of Taxation - One Capitol Hill - Providence, RI 02908-
5806.

IMPORTANT DEFINITIONS
"Claimant" means a property owner or lessee, who has filed a claim under this

chapter and was domiciled in this state for the entire calendar year for which
he or she files a claim for relief under this chapter.  In the case of a claim for
rented or leased residential premises, the claimant shall have rented proper-
ty during the preceding year for which he or she files for relief under this
chapter.  Claimant does not mean or include any person claimed as a
dependent by any taxpayer under the Internal Revenue Code.

“Residential premise” means a single-family home, an individual condominium,
and individual units in either apartment buildings or multi-family homes.

"Household" means one or more persons occupying a dwelling unit and living
as a single nonprofit housekeeping unit.  Household does not mean bona fide
lessees, tenants or roomers and borders on contract.

"Household income" means all income taxable and nontaxable received by all
persons of a household in a calendar year while members of the household.

LIMITATIONS ON CREDIT
Under the provisions of Section 44-30.3, for calendar year 2009 the maximum
amount of credit allowable per dwelling unit (up to three (3) units) for reduc-
tion/mitigation is $1,500.00.  The maximum amount of credit allowable per
dwelling unit (up to three (3) units) for removal/abatement is $5,000.00. 

In the event two (2) individuals of a household are able to meet the qualifications
for a claimant, they may determine between themselves as to who the claimant
is.  If  they are unable to agree, the matter is referred to the tax administrator
and his or her decision is final.  If a property is owned by two (2) or more indi-
viduals, and more than one individual is able to qualify as a claimant, and some
or all of the qualified individuals are not related, the individuals may determine
among themselves as to who the claimant is.  If they are unable to agree, the
matter is referred to the tax administrator and his or her decision is final.

Only one abatement claim may be filed for any dwelling unit.  If a mitigation
claim has previously been filed for a dwelling unit, an abatement claim will be
reduced by the amount of the mitigation credit already claimed.  This holds true
even if the dwelling unit has been transferred to another owner or lessee.

DENIAL OF CLAIM
If a claim has been determined to be excessive and filed with fraudulent intent,
the claim will be disallowed in full.  If the claim has been paid or credited against
a claimant’s tax liability, the credit will be cancelled and assessed with interest
from the date of payment or credit until paid.  Any claimant and preparer
involved with filing with fraudulent intent will be guilty of a misdemeanor.
If a claim has been determined to be excessive and negligently prepared, ten
percent of the corrected claim will be disallowed.  If the claim has been paid or
credited against a claimant’s tax liability, the credit will be reduced or cancelled,
and the proper amount will be assessed with interest from the date of payment
or credit until paid. 


