Form 100 — Basic Instructions
Since January 1, 2002, Form 100 has served as an estate tax short form for non-taxable estates.

Use Form 100:
1. For decedents dying between January 1, 2002 and January 1, 2010 with gross estates of
$675,000 or less.
2. For decedents dying on or after January 1, 2010 with gross estates of $850,000 or less.

Non-taxable estates file and estate tax return for various reasons. One reason is to obtain
discharge of the automatic statutory lien that attaches to all real estate a decedent owns at death.
Another is to obtain a Notice of No Tax Due for probate court purposes. Finally, some estates
need a Waiver to allow the sale of Rhode Island securities. Examples of Rhode Island securities
requiring a Waiver are Rhode Island incorporated stock, Rhode Island state and municipal bonds
and mutual funds organized as business trusts that do business in Rhode Island.

Form 100 should be signed by the executor, administrator, trustee or heir-at-law of the deceased.

It must be accompanied by a copy of the death certificate and a check for the filing fee in the
amount of $25.00.

Form T-77 — Discharge of Lien Form

Form T-77 must be filed along with Form 100 if the decedent had any interest in real estate
located in Rhode Island. It should be filed in triplicate.

The description of the real estate must be stated as the TAX
ASSESSOR’S DESCRIPTION. This description is found on the
property tax bill issued by the city or town.

Form T-79 — Estate Tax Waiver Form

Form T-79 must be filed along with Form 100 if the decedent had any interest in a Rhode Island
security as described above. It should be filed in duplicate.

> ANY FORMS NOT PROPERLY COMPLETED WILL NOT BE PROCESSED

» FORMS T-77 AND T-79 MUST BE TYPED AND WITHOUT ERRORS

>» A PROCESSING FEE MAY BE CHARGED FOR CORRECTIVE DISCHARGES
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