2011 Rhode Island Business Corporation Tax Return
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM RI-1120C AND FORM RI-1120S

1. WHO MUST FILE:

Domestic and Foreign Corporations: Every business corporation, joint
stock company or association exercising corporation functions or otherwise

doing business in this state is required to file an annual tax return and is
subject to the income tax (minimum $500.00). Domestic corporations and
foreign corporations qualified to do business in this state are liable to the
franchise tax as provided in 44-12 of the General Laws of 1956, as amend-
ed, if it exceeds the tax on income.

Under the provisions of chapter 44-12 of the General Laws of 1956, as
amended, corporations which are chartered in Rhode Island and foreign
corporations qualified to do business in this state which were not engaged in
any business activities in Rhode Island during the last taxable year will be
subject to lower franchise tax rates (minimum of $500.00) if tax returns are
accompanied by a supplement affidavit certifying the fact of such inactivity.

SUBCHAPTER “S” CORPORATIONS: A small business corporation having
an election in effect under subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Code is
required to file an annual tax return on Form RI-1120S. Such corporation
shall not be subject to the Rhode Island income tax on corporations but is
subject to and liable for a franchise tax pursuant to §44-12-1 of the General
Laws as last amended (minimum $500.00), except that such corporation
shall be subject to the Rhode Island income tax, to the extent of such income
as is subject to federal tax under said subchapter S and in those cases will
be required to file Form RI-1120S along with Rl Schedule S.

If a subchapter S corporation is taxable for federal purposes, it must attach
RI Schedule S and compute and pay any tax due at the 9% tax rz

Legislation passed requiring Pass-Through Entities
tions, general partnerships, limited partnerships, li
trust or limited liability companies that are not taxed
eral tax purposes to withhold from the member’s share
ty which is derived from or attributable to sources within
to each nonresident member and pay the withheld amou
at either the highest individual rate or nine percent (9%) ft
pass-through entity is not required to withhold tax for a non
if:

1. the member has a pro rata or distributive share of income from the
pass-through entity from doing business in this state of less than
$1,000.00 per annual accounting period,

2. the tax administrator has determined by regulation, r
that the member’s income is not subject to with

3. the member elects to have the tax due pai
return filed by the pass-through entity, or

4. the entity is a publicly traded partnership as defin
7704(b) of the Internal Revenue Code that is treated
the purposes of the Internal Revenue Code and that greed to file
an annual information return reporting the name, address, taxpayer
identification number and other information requested by the tax admin-
istrator of each unit holder with an income in this state in excess of
$500.00.

2. WHEN AND WHERE TO FILE:

Form RI-1120C and Form RI-1120S are due on or before the fifteenth day
of the third month following the close of the taxable year. Returns must be filed
with the State of Rhode Island, Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill, Suite 9,
Providence, Rl 02908-5811. A return is considered timely filed if it is mailed
so as to bear a U.S. postmark on or before the applicable due date. When
the due date for filing Form RI-1120C or Form RI 1120S falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or a Rhode Island legal holiday, the filing is due on the next busi-
ness day. For LLCs not taxed as corporations for federal income tax purpos-
es, the due date for filing a return is the fifteenth day of the fourth month fol-
lowing the close of the taxable year.

3. EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING:

An automatic six month extension of time for the filing of the required
return may be granted provided a Form RI-7004 is filed together with a pay-
ment equal to the full amount of tax reasonably estimated to be due for the
taxable year based on income, or franchise whichever shall yield the greater
tax. Payment of a minimum amount if a larger amount is due will void
the extension.

4. PAYMENT OF TAX:

The balance of tax shown on the return to be due must be paid in full with
the return. Failure to pay the tax on time will subject the taxpayer to an
assessment of interest and penalties.

Interest Generally

Any tax not paid when due is subject to interest from the time the tax was
originally due at the rates of 18% per annum.

2 to file a return within the time prescribed by law, or with-
iod, there shall be added to the tax 5% of such tax if
more than one month plus an additional 5% for each
tional part thereof during which such failure contin-
in the aggregate.

there shall be adde
percent (0.5%)
one month, plusian

mol
exc
(9%) of net income apportioned to Rhode Island; or an

n

or instrugtion )
) franchise tax on its authorized capital stock at the rate of $2.50 for
10,000.00 or fractional part thereof minimum of $500.00, whichever

amount shall yield the greatest tax.

In the case of corporations having capital stock of no-par value, $100.00
per share shall be deemed to be the par value for the purposes of the fran-
chise tax.

6. DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED TAX BY
CORPORATIONS:

Every corporation shall file a declaration of its estimated tax for the taxable
year if its estimated tax on any basis (income or franchise) for such taxable
year can reasonably be expected to exceed $500.00. The entire amount of
such estimated tax shall constitute the amount of the advance required to be
paid. The due dates and amounts of the installments are as follows: The 15th
day of the 3rd month of the taxable year (40%) and the 15th day of the 6th
month of the taxable year (60%).

Underpayment-Interest on declaration of estimated tax

In case of any underpayment of the estimate by a corporation there shall be
added to the tax as the case may be for the taxable year, an amount
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determined at the rate of 18% per annum upon the amount of the underpay-
ment for the period of the underpayment. “The amount of the underpayment”
shall be the excess of the installment or installments which would be required
to be paid if the advance payments were equal to eighty percent (80%) of the
tax shown on the return for the taxable year or, if no return was filed eighty
percent (80%) of the tax for such year, over the amount, if any, of the install-
ment paid on or before the last date prescribed for payment.

The law provides for the assessment of a penalty of 5% of the tax imposed
on such corporations for such taxable year for failure to file required estimat-
ed tax payments.

7. CHANGE IN NET INCOME BY FEDERAL
GOVERNMENT:

Any change in net income for any prior year directly affects the tax
liability to the State of Rhode Island and such changes must be reported to
the Tax Administrator within 60 days of final adjustment or determination on
Form RI-1120X.

8. SUPPORTING SCHEDULES:

All schedules are to be firmly attached to back of page 3 of the return.
Each schedule must be clearly identified with the item which it supports.
Write upon one side of the sheet only, so that schedule may be read
without detaching from the return. If space permits, more than on
schedule may be placed on a single sheet.

9. CONSOLIDATED RETURNS:

An affiliated group, as defined in regulations pro
Administrator, may file a consolidated return fo
provided that all the corporations which constitute s
at any time during the period for which the return is made a
ject to taxation under Chapter 44-11 shall consent to the ma
solidated return. If the affiliated group includes corporations

subject to the Rhode Island Business Corporation Income Tax, these
corporations must be excluded from the Rhode Island affiliated group.
In filing a consolidated return separate income statements, balance sheet
and apportionment schedules for each corporation joining in the filing,
be filed with the consolidated return.

If only one company in an affiliated group has a ing
requirement and is filing on a separate basis, th i Id

) -

o

not be checked on the front of the return as thi
idated return.

10. CAPITAL INVESTMENT IN SMALL BU

Title 44, Chapter 44-43 of the General Laws provides a deduction for pur-
poses of computing net income under the Rhode Island Business
Corporation Tax (Chapter 44-11) for a qualifying investment in a certified
venture capital partnership and for credits to entrepreneurs of a qualifying
business entity for certain wages paid to employees of such entity.
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