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Fax (401) 574-8914  
 
IMPORTANT NOTICE  

CIGARETTE DEALER’S LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATION  

 July 1, 2016  -  June 30, 2017  

Section 44-20-5 of the Rhode Island General Laws requires that all cigarette dealer licenses be renewed 
annually at a cost of $25.00.  The law states that the renewal application must be filed by February 1st each 
year, renewing the license for the fiscal year beginning July 1st.  

If you do not intend to be in business after July 1, 2016, or have already ceased doing business, please 
check number 1 below indicating the date you stopped selling cigarettes and return the license to the  
Division of Taxation.  If you intend to be in business after July 1, 2016 then your license must be renewed 
and you should check number 2 below and return the bottom payment voucher along with a check for  
$25.00 to the Division of Taxation.  
 
Chapter 76 of Title 5 and Chapter 3 of Title 31 of the Rhode Island General Laws as amended provide that 
a business may not renew a license or permit to conduct a business unless all of its state taxes are paid or 
it has entered into a written time payment agreement, satisfactory to the Tax Administrator, to pay all 
outstanding state taxes.  Therefore if you wish to renew your cigarette dealer license and you are not in 
good standing with regard to your state taxes you should contact Collections at 401 574-8941 Monday 
through Friday between the hours of 8:30am and 4:00 pm to resolve this issue.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
DETACH HERE  

CIGARETTE DEALERS LICENSE RENEWAL  
PAYMENT VOUCHER  

 
NAME & ADDRESS: DATE: 

TAX ID:  
 
 
 

______ 1. Please cancel my cigarette dealer license as of ______________ (date)  
 

______ 2. Enclosed is my check for $25.00 to renew my license for 2016/2017  
 

______ 3. I have enclosed my delinquent return(s) and the balance due of $_____________  
 
 
_____________________________________________ ________________________ 
TAXPAYER SIGNATURE TITLE DATE 

 


