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     IMPORTANT NOTICE      IMPORTANT NOTICE 
  

  TO:  OWNERS & OPERATORS OF PET CARE SERVICES   TO:  OWNERS & OPERATORS OF PET CARE SERVICES 
  

Effective October 1, 2012, Rhode Island’s 7 percent (7%) sales and use tax shall extend to pet 
care services (except veterinary medical services and testing laboratories services). 
Effective October 1, 2012, Rhode Island’s 7 percent (7%) sales and use tax shall extend to pet 
care services (except veterinary medical services and testing laboratories services). 
  
The following shows the name of the service that shall be subject to the tax, along with its 
corresponding code from the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The following shows the name of the service that shall be subject to the tax, along with its 
corresponding code from the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) of 2007: 
 
 Pet care services (812910), except veterinary medical services and testing laboratories 

services. 
 
For the period commencing October 1, 2012, sales and use tax at the rate as provided in Rhode 
Island General Laws (RIGL) §§ 44-18-18 and 44-18-20 shall be imposed on receipts from the 
sale of pet care services (except veterinary medical services and testing laboratories services) 
provided in Rhode Island. 
 
In addition, any person or entity engaged in providing such services shall be considered a retailer 
(as defined under RIGL § 44-18-15) and, as such, shall be required to register with the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation, obtain a sales tax permit, and collect and remit tax -- with the 
following steps: 
 

 File a Business Application and Registration form with the Tax Division; 
 Pay the annual $10 sales tax permit fee; and 
 File sales and use tax returns with the Tax Division monthly (or quarterly, if 

applicable). 
 
The extension of the sales and use tax as described in this notice is the result of legislation 
approved by the General Assembly and signed into law by Governor Lincoln D. Chafee in June 
2012. The Tax Division has issued proposed regulations to implement the provisions of the new 
law. The regulations are available on the Tax Division’s website: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/regulations/Proposed/ 
 
For questions regarding this notice, please contact the Tax Division’s Excise Tax section at (401) 
574-8955 from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. business days. 
 
August 2012 
Notice 2012-09 
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