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     IMPORTANT NOTICE      IMPORTANT NOTICE 
  

    TO: ALL RETAILERS OF CLOTHING,     TO: ALL RETAILERS OF CLOTHING, 
 INCLUDING FOOTWEAR  INCLUDING FOOTWEAR 

  
Effective October 1, 2012, Rhode Island’s 7 percent (7%) sales and use tax shall extend 
to articles of clothing, including footwear, with a sales price of more than $250 per item. 
Effective October 1, 2012, Rhode Island’s 7 percent (7%) sales and use tax shall extend 
to articles of clothing, including footwear, with a sales price of more than $250 per item. 
  
For the period commencing October 1, 2012, sales and use tax at the rate as provided in 
Rhode Island General Laws (RIGL) §§ 44-18-18 and 44-18-20 shall be imposed on the 
sale at retail of clothing, including footwear, with a retail sales price of more than $250 
per item. However, only the incremental amount above the $250 threshold shall be 
subject to the tax. 

For the period commencing October 1, 2012, sales and use tax at the rate as provided in 
Rhode Island General Laws (RIGL) §§ 44-18-18 and 44-18-20 shall be imposed on the 
sale at retail of clothing, including footwear, with a retail sales price of more than $250 
per item. However, only the incremental amount above the $250 threshold shall be 
subject to the tax. 
  

Example # 1: A consumer pays $275 for a suit. The first $250 is 
exempt; the tax shall apply only to $25. Therefore, the retailer shall 
collect and remit $1.75 in tax in this example. 

Example # 1: A consumer pays $275 for a suit. The first $250 is 
exempt; the tax shall apply only to $25. Therefore, the retailer shall 
collect and remit $1.75 in tax in this example. 
  
Example # 2: A consumer pays $300 for 10 shirts, each priced at $30. 
No tax is due. (Tax applies only to individual items with a sales price of 
more than $250 per item.) 

Example # 2: A consumer pays $300 for 10 shirts, each priced at $30. 
No tax is due. (Tax applies only to individual items with a sales price of 
more than $250 per item.) 
  

Each article of clothing, including footwear, with a retail sales price of $250 or less shall 
be exempt from tax. 
Each article of clothing, including footwear, with a retail sales price of $250 or less shall 
be exempt from tax. 
  
The extension of the sales tax to include clothing and footwear in the circumstances 
described in this notice is the result of legislation approved by the General Assembly and 
signed into law by Governor Lincoln D. Chafee in June 2012. The Tax Division has 
proposed regulations to implement the provisions of the new law. The regulations are on 
the Tax Division’s website: http://www.tax.ri.gov/regulations/Proposed/
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