Issue Date: October 27, 2011

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations

Department of Revenue

Advisory: Estate tax threshold for 2012

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has announced the estate tax threshold for the estates of decedents dying in 2012.

The threshold for 2012 will be \$892,865, compared with \$859,350 for 2011, a 3.9 percent increase.

A state law enacted in 2009 raised the threshold to \$850,000, from \$675,000, effective for decedents dying in 2010. That law also required that the threshold amount be adjusted each January thereafter, based on annual inflation, compounded annually, and rounded to the nearest \$5 increment.

In general, for a decedent dying in 2012, a net taxable estate valued at \$892,865 or less will not be subject to Rhode Island's estate tax. (In certain circumstances, the Rhode Island estate tax will not apply no matter the estate's size: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-22 provides full details on the computation of the tax, including such factors as the marital and charitable deductions.)

If you have any questions, please call the Tax Division's Estate Tax section at (401) 574-8900.

Year	Rhode Island estate tax threshold amount
2010	\$ 850,000
2011	\$ 859,350
2012	\$ 892.865

- David M. Sullivan Rhode Island Tax Administrator

Tax Division advisories are intended to provide only general information. They are neither designed nor intended to address tax or administrative issues in detail. Nothing contained in this advisory in any way alters or otherwise changes any existing or future provisions of the Rhode Island General Laws, regulations of the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, or formal rulings.