STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
Department of Revenue
DIVISION OF TAXATION
Excise Tax Section
One Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908-5800
Fax (401) 574-8914

IMPORTANT NOTICE

TO ALL RHODE ISLAND MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS AND RETAILERS

OF NOMOTORIZED RECREATIONAL VEHICLES

The Massachusetts Legislature recently amended the Massachusetts sales and use tax law (see
M.G.L. Chapter 64H and 641) to increase the rate from 5 percent to 6.25 percent. This change is
effective at 12:01 am on August 1, 2009.

Per R.I.G.L. 44-18-30(13), Rhode Island dealers of motor vehicles and/or nonmotorized
recreational vehicles are required to add and collect sales tax on the sale of a motor vehicle
and/or a nonmotorized recreational vehicle to a bona fide nonresident of this state, whose state of
residence imposes a sales tax on a motor vehicle or nonmotorized recreational vehicle to its
nonresidents.

The dealer is required to collect tax on the sale at a rate equal to the rate that would be imposed
in the nonresident’s state of residence. However, the rate imposed may not exceed the Rhode
Island sales and use tax rate. Taxes collected by the dealer must be remitted to the Rhode Island
Division of Taxation on its monthly sales and use tax return.

Attached please find enclosed the updated notice reflecting Sales Tax Rate changes regarding
sales of motor vehicles and nonrecreational vehicles sold to non residents. If you have any
questions regarding this notice, please contact the Division of Taxation at 401-574-8955.
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