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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

1) Greetings: Tax Administrator Neena Savage

2) Overview: Asst. Tax Administrator Michael Canole

3) Presentation: Patrick Gengarella, Chief of Audit




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Origin of Sales Tax

= Sales tax enacted 1947
*Was 1%
“*Everything was taxable
**Manufacturing/goods economy




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Origin of Use Tax

» Use tax enacted 1947
*»Also was 1%
“*Everything was taxable
**Use tax complements sales tax

45 states, plus the District of Columbia, have a
sales tax, and every one of them has a use tax




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Exemptions

**As years went by, exemptions were added
“+See Rhode Island Gen. Laws § 44-18-30
“*Exemption for coffins added in 1950s




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

T

“There are exempted from the taxes imposed by this
chapter the following gross receipts: . . . Coffins,
caskets, and burial garments. From the sale and
from the storage, use, or other consumption in this
state of coffins or caskets, and shrouds or other
burial garments that are ordinarily sold by a funeral

director as part of the business of funeral directing.”

-- Rhode Island General Laws § 44-18-30(12)
“Gross receipts exempt from sales and use taxes.”
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Funeral services
‘*What's taxable (partial list)
surns
*sVaults (also known as “liner” or “box”)
**Prayer cards
**Guest books
*»Office and administrative supplies

_ ' 7



Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Sales/use tax Is second-largest source
of Rhode Island General Fund revenue

FY 2017 (sin milions)
$1,400.00
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$0.00

m Personal income tax Sales and use tax




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Funeral services
+*What's not taxable
s Coffins
s»Caskets
**Burial clothes

s Hair and makeup service (but only the tangible
personal property is subject to use tax)

> Embalming service (fluids are subject to use
tax)
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Exemption for coffins/caskets:

“*Exemption applies only if consumer buys it from
the funeral director




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax:

Lump sum vs. itemization
= Lump sum:

*If funeral home invoices consumer on a lump-
sum basis, funeral home Is acting as service
provider.

‘s Therefore, funeral home does not charge sales
tax. Instead, funeral home pays use tax on its
purchases — calculated based on actual cost.

———rer



Rhode Island Division of Taxation i

Rhode Island sales/use tax:

Lump sum vs. itemization
" |temize:

s»|f funeral home bill for consumer is itemized,
showing all charges broken out, funeral home
must register with Division of Taxation, charge
sales tax, and remit sales tax revenue to
Division.

“»*But tax applies only to items that are taxable.
Most items/services are not taxable.

(continued on next slide)
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax:

Lump sum vs. itemization
= |temize (continued):

‘*Rhode Island 7% sales tax is calculated on
price that funeral home charges to customer.

**Funeral home must issue resale certificate to
vendors who provide taxable items (such as
prayer cards, urns, vaults).

**No double charging of tax

s



Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

* Your tax professional
s Tax pro does your corporate taxes
*» Tax pro does your employer taxes
s Tax pro does your personal income taxes
“*Ask him/her about sales/use taxes

“*Can also help in representation (Form 2848 — POA)




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Audits
*Our main Audit section oversees:
o Field Audit
o Office Audit
o Special Investigation Unit




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Audit selection

**\We use various means to determine what, when,
and whom to audit

*sLike IRS and many other states, we use tip line,
past audit results, re-audits, industry audits.

‘*We also may use invoices found at other audits;
taxpayer referrals and internal reports

B —



Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Audits

“*If we find one or more common issues after
auditing multiple companies in the same industry,
we may decide to audit most or all of the
companies in that industry

*IRS’s “pizza” audits




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Audits
s*We 0
+*We 0

Rhoo

o more than 1,300 audits per year

o field audits (on-site audits) not only Iin
e Island, but all across the country

“*We also do “correspondence” audits (office audits,
by mail)




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Statute of limitations
**How far back can we go?
*What are the limits?
*What might you owe
o Tax
oPenalty
olInterest



Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

*= Your response to audit findings
**Ask your tax professional for guidance
“*You can pay in full
“*You can pay In installments
“*You can appeal

20




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Self-audits
“*Voluntary
*»Also called “"managed audits”

“*You examine your business’s books and records to
see if you owe tax

*»If self-audit is approved, and you pay what you
owe, we can waive penalties and some interest.

B ——



Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Self-audits
*»See our self-audit webpage for detalils

http://www.tax.ri.gov/Tax%20Website/TAX/self%20a
udit/index.php



http://www.tax.ri.gov/Tax Website/TAX/self audit/index.php

Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax
= Self-audit webpage

‘XN.QOV R.l. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy | Search

Stqte.of.Rhode Island )
Division of Taxation

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Home >Self-Audits
» Home —

Self-Audits

= Welcome to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation's self-audit program!

Administrative
Decisions

P Advisories = With a self-audit, you examine your own books and records to see if you owe Rhode

Combined Island's 7% use tax.




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

» |egislation

+*We don’t make the law; we implement the law

»If tax legislation is enacted, it's typically effective
“‘upon passage” — or at a later, specified date

*+As a general rule, tax legislation is not retroactive




Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Rhode Island sales/use tax

= Questions?
(401) 574-8829
One Capitol Hill
Providence, R.I.

Note: This presentation is an informal summary of sales/use tax provisions as they apply to funeral
homes and funeral services. This presentation is for general information purposes only and is not a
substitute for Rhode Island General Laws, or for Rhode Island Division of Taxation regulations, rulings, or
notices.



