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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Self Audit Program

What is the Self-Audit 

Program?
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Self Audit Program

 Taxpayer performs an audit on their books and 

records to make sure the 7% tax was paid to 

vendors on all purchases made by the business.

 This program is only open for use tax at this time.

 9800 taxpayers that file corporate, withholding or 

both tax returns have been selected to participate. 

Anybody is eligible, provided they don’t have a 

sales tax permit.  

 The first mailing of 3300 letters went out on 

11/3/15.  The second mailing went out on 6/2/16 

and the last on May 2017. 
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Self Audit Program

Taxpayer’s Benefits:
 No penalty is assessed.

 3 year audit period instead of the typical 6 years 

for non-filers.

 Discounted interest rates of 6% if completed on 

time  or 12% if delayed.

 The Tax Division agrees not to audit the taxpayer 

for the self-audit period and tax type.
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Self Audit Program

States Benefits:

 Taxpayers are brought into compliance.

 Tax and interest is paid at the time audit is 

completed.

 Taxpayers are better educated on use tax for future 

compliance.
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Self Audit Program

Who is Eligible?  

 Taxpayers who do not currently have a sales tax permit.

 No outstanding balances owed or delinquent returns.

 Taxpayer or related entities have not been audited within 

the past 5 years.

 If taxpayer is in bankruptcy or receivership, they are not 

allowed to participate in program.

 Taxpayers records are readily available and have the 

ability to go through them within a certain period (60, 90, 

or 120 days, requested by taxpayer on application). 

 Must be able to make payment for tax at the time of 

completion. Taxpayer will be billed for interest.
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Self Audit Program

Audit Process:

 Completed application is sent to tax division for review.

 A letter will be mailed to taxpayer approving or denying the 

application.

 If application is approved, a  Revenue agent, will send an 

approval letter with a 3 year audit period, requested documents 

(depreciation schedule, source documents & Corporate returns 

& Purchase journals), Self-audit Use Tax Return (T-205-SA) 

and a time frame to submit self-audit.

 Submit completed self-audit and full tax payment within time 

frame requested.

 Upon receipt and acceptance by the division, an interest billing, 

confirmation letter, and copy of Consumer Use Tax Return for 

future compliance will be mailed to taxpayer.     
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Self Audit Program

Reasons for Denial:
 Taxpayer or related entities had an audit within the last 5 

years.

 A letter/declaratory ruling was issued by the tax division 

for Use Tax.  

 Taxpayer files use tax returns T-205’s.

 Taxpayer has delinquencies or an outstanding balance.

 Taxpayer has filed for bankruptcy or receivership.

 Taxpayer has a sales tax permit.

 Each application will be reviewed on a case by case basis.
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Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Self Audit Program

Important Forms:

 -Self-Audit Application

 -Flyer, explaining use tax and giving examples.

 -Self-Audit Use Tax Return (T-205-SA)



9

Rhode Island Division of Taxation

Self Audit Program

Contact Information:

 Kristen Ledo-(401)574-8810

 Email-kristen.ledo@tax.ri.gov


