
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
Rhode Island Department of Revenue 

Division of Taxation 
 

Public Notice of Proposed Rule-Making 
 
Pursuant to the provisions of 42-35-3(a)(1) of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 
and in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act Chapter 42-35 of the 
General Laws, the Division of Taxation hereby gives notice of its intent to amend 
regulation SU 07-13 regarding Clothing, Clothing Accessories, Sports or 
Recreational Equipment, and Protective Equipment. 
 
The purpose of this regulation is to implement Rhode Island General Laws (RIGL) 
Chapters 44-18 and 44-19.  Specifically, Section 44-18-30(27) which provides, 
effective October 1, 2012, the exemption will apply to the sales of articles of 
clothing, including footwear, intended to be worn or carried on or about the human 
body up to two hundred and fifty dollars ($250) of the sales price per item.  This 
regulation shall take effect October 1, 2012 and amends and supersedes regulation 
SU 07-13 promulgated January 1, 2007.   
 
The proposed regulation and concise summary of non-technical requirements and 
proposed new rules are available for public inspection at www.tax.ri.gov, in 
person at the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, or requested by e-mail at 
Michael.Canole@tax.ri.gov or by calling Michael Canole at (401) 574-8729. 
 
In the development of the proposed regulation, consideration was given to: (1) 
alternative approaches; (2) overlap or duplication with other statutory and 
regulatory provisions; and (3) whether the regulation, in and of itself, would have 
significant economic impact on small business.  No alternative approach, 
duplication, or overlap was identified based upon available information.  

All interested parties are invited to submit written or oral comments concerning 
the proposed regulations by August 23, 2012 to Michael Canole, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI – telephone number (401) 
574-8729 or via e-mail at Michael.Canole@tax.ri.gov.  A public hearing to 
consider the proposed regulation will be held on August 23, 2012, at 9:30 am, at 
the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI, at which 
time and place all persons interested therein will be heard.  The room is accessible 
to the disabled and interpreter services for the hearing impaired will be provided if 
requested 48 hours prior to the hearing.  Requests for this service can be made in 
writing to Michael Canole at the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, One Capitol 
Hill, Providence, RI 02908 or by calling (401) 574-8729. 

 

 



 

 

 

Rhode Island Department of Revenue 

Division of Taxation 

 
Concise Summary of ALL Non-technical requirements pursuant to 
RIGL Section 42-35-3(a)(1) for Rules and Regulation SU 07-13 
regarding Clothing, Clothing Accessories, Sports or Recreational 
Equipment, and Protective Equipment. 

 

The purpose of this regulation is to implement Rhode Island General 
Laws (RIGL) Chapters 44-18 and 44-19.  Specifically, Section 44-18-
30(27) which provides, effective October 1, 2012, the exemption will 
apply to the sales of articles of clothing, including footwear, intended to 
be worn or carried on or about the human body up to two hundred and 
fifty dollars ($250) of the sales price per item.    
 

This regulation shall take effect October 1, 2012 and amends and 
supersedes regulation SU 07-13 promulgated January 1, 2007.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



State of Rhode Island - Division of Taxation 

Sales and Use Tax 

Regulation SU 07-13 

  

Sales Tax Exemption - Clothing and Footwear 

The Rhode Island sales and use tax law provides an exemption for clothing including 
footwear intended to be worn or carried on or about the human body. 

The exemption does not include special clothing or footwear primarily designed for 
athletic activity or protective use and which is not normally worn except when so used.  

  

CLOTHING DEFINED 

   

“Clothing” means all human wearing apparel suitable for general use. The following list 
contains examples and is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. 

NONTAXABLE 

“Clothing” shall include: 

1. Aprons, household and shop;  
2. Athletic supporters;  
3. Baby receiving blankets;  
4. Bathing suits and caps;  
5. Beach capes and coats;  
6. Belts and suspenders;  
7. Boots;  
8. Coats and jackets;  
9. Costumes;  
10. Diapers, children and adult, including disposable diapers;  
11. Ear muffs;  
12. Footlets;  
13. Formal wear;  
14. Garters and garter belts;  
15. Girdles;  
16. Gloves and mittens for general use;  
17. Hats and caps;  
18. Hosiery;  



19. Insoles for shoes;  
20. Lab coats;  
21. Neckties;  
22. Overshoes;  
23. Pantyhose;  
24. Rainwear;  
25. Rubber pants;  
26. Sandals;  
27. Scarves;  
28. Shoes and shoe laces;  
29. Slippers;  
30. Sneakers;  
31. Socks and stockings;  
32. Steel toed shoes;  
33. Underwear;  
34. Uniforms, athletic and non-athletic; and  
35. Wedding apparel.  

TAXABLE  

“Clothing” shall not include: 

1. Belt buckles sold separately;  
2. Costume masks sold separately;  
3. Patches and emblems sold separately;  
4. Sewing equipment and supplies including, but not limited to, knitting needles, 

patterns, pins, scissors, sewing machines, sewing needles, tape measures, and 
thimbles; and  

5. Sewing materials that become part of “clothing” including, but not limited to, 
buttons, fabric, lace, thread, yarn, and zippers.  

  

"Clothing accessories or equipment" means incidental items worn on the person or in 
conjunction with “clothing. The following list contains examples and is not intended to 
be an all-inclusive list. 

TAXABLE  

“Clothing accessories or equipment” shall include: 

1. Briefcases;  
2. Cosmetics;  
3. Hair notions, including, but not limited to, barrettes, hair bows, and hair nets;  
4. Handbags;  
5. Handkerchiefs;  
6. Jewelry;  
7. Sun glasses, non-prescription;  
8. Umbrellas;  



9. Wallets;  
10. Watches; and  
11. Wigs and hair pieces. 

   

“Protective equipment” means items for human wear and designed as protection of the 
wearer against injury or disease or as protections against damage or injury of other 
persons or property but not suitable for general use. The following list contains examples 
and is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. 

TAXABLE 

“Protective equipment” shall include: 

1. Breathing masks;  
2. Clean room apparel and equipment;  
3. Ear and hearing protectors;  
4. Face shields;  
5. Hard hats;  
6. Helmets;  
7. Paint or dust respirators;  
8. Protective gloves;  
9. Safety glasses and goggles;  
10. Safety belts;  
11. Tool belts; and  
12. Welders gloves and masks.  

  

“Sport or recreational equipment” means items designed for human use and worn in 
conjunction with an athletic or recreational activity that are not suitable for general use. 
The following list contains examples and is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. 

TAXABLE 

“Sport or recreational equipment” shall include: 

1. Ballet and tap shoes;  
2. Cleated or spiked athletic shoes;  
3. Gloves, including, but not limited to, baseball, bowling, boxing, hockey, and golf;  
4. Goggles;  
5. Hand and elbow guards;  
6. Life preservers and vests;  
7. Mouth guards;  
8. Roller and ice skates;  
9. Shin guards;  
10. Shoulder pads;  
11. Ski boots;  



12. Waders; and  
13. Wetsuits and fins. 

  

DAVID M. SULLIVAN 
TAX ADMINISTRATOR 

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 2007 

THIS REGULATION AMENDS AND SUPERCEDES REGULATION SU 87-13 
PROMULGATED MAY 1, 1987 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



State of Rhode Island – Division of Taxation 
 

Sales and Use Tax 
 

Regulation SU 12-13 
 

Clothing, Clothing Accessories, Sports or Recreational Equipment, 
and Protective Equipment  
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RULE  1 PURPOSE 
 
This regulation implements Rhode Island General Laws  (RIGL) Chapters 44-18 and 44-
19.  These Chapters provide for Sales and Use Taxes Liability and Computation, and 
Sales and Use Taxes Enforcement and Collection in regard to the taxation of clothing and 
footwear. 
 
 
 
 



RULE  2 AUTHORITY 
 
This regulation is promulgated pursuant to RIGL Chapters 44-18 and 44-19 as amended.  
These rules have been prepared in accordance with the requirements of RIGL §§ 44-1-1 
et seq., and 44-19-33. 
 
RULE  3 APPLICATION 
 
The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed to 
permit the Department of Revenue to effectuate the purposes of RIGL Chapters 44-18 
and 44-19 and other applicable state laws and regulations. 
 
RULE  4 SEVERABILITY 
 
If any provision of these rules and regulations or the application thereof to any person or 
circumstances is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the validity of the 
remainder of the rules and regulations shall not be affected thereby. 
 
 
RULE  5 DEFINITIONS 

“Clothing” means all human wearing apparel suitable for general use.  

(a) The following list contains examples and is not intended to be an all-inclusive 
list.  Examples of nontaxable items: 

1. Aprons, household and shop;  
2. Athletic supporters; 
3. Baby receiving blankets;  
4. Bathing suits and caps;  
5. Beach capes and coats;  
6. Belts and suspenders;  
7. Boots;  
8. Coats and jackets;  
9. Costumes;  
10. Diapers, children and adult, including disposable diapers;  
11. Ear muffs; 
12. Footlets;  
13. Formal wear;  
14. Garters and garter belts; 
15. Girdles; 
16. Gloves and mittens for general use; 
17. Hats and caps;  
18. Hosiery;  
19. Insoles for shoes;  
20. Lab coats;  
21. Neckties;  
22. Overshoes;  
23. Pantyhose;  



24. Rainwear;  
25. Rubber pants;  
26. Sandals;  
27. Scarves;  
28. Shoes and shoe laces;  
29. Slippers;  
30. Sneakers;  
31. Socks and stockings;  
32. Steel toed shoes;  
33. Underwear;  
34. Uniforms, athletic and non-athletic; and  
35. Wedding apparel.  

          (b) “Clothing” shall not include the following taxable items: 

 1. Belt buckles sold separately;   
 2. Costume masks sold separately;   
 3. Patches and emblems sold separately;   
 4. Sewing equipment and supplies including, but not limited to, knitting      
     needles, patterns,  pins, scissors, sewing machines, sewing needles, tape     
     measures, and thimbles; and   
 5. Sewing materials that become part of “clothing” including, but not limited  
     to, buttons, fabric, lace, thread, yarn, and zippers. 

“Clothing accessories or equipment,” means incidental items worn on the person or in 
conjunction with "clothing." "Clothing accessories or equipment" does not include 
"clothing," "sports or recreational equipment," or "protective equipment."  

The following list contains examples and is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. 
“Clothing accessories or equipment” shall include: 

 1. Briefcases;   
 2. Cosmetics;   
 3. Hair notions, including, but not limited to, barrettes, hair bows, and hairnets;   
 4. Handbags;  
 5. Handkerchiefs;   
 6. Jewelry;   
 7. Sun glasses, non-prescription;  
 8. Umbrellas; 
 9. Wallets;  
10. Watches; and 
11. Wigs and hairpieces. 

“Essential clothing” means any article of “clothing” with a sales price below the dollar 
threshold set by the state that is taxed differently from “clothing.”   

“Protective equipment” means items for human wear and designed as protection of the 
wearer against injury or disease or as protection against damage or injury of other persons 



or property but not suitable for general use. "Protective equipment" does not include 
"clothing," "clothing accessories or equipment," and "sport or recreational equipment."  

The following list contains examples and is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. 
“Protective equipment” shall include: 

 1. Breathing masks;  
2. Clean room apparel and equipment;  
3. Ear and hearing protectors;   
4. Face shields;  
5. Hard hats;  
6. Helmets;  
7. Paint or dust respirators;   
8. Protective gloves;   
9. Safety glasses and goggles;  
10. Safety belts;  
11. Tool belts; and   
12. Welders gloves and masks.   

 

“Sports or recreational equipment” means items designed for human use and worn in 
conjunction with an athletic or recreational activity that are not suitable for general use. 
"Sports or recreational equipment" does not include "clothing," "clothing accessories or 
equipment," and "protective equipment."  

The following list contains examples and is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. 
“Sports or recreational equipment” shall include: 

 1. Ballet and tap shoes;   
2. Cleated or spiked athletic shoes;   
3. Gloves, including, but not limited to, baseball, bowling, boxing, hockey, and    
    golf;   
4. Goggles;   
5. Hand and elbow guards;   
6. Life preservers and vests;  
7. Mouth guards;  
8. Roller and ice skates;  
9. Shin guards;  
10. Shoulder pads;  
11. Ski boots;  
12. Waders; and  
13. Wetsuits and fins.  

 
 
RULE  6 TAXATION OF CLOTHING AND ESSENTIAL CLOTHING  
 
(a) For sales prior to October 1, 2012, the sales in this state of articles of clothing, 
essential clothing, and footwear, intended to be worn or carried on or about the human 
body are exempt from the Rhode Island sales and use tax.    



 
(b) Effective October 1, 2012, the exemption will apply to the sales in this state of 
essential clothing, including footwear, intended to be worn or carried on or about the 
human body up to two-hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) of the sales price per item. 
 

Example:  A retailer sells five (5) shirts at sixty dollars ($60) each for a total of 
three-hundred dollars ($300.00).  Because the sale of each item is less than two-
hundred fifty dollars ($250.00), the sale of all five (5) shirts are exempt from the 
Rhode Island sales and use tax. 

 

(c) Effective October 1, 2012, the portion of the sales price of clothing, including 
footwear, sold in this state greater than two-hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) is subject to 
the Rhode Island sales and use tax.  
  

Example:  A retailer of clothing sells a suit with a sales price of two-hundred 
seventy-five dollars ($275.00). The amount of sales tax that is charged and 
collected from the customer is one dollar and seventy-five cents ($1.75) computed 
as follows: ($275.00 less $250.00 = $25.00 x 7% = $1.75). 
 

 
RULE  7          TAXATION OF CLOTHING ACCESSORIES OR EQUIPMENT 
 
Sales of clothing accessories or equipment in this state are subject to the Rhode Island 
sales and use tax. 
 
RULE  8          TAXATION OF PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT 
 
Sales of protective equipment in this state are subject to the Rhode Island sales and use 
tax. 
 
RULE  9          TAXATION OF SPORTS OR RECREATIONAL EQUIPMENT 
 
Sales of sports or recreational equipment in this state are subject to the Rhode Island sales 
and use tax. 
 

 
RULE  10 EFFECTIVE DATE 
 
This regulation shall take effect on October 1, 2012 and shall amend and supersede 
regulation SU 07-13 promulgated on January 1, 2007. 
 
 
 
 
 
David M. Sullivan 
Tax Administrator 


