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I. Executive Summary 

I. Executive Summary 
 

Tax expenditures are legal mandates that provide preferential tax treatment to 
taxpayers that meet the requirements of the mandate.  The 2014 Tax Expenditures Report 
contains information on a total of 243 tax expenditure items enacted in Rhode Island General 
Law, including 235 tax expenditure items current in Tax Year 2010 and 217 tax expenditure 
items current in Tax Year 2011.  The estimated total forgone revenue for all tax expenditure 
items that had reliable data from which to derive an estimate was $1.92 billion for TY 2010 
and $1.73 billion for TY 2011. 
 

In the 2012 Tax Expenditures Report, the estimated total forgone revenue from the 
235 tax expenditure items reported for TY 2009 was $1.73 billion.  The sharp increase 
between the TY 2009 forgone revenue contained in the 2012 Tax Expenditures Report and 
the TY 2010 forgone revenue contained in the 2014 Tax Expenditures Report is primarily 
due to (1) the alternative personal income flat tax rate (listed under Preferential Tax Rates), a 
$64.1 million increase in TY 2010; (2) federal itemized deductions used on personal income 
tax returns (listed under Deductions), a $62.7 million increase in TY 2010; and (3) the 
exemption for prescription drugs and durable medical equipment (listed under Exemptions), 
a $27.8 million increase in TY 2010.  The large drop in forgone tax revenue for tax 
expenditure items in TY 2011 vis-à-vis TY 2010 is due to the fact that the use of federal 
itemized deductions and the alternative personal income flat tax rate on personal income tax 
returns are no longer allowed under Rhode Island law. 
 

The following table shows by tax expenditure category the estimated amount of 
forgone revenue, the average reliability index level, and the number of tax expenditure items 
for TY 2010: 
 

Summary Table by Tax Expenditure Category for Tax Year 2010 

Tax Expenditure Category 
Tax Year 2010  

Forgone Revenue 

Average 
Reliability Index 

Level 
Number of Items 
in Each Category 

Credits  $      221,270,981  1.3 41 

Deductions          322,385,533  3.5 25 

Exclusions             62,901,689  4.5 26 

Exemptions       1,195,829,037  3.5 97 

Modifications               9,640,475  1.3 32 

Other Items                             0    5.0 8 

Preferential Tax Rates          108,309,642  1.0 2 

Tax Abatement               1,856,908  1.0 2 

Tax Deferral                             0    5.0 2 

TY 2010 TOTAL  $   1,922,194,265 2.9 235 
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In TY 2010, the tax expenditure category with the largest number of items was 
exemptions with 97.  Exemptions also had the greatest number of tax expenditure items for 
which no reliable data exists to derive an estimate of forgone revenue at 36.  For TY 2010, 
the tax expenditure category with the highest calculated forgone revenue was exemptions at 
$1.20 billion, or 62.2 percent of estimated total forgone revenue.  Tax abatement was the tax 
expenditure category with the smallest calculated forgone revenue at $1,856,908, or 0.1 
percent of estimated total forgone revenue.   
 

The computation of forgone revenue for each of the 235 tax expenditure items is 
assigned a reliability index level on a scale of one to five, with one meaning the forgone 
revenue figure is based on actual tax return data which is the most reliable, and five 
signifying that no reliable data exists from which to derive an estimate of forgone revenue.  
In instances in which a tax expenditure item was assigned multiple reliability index levels per 
tax type, the reliability index level with the most reliability was used in the summary table.  
For TY 2010, 85 tax expenditure items, or 36.2 percent of all items, were assigned a 
reliability index level of one, while 82 tax expenditure items, or 34.9 percent of all items, 
were assigned a reliability index level of five.  The remaining 68 tax expenditure items were 
assigned a reliability index level of two, three or four, with 35 of these remaining items, or 
14.9 percent of all items, being given a reliability index level of three. 
 

The following table shows by category the estimated amount of forgone revenue, the 
average reliability index level, and the number of tax expenditure items for TY 2011: 
 

Summary Table by Tax Expenditure Category for Tax Year 2011 

Tax Expenditure Category 
Tax Year 2011  

Forgone Revenue 

Average 
Reliability Index 

Level 
Number of Items 
in Each Category 

Credits  $      205,413,127  1.1 29 

Deductions          216,540,838  3.5 23 

Exclusions             58,448,105  4.5 26 

Exemptions       1,232,019,883  3.5 96 

Modifications               5,897,988  1.3 30 

Other Items                             0    5.0 8 

Preferential Tax Rates             11,857,485  1.0 1 

Tax Abatement               1,827,065  1.0 2 

Tax Deferral                            0    5.0 2 

TY 2011 TOTAL  $   1,732,004,491  3.0 217 
 

In TY 2011, the tax expenditure category with the largest number of items was 
exemptions with 96.  Exemptions also had the greatest number of tax expenditure items for 
which no reliable data exists to derive an estimate of forgone revenue at 35.  For TY 2011, 
the tax expenditure category with the highest calculated forgone revenue was exemptions at 
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$1.23 billion, or 71.1 percent of estimated total forgone revenue.  Tax abatement was the tax 
expenditure category with the smallest calculated forgone revenue at $1,827,065, or 0.1 
percent of estimated total forgone revenue.   
 

For TY 2011, of the total 217 tax expenditure items, 71 tax expenditure items, or 32.7 
percent of all items, were assigned a reliability index level of one, while 78 tax expenditure 
items, or 35.9 percent of all items, were assigned a reliability index level of five.  The 
remaining 68 tax expenditure items were assigned a reliability index level of two, three or 
four, with 35 of these remaining items, or 16.1 percent of all tax expenditure items, being 
given a reliability index level of three. 
 

The following table shows by tax type the estimated amount of forgone revenue, the 
average reliability index level, and the number of tax expenditure items for TY 2010: 

 
Summary Table by Tax Type for Tax Year 2010 

Tax Type 
Tax Year 2010  

Forgone Revenue 

Average 
Reliability Index 

Level 
Number of Items 

by Tax Type 

Alcoholic Beverage Tax $                      544  3.7 3 

Bank Deposits Tax                             0    2.3 3 

Bank Tax                  197,571  2.7 23 

Tax on Beverage Containers                  400,948  4.5 2 

Business Corporations Tax             95,329,204  3.2 60 

Cigarette Tax               2,527,463  3.3 4 

Estate Tax                             0   5.0 2 

Franchise Tax                             0   3.7 6 

Generation Skip Transfer Tax                             0   1.0 1 

Insurance Companies Tax             25,802,364  2.4 23 

Motor Carrier Fuel Tax               3,580,586  1.0 1 

Motor Fuel Tax             53,159,902  1.3 3 

Personal Income Tax          643,637,002  1.7 85 

Public Service Corporation Tax                             0    2.9 21 

Rental Vehicle Surcharge               3,054,203  1.0 1 

Real Estate Conveyance Tax                             0   5.0 4 

Sales and Use Tax       1,094,504,478  3.4 84 

TY 2010 TOTAL  $   1,922,194,265  2.7 326 
 

In TY 2010, the tax type with the largest number of tax expenditure items was 
personal income tax with 85.  Business corporations tax was the tax type with the greatest 
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number of tax expenditure items for which no reliable data exists to derive an estimate of 
forgone revenue with 32.  For TY 2010, the tax type with the highest calculated forgone 
revenue was sales and use tax at $1.09 billion, which was 56.9 percent of estimated total 
forgone revenue.  The tax type with the lowest calculated forgone revenue was the alcoholic 
beverage tax at $544. 
 

For TY 2010, of the total 326 tax expenditure items by tax type, 148 tax expenditure 
items, or 45.4 percent of all items, were assigned a reliability index level of one, while 111 
tax expenditure items, or 34.0 percent of all items, were assigned a reliability index level of 
five.  The remaining 67 tax expenditure items were assigned a reliability index level of two, 
three or four, with 34 of these remaining items, or 10.4 percent of all items, being given a 
reliability index level of three. 
 

In TY 2010, the single tax expenditure item with the largest amount of calculated 
forgone revenue was the sales and use tax exemption for “purchases used for manufacturing 
purposes” at $293.1 million, or 15.2 percent of estimated total forgone revenue.  This tax 
expenditure item was assigned a reliability index level of three.  By tax type, there were a 
total of 77 tax expenditure items which had zero calculated forgone revenue in TY 2010 and 
all were assigned a reliability index level of one. 
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The following table shows by tax type the estimated amount of forgone revenue, the 
average reliability index level, and the number of tax expenditure items for TY 2011: 
 

Summary Table by Tax Type for Tax Year 2011 

Tax Type 
Tax Year 2011  

Forgone Revenue 

Average 
Reliability Index 

Level 
Number of Items 

by Tax Type 

Alcoholic Beverage Tax $                      355  3.7 3 

Bank Deposits Tax                             0   2.3 3 

Bank Tax                       3,839  2.7 23 

Tax on Beverage Containers                  412,284  4.5 2 

Business Corporations Tax             90,561,510  3.2 60 

Cigarette Tax               2,240,989  3.3 4 

Estate Tax                             0   5.0 2 

Franchise Tax                             0  3.7 6 

Generation Skip Transfer Tax                             0    1.0 1 

Insurance Companies Tax               8,998,439  2.3 22 

Motor Carrier Fuel Tax               3,473,116  1.0 1 

Motor Fuel Tax             47,734,030  1.3 3 

Personal Income Tax          438,108,669  1.8 53 

Public Service Corporation Tax                            0    2.9 21 

Rental Vehicle Surcharge               2,690,870  1.0 1 

Real Estate Conveyance Tax                             0    5.0 4 

Sales and Use Tax       1,137,780,390  3.4 84 

TY 2011 TOTAL  $   1,732,004,491  2.9 293 
 
In TY 2011, the tax type with the largest number of tax expenditure items was sales 

and use tax with 84.  Business corporations tax was the tax type with the greatest number of 
tax expenditure items for which no reliable data exists to derive an estimate of forgone 
revenue with 32.  For TY 2011, the tax type with the highest calculated forgone revenue was 
sales and use tax at $1.14 billion, which was 65.7 percent of estimated total forgone revenue.  
The tax type with the lowest calculated forgone revenue was the alcoholic beverage tax at 
$355. 

 
For TY 2011, of the 293 tax expenditure items by tax type, a total of 120 tax 

expenditure items, or 41.0 percent of all items, were assigned a reliability index level of one, 
while 106 tax expenditure items, or 36.2 percent of all items, were assigned a reliability 
index level of five.  The remaining 67 tax expenditure items were assigned a reliability index 
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level of two, three or four, with 34 of these remaining items, or 11.6 percent of all tax 
expenditure items, being given a reliability index level of three. 
 

In TY 2011, the single tax expenditure item with the largest amount of calculated 
forgone revenue was the sales and use tax exemption for “purchases used for manufacturing 
purposes” at $297.8 million, or 17.2 percent of estimated total forgone revenue.  This tax 
expenditure item was assigned a reliability index level of three.  There were a total of 70 tax 
expenditure items by tax type which had zero calculated forgone revenue in TY 2011 and all 
were assigned a reliability index level of one. 
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II. Foreword 
 

The 2014 Tax Expenditures Report generally uses data for Tax Year 2010 as its base 
tax year and includes estimates of forgone revenue for Tax Years 2011 through 2015.  
However, whenever more recent data was available for subsequent tax years, the latest data 
was included in the report rather than an estimate.  It should be noted that more recent data 
may have become available for some tax expenditure items during the preparation of this 
report, but is not reflected in this report. 

 
The 2012 Tax Expenditures Report included information on tax expenditure items for 

Tax Years 2009 through 2013, with Tax Year 2009 as its base tax year.  Technically, the 
2014 Tax Expenditures Report is mandated to provide information on all tax expenditure 
items in effect on January 1, 2013, as well as an estimate of forgone revenue for Tax Years 
2014 and 2015.  In an attempt to provide a complete and more accurate picture, for Tax 
Years 2010 through 2012 we have reported current data or an updated estimate of forgone 
revenue.  

 
As always, constructive comments are welcome and any errors or omissions in the 

report are the responsibility of the Chief of the Office of Revenue Analysis. 
 

Paul L. Dion, Ph.D. 
Chief, Office of Revenue Analysis 
Rhode Island Department of Revenue 
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III. Introduction 
 
Purpose of the Tax Expenditures Report 
 

The purpose of the Tax Expenditures Report is to provide information on the cost of 
tax preference items that are mandated under Rhode Island law, federal law, or another legal 
mandate.  Tax expenditure items are not subject to the same public scrutiny as spending 
appropriations that are made through the budget process.  Oftentimes the estimated cost of a 
tax expenditure item is made only once — at the time it is passed into law.  The Tax 
Expenditures Report provides for an accounting of the cost, or forgone revenue, of tax 
expenditure items on an ongoing basis.  By providing this cost information, the Tax 
Expenditures Report allows these expenditures to be assessed on par with appropriated 
expenditures.  Absent a Tax Expenditures Report it would be extremely difficult to assess the 
cost effectiveness of a tax expenditure vis-à-vis an appropriated expenditure.  As the Center 
on Budget and Policy Priorities notes, tax expenditures are simply “spending by another 
name.”1 
 
Current Rhode Island Law on Tax Expenditures Reporting 
 

Rhode Island General Law § 44-48.1-1(a)2 mandates that the Chief of the Office of 
Revenue Analysis deliver to the General Assembly by the second Tuesday in January of each 
even numbered year a tax expenditure report.  The tax expenditure report must include the 
minimum information for 100.0 percent of the tax expenditures in place on January 1 of the 
odd numbered year preceding the report’s publication.  Thus, the 2014 Tax Expenditures 
Report covers all of the tax expenditures that were in place on January 1, 2013. 
 

Rhode Island General Law § 44-48.1-1(b) defines a tax expenditure as “any tax 
credit, deduction, exemption, exclusion, credit preferential tax rate, tax abatement, and tax 
deferral that provides preferential treatment to selected taxpayers.”  The term “credit 
preferential tax rate” is not defined in the statute.  The Chief of the Office of Revenue 
Analysis has chosen to interpret this item to mean a “modification” or “preferential tax rate” 
and reports on each of these tax expenditure items separately.  The Office of Revenue 
Analysis has determined that as of January 1, 2013 there were 223 tax expenditure items in 
effect either “directly through Rhode Island General Law or constitutional provisions or 
indirectly through adoption of other tax codes.” 
 

Rhode Island General Law § 44-48.1-1(c) delineates the information on each tax 
expenditure item that must be included in the report.  This information includes: (1) the legal 
reference of the tax expenditure items, “including whether the tax expenditure is the result of 
a federal or state constitutional, judicial, or statutory mandate;” (2) the actual amount of 
forgone revenue or an estimate for the calendar year in which the report is published and the 
year following the report’s publication, and an index of the reliability of each estimate that 

1 Levitis, Jason, Nicholas Johnson, and Jeremy Koulish, Promoting State Budget Accountability Through Tax 
Expenditure Reporting.  Center on Budget and Policy Priorities: Washington, D.C., April 2009, page 5. 
2 A full copy of the statute governing tax expenditure reporting is contained in Appendix A. 
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ranges in value from one to five, with level one being the most reliable; (3) the identification 
of the beneficiaries of the tax expenditure by “number, income, class and industry;” (4) a 
comparison of the Rhode Island tax expenditure items to tax expenditure items of the other 
New England states, but particularly Connecticut and Massachusetts; (5) “the data source(s) 
and analysis methodology” for each tax expenditure item estimate; and (6) “identification of 
similar taxpayers or industries” that do not benefit from the tax expenditure item.  To the 
greatest extent possible the Office of Revenue Analysis has tried to comply with each of 
these informational mandates. 
 

Rhode Island General Law § 44-48.1-1(d) requires that each report contain a section 
comprised of recommendations to improve the effectiveness of the tax expenditures report as 
a tax policy tool.  The recommendations are to be accompanied with an identification of the 
resources needed to implement the recommendations and an estimate of the costs associated 
with the recommendations. 
 
History of Rhode Island Law on Tax Expenditures Reporting 
 

Rhode Island’s governing statute for tax expenditure reporting was passed into law 
without the Governor’s signature on August 9, 1996 (see Rhode Island Public Laws 1996, 
Chapter 327, Section 1 and Chapter 394, Section 1).  This initial statute required the state tax 
administrator to submit annually to the General Assembly beginning in 1998, on or before 
the second Tuesday in January, “to the extent possible within the appropriations provided for 
the purpose,” a tax expenditures report.  The tax expenditures report for 1998 was to provide 
the “minimum information” for 25.0 percent of existing tax expenditures.  The report for 
1999 would cover an additional 25.0 percent of the tax expenditures, so that 50.0 percent of 
tax expenditures will have been reported.  Similar 25.0 percent increments were required for 
2000 and 2001, such that by January 2001, 100.0 percent of tax expenditures will have been 
reported.  Beginning in January 2002, the cycle repeated itself so that no report on a tax 
expenditure item was more than four years old. 
 

The definition of tax expenditure was the same as it is in current law as was the 
requirement for providing the legal reference of each tax expenditure, identifying the 
beneficiaries of each tax expenditure as well as similar taxpayers or industries that did not 
benefit from the tax expenditure, and comparing Rhode Island’s tax expenditure items to 
those of other New England states particularly Connecticut and Massachusetts.  The original 
statute also required that the report include the legislative history of each tax expenditure, the 
“determination of the beneficiary’s state tax burden” and a cost/benefit analysis of each tax 
expenditure item “including the direct revenue loss from the tax expenditure as well as the 
economic and tax revenue gains occurring through the economic activity resulting from the 
tax expenditure.”  On June 25, 1997 (see Rhode Island Public Laws 1997, Chapter 30, 
Section 1), the original statute was amended to delete the requirement of the inclusion of a 
cost/benefit analysis for each tax expenditure item in the tax expenditure report. 
 

On July 10, 2003, the statute was amended again to change the periodicity of the 
report from annually to biannually beginning in 2004.  In addition, the rolling renewal of 
25.0 percent of existing tax expenditures was changed to require that “the minimum 
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information on 100.0 percent of tax expenditures in effect on January 1” of the prior calendar 
year be reported.  The requirement that the legislative history of a tax expenditure item be 
reported was eliminated leaving only the requirement that the legal reference for each tax 
expenditure item be reported.  Further, the original statute was modified to require that an 
estimate of the forgone revenue that results from each tax expenditure item be reported if the 
actual amount cannot be determined and that such estimates be made for the calendar year 
preceding and following the year in which the report is published as well as the report’s 
publication year.  Additionally, the requirement that the beneficiary of tax expenditure item’s 
state tax burden be determined was deleted and replaced with the requirement that the data 
sources and analysis methodology underlying each estimate of forgone revenue be provided.  
Also, the amendment to the statute required each report to include “a section containing 
recommendations for improving the effectiveness of the report as a tax policy tool” including 
the resources required and an estimate of the costs associated with these recommendations.  
Finally, the revision to the statute required the state tax administrator to “make available to 
the General Assembly a plan to improve Rhode Island’s tax expenditure reporting effort” by 
the second Tuesday in January 2004. 
 

On June 30, 2006, Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-48.1 was amended to shift 
the responsibility for the delivery of the tax expenditure report from “the state tax 
administrator, to the extent possible within the appropriations provided for the purpose” to 
the Chief of the Office of Revenue Analysis without regard to appropriations provided for 
that purpose.  In addition, this amendment required the Chief of the Office of Revenue 
Analysis to “make available to the General Assembly a plan to improve Rhode Island’s tax 
expenditure reporting effort” by the second Tuesday in January 2004.  This latter amendment 
could not be fulfilled given that the Office of Revenue Analysis was not created until June 
2006. 
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IV. Interpreting the Report 
 
The Index of Reliability 
 

Rhode Island General Law § 44-48.1-1(c)(2)3 requires the tax administrator to 
“develop an index of the reliability of each estimate” of forgone revenue.  By statute, the 
index of reliability is based on a scale of one to five, “with level one being most reliable.”  
The statute further specifies that estimates of forgone revenue that are derived from actual tax 
returns “should be assigned reliability level one,” while those estimates of forgone revenue 
for which no reliable data exists “should be assigned reliability level five.”  A perusal of 
previously published tax expenditures reports revealed that the 2010 Tax Expenditures 
Report was the first such report to provide such an index. 
 

The 2014 Tax Expenditures Report uses the reliability index that was developed in 
the 2010 Tax Expenditures Report.  The Index of Reliability is shown below: 
 

Index of Reliability  Interpretation 
Level One (1)  Estimate is from actual Rhode Island tax return data 

Level Two (2)  Estimate is extrapolated from Rhode Island source data 

Level Three (3)  Estimate is from Rhode Island tax simulation model 

Level Four (4)  Estimate is federal/national data scaled for Rhode Island 

Level Five (5)  No reliable data exists from which to derive an estimate 
 

The end points of the Index of Reliability (i.e., Level One and Level Five) are 
consistent with their statutory mandates.  An estimate of forgone revenue for a tax 
expenditure item that is assigned an Index of Reliability Level One will be based on actual 
Rhode Island tax return data.  Given the fact that an Index of Reliability Level Five indicates 
that “no reliable data exists from which to derive an estimate,” tax expenditure items 
assigned this level will not have an estimate of forgone revenue presented.  Rather, the 
phrase “no estimate possible” will be presented next to the tax expenditure item. 
 

The Index of Reliability Levels Two through Four requires some further explanation.  
An estimate of forgone revenue with an Index of Reliability Level Two is based on data that 
can be directly sourced to Rhode Island or an update of a previously derived estimate of the 
tax expenditure item.  Some examples of data that can be directly sourced to Rhode Island 
include data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, and 
the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis.  In addition, state government agencies, quasi-public 
agencies, and non-governmental organizations are able to provide reliable Rhode Island 
specific data from which to estimate the forgone revenue of a tax expenditure item.  In the 
case of updating a previously derived estimate, the original estimate may be from a 
previously published tax expenditures report, a fiscal note that was completed for a particular 

3 A full copy of the statute governing tax expenditure reporting is contained in Appendix A. 
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piece of legislation during a session of the General Assembly, or an estimate that was derived 
by the Budget Office, the Division of Taxation, the Office of Revenue Analysis or some 
other state agency for a purpose other than that of the tax expenditures report.  When an 
Index of Reliability Level Two is assigned to the forgone revenue estimate of a tax 
expenditure item, the source of the Rhode Island data will be specified. 
 

An estimate of forgone revenue for a tax expenditure item with an Index of 
Reliability Level Three is derived from a micro simulation model of a particular tax that has 
been developed and provided by a third party vendor.  In some cases such a micro simulation 
model will generate estimates based on underlying Rhode Island economic data rather than 
actual tax data.  The most obvious example of this type of micro simulation model is the 
Rhode Island Micro Sales Tax Model that was purchased by the General Assembly in 2008 
and made available to the Office of Revenue Analysis for the purpose of estimating the 
revenue impacts from changing sales tax rates, sales tax exemptions, and/or the sales tax 
base.  This model is used extensively to estimate the forgone revenue from the numerous 
transactions that are exempt from the State’s sales and use tax. 
 

Finally, an estimate of forgone revenue for a tax expenditure item with an Index of 
Reliability Level Four is based on federal / national data that is scaled to Rhode Island.  
Alternatively, the estimate may be based on federal data that is then adjusted by a factor that 
allows for the extrapolation of the federal data to Rhode Island.  When an Index of 
Reliability Level Four is assigned to the forgone revenue estimate of a tax expenditure item, 
the date on which the original estimate was derived will be stated if it is known as will the 
method used to update the original estimate.  In the case of an estimate that is based on 
federal data that is scaled to Rhode Island, the base federal data will be identified as will the 
scaling factor. 
 
Structure of the Report 
 

Prior to the issuance of the 2010 Tax Expenditures Report, tax expenditures reports 
presented tax expenditure items by tax type.  In other words, the primary organizing key was 
tax type with tax expenditure items appearing under each tax type.  For example, in the Tax 
Expenditures Report, January 2008, thirty-eight tax expenditure items are listed under the 
heading “Personal Income” and these tax expenditure items are comprised of modifications, 
credits, exclusions, adjustments, deductions and preferential tax rates.4  In addition, when it 
comes to tax expenditure items, it is often the case that what is available for one tax type will 
also be made available for other tax types.  For example, the Motion Picture Production Tax 
Credit allows for a credit of 25.0 percent “of the state certified production costs incurred 
directly attributable to activity within the state, provided that the primary locations are within 
the state of Rhode Island and the total production budget as defined herein is a minimum of 
one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000).”5  This credit, which can be transferred or sold, 
can be used against the “tax imposed” under the state’s business corporations tax, financial 

4 State of Rhode Island, Department of Revenue, Division of Taxation, Tax Expenditures Report, January 2008, 
p. 3.  This report was prepared by Cecilia C. Vallee, Revenue Analyst, at the request of David M. Sullivan, 
Rhode Island Tax Administrator. 
5 See Rhode Island General Law § 44-31.2-5 (a). 
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institutions tax, insurance companies gross premiums tax and the personal income tax.  As a 
result of this type of tax expenditure, tax expenditures report issued prior to the 2010 Tax 
Expenditures Report had to include a category labeled “Tax Preference Items Applicable to 
More Than One Tax”6 in order to consistently categorize tax expenditure items. 
 

In the 2010 Tax Expenditures Report, the Office of Revenue Analysis adopted a 
different presentation format.  Rather than list the tax expenditure items by the tax type to 
which they apply, the 2010 Tax Expenditures Report used the category of tax expenditure 
item as the organizing key.  That is, each category of tax expenditure items listed each 
individual tax expenditure item and the tax types to which the individual tax expenditure item 
applies.  For example, the Motion Picture Production Tax Credit would be categorized under 
“Credits” with the business corporations tax, financial institutions tax, insurance companies 
gross premiums tax, and the personal income tax as the relevant tax types.  The 2014 Tax 
Expenditures Report follows the same approach as was adopted for the 2010 Tax 
Expenditures Report.   
 

To assist readers in the use of the 2014 Tax Expenditures Report, two sets of 
summary tables are included.  The first set of summary tables lists the value of tax 
expenditures by tax expenditure item.  Thus, for example, under the category “Credits” the 
total value of each individual tax expenditure credit item, without regard to the tax type under 
which it was used, will be shown.  The second set of summary tables lists the value of tax 
expenditures by tax type.  Thus, for example, under the tax type “Personal Income” the total 
value of each individual tax expenditure item that is used under the personal income tax will 
be displayed. 
 
Definition of Terms 
 

The following definitions will be used when referring to the different types of tax 
expenditure items included in this report. 
 
Credit:  The direct dollar-for-dollar reduction of an individual’s tax liability.  The value of a 
tax credit is invariant to a taxpayer’s tax bracket. 

Deduction:  An amount subtracted from adjusted gross income when calculating taxable 
income.  The value of a tax deduction is proportional to a taxpayer’s tax bracket. 

Exclusion:  An amount or proportion that can be legally excluded from the taxable base prior 
to the assessment of tax. 

Exemption:  A taxable expenditure, income, or investment on which no tax is levied.  A tax 
exemption may be of limited or permanent duration. 

Modification:  An amount added to or subtracted from gross income to arrive at adjusted 
gross income.  Usually, adjusted gross income is the basis from which taxable income is 
derived. 

6 See Tax Expenditures Report, January 2008, p. 144. 
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IV. Interpreting the Report 

Preferential Tax Rate:  A tax rate made available to certain taxpayer’s that is less than the 
statutory tax rate.  Typically, the preferential tax rate is made available to a taxpayer that 
meets specified criteria. 

Tax Abatement:  Rebate given in levies or taxes under special circumstances or as an offset 
to the performance of particular actions. 

Tax Deferral:  Paying taxes in the future for income earned in the current year, such as 
through an Individual Retirement Account (IRA), 401(k), Simplified Employee Pension 
(SEP) IRA or Keogh plan. 

 
Categorization of Tax Expenditure Items 
 

The tables on the following pages show the categorization of tax expenditure items 
and the tax type that each tax expenditure item applies.  The individual tax expenditure items 
are listed alphabetically by category and those tax expenditure items that originate under the 
Internal Revenue Code are so indicated as federal.  Tax expenditure items with an asterisk 
(“*”) in the applicable tax type represent tax expenditure items that were in effect in Tax 
Year 2010 or earlier, but were eliminated as of January 1, 2013. 
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IV. Interpreting the Report – Tables of Tax Expenditure Items 

 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

CREDITS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
1 Accommodations under Americans with Disabilities Act 44-54 X  X       

2 Adoption (Federal) 44-30-
2.6(c)(2)(L)       *   

3 Adult and Child Daycare 44-47 X  X X  X *   
4 Adult Education 44-46 X  X X X X *   
5 Apprenticeship 44-11-41 X         
6 Artwork Exhibition 44-30-24       *   
7 Biotechnology Investment 44-31-1.1 X      *   

8 Child and Dependent Care (Federal) 44-30-
2.6(c)(3)(E)(1)(g)       X   

9 Contribution to Scholarship Organizations 44-62 X  X X X X X   

10 Earned Income (Federal) 44-30-
2.6(c)(2)(N)       X   

11 Educational Assistance and Development 44-42-2 X  X X  X    

12 Elderly or Disabled (Federal) 44-30-
2.6(c)(2)(K)       *   

13 Employment – Welfare Bonus Program 44-39.1-2 X  X X  X *   
14 Enterprise Zone Wage 42-64.3-6 X  X X  X *   
15 Farm to School Income 44-30-27       *   

16 General Business (Federal) 44-30-
2.6(c)(2)(K)       *   

17 Historic Homeownership Assistance 44-33.1-3       *   
18 Historic Structures 44-33.2-3 X X X X  X X   
19 Historic Preservation (New) 44-33.6-3 X X X X  X X   
20 Hydroelectric Power 44-30-22 X      *   
21 Incentives for Innovation and Growth 44-63-2 / 44-63-3 X X     *   
22 Interest for Loans to Mill Building Owners 42-64.9-9 X  X X  X *   
23 Investment 44-31-1 X   X  X *   
24 Jobs Training 42-64.6-4 X  X X  X *   
25 Juvenile Restitution 14-1-32.1(c) X      *   
26 Lead Paint Abatement 44-30.3-1       X   

27 Mortgage Interest (Federal) 44-30-
2.6(c)(2)(K)       *   

28 Motion Picture Production 44-31.2-5 X   X  X X   
29 Motor Fuel Use Carrier Taxes Paid to Rhode Island 31-36.1-15         X 
30 Musical and Theatrical Production (New) 44-31.3-2 X X X X  X X   
31 Non-Resident Trust Beneficiary for Accumulating Distribution 44-30-37       *   

32 Prior Year Minimum Tax (Federal) 44-30-
2.6(c)(2)(K)       *   

33 Property Tax Relief 44-33-5       X   
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IV. Interpreting the Report – Tables of Tax Expenditure Items 

 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

CREDITS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 

34 Qualified Electric Vehicle (Federal) 44-30-
2.6(c)(2)(K)       *   

35 Qualifying Widow(er) 44-30-26       *   
36 Real or Personal Property Taxed in Another State 44-40-3(b)         X 
37 Research and Development Expense 44-32-3 X     X *   
38 Research and Development Property 44-32-2 X     X *   
39 Resident Trust Beneficiary for Accumulating Distribution 44-30-19       *   
40 Residential Renewable Energy System 44-57-1 X      *   
41 Specialized Investment in Mill Building 42-64.9-7 X   X  X *   
42 Taxes Paid to Other States 44-30-18       X   
43 Wages Paid by Employers in Mill Buildings 42-64.9-8 X      *   

 
Definitions:  Bus Corp: Business Corporations Tax; Franchise: Franchise Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, 
Generally; Ins Cos: Taxation of Insurance Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax. 

 
 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

DEDUCTIONS: 
RI Statutory Bus Corp Franchise Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
1 Accelerated Amortization for Certain Manufacturers 44-11-11.3 X                 
2 Alimony Paid (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     
3 Amortization of Air or Water Pollution Control Facilities 44-30-7             *     

4 Amortization of Air or Water Pollution Prevention and 
Treatment Facilities 44-11-11.1 X         

5 Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, etc. (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     
6 Connecting Fees, Switching and Carrier Access Charges 44-13-1(b)     X             
7 Domestic Production Activities (Federal) 44-30-2.6             *     
8 Educator Expenses (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     
9 Electricity for Resale 44-13-4(2)     X             

10 Health Savings Account (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     
11 Individual Retirement Arrangement Contributions (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     

12 Itemized Deductions from Federal Return 44-30-
2.6(c)(2)(C)(1)       *   

13 Keough and SEP Contributions (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     
14 Merchandise Sold 44-13-5(a)     X             
15 Moving Expenses (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     
16 Net Operating Losses 44-11-11(b) X                 
17 One-Half of Self Employment Tax (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     
18 Penalty of Early Withdrawal of Savings (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     
19 Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture Capital Partnership 44-43-2 X   X X   X       
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IV. Interpreting the Report – Tables of Tax Expenditure Items 

 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

DEDUCTIONS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 

20 Return or Unabsorbed Premiums or Premiums for Reinsurance 
Assumed 44-17-2      X    

21 Self Employed Health Insurance (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     

22 Standard Deduction 44-30-
2.6(c)(3)(B)       X   

23 Student Loan Interest (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     
24 Tax Incentives for Employers 44-55-4.1 X   X X X X       
25 Tuition and Fees (Federal) 44-30-2.6             X     

 
Definitions:  Bus Corp: Business Corporations Tax; Franchise: Franchise Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, 
Generally; Ins Cos: Taxation of Insurance Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax. 

 
 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

EXCLUSIONS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
1 Biodiesel Portion of Blended Gallon of Diesel Fuel 31-36-1                 X 

2 Conveyance of Mobile/Manufactured Homes for Consideration 
of $100 or less 31-44-20(a)         X 

3 Conveyance of Real Estate for Consideration of $100 or less 44-25-1(a)                 X 

4 Conveyance of Real Estate Relating to the Capitol Center 
Project 44-25-2(c)         X 

5 Corporations Excluded from Taxation by Charter 44-11-1(2)(vi) X                 
6 Corporations Not Doing Business for Profit 44-11-1(2)(iv) X                 
7 Corporations Taxed Under the Business Corporation Tax 44-12-1(b)   X               

8 Corporations That Maintain and Manage Intangible 
Investments 44-11-1(2)(vii) X         

9 Dividends Received from Shares of Stock 44-11-12(1) / 
44-14-15 X         

10 Financial Institutions 44-11-1(2)(i) X                 
11 Fraternal Beneficiary Societies 44-11-1(2)(v) X                 
12 Fraternal Benefit Societies 44-17-1           X       
13 Gain or Loss on Sale of Property Other Than Securities 44-14-11       X           

14 Income from the Sale of International Investment Management 
Services 44-11-14.5 X         

15 Insurance and Surety Companies 44-11-1(2)(iii) X                 

16 Interest Received from Debt Instruments Issued by Public 
Service Corporations 44-11-12(2) X         

17 Long-Term Gain From Capital Investment in Small Business 44-43-5 X   X X     X     
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IV. Interpreting the Report – Tables of Tax Expenditure Items 

 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

EXCLUSIONS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 

18 Lubricating Oils, Marine Diesel Fuel, Aviation Fuel, and 
Heating Oil 31-36-1(4)         X 

19 Maximum Tax of $0.50 per Cigar 44-20-13.2(a)(2)                 X 
20 Net Taxable Estate Amount 44-22-1.1                 X 

21 Possession of 10 Packs of Cigarettes with Out-of-State Tax 
Stamps 44-20-16         X 

22 Public Service Corporations 44-11-1(2)(ii) X                 
23 Subchapter S Corporations 44-11-2(d)(1) X                 
24 Taxed Gross Earnings and Associated Costs 44-13-2.2 X           X     

25 Taxes Legally Imposed on Consumer but Separately Stated on 
Invoice 44-18-12(b)(iv)        X  

26 Value-Added Non-Voice Services That Use Computer 
Processing Applications 44-13-4(4)   X       

27 Veterinary and Testing Laboratories Services (New) 44-18-7.3(b)(3)               X   

 
Definitions:  Bus Corp: Business Corporations Tax; Franchise: Franchise Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, 
Generally; Ins Cos: Taxation of Insurance Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax. 

 
 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

EXEMPTIONS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
1 Agricultural Products for Human Consumption 44-18-30(61)               X   
2 Air and Water Pollution Control Facilities 44-18-30(15)               X   
3 Aircraft and Aircraft Parts 44-18-30(56)               X   

4 Banks and Regulated Investment Companies Interstate Toll 
Free Calls 44-18-30(49)        X  

5 Beverage Containers, Hard-to-Dispose Material, and Litter 
Control Participation Permittee 

44-44-3.6 / 44-
44-2(1)         X 

6 Bibles 44-18-30(29)               X   

7 Boats or Vessels Brought in Exclusively for Winter Storage, 
Maintenance, Repair or Sale 44-18-30(46)        X  

8 Boats or Vessels Generally 44-18-30(48)               X   
9 Boats to Non-Residents 44-18-30(30)               X   

10 Building Materials Used to Rebuild After Disaster 44-18-30(51)               X   
11 Buses, Trucks or Trailers Used in Interstate Commerce 44-18-40               X   
12 Camps 44-18-30(16)               X   
13 Casual Sales 44-18-20(g)               X   
14 Charitable, Educational or Religious Organizations 44-18-30(5)               X   
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IV. Interpreting the Report – Tables of Tax Expenditure Items 

 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

EXEMPTIONS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
15 Clothing and Footwear  44-18-30(27)               X   
16 Coffins, Caskets and Burial Garments 44-18-30(12)               X   
17 Coins 44-18-30(43)               X   
18 Commercial Fishing Vessels in Excess of Five Net Tons 44-18-30(26)               X   
19 Commercial Vessels of More Than 50 Tons Burden 44-18-30(25)               X   
20 Compressed Air 44-18-30(33)               X   
21 Containers 44-18-30(4)               X   

22 Deed, Instrument or Writing where Grantor is U.S. 
Government or State of Rhode Island 44-25-2(b)         X 

23 Diesel Emission Control Technology 44-18-30(62)               X   
24 Dietary Supplements 44-18-30(59)               X   
25 Distressed Essential Community Hospital  23-17.25-2               X   
26 Educational Institutions Rental Charges 44-18-30(18)               X   

27 Electricity and Gas for Domestic Use by Occupants of 
Residential Premises 44-18-30(21)        X  

28 Electricity, Steam and Thermal Energy from RI Economic 
Development Corporation 44-18-40.1        X  

29 Equipment for Research and Development 44-18-30(42)               X   

30 Estates of Persons Declared Missing in Action by the U.S. 
Armed Forces 44-22-2         X 

31 Farm Equipment 44-18-30(32)               X   
32 Farm Structure Construction Materials 44-18-30(44)               X   
33 Feed for Certain Animals Used in Commercial Farming (New) 44-18-30(63)               X   

34 First 100,000 Barrels of Beer of a Brewer in Continuous 
Operation for 12 Months 3-10-1(c)         X 

35 Flags 44-18-30(34)               X   
36 Food and Food Ingredients 44-18-30(9)               X   
37 Food Items Paid for by Food Stamps 44-18-30(39)               X   
38 Gasoline 44-18-30(6)               X   
39 Heating Fuels 44-18-30(20)               X   
40 Horse Food Products 44-18-30(53)               X   
41 Hospitals and Other Specific Corporations 44-12-11   X             X 
42 Human Blood 44-18-30(60)               X   
43 Installation Labor Charges, When Separately Stated 44-18-12(b)(ii)               X   
44 Jewelry Display Product 44-18-30(47)               X   
45 Manufacturers' Machinery and Equipment 44-18-30(22)               X   
46 Medicines, Drugs and Durable Medical Equipment 44-18-30(10)               X   
47 Mobile and Manufactured Homes Generally 44-18-30(50)               X   
48 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment for Amputee Veterans 44-18-30(35)               X   
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IV. Interpreting the Report – Tables of Tax Expenditure Items 

 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

EXEMPTIONS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 

49 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment for Persons with 
Disabilities 44-18-30(19)        X  

50 Narragansett Pier Railroad Company 44-13-1(a)     X           X 
51 Newspapers 44-18-30(2)               X   
52 Ocean Marine Insurance 44-17-1           X       

53 Out-of-State Shipments of Rhode Island Alcoholic Beverage 
Manufacturers 3-10-2         X 

54 Personal and Dependent 44-30-
2.6(c)(3)(C)       X   

55 Personal Holding Company, Regulated Investment Company 
or Real Estate Investment Trust 44-11-2( c ) X         

56 Precious Metal Bullion 44-18-30(24)               X   
57 Premiums Received from Insurance for Medical Malpractice 42-14.1-1(g)           *       
58 Prewritten Computer Software Delivered Electronically 44-18-30               *   
59 Promotional and Product Literature of Boat Manufacturers 44-18-30(38)               X   
60 Property Otherwise Exempted 44-18-36(3)               X   
61 Property Purchased from Federal Government 44-18-35               X   

62 Property Purchased Outside of State by Nonresident and 
Brought into State 44-18-36(2)        X  

63 Property Returned Within 120 Days from the Date of Delivery 44-18-30(58)               X   
64 Prosthetic Devices and Mobility Enhancing Equipment 44-18-30(11)               X   
65 Purchases Used for Manufacturing Purposes 44-18-30(7)               X   

66 Qualified Sales of Manufactured and Mobile Home Parks 
(New) 31-44-3.3         X 

67 Refillable and Reusable Beverage Containers 44-44-3                 X 
68 Renewable Energy Products 44-18-30(57)               X   

69 Rental Charged for Living or Sleeping Quarters in a Hospital 
or Nursing Home Licensed by the State 44-18-30(17)        X  

70 Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation Project 
Status Designees 42-64-20        *  

71 Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation Lessees 45-37.1-9               *   
72 Sacramental Wines Sold Directly to Member of Clergy 3-10-1(b)                 X 
73 Sales and Use Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions 44-18-30A(a)               X   
74 Sales beyond Constitutional Power of State 44-18-30(1)               X   
75 Sales by Writers, Composers, Artists 44-18-30B               X   
76 Sales in Municipal Economic Development Zones 44-18-30C               X   
77 Sales in Public Buildings by Blind People 44-18-30(14)               X   
78 Sales of Motor Vehicles to Nonresidents 44-18-30(13)               X   
79 Sales of Non-Motorized Recreational Vehicles to Nonresidents 44-18-30(54)               X   
80 Sales of Trailers Ordinarily Used for Residential Purposes 44-18-20(d)(3)               X   

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  20 



IV. Interpreting the Report – Tables of Tax Expenditure Items 

 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

EXEMPTIONS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
81 Sales to Common Carriers for Use Outside of the State 44-18-33               X   
82 Sales to Federal Government 44-18-31               X   
83 Sales to the State or Its Political Subdivisions 44-18-30(8)               X   

84 Sales to the U.S. Government and Operators of Railroad 
Transportation Equipment 31-36-13         X 

85 School Meals 44-18-30(3)               X   

86 Special Adaptations for Wheelchair Accessible Taxicabs 44-18-
30(19)(iii)        X  

87 Supplies Used in On-Site Hazardous Waste Recycling, Reuse, 
or Treatment 44-18-30(37)        X  

88 Supplies Used in Preparing Floral Products and/or 
Arrangements 44-18-30(52)        X  

89 Telecommunications Carrier Access Service 44-18-30(45)               X   
90 Textbooks 44-18-30(36)               X   

91 Total Loss or Destruction of Motor Vehicle within 120 Days of 
Tax Payment 44-18-21(c)        X  

92 Trade-in Value of Boats 44-18-30(41)               X   
93 Trade-In Value of Private Passenger Automobiles 44-18-30(23)               X   
94 Transfers or Sales Made to Immediate Family Members 44-18-20(d)(1)               X   

95 Transfers or Sales Related to Business Dissolution or Partial 
Liquidation 44-18-20(d)(2)        X  

96 Transportation Charges of Motor Carriers to Haul Goods 44-18-30(40)               X   

97 Vehicles Purchased by Nonresident Military Personnel Subject 
to Sales Tax Elsewhere 44-18-30A(b)        X  

98 Water for Residential Use 44-18-30(28)               X   
99 Wine and Spirits (New) 44-18-330(64)               X   

100 Youth Activities Equipment Sold for $20 or less by Nonprofit 
Organizations 44-18-30(31)        X  

 
Definitions:  Bus Corp: Business Corporations Tax; Franchise: Franchise Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, 
Generally; Ins Cos: Taxation of Insurance Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax. 
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IV. Interpreting the Report – Tables of Tax Expenditure Items 

 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

MODIFICATIONS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 

1 Bonus Depreciation Provided by JCWAA of 2002 and 
JGTRRA of 2003 44-61-1 X   X   X   

2 Companies Engaged in Buying, Selling, Dealing In or Holding 
Securities on Own Behalf 44-11-2(b) X         

3 Contribution to Medical Savings Account by Scituate 
Residents 44-30-25.1(d)(1)       X   

4 Contributions to an Account under Tuition Savings Program 44-30-12(c)(4)             X     
5 Domestic International Sales Corporations (DISCs) 44-11-11(c) X                 

6 
Enterprise Zone Business Owner with Domiciliary in 
Enterprise Zone 42-64.3-7 X           X     

7 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of Depreciation, Section 179 of 
Internal Revenue Code 44-61-1.1 *   *   *   

8 Federally Taxable Withdrawals from Tuition Savings Program 
Account 44-30-12(c)(3)       X   

9 Foreign Sales Corporation (FSC) 44-11-11(d) X                 
10 Gain from Stock Options in Qualifying Corporations 44-39.3-1             X     
11 Income Earned on a Rhode Island Family Education Account 44-30-25(f)             X     

12 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Historic Structures 
Tax Credits 44-33.2-3(e)(2) X X X X  X X   

13 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Motion Picture 
Production Tax Credits 44-31.2-9 X X X X  X X   

14 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Musical and 
Theatrical Production Tax Credits (New) 44-31.3-2(b)(5) X X X X  X X   

15 Income or Gain from a Qualifying Employee’s Ownership of a 
Qualifying Corporation 44-43-8       X   

16 Interest on Obligations of the United States and its Possessions 
44-11-

11(a)(1)(vi) / 
44-30-12(c)(1) 

      X   

17 Military Pay of Nonresident Individuals 44-30-32(d)             X     
18 New Research and Development Facilities 44-32-1 X           X     

19 Nonqualified Withdrawals from a Medical Savings Account by 
Scituate Residents 

44-30-
25.1(d)(3)(i)       X   

20 Nonqualified Withdrawals from Tuition Savings Program 
Account 

44-30-
12(b)(4)/44-30-

32(a)(3) 
      X   

21 Nonqualified Withdrawals or Distributions from Rhode Island 
Family Education Accounts 

44-30-12(b)(3) / 
44-30-25(g)       X   

22 Organ Transplantation 44-30-12(c)(7)             X     

23 Performance-Based Income of Eligible Employees via the Jobs 
Growth Act 42-64.11-4       X   
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 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

MODIFICATIONS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 

24 
Profits or Gains from Sale of Work by Artists, Writers, and 
Composers 44-30-1.1(c)(1)       X   

25 Provision of Insurance Benefit to Dependent or Domestic 
Partner 44-30-12(c)(6)       X   

26 Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture Capital 
Partnership 44-43-2       X   

27 Railroad Retirement Benefits 45 U.S.C. 
231m(a)       X   

28 Recognition of Income from Discharge of Business 
Indebtedness 44-66-1 X   X   X   

29 Rental Vehicle Surcharge Retained by Rental Car Companies 31-34.1-2(b)                 X 
30 Rhode Island Fiduciary Adjustment 44-30-12(d)             X     
31 Sales Tax Paid on a Qualified Vehicle Purchase 44-30-12(b)(7)             *     
32 Tax Incentives for Employers 44-55-4.1             X     
33 Unemployment Compensation 44-30-12(b)(6)             *     

 
Definitions:  Bus Corp: Business Corporations Tax; Franchise: Franchise Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, 
Generally; Ins Cos: Taxation of Insurance Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax. 

 
 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

OTHER ITEMS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
1 Allocation and Apportionment of Brokerage Services 44-11-14.2(b) X                 
2 Allocation and Apportionment of Credit Card Banks 44-11-14.3 X                 
3 Allocation and Apportionment of Manufacturers 44-11-14.6 X                 

4 Allocation and Apportionment of Regulated Investment 
Companies 44-11-14.2(a) X         

5 Allocation and Apportionment of Retirement and Pension 
Plans 44-11-14.4 X         

6 Passive Investment Treatment 44-11-43 X                 
7 Returns of Affiliated Groups of Corporations 44-11-4 X                 

8 
Special Apportionment of U.S. Federal Drug Administration 
Facilities 44-11-14.1 X                 

 
Definitions:  Bus Corp: Business Corporations Tax; Franchise: Franchise Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, 
Generally; Ins Cos: Taxation of Insurance Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax. 
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IV. Interpreting the Report – Tables of Tax Expenditure Items 

 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
1 Alternative Personal Income Tax 44-30-2.10             *    
2 Jobs Development Act 42-64.5-3 X   X X   X       

 
Definitions:  Bus Corp: Business Corporations Tax; Franchise: Franchise Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, 
Generally; Ins Cos: Taxation of Insurance Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax. 

 
 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

TAX ABATEMENTS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
1 Cigarette Tax Stamping Discount 44-20-19                 X 
2 Political Check-Off 44-30-2(c)(1)             X     
3 Value of Farmland Included in Estate (New) 44-23-5(b)                 X 

 
Definitions:  Bus Corp: Business Corporations Tax; Franchise: Franchise Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, 
Generally; Ins Cos: Taxation of Insurance Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax. 

 
 2014 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS 
 An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type. 
 Tax Expenditure Items Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied 
 

TAX DEFERRALS: 
RI Statutory 

Bus 
Corp Franchise 

Pub 
Serv Bank 

Bank 
Dep Ins Cos PIT SUT Other 

Number Reference: 44-11 44-12 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes 
1 Holding Period for Unstamped Cigarettes 44-20-14                 X 
2 Write-Downs or Reserves for Securities Losses 44-14-14       X           

 
Definitions:  Bus Corp: Business Corporations Tax; Franchise: Franchise Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, 
Generally; Ins Cos: Taxation of Insurance Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax. 
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V. Recent Changes to Laws that Impact Tax Expenditures  
 

There have been several changes in the laws enacted during the 2011, 2012 and 2013 
sessions of the General Assembly that impact tax expenditures.  For laws enacted in the 2009 
and 2010 sessions of the General Assembly that impacted tax expenditures, see the 2012 Tax 
Expenditures Report.  The following tax expenditure changes from the 2011, 2012 and 2013 
sessions of the General Assembly are listed in alphabetical order by tax expenditure item 
category.  
 
CREDITS 

 
• Contribution to Scholarship Organizations 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-62-3 / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2013, Chapter 144, Article 9, Section 14 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2006 / 2013 
 
Description of Change:  The total aggregate amount of all tax credits approved by the 
Division of Taxation in a fiscal year was increased from $1.0 million to $1.5 million. 
 
Effective Date:  July 3, 2013   
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  This change increases the tax expenditure associated with 
the business corporations tax, public service corporation tax, bank tax, bank deposits tax, 
insurance companies gross premiums tax and personal income tax. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the public law.   
 

• Historic Preservation 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island Public Law 2013, Chapter 144, Article 22, Section 2 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2013 / N/A 
 
Description of Change:  The legislation established a new program similar to the Historic 
Structures Tax Credit program contained in Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-33.2.  
A taxpayer that incurs qualified rehabilitation expenditures for the substantial 
rehabilitation of a certified historic structure, provided the taxpayer is not a social club, is 
entitled to a credit against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-
11, 44-12, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 or 44-30.  The credit is equal to 20.0 percent of the 
qualified rehabilitation expenditures for any certified historic structure or 25.0 percent of 
the qualified rehabilitation expenditures, provided that either (i) at least 25.0 percent of 
the total rentable area of the certified historic structure is available for a trade or business 
or (ii) the entire rentable area located on the first floor of the certified historic structure is 
available for a trade or business.  
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Tax credits are allowed for the tax year in which the structure or an identifiable portion of 
the structure is placed into service.  The maximum credit cannot exceed $5.0 million for 
all phases of any certified rehabilitation project and the total credits authorized cannot 
exceed the sum of the estimated credits available in the historic preservation tax credit 
trust fund. 
 
Effective Date:  July 3, 2013   
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  This version of the historic preservation tax credit program 
is a new tax expenditure item that essentially extends the state’s previous Historic 
Structures Tax Credit Program subject to conditions that differ from the original program.  
This new tax expenditure item can potentially impact the business corporations tax, 
franchise tax, public service corporation tax, bank tax, insurance companies gross 
premiums tax and personal income tax revenues. 
 
Under current law, each tax item for which an historic structures tax credit is used to 
offset a taxpayer’s liability is reimbursed by an equal amount from the Historic 
Preservation Tax Credit Trust Fund the financing of which is executed by the issuance of 
bonds for this express purpose. 
 
Purpose:  “The general assembly finds and declares that Rhode Island’s historic 
structures continue to experience high vacancy rates and physical deterioration, 
particularly in Rhode Island’s central business districts.  Without adding economic 
incentive, these structures are not viable for the redevelopment and reuse by modern 
commercial, residential or manufacturing enterprises and will continue their physical 
deterioration.  The redevelopment and reuse of these historic structures are of critical 
importance to the economic measures and will assist in stimulating the reuse and 
redevelopment of historic structures and will improve property values, foster civic 
beauty, create employment opportunities, enhance commerce, and promote public 
education, pleasure, and welfare.  Furthermore, during this unprecedented economic 
climate, many in the building and construction trades, and related service industries, have 
been severely impacted.  The redevelopment and reuse of these historic structures will 
serve as a vital catalyst in the recovery of these trades and services, in addition to 
stimulating various other related economic benefits and business activities.  The purpose 
of this chapter is to create economic incentives for the purpose of stimulating the 
redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic structures, as well as to generate the 
positive economic and employment activities that will result from such redevelopment 
and reuse.”   
 

• Motion Picture Production  
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31.2-5 / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2012, Chapter 241, Article 21, Section 10 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2005 / 2012  
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Description of Change:  The credit was amended to lower the minimum threshold 
requirement for the “total production budget” from $300,000 to $100,000, to allow 
documentary productions to be eligible for the credit, and to provide a maximum credit of 
$5.0 million per production.  No more than $15.0 million may be issued for any tax year 
for the total combined motion picture tax credits and musical and theatrical production 
tax credits.  No credits are to be issued on or after July 1, 2019. 
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2012 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted changes to the motion picture production tax 
credit allows for an increase in the number of taxpayers eligible to use this credit, 
however, the previously established $15.0 million maximum amount of credits that may 
be issued in any tax year is unchanged.  Thus, in a given tax year the forgone revenue 
from the use of the credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 
44-11, 44-14, 44-17, and 44-30 may be increased but will not exceed the $15.0 million 
maximum allowed. 
 
Purpose:  “The primary objective of this chapter is to encourage development in Rhode 
Island of a strong capital base for motion picture film, videotape, and television program 
productions, in order to achieve a more independent, self-supporting industry.” 
 

• Musical and Theatrical Production 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island Public Law Chapter 241, Article 21, section 12 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
 
Description of Change:  A credit equal to 25.0 percent of the “production and 
performance expenditures” and “transportation expenditures” directly attributable to 
activities in the State for a live stage production in a “qualified production facility” is 
allowed against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-12, 
44-13, 44-14, 44-17 and 44-30.  To qualify for the credit, the minimum production 
budget must be $100,000 and the maximum credit allowed is $5.0 million per production.  
No more than $15.0 million may be issued for any tax year for the total combined motion 
picture production tax credits and musical and theatrical production tax credits.  No 
credits are to be issued on or after July 1, 2019. 
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2012 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The musical and theatrical production credit is a new tax 
expenditure item that will increase revenue forgone in a given tax year, to the extent the 
credit is utilized, for the taxes imposed under Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 
44-14, 44-17 and 44-30.  The total amount of the tax expenditure, however, is limited to 
the same $15.0 million cap that applies to the motion picture production tax credit. 
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Purpose:  “The General Assembly finds and declares that it is Rhode Island’s priority to 
reduce the state’s unemployment rate by stimulating new industries that have large 
employment growth potential by providing tax incentives…and…that such incentives 
should be created for the arts and entertainment industry.  The purpose of this chapter is 
to create economic incentives for the purpose of stimulating the local economy and 
reducing unemployment in Rhode Island.” 
 

DEDUCTIONS 
 

• Domestic Production Activities (Federal) 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-55 / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2013, Chapter 144, Article 9, Section 2 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1997 / 2013 
 
Description of Change:  All corporations doing business in the state must add back to 
taxable income any amount deducted under Section 199 of the Internal Revenue Code, 
commonly referred to as the domestic production activities deduction.  
 
Effective Date:  January 1, 2014   
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The disallowance for the federal domestic production 
activities deduction eliminates this tax expenditure item for the taxes imposed under 
Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11 and 44-30.   
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.    
 

EXCLUSIONS 
 

• Net Taxable Estate Amount 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-22-1.1 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1985 / 2009   
 
Description of Change:  Beginning January 1, 2011, and each January thereafter, the 
estate tax threshold is adjusted by the percentage of increase in the Consumer Price Index 
for all Urban Consumers (CPI-U) compounded annually and is rounded up to the nearest 
$5 increment.  The threshold for 2010 was $850,000; for 2011 it was $859,350; for 2012 
it was $892,865; for 2013 it was $910,725 and for 2014 it is $921,655.   
 
Effective Date:  January 1, 2014 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  An increase in the estate tax threshold exemption amount 
increases the tax expenditure associated with this exclusion.   
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Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.   
 

• Veterinary and Testing Laboratories Services 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island Public Law 2012, Chapter 241, Article 21, Section 4 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
 
Description of Change:  Services subject to the sales and use tax was defined to include 
pet care services, except veterinary and testing laboratories services.  This definition 
creates a tax expenditure for veterinary and testing laboratories services. 
 
Effective Date:  October 1, 2012 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  This exclusion is a new tax expenditure item impacting the 
state’s sales and use tax revenues.  
 
Purpose: No explicit purpose provided in the statute. 
 

EXEMPTIONS 
 

• Beverage Containers, Hard-to-Dispose Material and Litter Control Participation 
Permittee  
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-44-2 / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2012, Chapter 241, Article 21, Section 9 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1984 / 2012 
 
Description of Change:  The definition of “beverage” was amended to include all non-
alcoholic drinks for human consumption, except milk, but including beer and other malt 
beverages and subject these beverages to the tax imposed under Rhode Island General 
Law Section 44-44-3.   
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2012 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The expansion of the definition of “beverage” to include 
more drinks reduces the tax expenditure associated with the tax imposed under Rhode 
Island General Law Section 44-44-3. 
 
Purpose:  To provide funding for the litter reduction and recycling program and the hard-
to-dispose material - control and recycling program. 
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• Buses, Trucks and Trailers Used in Interstate Commerce 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-40 / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2012, Chapter 302, Section 1 and Chapter 351, Section 1  
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1992 / 2012 
 
Description of Change:  In the case of a bus operated by a bus company, a sales and use 
tax exemption is allowed for the purchase or rental/lease of a bus that transports 
passengers for hire provided that the bus is used no less than 80.0 percent of the time in 
interstate commerce.   
 
Effective Date:  June 20, 2012 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change increases the tax expenditure by 
increasing the number of taxpayers eligible for this exemption. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.   
 

• Clothing and Footwear  
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(27) / Rhode Island 
Public Law 2012, Chapter 241, Article 21, Section 3 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1977 / 2012 
 
Description of Change:  The sales and use tax exemption is amended to no longer apply 
to the sale of clothing, including footwear, the retail sales price of which exceeds $250 
per item.  The sales and use tax will apply to the portion of the sales price of an 
individual item of clothing or footwear that exceeds $250. 
 
Effective Date:  October 1, 2012 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change reduces the tax expenditure associated 
with this exemption.  Under prior law, the full amount of all clothing and footwear was 
exempt from the sales and use tax. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.   
 

• Feed for Certain Animals Used in Commercial Farming 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island Public Law 2012, Chapter 407, Section 1 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
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Description of Change:  The feed for “livestock and poultry of the kinds of products of 
which ordinarily constitute food for human consumption and of livestock of the kind the 
products of which ordinarily constitute fibers for human use” is exempted from the sales 
and use tax. 
 
Effective Date:  June 22, 2012 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  This exemption is a new tax expenditure item that increases 
the tax expenditures that affect the state’s sales and use tax revenue. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.   
 

• Qualified Sales of Manufactured and Mobile Home Parks 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island Public Law 2012, Chapter 364, Section 2 and Chapter 
391, Section 1 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
 
Description of Change:  The qualified sale of a mobile or manufactured home community 
to a resident-owned organization is exempt from the real estate conveyance tax. 
 
Effective Date:  June 21, 2012 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  This exemption is a new tax expenditure item that increases 
the tax expenditures that affect the state’s real estate conveyance tax revenue. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.   
 

• Sales by Writers, Composers, and Artists 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30.B / Rhode Island 
Public Law 2013, Chapter 144, Article 9, Section 15 

 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / 2013 
 
Description of Change:  This legislation expanded the exemption from sales and use tax 
previously available on sales of original and creative works by writers, composers, and 
artists that work and reside in designated arts districts to the sales of original and creative 
works by writers, composers and artists residing in and conducting a business within the 
State of Rhode Island.  In addition, print and photograph were added to the list of original 
and creative works of art that are eligible for the sales tax exemption. 
 
Effective Date:  December 1, 2013  
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Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change increases the tax expenditure item for 
the sales tax by expanding the exemption from sales and tax to all works of art created 
and sold in the state. 
 
Purpose:  “There is value in expanding the arts district program statewide, providing 
incentives for the sale and purchase of art. This is a unique opportunity for Rhode Island 
to shape history, and gain an advantage over other states, by becoming the first and only 
state in the country to declare a statewide sales tax exemption on art. This will strengthen 
Rhode Island’s identity as an arts-friendly destination and ‘State of the Arts’.” 
 

• Wine and Spirits 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30 / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2013, Chapter 144, Article 9, Section 3 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 2013 
 
Description of Change:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of wine and spirits 
by a Class A Licensee of alcoholic beverages is exempt from the sales and use tax for the 
period December 1, 2013 through March 31, 2015. 
 
Effective Date:  December 1, 2013  
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The legislation enacts a new exemption to the state sales 
and use tax and thereby creates a new tax expenditure impacting the state’s sales and use 
tax revenue.   
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.   
 

MODIFICATIONS 
 

• Expensing of Assets in Lieu of Depreciation, Section 179 of Internal Revenue Code 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-61-1.1 / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2013, Chapter 144, Article 9, Section 1 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2003 / 2013 
 
Description of Change:  “In the year that those assets are placed in service expensing of 
assets for Rhode Island tax purposes shall be allowed in the same manner as provided for 
under § 179 of the internal revenue code 26 U.S.C. § 179.” 
 
Effective Date:  January 1, 2014, for all assets placed in service on or after January 1, 
2014.  
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Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change eliminates the modification associated 
with this tax expenditure item.  This modification had no impact on the tax expenditures 
associated with Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-14 and 44-30. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.   
 

• Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax 
Credits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island Public Law 2012, Chapter 241, Article 21, Section 12 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
 
Description of Change:  “Any assignment or sales proceeds received by the assignor” of 
musical and theatrical production tax credits “for its assignment or sale of the tax credits” 
as allowed by Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31.3-2 are exempt from taxes 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Title 44. 
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2012   
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  This modification is a new tax expenditure item impacting 
the state’s business corporations tax, franchise tax, public service corporation tax, bank 
tax, insurance companies gross premiums tax and/or personal income tax revenue.     
 
Purpose:  “The General Assembly finds and declares that it is Rhode Island’s priority to 
reduce the state’s unemployment rate by stimulating new industries that have large 
employment growth potential by providing tax incentives…and…that such incentives 
should be created for the arts and entertainment industry.  The purpose of this chapter is 
to create economic incentives for the purpose of stimulating the local economy and 
reducing unemployment in Rhode Island.”   
 

• Rental Vehicle Surcharge Retained by Rental Car Companies 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 31-34.1-2(b) / Rhode Island 
Public Law 2012, Chapter 297, Section 1 and Chapter 340, Section 1 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1994 / 2012 
 
Description of Change:  The rental vehicle surcharge rate was increased from 6.0 percent 
to 8.0 percent and the revenue retained by the rental car company from the rental vehicle 
surcharge was increased from 50.0 percent to 60.0 percent with the balance of the 
surcharge remitted to the state for deposit in the general fund. 
 
Effective Date:  June 20, 2012 
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Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The increase in the rental vehicle surcharge to 8.0 percent 
increases the amount of rental vehicle surcharge revenues available for allocation 
between the rental car company and the state.  The increase in the percentage of the rental 
vehicle surcharge retained by the rental car company increases, all else equal, the tax 
expenditure associated with the rental vehicle surcharge. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.   
 

TAX ABATEMENTS 
 

• Value of Farmland Included in Estate 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-23-5 / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2013, Chapter 144, Article 9, Section 11 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1916 / 2013 
 
Description of Change:  All farmland included as part of an estate, and utilized by the 
executor, administrator, heir-at-law, beneficiary or trustee as farmland, shall be appraised 
at its use value and not at fair market value.   
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2013   
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The tax abatement is a new tax expenditure item that 
reduces estate and transfer tax revenues.   
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.    
 

OTHER CHANGES 
 

• Removal of Package Tours and Scenic and Sightseeing Transportation Services 
from Sales and Use Tax 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-18-7, 44-18-8, 44-18-12, 
44-18-15, 44-18-20, 44-18-21, 44-18-22, 44-18-23, and 44-18-25 / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2012, Chapter 241, Article 21, Section 3 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended: 1947 / 2012 
 
Description of Change:  Travel packages and scenic and sightseeing transportation 
services were removed from the sales and use tax base. 
 
Effective Date:  October 1, 2012 
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Tax Expenditures Impacted:  Removal of travel packages and scenic and sightseeing 
transportation services from the sales and use tax base shrinks the sales and use tax base 
without impacting the tax expenditures associated with the sales and use tax. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute.    
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VI. Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 
 
Credits 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

64 Accommodations under Americans with 
Disabilities Act 

$                       0 1 $                       0 1 

65 Adoption (Federal) 247,237 1 n/a  
66 Adult and Child Daycare 54,299 1 0 1 
69 Adult Education 430 1 0 1 
72 Apprenticeship 0 1 0 1 
73 Artwork Exhibition 174 1 n/a  
74 Biotechnology Investment ---   5 ---   5 
75 Child and Dependent Care (Federal) 2,274,777 1 2,380,884 1 
77 Contribution to Scholarship Organizations 270,095 1 774,233 1 
80 Earned Income (Federal) 10,511,948 1 9,895,368 1 
82 Educational Assistance and Development 79,200 1 0 1 
84 Elderly or Disabled (Federal) 4,329 1 n/a  
85 Employment – Welfare Bonus Program 0 1 0 1 
88 Enterprise Zone Wage 1,296,260 1 370,000 1 
91 Farm to School Income 0 1 n/a  
92 General Business (Federal) ---   5 n/a  
92 Historic Homeownership Assistance 209,030 1 n/a  
94 Historic Structures 33,930,678 1 10,242,324 1 
97 Historic Preservation (New) n/a  n/a  

100 Hydroelectric Power 0 1 0 1 
101 Incentives for Innovation and Growth 125,033 1 0 1 
103 Interest for Loans to Mill Building Owners 0 1 0 1 
105 Investment 18,331,236 1 17,760,000 1 
108 Jobs Training 927,218 1 0 1 
111 Juvenile Restitution 0 1 0 1 
112 Lead Paint Abatement 266,360 1 250,000 1 
113 Mortgage Interest (Federal) 22,234 1 n/a  
114 Motion Picture Productions 2,552,472 1 4,827,740 1 
118 Motor Fuel Use Carrier Taxes Paid to Rhode 

Island 
3,580,586 1 3,473,116 1 

119 Musical and Theatrical Productions (New) n/a  n/a  
120 Non-Resident Trust Beneficiary for 

Accumulating Distribution 
0 1 n/a  

121 Prior Year Minimum Tax (Federal) ---   5 n/a  
122 Property Tax Relief 14,331,123 1 12,423,123 1 
124 Qualified Electric Vehicle (Federal) 0 1 n/a  
125 Qualifying Widow(er) 0 1 n/a  
125 Real or Personal Property Taxed in Another 

State 
0 1 0 1 

127 Research and Development Expense 6,537,822 1 2,655,857 1 
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VI. Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

129 Research and Development Property $         1,124,074 1 $              20,000 1 
131 Resident Trust Beneficiary for Accumulating 

Distribution 
0 1 n/a  

132 Residential Renewable Energy System 104,625 1 0 1 
133 Specialized Investment in Mill Building 0 1 0 1 
135 Taxes Paid to Other States 124,489,741 1 140,340,482 1 
137 Wages Paid by Employers in Mill Buildings 0 1 0 1 

 Total Credits $  221,270,981 1.3 $  205,413,127 1.1 
      

Deductions 
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

140 Accelerated Amortization for Certain 
Manufacturers 

--- 5 --- 5 

141 Alimony Paid (Federal) $        1,129,783 4 $       1,203,498 4 
142 Amortization of Air or Water Pollution 

Control Facilities 
---   5 n/a  

143 Amortization of Air or Water Pollution 
Prevention and Treatment Facilities 

---   5 ---   5 

144 Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, etc. 
(Federal) 

51,298 4 58,499 4 

146 Connecting Fees, Switching and Carrier 
Access Charges 

---   5 ---   5 

147 Domestic Production Activities (Federal) 781,409 2 780,308 2 
149 Educator Expenses (Federal) 109,576 2 111,159 2 
150 Electricity for Resale ---   5 ---   5 
151 Health Savings Account (Federal) 315,912 4 347,334 4 
153 Individual Retirement Arrangement 

Contributions (Federal) 
1,079,251 2 1,049,309 2 

155 Itemized Deductions from Federal Return 196,776,766 1 n/a  
156 Keogh and SEP Contributions (Federal) 2,630,454 2 2,578,333 2 
158 Merchandise Sold ---   5 ---   5 
159 Moving Expenses (Federal) 290,060 4 330,739 4 
161 Net Operating Losses 43,594,194 2 46,423,779 2 
163 One-Half of Self Employment Tax (Federal) 2,621,980 4 2,936,492 4 
164 Penalty of Early Withdrawal of Savings 

(Federal) 
38,635 4 52,039 4 

166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture 
Capital Partnership 

---   5 ---   5 

168 Return or Unabsorbed Premiums or Premiums 
for Reinsurance Assumed 

---   5 ---   5 

169 Self Employed Health Insurance (Federal) 3,026,527 2 3,146,397 2 
171 Standard Deduction 69,038,199 1 156,575,391 1 
172 Student Loan Interest (Federal) 653,249 2 703,943 2 
174 Tax Incentives for Employers ---   5 ---   5 
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VI. Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

176 Tuition and Fees (Federal) $            248,240 2 $            243,618 2 

 Total Deductions $   322,385,533 3.5 $   216,540,838 3.5 
      

Exclusions 
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

180 Biodiesel Portion of Blended Gallon of Diesel 
Fuel 

$                       0 1 $                       0 1 

181 Conveyance of Mobile/Manufactured Homes 
for Consideration of $100 or less 

---   5 ---   5 

181 Conveyance of Real Estate for Consideration 
of $100 or less 

---   5 ---   5 

183 Conveyance of Real Estate Relating to the 
Capitol Center Project 

---   5 ---   5 

183 Corporations Excluded from Taxation by 
Charter 

---   5 ---   5 

184 Corporations Not Doing Business for Profit ---   5 ---   5 
186 Corporations Taxed Under the Business 

Corporation Tax 
---   5 ---   5 

187 Corporations That Maintain and Manage 
Intangible Investments 

---   5 ---   5 

188 Dividends Received from Shares of Stock 9,089,422 2 10,536,278 2 
189 Financial Institutions ---   5 ---   5 
191 Fraternal Beneficiary Societies ---   5 ---   5 
192 Fraternal Benefit Societies ---   5 ---   5 
193 Gain or Loss on Sale of Property Other Than 

Securities 
---   5 ---   5 

194 Income from the Sale of International 
Investment Management Services 

---   5 ---   5 

194 Insurance and Surety Companies ---   5 ---   5 
196 Interest Received from Debt Instruments 

Issued by Public Service Corporations 
---   5 ---   5 

196 Long-Term Gain From Capital Investment in 
Small Business 

---   5 ---   5 

198 Lubricating Oils, Marine Diesel Fuel, 
Aviation Fuel, and Heating Oil 

52,941,712 2 47,297,903 2 

200 Maximum Tax of $0.50 per Cigar 870,555 2 613,924 2 
201 Net Taxable Estate Amount ---   5 ---   5 
203 Possession of 10 Packs of Cigarettes with 

Out-of-State Tax Stamps 
---   5 ---   5 

204 Public Service Corporations ---   5 ---   5 
205 Subchapter S Corporations ---   5 ---   5 
207 Taxed Gross Earnings and Associated Costs 

of Non-Public Service Corporations 
---   5 ---   5 

208 Taxes Legally Imposed on Consumer but 
Separately Stated on Invoice 

---   5 ---   5 

209 Value-Added Non-Voice Services That Use 
Computer Processing Applications 

---   5 ---   5 
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VI. Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

210 Veterinary and Testing Laboratory Services 
(New) 

n/a  n/a  

 Total Exclusions $     62,901,689 4.5 $     58,448,105 4.5 
      

Exemptions 
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

213 Agricultural Products for Human 
Consumption 

$         2,462,635 3 $         2,502,027 3 

214 Air and Water Pollution Control Facilities 1,063,106 3 1,080,112 3 
215 Aircraft and Aircraft Parts 968,830 3 984,328 3 
216 Banks and Regulated Investment Companies 

Interstate Toll Free Calls 
204,773 4 208,048 4 

218 Beverage Containers, Hard-to-Dispose 
Material, and Litter Control Participation 
Permittee 

400,948 4 412,284 4 

219 Bibles ---   5 ---   5 
220 Boats or Vessels Brought in Exclusively for 

Winter Storage, Maintenance, Repair or Sale 
---   5 ---   5 

222 Boats or Vessels Generally 3,849,815 3 3,911,396 3 
222 Boats Sold to Non-Residents ---   5 ---   5 
224 Building Materials Used to Rebuild After 

Disaster 
---   5 ---   5 

225 Buses, Trucks or Trailers Used in Interstate 
Commerce 

2,527,046 3 2,567,469 3 

226 Camps 918,194 3 932,881 3 
228 Casual Sales 148,726 1 113,513 1 
229 Charitable, Educational or Religious 

Organizations 
72,580,096 3 73,741,087 3 

232 Clothing and Footwear 53,716,763 3 54,576,016 3 
233 Coffins, Caskets and Burial Garments 1,088,019 3 1,105,423 3 
235 Coins 778,613 4 989,451 4 
236 Commercial Fishing Vessels in Excess of 

Five Net Tons 
---   5 ---   5 

237 Commercial Vessels of More Than 50 Tons 
Burden 

---   5 ---   5 

238 Compressed Air ---   5 ---   5 
239 Containers 10,221,833 3 10,385,341 3 
241 Deed, Instrument or Writing where Grantor is 

U.S. Government or State of Rhode Island 
---   5 ---   5 

242 Diesel Emission Control Technology ---   5 ---   5 
242 Dietary Supplements 1,673,476 4 1,769,784 4 
244 Distressed Essential Community Hospital  ---   5 ---   5 
245 Educational Institutions Rental Charges 5,618,618 3 5,708,493 3 
247 Electricity and Gas for Domestic Use by 

Occupants of Residential Premises 
42,366,364 3 43,044,056 3 
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VI. Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

248 Electricity, Steam and Thermal Energy from 
RI Economic Development Corporation 

$                       0 1 $                       0 1 

249 Equipment for Research and Development 839,766 3 853,199 3 
251 Estates of Persons Declared Missing in 

Action by the U.S. Armed Forces 
---   5 ---   5 

251 Farm Equipment 474,124 3 481,708 3 
253 Farm Structure Construction Materials 1,303,558 3 1,324,410 3 
254 Feed for Certain Animals Used in 

Commercial Farming (New) 
n/a  n/a  

256 First 100,000 Barrels of Beer of a Brewer in 
Continuous Operation for 12 Months 

544 1 355 1 

257 Flags 35,733 4 35,396 4 
258 Food and Food Ingredients 139,757,561 3 140,150,961 3 
260 Food Items Paid for by Food Stamps 15,671,683 1 17,764,527 1 
261 Gasoline 87,992,573 2 113,361,644 2 
262 Heating Fuels 23,164,209 2 27,406,946 2 
264 Horse Food Products 47,673 3 48,435 3 
265 Hospitals and Other Specific Corporations ---   5 ---   5 
266 Human Blood 844,201 4 836,241 4 
268 Installation Labor Charges, When Separately 

Stated 
30,665,659 3 31,156,187 3 

269 Jewelry Display Product ---   5 ---   5 
270 Manufacturers' Machinery and Equipment 25,356,182 3 25,761,779 3 
271 Medicines, Drugs and Durable Medical 

Equipment 
128,169,140 3 126,360,349 3 

273 Mobile and Manufactured Homes Generally 46,494 2 62,153 2 
275 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment for 

Amputee Veterans 
13,197 2 14,345 2 

276 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment for 
Persons with Disabilities 

88,257 2 95,935 2 

278 Narragansett Pier Railroad Company ---   5 ---   5 
279 Newspapers 2,147,276 3 2,181,624 3 
280 Ocean Marine Insurance ---   5 ---   5 
281 Out-of-State Shipments of Rhode Island 

Alcoholic Beverage Manufacturers 
---   5 ---   5 

282 Personal and Dependent 100,704,877 1 93,390,727 1 
285 Personal Holding Company, Regulated 

Investment Company or Real Estate 
Investment Trust 

---   5 ---   5 

286 Precious Metal Bullion ---   5 ---   5 
287 Premiums Received from Insurance for 

Medical Malpractice 
---   5 n/a  

288 Prewritten Computer Software Delivered 
Electronically 

7,901,822 3 6,021,165 3 

289 Promotional and Product Literature of Boat 
Manufacturers 

252,398 3 256,435 3 

290 Property Otherwise Exempted ---   5 ---   5 
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VI. Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

291 Property Purchased from Federal Government $         9,678,535 3 $         9,833,353 3 
293 Property Purchased Outside of State by Non-

Resident and Brought into State 
---   5 ---   5 

294 Property Returned Within 120 Days from the 
Date of Delivery 

---   5 ---   5 

295 Prosthetic Devices and Mobility Enhancing 
Equipment 

12,363,946 3 12,561,719 3 

297 Purchases Used for Manufacturing 293,086,511 3 297,774,719 3 
298 Qualified Sales of Manufactured and Mobile 

Home Parks (New) 
n/a  n/a  

299 Refillable and Reusable Beverage Containers ---   5 ---   5 
300 Renewable Energy Products 37,162 2 30,275 2 
302 Rental Charged for Living or Sleeping 

Quarters in a Hospital or Nursing Home 
Licensed by the State 

28,061,937 3 28,510,815 3 

303 Rhode Island Economic Development 
Corporation Project Status Designees 

4,422,835 1 9,223,950 1 

305 Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation 
Lessees 

1,685,485 1 152,744 1 

307 Sacramental Wines Sold Directly to Member 
of Clergy 

---   5 ---   5 

307 Sales and Use Taxes Paid to Other 
Jurisdictions 

---   5 ---   5 

309 Sales beyond Constitutional Power of State ---   5 ---   5 
310 Sales by Writers, Composers, Artists 896,548 2 907,550 2 
313 Sales in Municipal Economic Development 

Zones 
0 1 0 1 

315 Sales in Public Buildings by Blind People 107,597 1 114,825 1 
316 Sales of Motor Vehicles to Non-Residents 2,872,468 1 3,122,361 1 
317 Sales of Non-Motorized Recreational 

Vehicles to Non-Residents 
---   5 ---   5 

318 Sales of Trailers Ordinarily Used for 
Residential Purposes 

499,307 3 507,294 3 

320 Sales to Common Carriers for Use Outside of 
the State 

---   5 ---   5 

321 Sales to Federal Government 5,055,949 3 5,136,824 3 
322 Sales to the State or Its Political Subdivisions 35,943,495 3 36,518,447 3 
324 Sales to the U.S. Government and Operators 

of Railroad Transportation Equipment 
218,190 3 436,127 3 

325 School Meals 5,228,115 3 5,311,744 3 
327 Special Adaptations for Wheelchair 

Accessible Taxicabs 
---   5 ---   5 

328 Supplies Used in On-Site Hazardous Waste 
Recycling, Reuse, or Treatment 

---   5 ---   5 

329 Supplies Used in Preparing Floral Products 
and/or Arrangements 

885,774 3 899,943 3 

330 Telecommunications Carrier Access Service 6,147,890 2 6,098,297 2 
331 Textbooks 2,950,884 3 2,998,087 3 
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VI. Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

333 Total Loss or Destruction of Motor Vehicle 
within 120 Days of Tax Payment 

444,584 2 483,261 2 

334 Trade-in Value of Boats ---   5 ---   5 
335 Trade-In Value of Private Passenger 

Automobiles 
$         8,916,324 3 $         9,563,213 3 

337 Transfers or Sales Made to Immediate Family 
Members 

---   5 ---   5 

338 Transfers or Sales Related to Business 
Dissolution or Partial Liquidation 

---   5 ---   5 

340 Transportation Charges of Motor Carriers to 
Haul Goods 

---   5 ---   5 

341 Vehicles Purchased by Non-Resident Military 
Personnel Subject to Sales Tax Elsewhere 

---   5 ---   5 

342 Water for Residential Use 10,260,719 2 10,238,105 2 
344 Wine and Spirits (New) n/a  n/a  
344 Youth Activities Equipment Sold for $20 or 

less by Non-Profit Organizations 
---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exemptions $1,195,829,037 3.5 $1,232,019,883 3.5 
 
Modifications 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

348 Bonus Depreciation Provided by JCWAA of 
2002 and JGTRRA of 2003 

$                       0 1 $                       0 1 

353 Companies Engaged in Buying, Selling, 
Dealing In or Holding Securities on Own 
Behalf 

---   5 ---   5 

354 Contribution to Medical Savings Account by 
Scituate Residents 

189 1 248 1 

355 Contributions to an Account under Tuition 
Savings  
Program 

78,912 1 90,636 1 

357 Domestic International Sales Corporations 
(DISCs) 

0 1 0 1 

359 Enterprise Zone Business Owner with 
Domiciliary in Enterprise Zone 

0 1 5,497 1 

360 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of Depreciation, 
Section 179 of Internal Revenue Code 

0 1 0 1 

364 Federally Taxable Withdrawals from Tuition 
Savings Program Account 

87,774 1 93,835 1 

365 Foreign Sales Corporation (FSC) 0 1 0 1 
367 Gain from Stock Options in Qualifying 

Corporations 
---   5 ---   5 

368 Income Earned on a Rhode Island Family 
Education Account 

6,345 1 7,940 1 

370 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of 
Historic Structures Tax Credits 

18,935 1 2,340 1 

373 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of 
Motion Picture Production Company Tax 
Credits 

13,941 1 1,736 1 
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Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

375 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of 
Musical & Theatrical Tax Credits (New) 

n/a  n/a  

377 Income or Gain from a Qualifying 
Employee’s Ownership of a Qualifying 
Corporation 

$                2,109 1 $                2,216 1 

378 Interest on Obligations of the United States 
and its Possessions 

1,754,014 1 2,324,091 1 

380 Military Pay of Non-Resident Individuals 396,694 1 451,580 1 
382 New Research and Development Facilities 180 1 503 1 
383 Nonqualified Withdrawals from a Medical 

Savings Account by Scituate Residents 
0 1 0 1 

384 Nonqualified Withdrawals from Tuition 
Savings Program Account 

0 1 0 1 

386 Nonqualified Withdrawals or Distributions 
from Rhode Island Family Education 
Accounts 

0 1 0 1 

387 Organ Transplantation 2,267 1 1,820 1 
388 Performance-Based Income of Eligible 

Employees via the Jobs Growth Act 
4,056,733 1 0 1 

389 Profits or Gains from Sale of Work by Artists, 
Writers, and Composers 

11,373 1 11,580 1 

390 Provision of Insurance Benefit to Dependent 
or Domestic Partner 

29,035 1 37,428 1 

391 Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture 
Capital Partnership 

784 1 0 1 

392 Railroad Retirement Benefits 107,843 1 175,462 1 
394 Recognition of Income from Discharge of 

Business Indebtedness 
0 1 0 1 

397 Rental Vehicle Surcharge Retained by Rental 
Car Companies 

3,054,203 1 2,690,870 1 

398 Rhode Island Fiduciary Adjustment 0 1 0 1 
400 Sales Tax Paid on a Qualified Vehicle 

Purchase 
0 1 n/a  

400 Tax Incentives for Employers 19,144 1 206 1 
401 Unemployment Compensation 0 1 n/a  

 Total Modifications $        9,640,475 1.3 $       5,897,988 1.3 
      

Other Items 
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

404 Allocation and Apportionment of Brokerage 
Services 

---   5 ---   5 

405 Allocation and Apportionment of Credit Card 
Banks 

---   5 ---   5 

407 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Manufacturers 

---   5 ---   5 

408 Allocation and Apportionment of Regulated 
Investment Companies 

---   5 ---   5 

      

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  43 



VI. Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

410 Allocation and Apportionment of Retirement 
and Pension Plans 

---   5 ---   5 

413 Passive Investment Treatment ---   5 ---   5 
415 Returns of Affiliated Groups of Corporations ---   5 ---   5 
417 Special Apportionment of U.S. Federal Drug 

Administration Facilities 
---   5 ---   5 

 Total Other Items $                   0 5.0 $                   0 5.0 
      
Preferential Tax Rates 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

420 Alternative Personal Income Tax $       91,819,000 1 n/a  
421 Jobs Development Act 16,490,642 1 $      11,857,485 1 

 Total Preferential Tax Rate $   108,309,642 1.0 $   11,857,485 1.0 
      

Tax Abatements 
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

426 Cigarette Tax Stamping Discount $         1,656,908 1 $         1,627,065 1 
428 Political Check-Off 200,000 1 200,000 1 
429 Value of Farmland Included in Estate (New) n/a  n/a  

 Total Tax Abatements $       1,856,908 1.0 $       1,827,065 1.0 
      
Tax Deferrals 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

432 Holding Period for Unstamped Cigarettes ---   5 ---   5 
433 Write-Downs or Reserves for Securities 

Losses 
---   5 ---   5 

 Total Tax Deferrals $                     0 5.0 $                    0 5.0 
      

TOTAL TAX EXPENDTURES $1,922,194,265 2.9 $1,732,004,491 3.0 
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 
 
Alcoholic Beverage Tax (RIGL 3-10) 
Exemptions     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

256 First 100,000 Barrels of Beer of a Brewer 
in Continuous Operation for 12 Months 

$                  544 1 $                  355 1 

281 Out-of-State Shipments of Rhode Island 
Alcoholic Beverage Manufacturers 

---   5 ---   5 

307 Sacramental Wines Sold Directly to 
Member of Clergy 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exemptions $                  544 3.7 $                  355 3.7 

 Total Alcoholic Beverage Tax $               544 3.7 $               355 3.7 
      
Bank Deposits Tax (RIGL 44-15) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

69 Adult Education $                       0 1 $                       0 1 
77 Contribution to Scholarship 

Organizations 
0 1 0 1 

 Total Credits $                       0 1.0 $                       0 1.0 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

174 Tax Incentives for Employers ---   5 ---   5 
 Total Deductions $                       0 5.0 $                        0 5.0 

 Total Bank Deposits Tax $                     0 2.3 $                     0 2.3 
      
Bank Tax (RIGL 44-14) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

66 Adult and Child Daycare $                       0 1 $                       0 1 
69 Adult Education 0 1 0 1 
77 Contribution to Scholarship 

Organizations 
0 1 0 1 

82 Educational Assistance and Development 0 1 0 1 
85 Employment – Welfare Bonus Program 0 1 0 1 
88 Enterprise Zone Wage 0 1 0 1 
94 Historic Structures 188,525 1 0 1 
97 Historic Preservation (New) n/a   n/a   

103 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 
Owners 

0 1 0 1 

105 Investment 0 1 0 1 
108 Jobs Training 0 1 0 1 
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

114 Motion Picture Production $                       0 1 $                       0 1 
119 Musical and Theatrical Production (New) n/a   n/a   
133 Specialized Investment in Mill Building 0 1 0 1 

 Total Credits $            188,525 1.0 $                        0 1.0 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 
Venture Capital Partnership 

---   5 ---   5 

174 Tax Incentives for Employers ---   5 ---   5 
 Total Deductions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Exclusions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

193 Gain or Loss on Sale of Property Other 
Than Securities 

---   5 ---   5 

196 Long-Term Gain From Capital 
Investment in Small Business 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exclusions $                      0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Modifications     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

348 Bonus Depreciation Provided by 
JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 2003 

---   5 ---   5 

360 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of 
Depreciation, Section 179 of Internal 
Revenue Code 

---   5 ---   5 

370 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Historic Structures Tax Credits 

---   5 ---   5 

373 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Motion Picture Production Tax Credits 

---   5 ---   5 

375 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax 
Credits (New) 

n/a  n/a  

394 Recognition of Income from Discharge 
of Business Indebtedness 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Modifications $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Preferential Tax Rate     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

421 Jobs Development Act $                9,046 1 $                3,839 1 
 Total Preferential Tax Rates $                9,046 1.0 $                  ,839 1.0 

Tax Deferral     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

433 Write-Downs or Reserves for Securities 
Losses 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Tax Deferrals $                      0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

 Total Bank Tax $        197,571 2.7 $             3,839 2.7 
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Tax on Beverage Containers (RIGL 44-44) 
Exemptions     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

218 Beverage Containers, Hard-to-Dispose 
Material, and Litter Control Participation 
Permit 

$            400,948 4 $            412,284 4 

299 Refillable and Reusable Beverage 
Containers 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exemptions $            400,948 4.5 $            412,284 4.5 

 Total Tax on Beverage Containers $         400,948 4.5 $         412,284 4.5 
      
Business Corporations Tax (RIGL 44-11) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

64 Accommodations Under Americans with 
Disabilities Act 

$                       0 1 $                      0 1 

66 Adult and Child Daycare 40,000 1 0 1 
69 Adult Education 0 1 0 1 
72 Apprenticeship 0 1 0 1 
74 Biotechnology Investment ---   5 ---   5 
77 Contribution to Scholarship 

Organizations 
0 1 0 1 

82 Educational Assistance and Development 79,200 1 0 1 
85 Employment – Welfare Bonus Program 0 1 0 1 
88 Enterprise Zone Wage 1,000,000 1 370,000 1 
94 Historic Structures 1,400,232 1 389,855 1 
97 Historic Preservation (New) n/a   n/a   

100 Hydroelectric Power 0 1 0 1 
101 Incentives for Innovation and Growth 0 1 0 1 
103 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 

Owners 
0 1 0 1 

105 Investment 16,580,000 1 17,570,000 1 
108 Jobs Training 800,000 1 0 1 
111 Juvenile Restitution 0 1 0 1 
114 Motion Picture Production 34,900 1 902,095 1 
119 Musical and Theatrical Production (New) n/a   n/a   
127 Research and Development Expense 5,128,469 1 2,495,857 1 
129 Research and Development Property 1,101,191 1 20,000 1 
132 Residential Renewable Energy System 0 1 0 1 
133 Specialized Investment in Mill Building 0 1 0 1 
137 Wages Paid by Employers in Mill 

Buildings 
0 1 0 1 

 Total Credits $      26,163,992 1.2 $       21,747,807 1.2 
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

140 Accelerated Amortization for Certain 
Manufacturers 

---   5 ---   5 

143 Amortization of Air or Water Pollution 
Prevention and Treatment Facilities 

---   5 ---   5 

161 Net Operating Losses $       43,594,194 2 $       46,423,779 2 
166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 

Venture Capital Partnership 
---   5 ---   5 

174 Tax Incentives for Employers ---   5 ---   5 
 Total Deductions $       43,594,194 4.4 $       46,423,779 4.4 

Exclusions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

183 Corporations Excluded from Taxation by 
Charter 

---   5 ---   5 

184 Corporations Not Doing Business for 
Profit 

---   5 ---   5 

187 Corporations That Maintain and Manage 
Intangible Investments 

---   5 ---   5 

188 Dividends Received from Shares of 
Stock 

$        9,089,422 2 $       10,536,278 2 

189 Financial Institutions ---   5 ---   5 
191 Fraternal Beneficiary Societies ---   5 ---   5 
194 Income from the Sale of International 

Investment Management Services 
---   5 ---   5 

194 Insurance and Surety Companies ---   5 ---   5 
196 Interest Received from Debt Instruments 

Issued by Public Service Corporations 
---   5 ---   5 

196 Long-Term Gain From Capital 
Investment in Small Business 

---   5 ---   5 

204 Public Service Corporations ---   5 ---   5 
205 Subchapter S Corporations ---   5 ---   5 
207 Taxed Gross Earnings and Associated 

Costs of Non-Public Service 
Corporations 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exclusions $        9,089,422 4.8 $       10,536,278 4.8 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

285 Personal Holding Company, Regulated 
Investment Company or Real Estate 
Investment Trust 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exemptions  $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Modifications     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

348 Bonus Depreciation Provided by 
JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 2003 

$                       0 1 $                       0 1 
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

353 Companies Engaged in Buying, Selling, 
Dealing In or Holding Securities on Own 
Behalf 

---   5 ---   5 

357 Domestic International Sales 
Corporations (DISCs) 

$                       0 1 $                       0 1 

359 Enterprise Zone Business Owner with 
Domiciliary in Enterprise Zone 

---   5 ---   5 

360 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of 
Depreciation, Section 179 of Internal 
Revenue Code 

0 1 0 1 

365 Foreign Sales Corporation (FSC) 0 1 0 1 
370 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 

of Historic Structures Tax Credits 
---   5 ---   5 

373 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Motion Picture Production Tax Credits 

---   5 ---   5 

375 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax 
Credits (New) 

n/a  n/a  

382 New Research and Development 
Facilities 

---   5 ---   5 

394 Recognition of Income from Discharge 
of Business Indebtedness 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Modifications $                       0 3.4 $                       0 3.4 

Other Items     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

404 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Brokerage Services 

---   5 ---   5 

405 Allocation and Apportionment of Credit 
Card Banks 

---   5 ---   5 

407 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Manufacturers 

---   5 ---   5 

408 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Regulated Investment Companies 

---   5 ---   5 

410 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Retirement and Pension Plans 

---   5 ---   5 

413 Passive Investment Treatment ---   5 ---   5 
415 Returns of Affiliated Groups of 

Corporations 
---   5 ---   5 

417 Special Apportionment of U.S. Federal 
Drug Administration Facilities 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Other Items $                       0 5.0 $                      0 5.0 

Preferential Tax Rate     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

421 Jobs Development Act $        16,481,596 1 $        11,853,646 1 
 Total Preferential Tax Rates $        16,481,596 1.0 $        11,853,646 1.0 

 Total Business Corporations Tax $     95,329,204 3.2 $     90,561,510 3.2 
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

Cigarette Tax (RIGL 44-20) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

200 Maximum Tax of $0.50 per Cigar $            870,555 2 $            613,924 2 
203 Possession of 10 Packs of Cigarettes with 

Out-of-State Tax Stamps 
---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exclusions $            870,555 3.5 $            613,924 3.5 

Tax Abatement     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

426 Cigarette Tax Stamping Discount $         1,656,908 1 $         1,627,065 1 
 Total Tax Abatements $         1,656,908 1.0 $         1,627,065 1.0 

Tax Deferral     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

432 Holding Period for Unstamped Cigarettes ---   5 ---   5 
 Total Tax Deferrals $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

 Total Cigarette Tax $      2,527,463 3.3 $      2,240,989 3.3 
      
Estate Tax (RIGL 44-22) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

201 Net Taxable Estate Amount ---   5 ---   5 
 Total Exclusions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

251 Estates of Persons Declared Missing in 
Action by the U.S. Armed Forces 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exemptions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Tax Abatement     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

429 Value of Farmland Included in an Estate 
(New) 

n/a  n/a  

 Total Tax Abatements n/a  n/a  

 Total Estate Tax $                   0 5.0 $                    0 5.0 
      
Franchise Tax (RIGL 44-12) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

94 Historic Structures $                       0 1 $                       0 1 
97 Historic Preservation (New) n/a   n/a   

101 Incentives for Innovation and Growth 0 1 0 1 
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

119 Musical and Theatrical Production (New) n/a   n/a   
 Total Credits $                       0 1.0 $                       0 1.0 

Exclusions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

186 Corporations Taxed Under the Business 
Corporation Tax 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exclusions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

265 Hospitals and Other Specific 
Corporations 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exemptions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Modifications     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

370 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Historic Structures Tax Credits 

---   5 ---   5 

373 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Motion Picture Production Tax Credits 

---   5 ---   5 

375 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax 
Credits (New) 

n/a  n/a  

 Total Modifications $                      0 5.0 $                      0 5.0 

 Total Franchise Tax $                   0 3.7 $                   0 3.7 
 
Generation Skipping Transfer Tax (RIGL 44-40) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

125 Real or Personal Property Taxed in 
Another State 

$                       0 1 $                       0 1 

 Total Credits $                        0 1.0  $                        0 1.0 

Total Gen Skipping Transfer Tax $                     0 1.0 $                     0 1.0 
      
Insurance Companies Tax (RIGL 44-17) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

66 Adult and Child Daycare $                       0 1 $                       0 1 
69 Adult Education 0 1 0 1 
77 Contribution to Scholarship 

Organizations 
0 1 0 1 

82 Educational Assistance and Development 0 1 0 1 
85 Employment – Welfare Bonus Program 0 1 0 1 
88 Enterprise Zone Wage 0 1 0 1 
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

94 Historic Structures $       23,281,331 1 $         6,648,455 1 
97 Historic Preservation (New) n/a  n/a  

103 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 
Owners 

0 1 0 1 

105 Investment 430,000 1 190,000 1 
108 Jobs Training 0 1 0 1 
114 Motion Picture Production 1,661,033 1 1,999,984 1 
119 Musical and Theatrical Production (New) n/a  n/a  
127 Research and Development Expense 430,000 1 160,000 1 
129 Research and Development Property 0 1 0 1 
133 Specialized Investment in Mill Building 0 1 0 1 

 Total Credits $      25,802,364 1.0 $       8,998,439 1.0 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 
Venture Capital Partnership 

---   5 ---   5 

168 Return or Unabsorbed Premiums or 
Premiums for Reinsurance Assumed 

---   5 ---   5 

174 Tax Incentives for Employers ---   5 ---   5 
 Total Deductions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Exclusions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

192 Fraternal Benefit Societies ---   5 ---   5 
 Total Exclusions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

280 Ocean Marine Insurance ---   5 ---   5 
287 Premiums Received from Insurance for 

Medical Malpractice 
---   5 n/a  

 Total Exemptions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Modifications     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

370 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Historic Structures Tax Credits 

---   5 ---   5 

373 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Motion Picture Production Tax Credits 

---   5 ---   5 

375 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax 
Credits (New) 

n/a  n/a  

 Total Modifications $                       0 5.0 $                      0 5.0 
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Preferential Tax Rate     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

421 Jobs Development Act $                        0 1 $                        0 1 
 Total Preferential Tax Rates $                        0 1.0 $                        0 1.0 

 Total Insurance Companies Tax  $     25,802,364 2.4 $       8,998,439 2.3 
      
Motor Carrier Fuel Tax (RIGL 31-36.1) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

118 Motor Fuel Use Carrier Taxes Paid to 
Rhode Island 

$         3,580,586 1 $         3,473,116 1 

 Total Credits $         3,580,586 1.0 $         3,473,116 1.0 

 Total Motor Carrier Fuel Tax $       3,580,586 1.0 $      3,473,116 1.0 
      
Motor Fuel Tax (RIGL 31-36) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

180 Biodiesel Portion of Blended Gallon of 
Diesel Fuel 

$                      0 1 $                      0 1 

198 Lubricating Oils, Marine Diesel Fuel, 
Aviation Fuel, and Heating Oil 

52,941,712 2 47,297,903 2 

 Total Exclusions $      52,941,712 1.5 $     47,297,903 1.5 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

324 Sales to the U.S. Government and 
Operators of Railroad Transportation 
Equipment 

$          218,190 1 $          436,127 1 

 Total Exemptions $           218,190 1.0 $           436,127 1.0 

 Total Motor Fuel Tax $   53,159,902 1.3 $   47,734,030 1.3 
      
Personal Income Tax (RIGL 44-30) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

65 Adoption (Federal) $            247,237 1 n/a  
66 Adult and Child Daycare 14,299 1 n/a  
69 Adult Education 430 1 n/a  
73 Artwork Exhibition 174 1 n/a  
74 Biotechnology Investment ---   5 n/a  
75 Child and Dependent Care (Federal) 2,274,777 1 $        2,380,884 1 
77 Contribution to Scholarship 

Organizations 
270,095 1 774,233 1 

80 Earned Income (Federal) 10,511,948 1 9,895,368 1 
84 Elderly or Disabled (Federal) 4,329 1 n/a  
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

85 Employment – Welfare Bonus Program 0 1 n/a  
88 Enterprise Zone Wage $            296,260 1 n/a  
91 Farm to School Income 0 1 n/a  
92 General Business (Federal) ---   5 n/a  
92 Historic Homeownership Assistance 209,030 1 n/a  
94 Historic Structures 9,060,590 1 $          3,204,014 1 
97 Historic Preservation (New) n/a   n/a   

100 Hydroelectric Power 0 1 n/a  
101 Incentives for Innovation and Growth 125,033 1 n/a  
103 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 

Owners 
0 1 n/a  

105 Investment 1,321,236 1 n/a  
108 Jobs Training 127,218 1 n/a  
111 Juvenile Restitution 0 1 n/a  
112 Lead Paint Abatement 266,360 1 250,000 1 
113 Mortgage Interest (Federal) 22,234 1 n/a  
114 Motion Picture Production 856,539 1 1,925,661 1 
119 Musical and Theatrical Production (New) n/a  n/a  
120 Non-Resident Trust Beneficiary for 

Accumulating Distribution 
0 1 n/a  

121 Prior Year Minimum Tax (Federal) ---   5 n/a  
122 Property Tax Relief 14,331,123 1 12,423,123 1 
124 Qualified Electric Vehicle (Federal) 0 1 n/a  
125 Qualifying Widow(er) 0 1 n/a  
127 Research and Development Expense 979,353 1 n/a  
129 Research and Development Property 22,883 1 n/a  
131 Resident Trust Beneficiary for 

Accumulating Distribution 
0 1 n/a  

132 Residential Renewable Energy System 104,625 1 n/a  
133 Specialized Investment in Mill Building 0 1 n/a  
135 Taxes Paid to Other States 124,489,741 1 140,340,482 1 
137 Wages Paid by Employers in Mill 

Buildings 
---   5 ---   5 

 Total Credits $     165,535,514 1.4 $     171,193,765 1.4 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

141 Alimony Paid (Federal) $         1,129,783 4 $         1,203,498 4 
142 Amortization of Air or Water Pollution 

Control Facilities 
---   5 n/a  

144 Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, 
etc. (Federal) 

51,298 4 58,499 4 

147 Domestic Production Activities (Federal) 781,409 2 780,308 2 
149 Educator Expenses (Federal) 109,576 2 111,159 2 
151 Health Savings Account (Federal) 315,912 4 347,334 4 
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

153 Individual Retirement Arrangement 
Contributions (Federal) 

$         1,079,251 2 $         1,049,309 2 

155 Itemized Deductions from Federal Return 196,776,766 1 n/a  
156 Keough and SEP Contributions (Federal) 2,630,454 2 2,578,333 2 
159 Moving Expenses (Federal) 290,060 4 330,739 4 
163 One-Half of Self Employment Tax 

(Federal) 
2,621,980 4 2,936,492 4 

164 Penalty of Early Withdrawal of Savings 
(Federal) 

38,635 4 52,039 4 

169 Self Employed Health Insurance 
(Federal) 

3,026,527 2 3,146,397 2 

171 Standard Deduction 74,043,030 1 177,011,979 1 
172 Student Loan Interest (Federal) 653,249 2 703,943 2 
176 Tuition and Fees (Federal) 248,240 2 243,618 2 

 Total Deductions $     278,791,339 2.8 $     170,117,059 2.8 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

196 Long-Term Gain From Capital 
Investment in Small Business 

---   5 ---   5 

207 Taxed Gross Earnings and Associated 
Costs of Non-Public Service 
Corporations 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exclusions $                      0 5.0 $                      0 5.0 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

282 Personal and Dependent $     100,704,877 1 $       93,390,727 1 
 Total Exemptions $     100,704,877 1.0 $       93,390,727 1.0 

Modifications     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

348 Bonus Depreciation Provided by 
JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 2003 

$                       0 1 $                       0 1 

354 Contribution to Medical Savings Account 
by Scituate Residents 

189 1 248 1 

355 Contributions to an Account under 
Tuition Savings  
Program 

78,912 1 90,636 1 

359 Enterprise Zone Business Owner with 
Domiciliary in Enterprise Zone 

0 1 5,497 1 

360 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of 
Depreciation, Section 179 of Internal 
Revenue Code 

0 1 0 1 

364 Federally Taxable Withdrawals from 
Tuition Savings Program Account 

87,774 1 93,835 1 

367 Gain from Stock Options in Qualifying 
Corporations 

---   5 ---   5 

368 Income Earned on a Rhode Island Family 
Education Account 

6,345 1 7,940 1 
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VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

370 
 

Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Historic Structures Tax Credits 

$              18,935 1 $                2,340 1 

373 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Motion Picture Production Tax Credits 

13,941 1 1,736 1 

375 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax 
Credits (New) 

n/a  n/a  

377 Income or Gain from a Qualifying 
Employee’s Ownership of a Qualifying 
Corporation 

2,109 1 2,216 1 

378 Interest on Obligations of the United 
States and its Possessions 

1,754,014 1 2,324,091 1 

380 Military Pay of Non-Resident Individuals 396,694 1 451,580 1 
382 New Research and Development 

Facilities 
180 1 503 1 

383 Nonqualified Withdrawals from a 
Medical Savings Account by Scituate 
Residents 

0 1 0 1 

384 Nonqualified Withdrawals from Tuition 
Savings Program Account 

0 1 0 1 

386 Nonqualified Withdrawals or 
Distributions from Rhode Island Family 
Education Accounts 

0 1 0 1 

387 Organ Transplant 2,267 1 1,820 1 
388 Performance-Based Income of Eligible 

Employees via the Jobs Growth Act 
4,056,733 1 0 1 

389 Profits or Gains from Sale of Work by 
Artists, Writers, and Composers 

11,373 1 11,580 1 

390 Provision of Insurance Benefit to 
Dependent or Domestic Partner 

29,035 1 37,428 1 

391 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 
Venture Capital Partnership 

784 1 0 1 

392 Railroad Retirement Benefits 107,843 1 175,462 1 
394 Recognition of Income from Discharge 

of Business Indebtedness 
0 1 0 1 

398 Rhode Island Fiduciary Adjustment 0 1 0 1 
400 Sales Tax Paid on a Qualified Vehicle 

Purchase 
0 1 n/a  

400 Tax Incentives for Employers 19,144 1 206 1 
401 Unemployment Compensation 0 1 n/a  

 Total Modifications $        6,586,272 1.1 $         3,207,118 1.2 

Preferential Tax Rate     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

420 Alternative Personal Income Tax $      91,819,000 1 n/a  
 Total Preferential Tax Rate $      91,819,000 1.0 n/a  
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Tax Abatement     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

428 Political Check-Off $            200,000 1 $            200,000 1 
 Total Tax Abatements $            200,000 1.0 $            200,000 1.0 

 Total Personal Income Tax $  643,637,002 1.7 $  438,108,669 1.8 
      
Public Service Corporation Tax (RIGL 44-13) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

64 Accommodations Under Americans with 
Disabilities Act 

$                       0 1 $                       0 1 

66 Adult and Child Daycare 0 1 0 1 
69 Adult Education 0 1 0 1 
77 Contribution to Scholarship 

Organizations 
0 1 0 1 

82 Educational Assistance and Development 0 1 0 1 
85 Employment – Welfare Bonus Program 0 1 0 1 
88 Enterprise Zone Wage 0 1 0 1 
94 Historic Structures 0 1 0 1 
97 Historic Preservation (New) n/a   n/a   

103 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 
Owners 

0 1 0 1 

108 Jobs Training 0 1 0 1 
119 Musical and Theatrical Production (New) n/a   n/a   

 Total Credits $                        0 1.0 $                        0 1.0 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

146 Connecting Fees, Switching and Carrier 
Access Charges 

---   5 ---   5 

150 Electricity for Resale ---   5 ---   5 
158 Merchandise Sold ---   5 ---   5 
166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 

Venture Capital Partnership 
---   5 ---   5 

174 Tax Incentives for Employers ---   5 ---   5 
 Total Deductions $                        0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Exclusions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

196 Long-Term Gain From Capital 
Investment in Small Business 

---   5 ---   5 

209 Value-Added Non-Voice Services That 
Use Computer Processing Applications 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exclusions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 
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Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

278 Narragansett Pier Railroad Company ---   5 ---   5 
 Total Exemptions $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Modifications     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

370 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Historic Structures Tax Credits 

---   5 ---   5 

373 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Motion Picture Production Tax Credits 

---   5 ---   5 

375 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax 
Credits (New) 

n/a  n/a  

 Total Modifications $                       0 5.0 $                       0 5.0 

Preferential Tax Rate     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

421 Jobs Development Act $                      0 1 $                      0 1 
 Total Preferential Tax Rate $                      0 1.0 $                      0 1.0 

Total Public Service Corporation Tax $                    0 2.9 $                    0 2.9 
 
Rental Vehicle Surcharge (RIGL 31-34.1) 
Modifications     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

397 Rental Vehicle Surcharge Retained by 
Rental Car Companies  

$         3,054,203 1 $        2,690,870 1 

 Total Modifications $         3,054,203 1.0 $        2,690,870 1.0 

 Total Rental Vehicle Surcharge $      3,054,203 1.0 $     2,690,870 1.0 
      
Real Estate Conveyance Tax (RIGL 44-25) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

181 Conveyance of Mobile/Manufactured 
Homes for Consideration of $100 or less 

---   5 ---   5 

181 Conveyance of Real Estate for 
Consideration of $100 or less 

---   5 ---   5 

183 Conveyance of Real Estate Relating to 
the Capitol Center Project 

---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exclusions $                       0 5.0 $                      0 5.0 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

241 Deed, Instrument or Writing where 
Grantor is U.S. Government or State of 
Rhode Island 

---   5 ---   5 
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Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

298 Qualified Sales of Manufactured and 
Mobile Home Parks (New) 

n/a  n/a  

 Total Exemptions $                      0 5.0 $                      0 5.0 

 Total Real Estate Conveyance Tax $                    0 5.0 $                    0 5.0 
      
Sales and Use Tax (RIGL 44-18) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

208 Taxes Legally Imposed on Consumer by 
Separately Stated on Invoice 

---   5 ---   5 

210 Veterinary and Testing Laboratory 
Services (New) 

n/a  n/a  

 Total Exclusions $                      0 5.0 $                      0 5.0 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
TY 2010  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
TY 2011  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

213 Agricultural Products for Human 
Consumption 

$        2,462,635 3 $        2,502,027 3 

214 Air and Water Pollution Control 
Facilities 

1,063,106 3 1,080,112 3 

215 Aircraft and Aircraft Parts 968,830 3 984,328 3 
216 Banks and Regulated Investment 

Companies Interstate Toll Free Calls 
204,773 4 208,048 4 

219 Bibles ---   5 ---   5 
220 Boats or Vessels Brought in Exclusively 

for Winter Storage, Maintenance, Repair 
or Sale 

---   5 ---   5 

222 Boats or Vessels Generally 3,849,815 3 3,911,396 3 
222 Boats to Non Residents ---   5 ---   5 
224 Building Materials Used to Rebuild After 

Disaster 
---   5 ---   5 

225 Buses, Trucks or Trailers used in 
Interstate Commerce 

2,527,046 3 2,567,469 3 

226 Camps 918,194 3 932,881 3 
228 Casual Sales 148,726 1 113,513 1 
229 Charitable, Educational or Religious 

Organizations 
72,580,096 3 73,741,087 3 

232 Clothing and Footwear 53,716,763 3 54,576,016 3 
233 Coffins, Caskets and Burial Garments 1,088,019 3 1,105,423 3 
235 Coins 778,613 4 989,451 4 
236 Commercial Fishing Vessels in Excess of 

Five Net Tons 
---   5 ---   5 

237 Commercial Vessels of More Than 50 
Tons Burden 

---   5 ---   5 

238 Compressed Air ---   5 ---   5 
239 Containers 10,221,833 3 10,385,341 3 
242 Diesel Emission Control Technology ---   5 ---   5 
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Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

242 Dietary Supplements $         1,673,476 4 $         1,769,784 4 
244 Distressed Essential Community Hospital ---   5 ---   5 
245 Educational Institutions Rental Charges 5,618,618 3 5,708,493 3 
247 Electricity and Gas for Domestic Use by 

Occupants of Residential Premises 
42,366,364 3 43,044,056 3 

248 Electricity, Steam and Thermal Energy 
from RI Economic Development 
Corporation 

0 1 0 1 

249 Equipment for Research and 
Development 

839,766 3 853,199 3 

251 Farm Equipment 474,124 3 481,708 3 
253 Farm Structure Construction Materials 1,303,558 3 1,324,410 3 
254 Feed for Certain Animals Used in 

Commercial Farming (New) 
n/a  n/a  

257 Flags 35,733 4 35,396 4 
258 Food and Food Ingredients 139,757,561 3 140,150,961 3 
260 Food Items Paid for by Food Stamps 15,671,683 1 17,764,527 1 
261 Gasoline 87,992,573 2 113,361,644 2 
262 Heating Fuels 23,164,209 2 27,406,946 2 
264 Horse Food Products 47,673 3 48,435 3 
266 Human Blood 844,201 4 836,241 4 
268 Installation Labor Charges When 

Separately Stated 
30,665,659 3 31,156,187 3 

269 Jewelry Display Product ---   5 ---   5 
270 Manufacturers' Machinery and 

Equipment 
25,356,182 3 25,761,779 3 

271 Medicines, Drugs and Durable Medical 
Equipment 

128,169,140 3 126,360,349 3 

273 Mobile and Manufactured Homes 
Generally 

46,494 2 62,153 2 

275 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment 
for Amputee Veterans 

13,197 2 14,345 2 

276 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment 
for Persons with Disabilities 

88,257 2 95,935 2 

279 Newspapers 2,147,276 3 2,181,624 3 
286 Precious Metal Bullion ---   5 ---   5 
288 Prewritten Computer Software Delivered 

Electronically 
7,901,822 3 6,021,165 3 

289 Promotional and Product Literature of 
Boat Manufacturers 

252,398 3 256,435 3 

290 Property Otherwise Exempted ---   5 ---   5 
291 Property Purchased from Federal 

Government 
9,678,535 3 9,833,353 3 

293 Property Purchased Outside of State by 
Non-Resident and Brought into State 

---   5 ---   5 

294 Property Returned Within 120 Days from 
the Date of Delivery 

---   5 ---   5 
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Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

295 Prosthetic Devices and Mobility 
Enhancing Equipment 

$       12,363,946 3 $       12,561,719 3 

297 Purchases Used for Manufacturing 
Purposes 

293,086,511 3 297,774,719 3 

300 Renewable Energy Products 37,162 2 30,275 2 
302 Rental Charged for Living or Sleeping 

Quarters in a Hospital or Nursing Home 
28,061,937 3 28,510,815 3 

303 Rhode Island Economic Development 
Corporation Project Status Designees 

4,422,835 1 9,223,950 1 

305 Rhode Island Industrial Facilities 
Corporation Lessees 

1,685,485 1 152,744 1 

307 Sales and Use Taxes Paid to Other 
Jurisdictions 

---   5 ---   5 

309 Sales beyond Constitutional Power of 
State 

---   5 ---   5 

310 Sales by Writers, Composers, Artists 896,548 2 907,550 2 
313 Sales in Municipal Economic 

Development Zones 
0 1 0 1 

315 Sales in Public Buildings by Blind 
People 

107,597 1 114,825 1 

316 Sales of Motor Vehicles to Non-
Residents 

2,872,468 1 3,122,361 1 

317 Sales of Non-Motorized Recreational 
Vehicles to Non-Residents 

---   5 ---   5 

318 Sales of Trailers Ordinarily Used for 
Residential Purposes 

499,307 3 507,294 3 

320 Sales to Common Carriers for Use 
Outside of the State 

---   5 ---   5 

321 Sales to Federal Government 5,055,949 3 5,136,824 3 
322 Sales to the State or Its Political 

Subdivisions 
35,943,495 3 36,518,447 3 

325 School Meals 5,228,115 3 5,311,744 3 
327 Special Adaptations for Wheelchair 

Accessible Taxicabs 
---   5 ---   5 

328 Supplies Used in On-Site Hazardous 
Waste Recycling, Reuse, or Treatment 

---   5 ---   5 

329 Supplies Used in Preparing Floral 
Products and/or Arrangements 

885,774 3 899,943 3 

330 Telecommunications Carrier Access 
Service 

6,147,890 2 6,098,297 2 

331 Textbooks 2,950,884 3 2,998,087 3 
333 Total Loss or Destruction of Motor 

Vehicle within 120 Days of Tax Payment 
444,584 2 483,261 2 

334 Trade-in Value of Boats ---   5 ---   5 
335 Trade-In Value of Private Passenger 

Automobiles 
8,916,324 3 9,563,213 3 

337 Transfers or Sales Made to Immediate 
Family Members 

---   5 ---   5 
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Page 
Number Item 

TY 2010  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

TY 2011  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

338 Transfers or Sales Related to Business 
Dissolution or Partial Liquidation 

---   5 ---   5 

340 Transportation Charges of Motor Carriers 
to Haul Goods 

---   5 ---   5 

341 Vehicles Purchased by Non-Resident 
Military Personnel Subject to Sales Tax 
Elsewhere 

---   5 ---   5 

342 Water for Residential Use $       10,260,719 2 $       10,238,105 2 
344 Wine and Spirits (New) n/a  n/a  
344 Youth Activities Equipment Sold for $20 

or less by Nonprofit Organizations 
---   5 ---   5 

 Total Exemptions $1,094,504,478 3.4 $1,137,780,390 3.4 

 Total Sales and Use Tax $1,094,504,478 3.4 $1,137,780,390 3.4 
      

TOTAL TAX EXPENDTURES $1,922,194,265 2.7 $1,732,004,491 2.9 
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VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items  

 
 
 
 
 

CREDITS 
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VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Credits  

1. Accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-54-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1997 / 2010 
 
Description:  A small business taxpayer that pays for or incurs expenses to provide access to 
persons with disabilities to comply with federal or state laws is allowed a credit equal to 10.0 
percent of the total amount expended against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapters 44-11 and 44-13.  The credit cannot exceed $1,000 each tax year.   
 
Data Source:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2010 Total $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with TY 
2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2012 Projected Total $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts allows taxpayers to deduct up to $35,000 of the costs of 
removing architectural or transportation barriers to the handicapped in the year these costs 
are incurred.  The immediate deduction of these expenditures, which would otherwise have 
to be capitalized and depr 
eciated over a longer period, results in a deferral of tax or an interest-free loan. 
 
Massachusetts citation:  26 U.S.C. § 190  
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s law provides an exemption to eligible expenses incurred by small 
businesses for the purpose of providing access to persons with disabilities, as provided in 
Section 44 of the Internal Revenue Code. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5823(a)(5) 
 

2. Adoption (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(L) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2005 / 2010 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2006 (but before January 1, 2011), a taxpayer entitled to the federal adoption credit is entitled 
to a credit against the tax imposed under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30 equal to 
25.0 percent of the federal credit if the adopted child was under the care, custody, or 
supervision of the Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth and Families prior to the 
adoption.   
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the adoption credit can no longer be used to offset personal 
income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $247,237 93 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts adopts the federal exclusion for employer-provided adoption 
expenses paid.  It also has a deduction for adoption fees paid to a registered adoption agency 
against “earned” income. 
  
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3B(b)(5) 
 

3. Adult and Child Daycare: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-47-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1987 / 1994 
 
Description:  A credit is allowed against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapters 44-11, 44-13 (except § 44-13-13), 44-14, 44-17 and 44-30* for 30.0 percent of the 
total amount expended in the state by a taxpayer (a) “for day care services purchased to 
provide care for the dependent children or dependent adult family members of the taxpayer’s 
employees or employees of commercial tenants of the taxpayer during the employees’ hours 
of employment;” (b) “in the establishment and/or operation of a day care facility used 
primarily by the dependent children of the taxpayer’s employees or employees of commercial 
tenants of the taxpayer during the employees’ hours of employment;” (c) “in conjunction 
with one or more other taxpayer for the establishment and/or operation of a day care facility 
used primarily by the dependent children of the taxpayer’s employees or employees of 
commercial tenants of the taxpayer during the employees’ hours of employment;” or (d) “the 
total amount forgone in rent or lease payments related to the dedication of rental or lease 
space to child day care services.” 
 
The maximum credit allowed is $30,000 and cannot reduce the tax due for any tax year to 
less than $100.  The credit may be carried forward for the next five consecutive tax years, if 
the credit has been earned under conditions (b), (c) or (d) above, but no carry forward 
provision is available for credits earned under condition (a).  
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and Insurance 
Companies Taxes:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony, November 2013 Revenue 
Estimating Conference.    
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Personal Income Tax:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the adult and child daycare credit can no longer be used to offset 
personal income tax liability.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $40,000 5 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $14,299 15 

2010 Total $54,299 20 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  Amount of credit is based on the five year moving average 
value of the credit taken in tax year 2008 through tax year 2012.  The amount of taxpayers is 
assumed to be the same as the last observable value. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $22,980 5 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $22,980 5 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $25,576 5 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $25,576 5 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $25,711 5 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $25,711 5 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a corporation subject to the corporation business tax to 
claim a credit for expenditures made as a human capital investment.  According to the 
Connecticut statute, “(5) planning, site preparation, construction, renovation or acquisition of 
facilities in this state for the purpose of establishing a day care facility in this state to be used 
primarily by the children of employees who are employed in this state” and “(6) subsidies to 
employees who are employed in this state for child care to be provided in this state” are 
expenditures that qualify as human capital investments.  The tax credit is equal to 5.0 percent 
of the amount paid or incurred by the corporation for a human capital investment.  A credit 
cannot exceed the amount of corporation business tax otherwise payable, although unused 
amounts may be carried forward for up to five succeeding income years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217x  
 
Maine:  Maine allows a credit to an employer against costs incurred for day care services 
provided to employees.  The credit is equal to the lowest of: (1) $5,000; (2) 20% of the cost 
of the day care services provided; or (3) $100 for each child of an employee of the taxpayer 
enrolled in the day care service.  The credit doubles in amount if the day care service is 
considered quality child care service, meeting minimum licensing standards and accredited 
by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Office of Child Care and Head 
Start. 
 
Maine also allows a credit to an employer for long-term care benefits provided to employees.  
The credit is equal to the lowest of: (1) $5,000; (2) 20% of the cost of the long-term care 
insurance; or (3) $100 for each employee covered by the employer-provided long-term care 
insurance program.  The credit may not exceed the tax otherwise due.  Unused credits may be 
carried forward up to 15 years. 
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5217 and 5217-C 
 

4. Adult Education: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-46-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1985 / 1999 
 
Description:  An employer is allowed a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-15, 44-17 and 44-30* for 50.0 percent of the 
costs incurred solely and directly for non-worksite or worksite-based adult education 
programs, as specifically defined.  The employees for whom the employer claims an adult 
education tax credit must remain in the employ of the business for a minimum period of 13 
consecutive weeks and a minimum of 455 hours of paid employment before an employer is 
eligible for the credit. 
 
The maximum credit per employee is $300 and the maximum credit per calendar year per 
employer is $5,000.  This credit cannot reduce the business corporations tax to less than 
$100.   The credit is not refundable and any amount of the credit that is not used in the 
taxable year in which the employer becomes eligible for the credit cannot be carried forward 
to the following year. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank, Bank Deposits and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
 
Personal Income Tax:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the adult education credit can no longer be used to offset 
personal income tax liability.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $430 3 

2010 Total $430 3 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank, Bank 
Deposits and Insurance Companies Taxes:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held 
constant with TY 2011.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Projected Total $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a corporation subject to the corporation business tax to 
claim a credit for expenditures made as a human capital investment.  According to the 
Connecticut statute, “(1) job training which occurs in this state for persons who are employed 
in this state; (2) work education programs in this state including, but not limited to, programs 
in public high schools and work education-diversified occupations programs in this state;” 
and “(3) worker training and education for persons who are employed in this state provided 
by institutions of higher education in this state” are expenditures that qualify as human 
capital investments.  The tax credit is equal to 5.0 percent of the amount paid or incurred by 
the corporation for a human capital investment.  A credit cannot exceed the amount of 
corporation business tax otherwise payable, although unused amounts may be carried 
forward for up to five succeeding income years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217x  
 
Maine:  A taxpayer constituting an “opportunity program participant” or an employer of a 
qualified employee is allowed an income tax credit for each taxable year.  The amount of the 
credit is dependent on the loan payment made by the opportunity program participant.  The 
credit may not reduce the income tax otherwise due to less than zero. A taxpayer entitled to 
the credit for any taxable year may carry over and apply to the tax liability for any one or 
more of the next succeeding 10 years the portion, as reduced from year to year, of any 
unused credits. More than one taxpayer may claim a credit based on loan payments actually 
made to a relevant lender or lenders to benefit a single opportunity program participant, but 
no two taxpayers may claim the credit based on the same payment.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5217-D 
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Massachusetts:  Massachusetts adopts the federal exclusion for qualified educational 
expenses for undergraduate and graduate education expenses up to the federal annual 
maximum of $5,250 per calendar year.   
  
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 

5. Apprenticeship: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-41 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any taxpayer who employs a machine tool or metal trade apprentice or plastic 
process technician apprentice duly enrolled and registered under the terms of a qualified 
program is eligible for a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-11.  The amount of the credit is equal to 50.0 percent of the actual wages paid to 
each qualifying apprentice or $4,800, whichever is less.  The number of apprenticeships for 
which tax credit is allowed must exceed the average number of apprenticeships begun during 
the five preceding years. 
 
The credit is not refundable and any amounts not deductible in the taxable year in which the 
credit is earned may not be carried forward to succeeding tax years. 
 
Data Source:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with TY 
2011. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  A credit may be applied against the Connecticut corporation business tax by 
corporations that employ apprentices who are receiving training in the manufacturing, 
plastics and plastics-related, or construction trades.  Wages of pre-apprentices are not eligible 
for this tax credit.   
 
The tax credit allowed per apprentice in the manufacturing trades and plastics and plastics-
related trades shall be the lesser of:  (1) $4 per hour multiplied by the total number of hours 
worked by the apprentice during the first half of a two-year qualifying apprenticeship 
training program or hours worked by the apprentice during the first three-quarters of a four-
year qualifying apprenticeship training program; (2) 50.0 percent of the total wages paid to 
the apprentice during the first half of a two-year qualifying apprenticeship training program 
or first three-quarters of a four-year qualifying apprenticeship training program; or (3) 
$4,800.  The tax credit allowed per apprentice in construction trades shall be the lesser of:  
(1) $2 per hour multiplied by the total number of hours completed by the apprentice during a 
four-year qualifying apprenticeship training program; (2) 50.0 percent of the total wages paid 
to the apprentice during a four-year qualifying apprenticeship training program; or (3) 
$4,000. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217g  
 

6. Artwork Exhibition: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-24 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1986 / N/A 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  An individual is entitled to a tax credit equal 
to 10.0 percent of each $1,000 of the purchase price of art, up to a maximum purchase price 
of $10,000 against taxes due under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  The 
purchased art must be certified by the Board of Curators (see Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 42-97).   
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  73 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Credits  

Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Beginning in 
tax year 2011, the artwork exhibition credit can no longer be used to offset personal income 
tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $174 2 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

7. Biotechnology Investment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31-1.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2006 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any company primarily engaged in commercial biological research and 
development or manufacturing and sale of biotechnology products or active pharmaceutical 
ingredients shall be allowed a credit of 10.0 percent of the cost or other basis for federal tax 
purposes of tangible personal property, excluding vehicles and furniture, and other tangible 
property with situs in Rhode Island and principally used in the production of biotechnology 
products after December 31, 2001.  This credit can be used against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapters 44-11 and 44-30*. 
 
To qualify for the tax credit a company must pay its employees that work a minimum of 
thirty (30) hours per week within the state, a median annual wage equal to or greater than 
125.0 percent of the average annual wage paid by all employers in Rhode Island to 
employees that work a minimum of thirty (30) hours per week, and the company must 
provide benefits typical to the biotechnology industry. 
 
Any amount of credit not used in the tax year it was earned may be carried forward for up to 
15 succeeding tax years. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations and Personal Income Taxes:  No reliable data exists for 
this expenditure item.  Beginning in tax year 2011, the biotechnology investment credit can 
no longer be used to offset personal income tax liability.   
 
Reliability Index:  5 (This credit is included in the Investment Tax Credit.)   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2010 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2010 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations Tax:  No projection is made due to lack of 
reliable data.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provides for a credit to a biotechnology or medical device 
manufacturing company that creates 10 or more eligible jobs in the commonwealth during a 
single calendar year.  The credit is equal to a jobs incentive payment of 50.0 percent 
multiplied by the applicable Massachusetts income tax rate for the salary paid to the persons 
who perform the newly created eligible jobs. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62C, § 67D 
 

8. Child and Dependent Care (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(E)(1)(g) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  A taxpayer entitled to the federal child and dependent care credit is entitled to a 
credit against the Rhode Island personal income tax.  In general, if a taxpayer can claim the 
federal credit for expenses paid for someone to care for a dependent that is under age 13 or to 
care for a spouse or dependent whom is unable to care for himself/herself, then the taxpayer 
can claim a credit for the same expenses against the tax imposed under Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-30.  The child and/or dependent care expenses must be paid in order for the 
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taxpayer to work or look for work.  The amount of the credit is equal to 25.0 percent of the 
federal credit that is claimed. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $2,274,777 17,594 

2011 Personal Income Tax $2,380,884 18,062 
 
Projection Methodology:  Tax year 2012 projected revenue forgone is based on the five-year 
moving average of the child and dependent care tax credits from tax years 2007 through 2011 
applied to the tax year 2011 revenue forgone.  Tax years 2013 through 2015 projected 
revenue forgone is based on this moving average applied to the prior year estimated amount.  
The projected number of taxpayers is based on the same methodology. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $2,357,899 17,837 

2013 Personal Income Tax $2,335,136 17,614 

2014 Personal Income Tax $2,312,593 17,395 

2015 Personal Income Tax $2,290,268 17,178 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.     
 
Maine:  A resident individual is allowed a credit against the tax otherwise due in the amount 
of 25.0 percent of the federal tax credit allowable for child and dependent care expenses in 
the same tax year, except that for tax years beginning in 2003, 2004 and 2005, the applicable 
percentage is 21.5 percent instead of 25.0 percent.    
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5218 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions provide for the reduction of taxes of any federal 
credit allowable on the resident’s federal income tax return.  Day care paid for or provided by 
an employer to an employee, the value of which does not exceed the employee’s or 
employee’s spouse’s “earned” income, and does not exceed the amount of $5,000, is not 
included in the income of the employee and is deductible by the employer. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(a)(ii) 
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Vermont:  A taxpayer is entitled to a credit against the tax imposed of 24.0 percent of the 
child care and dependent care credit allowed against the taxpayer’s federal income tax for the 
taxable year.  Vermont also has a second credit for taxpayers with federal AGI under 
$30,000, if filing individually, or $40,000, if married filing jointly.  The credit is equal to 
50.0 percent of the federal child and dependent care credit for child and dependent care 
services procured in Vermont, so long as the facility providing these services has been 
certified by the Agency of Human Services. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5822d and 5828c 
 

9. Contributions to Scholarship Organizations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-62-3 / Rhode Island Public Law 
2013, Chapter 144, Article 9, Section 14 
 
Stated Purpose:  “In order to enhance the educational opportunities available to all students in 
this state, a business entity will be allowed a tax credit…for voluntary cash contribution (sic) 
made by the business entity to a qualified scholarship.” 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2006 / 2013 
 
Description:  Taxpayers that make voluntary cash contributions to certified scholarship 
organizations are entitled to receive a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-15, 44-17 or 44-30.  The maximum credit allowed a 
business entity is no greater than $100,000 in any tax year.  The total aggregate amount of all 
tax credits for contributions to scholarship organizations approved by the Division of 
Taxation in a fiscal year cannot exceed $1.0 million.  Effective July 3, 2013 and thereafter, 
the total aggregate amount of all tax credits for contributions to scholarship organizations 
approved by the Division of Taxation cannot exceed $1.5 million. 
 
There are two methods by which the tax credit can be earned, a two-year contribution plan 
and a one-time contribution plan.  Under the two-year contribution plan, the taxpayer 
commits to making the same amount of contribution for two consecutive tax years.  In this 
case, the yearly tax credit earned is equal to 90.0 percent of the total voluntary contribution 
made by the business entity.  Under the one-time contribution plan, the business entity 
receives a credit equal to 75.0 percent of the total voluntary contribution that is made. 
 
The tax credit must be used in the tax year the contribution was made.  The tax credit is not 
refundable, assignable or transferable and any unused credit may not be carried forward.  The 
tax credit may not reduce the tax below the state minimum tax.  
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank, Bank Deposits and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
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Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $270,095 52 

2010 Total $270,095 52 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2011 Personal Income Tax $774,233 84 

2011 Total $774,233 84 
 
Projection Methodology:  For TY 2012, the amount of credit and number of taxpayers held 
constant with TY 2011.  For TY 2013 through TY 2015, an additional $500,000 of credits is 
added to the TY 2011 figure and the number of taxpayers is labeled “> 84”. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2012 Personal Income Tax $774,233 84 

2012 Projected Total $774,233 84 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2013 Personal Income Tax $1,274,233 > 84 

2013 Projected Total $1,274,233 > 84 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2014 Personal Income Tax $1,274,233 > 84 

2014 Projected Total $1,274,233 > 84 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2015 Personal Income Tax $1,274,233 > 84 

2015 Projected Total $1,274,233 > 84 
 
Law Comparison:  Only New Hampshire has a similar provision. 
 
New Hampshire: A tax credit is allowed against the business profits tax and/or the business 
enterprise tax for business organizations and business enterprises that contribute to 
scholarship organizations which award scholarships to be used by students to defray 
educational expenses.  For each contribution made to a scholarship organization, a business 
organization or business enterprise may claim a credit equal to 85 percent of the contribution 
against the business profits tax…or against the business enterprise tax…or apportioned 
against both provided the total credit granted against both shall not exceed the maximum 
education tax credit allowed.  No business organization or business enterprise shall receive 
more than 10 percent of the aggregate amount of tax credits permitted. 
 
The aggregate of tax credits issued by the commissioner of the department of revenue 
administration to all taxpayers claiming the credit shall not exceed $3,400,000 for the first 
program year and $5,100,000 for the second program year, subject to the provisions of (b).  
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In subsequent years, the aggregate of tax credits shall not exceed the amount allowed for the 
prior year, unless adjusted pursuant to (a). 

(a) Beginning with the second program year, if the amount of the total donations used 
for scholarships exceeds 80 percent of the current program year's tax credits allowed, 
the aggregate of tax credits allowed for the next program year shall increase by 25 
percent, subject to the provisions of (b).  

(b) In each program year, the increase in the aggregate of tax credits allowed…shall be 
contingent upon the board of directors of the community development finance 
authority certifying in writing to the commissioner of the department of revenue 
administration by the December 1 preceding the program year that the community 
development finance authority has received $5,000,000 or more in contributions for 
the state fiscal year or that the authority has received contribution offers sufficient to 
meet its state fiscal year limit but did not meet its limit for other reasons. 

 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann., Ch. 77-G (effective June 27, 2012) 
 

10. Earned Income (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(N)  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  A taxpayer entitled to a federal earned income credit is allowed a Rhode Island 
earned income credit equal to 25.0 percent of the federal earned income credit.  In the event 
the Rhode Island earned income credit allowed exceeds the amount of Rhode Island income 
tax, a refundable earned income credit is allowed.  Refundable earned income credit means 
15.0 percent of the amount by which the Rhode Island earned income credit exceeds the 
Rhode Island income tax. 
 
In general, a taxpayer can claim the federal credit if he/she is employed and meets certain 
income criteria and rules including those having to do with children living in the home.  The 
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 increased the federal earned income tax 
credit from 40.0 to 45.0 percent of the first $12,570 in earned income for taxpayers with 
three or more eligible dependents. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $10,511,948 78,690 

2011 Personal Income Tax $9,895,368 82,690 
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Projection Methodology:  Tax year 2012 projected revenue forgone is based on the five-year 
moving average of the earned income (federal) tax credits from tax years 2007 through 2011 
applied to the tax year 2011 revenue forgone.  Tax years 2013 through 2015 projected 
revenue forgone is based on this moving average applied to the prior year estimated amount.  
The projected number of taxpayers is based on the same methodology. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $10,311,185 85,787 

2013 Personal Income Tax $10,744,796 89,001 

2014 Personal Income Tax $11,195,974 92,334 

2015 Personal Income Tax $11,666,445 95,793 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Beginning January 1, 2011, Connecticut allows for a refundable earned income 
tax credit equal to 30.0 percent of the federal earned income tax credit to resident taxpayers 
who work and earn incomes below certain levels.  The credit is reduced to 25.0 percent for 
the 2013 income year and 27.5 percent for the 2014 income year.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-704e 
 
Maine:  A resident individual is allowed an income tax credit in the amount of 5.0 percent of 
the federal earned income credit for the same taxable year.  Effective July 18, 2008, a 
nonresident individual and a part-year resident is allowed an income tax credit in the amount 
of 5.0 percent of the federal earned income credit for the same taxable year multiplied by the 
ratio of the individual’s Maine adjusted gross income.  The credit may not reduce the Maine 
income tax to less than zero.  For tax years 2009 and 2010, the allowable earned income tax 
credit is in the amount of 4.0 percent of the federal earned income tax credit for those taxable 
years. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-S 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a credit against the taxes imposed if the 
taxpayer qualified for and claimed the federal earned income credit.  The amount of the 
credit is 15.0 percent of the federal credit received by the taxpayer for the taxable year.  If the 
taxpayer claims and receives other state income tax credit, this credit must be applied last. If 
the amount of the credit exceeds the taxpayer’s liability, the excess is treated as an 
overpayment, and the taxpayer will be refunded the excess, without interest. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(h) 
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Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include a credit equal to that provided for federal purposes.  
In the event that the taxpayer’s earnings come from periods of part-year residency, the credit 
is prorated.  For tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2005, the credit is 32.0 percent 
of the individual’s federal earned income tax credit multiplied by the percentage of the 
individual’s earned income earned or received while a Vermont resident to the individual’s 
total earned income.  If the credit exceeds the taxpayer’s income tax liability for the year, the 
excess of credits over payments due shall be paid to the taxpayer. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5828b 
 

11. Educational Assistance and Development: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-42-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1985 / N/A 
 
Description:  An 8.0 percent credit is allowed against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13 (except § 44-13-13), 44-14 and 44-17 for contributions 
in excess of $10,000 made to an institution of higher education in Rhode Island (a) for the 
establishment or maintenance of a faculty chair, department, or program for scientific 
research or education; (b) for a work fellowship program that is providing training connected 
with scientific research or education for the students of the institution; or (c) for tangible 
personal property contributed for use in an educational, training, or research program for 
scientific research or education excluding sale discounts and sale-gift or similar arrangements 
for equipment. 
 
The credit cannot reduce the tax due below $100 in a given tax year.  Any amount of credit 
not used may be carried forward for five succeeding years.  
 
Data Source:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $79,200 1 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2010 Total $79,200 1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with TY 
2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Projected Total $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a corporation subject to the corporation business tax to 
claim a credit for expenditures made as a human capital investment.  According to the 
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Connecticut statute, “(4) donations or capital contributions to institutions of higher education 
in this state for improvements or advancements of technology, including physical plant 
improvements” are expenditures that qualify as human capital investments.  The tax credit is 
equal to 5.0 percent of the amount paid or incurred by the corporation for a human capital 
investment.  A credit cannot exceed the amount of corporation business tax otherwise 
payable, although unused amounts can be carried forward for up to five succeeding income 
years.  
 
Connecticut also has a credit for land donated without any financial consideration or sold at a 
discounted price to a municipality of the state for educational use.  The credit is 50.0 percent 
of the difference between the fair market value and the amount received for the donated land.  
Unused credits may be carried forward for 15 years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217x and 12-217ff 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a deduction for contributions to nonprofit educational 
institutions.  Taxpayers who donate capital assets to education institutions may deduct the 
asset’s current value without being taxed on any appreciation in value.  An individual’s total 
charitable contribution generally may not exceed 50.0 percent of adjusted gross income; a 
corporation’s total charitable contributions generally may not exceed 10.0 percent of taxable 
income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(1-D) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont has a deduction for donations and gifts that are made to an approved 
organization, although the applicable deduction amount varies based on the property that is 
donated.  For cash contributions, a deduction is allowed for up to 50.0 percent of the 
taxpayer’s AGI.  For property contributions, a deduction can be taken up to 30.0 percent of 
AGI.  Any excess charitable contributions may be carried forward for a total of five years. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811 
 

12. Elderly or Disabled (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2001 (but before January 1, 2011), a taxpayer entitled to the federal elderly or disabled credit 
is entitled to a credit against the Rhode Island personal income tax.  In general, an individual 
who was qualified as elderly and disabled could take a credit equal to 25.0 percent of the 
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amount of credit claimed on their federal personal income tax against the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.   
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the elderly or disabled (federal) credit can no longer be used to 
offset personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $4,329 139 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Individuals who have attained age 65 or who retired on disability before the close of 
the tax year are allowed a credit equal to 20.0 percent of the federal under the Code, § 22.   
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-A 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include additional exemption for a taxpayer aged 
65 or over against “earned” income of $700 ($1,400 for a married couple filing jointly if both 
spouses are age 65 or over). 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, §§ 3B(b)(1)(C) and 3B(b)(2)(C) 
 
Vermont:  A taxpayer is entitled to a credit against the tax imposed of 24.0 percent of the 
credits allowed against the taxpayer’s federal income tax for the taxable year, which includes 
the elderly and permanently totally disabled credit.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5822(d) 
 

13. Employment − Welfare Bonus Program: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-39.1-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1985 / 1986 
 
Description:  Any employer participating in the Bonus Program under Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 40-6.3 is entitled to apply for the credit.  The credit is awarded to employers 
that hire individuals who had previously received Aid to Families with Dependent Children 
(AFDC) for 30 consecutive months prior to the law’s enactment and employ such individuals 
for at least 24 consecutive months prior to application for the credit.  The credit is equal to 
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$250 per eligible employee and can be applied against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 and 44-30*.   
 
The credit cannot be applied until all other credits for which the taxpayer is eligible to use 
have been applied and it cannot reduce the tax due below $100 in a given tax year.  The 
credit is not refundable and any unused credit amounts cannot be carried forward to 
succeeding tax years.   
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and Insurance 
Companies Taxes:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Personal Income Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the employment-welfare bonus program credit can no longer be 
used to offset personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2010 Total $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2011.   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Projected Total $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Any business entity authorized to do business in Connecticut and subject to the 
corporation business tax may receive a credit for hiring persons who, at the time of hiring, 
have been receiving benefits from Connecticut’s temporary family assistance program for 
more than nine months and who continue to receive benefits.  Qualifying employees must be 
employed at least 30 hours per week.  The credit amount is equal to $125 per qualified 
employee per full month of employment, with a $1.0 million annual limit for all 
corporations. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217y 
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14.  Enterprise Zone Wage: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.3-6 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The general assembly finds and declares: (1) That there are certain 
distressed areas in this state which are characterized by substantial and persistent levels of 
unemployment; blighted areas; obsolete, dilapidated, and abandoned industrial and 
commercial structures; and, as a consequence, continually shrinking tax bases which threaten 
their very existence; (2) That the numerous programs undertaken by the Federal Government 
and the state during the past two (2) decades to stop the deterioration and stimulate economic 
activity in these urban areas have, in large part, failed; and (3) That it is the public policy of 
this state to undertake an experimental program to stimulate economic revitalization, promote 
employment opportunities, and encourage business development and expansion in distressed 
areas.”  
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1982 / 2004 
 
Description:  A qualified business located in an enterprise zone is allowed a credit against the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13 (except § 44-13-13), 44-
14, 44-17 and 44-30*.  A business becomes qualified for the credit if the business increases 
its employment from the prior year by at least 5.0 percent, pays more in total wages and 
salaries than in the previous year and is certified by the Enterprise Zone Council.  The credit 
is equal to 50.0 percent of the Rhode Island salaries and wages paid to the newly hired 
workers up to $5,000 if the newly hired worked is a resident of an enterprise zone or $2,500 
if the newly hired is not a resident of an enterprise zone. 
 
The newly hired workers’ wages and salaries must be reduced by any state or federal 
assistance received by the business in connection with their employment.  The credit is not 
refundable and credit amounts not used in the tax year that they are earned cannot be carried 
forward to succeeding tax years 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and Insurance 
Companies Taxes:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony, November 2013 Revenue 
Estimating Conference.    
 
Personal Income Tax:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation.  Beginning in tax year 2011, the enterprise zone wage credit can no longer be used 
to offset personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $1,000,000 44 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $296,260 54 

2010 Total $1,296,260 98 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $370,000 6 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $370,000 6 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $320,000 6 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Total $320,000 6 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  Amount of credit is based on the five year moving average 
value of the credit taken in tax year 2008 through tax year 2012.  The amount of taxpayers is 
assumed to be the same as the last observable value. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $508,607 6 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $508,607 6 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $546,328 6 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $546,328 6 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $548,987 6 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $548,987 6 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and New Hampshire have similar 
provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  The enterprise zone credit applies to any qualifying corporation which meets 
certain employment levels.  The enterprise zone credit is equal to 100.0 percent of the tax 
liability of the corporation with respect to the first three taxable years of the corporation and 
50.0 percent of the tax liability of the corporation with respect to the next seven taxable years 
of the corporation. 
 
Connecticut allows a credit for manufacturing facilities that meet certain employment criteria 
that is located in an enterprise zone.  The credit ranges from 25.0 percent to 50.0 percent of 
the tax that is allocable to the facility located in the enterprise zone.  A service facility 
located outside an enterprise zone but within a targeted investment community may also 
receive a credit based on certain employment criteria.  The credit ranges between 15.0 
percent and 50.0 percent of the tax that is allocable to the service facility. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217v, 12-217e(a) and 12-217e(b) 
 
Maine:  A taxpayer that is a qualified Pine Tree Development Zone business…is allowed a 
credit in the amount of: (A) 100 percent of the tax that would otherwise be due under Maine 
corporate and personal income tax law for each of the first 5 tax years beginning with the tax 
year in which the taxpayer commences its qualified business activity and (B) for a business 
located in an area which qualifies for Pine Tree Development Zone benefits for 10 years, 50 
percent of the tax that would otherwise be due under Maine corporate and personal income 
tax law for each of the five tax years following the time period in (A). 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-W 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions are predicated on the location of the eligible 
business in a poverty area.  The tax incentive is an additional deduction in determining net 
income of 25.0 percent of the wages paid to individuals working in the facility with the 
deduction not to exceed $5,000 per individual. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38E 
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New Hampshire:  Effective July 1, 2007, an economic revitalization zone tax credit is 
allowed against either the business profits tax or the business enterprise tax to encourage the 
creation of new jobs in areas identified by the Commissioner of Resources and Economic 
Development as economic revitalization zones. The economic revitalization zone tax credit 
program replaces the CROP (Community Reinvestment and Opportunity Zone) credit 
program.  The program is prospectively repealed effective July 1, 2015. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 162-N:7 
 

15. Farm to School Income: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-27 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2007 / N/A 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  Upon presentation of written certification by a 
local education agency (LEA), an individual or entity domiciled in the state for the entire tax 
year was entitled to a credit for the purchase of produce grown in the state which was 
furnished or used in connection with that individual’s or entity’s agreement to provide food 
to the LEA.  The tax credit was equal to 5.0 percent of the cost of farm products grown or 
produced in Rhode Island. 
 
Any amount of credit not used in the taxable year of certification could not be carried over to 
succeeding tax years.  The credit could not be applied until all other credits available to the 
taxpayer for that taxable year are applied. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Beginning in 
tax year 2011, the farm to school income credit can no longer be used to offset personal 
income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Vermont has a similar provision. 
 
Vermont:  A nonrefundable tax credit is available in the amount of 24.0 percent of the 
reduction in the taxpayer’s federal tax liability due to farm income averaging. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5822(c)(2) 
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16. General Business (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2001 (but before January 1, 2011), a taxpayer entitled to the federal general business credit is 
entitled to a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30 
equal to 25.0 percent of the amount of credit claimed on their federal personal income. 
 
Data Source:  The Division of Taxation is unable to provide data on this credit for resident 
and non-resident taxpayers for TY 2010.  This does not mean that there was no tax 
expenditure for this credit in TY 2010. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

17. Historic Homeownership Assistance: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-33.1-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of this chapter is to encourage maintenance and rehabilitation 
of residential properties that have historic merit by providing income tax credit for the 
maintenance or rehabilitation of historic residences.” 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1989 / 2008 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  A taxpayer who owns and lives in a Rhode 
Island historical residence can claim a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-30 for up to 20.0 percent of the certified costs of renovation in the 
year in which the work is completed. 
 
The maximum credit per year is $2,000 and unused amounts of the credit can be carried 
forward to succeeding tax years.  This credit is administered by the Rhode Island Historical 
Preservation and Heritage Commission. 
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Data Source:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the historic homeownership assistance credit can no longer be 
used to offset personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $209,030 152 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a tax credit for the rehabilitation of certain owner-occupied 
historic homes.  The credit is equal to the lesser of 30.0 percent of the projected qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures or 30.0 percent of the actual rehabilitation expenditures.  The 
owner must incur at least $25,000 of qualified rehabilitation expenses, but the credit cannot 
exceed $30,000 per dwelling unit.  The owner must occupy the home for at least 5 years 
following the completion of the rehabilitation work and unused credits may be carried 
forward for 4 years.  The aggregate amount of all tax credits cannot exceed $3.0 million in 
any one fiscal year. 
 
Connecticut also allows a tax credit to individuals, limited liability companies, and non-profit 
and for-profit corporations for rehabilitation of certified historic structures for mixed-use or 
affordable housing.  The credit is equal to the lesser of 25.0 percent of the projected 
rehabilitation expenditures or 25.0 percent of the actual qualified rehabilitation expenditures, 
or 30.0 percent if the project creates qualified affordable housing units.  The total credit 
amount is up to $50 million per three-year cycle, beginning with FY 2009 through FY 2011.  
The maximum tax credit allowed for any single project shall not exceed $5.0 million for any 
fiscal three-year period. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 10-416 and 10-416b 
 
Maine:  Effective June 30, 2008 and applicable for expenditures incurred after December 31, 
2007, taxpayers are allowed an historic rehabilitation credit against the corporate income tax.  
A credit is allowed in an amount: equal to 25.0 percent of the taxpayer’s certified qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures for which a tax credit is claimed under Section 47 of the Internal 
Revenue Code for a certified historic structure located in Maine, or equal to 25.0 percent of 
the certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures of a taxpayer who incurs not less than 
$50,000 and up to $250,000 in certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures in the 
rehabilitation of a certified historic structure located in Maine and who does not claim the 
federal credit with regard to those expenditures.   
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-BB 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts grants an historic rehabilitation tax credit to taxpayers that 
make substantial rehabilitation of qualified historic structures. A structure is substantially 
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rehabilitated if the qualified rehabilitation expenditures of the building during the 24-month 
period selected by the taxpayer ending with or within the taxable year exceed 25.0 percent of 
the taxpayer’s adjusted basis in the building.  The credit is equal to 20.0 percent of the 
qualified rehabilitation expenditures on a qualified historic property. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6J(a)  
 

18. Historic Structures: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-33.2-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of this chapter is to create economic incentives for the purpose 
of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic structures.” 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2008 
 
Description:  A credit equal to 30.0 percent of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures 
(QREs) incurred to rehabilitate the historic structure is allowed against the taxes imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-12, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 or 44-30 for the 
redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic structures.  The structure must have been 
certified as historic by the Rhode Island Historical Preservation and Heritage Commission 
and placed into service prior to January 1, 2008.  The credit processing fee for these projects 
is 2.25 percent of the QREs.  Projects that are in progress as of January 1, 2008 but not yet 
placed into service are eligible to receive a credit equal to either 27.0 percent of the QREs 
incurred with a credit processing fee of 5.0 percent of the QREs incurred or 26.0 percent of 
the QREs incurred with a credit processing fee of 4.0 percent of the QREs incurred or 25.0 
percent of the QREs incurred with a credit processing fee of 3.0 of the same. 
 
Historic structures tax credits are transferrable and unused amounts of the credit may be 
carried forward to a maximum of 10 succeeding tax years.  Proceeds from the sale of historic 
structures tax credits are exempt from Rhode Island taxes. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $1,400,232 12 
2010 Franchise Tax $0 0 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $188,525 1 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $23,281,331 29 
2010 Personal Income Tax $9,060,590 395 

2010 Total $33,930,678 437 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $389,855 4 
2011 Franchise Tax $0 0 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $6,648,455 12 
2011 Personal Income Tax $3,204,014 235 

2011 Total $10,242,324 251 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $544,000 2 
2012 Franchise Tax $0 0 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $5,094,709 1 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $4,282,057 8 
2012 Personal Income Tax $2,634,044 121 

2012 Total $12,554,810 132 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $141,883 2 
2013 Franchise Tax $0 0 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $1,145,533 6 
2013 Personal Income Tax $5,318,020 87 

2013 Total $6,605,436 95 
 
Projection Methodology:  The projection for CY 2014 and CY 2015 historic structures tax 
credits is based on estimates prepared by the Office of Revenue Analysis for the November 
2013 Revenue Estimating Conference for FY 2014, FY 2015 and FY 2016 for only those 
projects that qualify under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-33.2.  The allocation of the 
total amount of historic tax credits to CY 2014 and CY 2015 was executed by taking the five 
year average percentage of the total historic tax credits issued between July and December 
and January and June and multiplying these percentages by the Office of Revenue Analysis 
estimates for FY 2014, FY 2015 and FY 2016 for the included projects.  For CY 2014, the 
five year average percentage of the total amount of historic tax credits for the January to June 
period was multiplied against the estimated FY 2014 total amount of historic structures tax 
credits redeemed for the included projects and the five year average percentage of the total 
amount of historic tax credits for the July to December was multiplied against the estimated 
FY 2015 total amount of historic structures tax credits redeemed for the included projects.  A 
similar method was used for CY 2015 and fiscal years 2015 and 2016.  The amount of 
historic structures tax credits allocated to each tax type is based on the particular tax type’s 
five year average percentage of total historic structures tax credits redeemed.  For personal 
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income tax the percentage is 53.8 percent; for business corporations tax the percentage is 2.7 
percent; for bank (financial institutions) tax the percentage is 6.1 percent; and for insurance 
companies gross premiums tax the percentage is 37.4 percent.  No company has ever used an 
historic tax credit against the tax owed under the franchise tax or the public service 
corporation tax. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $352,777 Unknown 
2014 Franchise Tax $0 0 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $797,971 Unknown 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $4,934,858 Unknown 
2014 Personal Income Tax $7,042,875 Unknown 

2014 Projected Total $13,128,481 Unknown 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $435,040 Unknown 
2015 Franchise Tax $0 0 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $977,693 Unknown 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $4,989,096 Unknown 
2015 Personal Income Tax $9,124,250 Unknown 

2015 Projected Total $15,526,078 Unknown 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  A tax credit is available to individuals, limited liability companies, non-profit 
and for-profit corporations or other business entities for expenses associated with 
rehabilitating certain historic properties for residential use.  The credit is equal to the lesser of 
25.0 percent of the projected qualified rehabilitation expenditures or 25.0 percent of the 
actual rehabilitation expenditures, not exceeding $2.7 million.  The annual limit for all 
taxpayers is $15 million.  Unused credits may be carried forward for 5 years.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10-416a 
 
Maine:  After December 31, 2007, taxpayers are allowed historic rehabilitation credits for the 
certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures incurred.  A “substantial rehabilitation credit” 
is allowed against the income tax in an amount equal to 25.0 percent of the taxpayer’s 
certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures for which a tax credit is claimed under the 
Internal Revenue Code Section 47 for a certified historic structure located in Maine.  The 
credit allowed is increased to 30.0 percent of certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures 
for a certified affordable housing project. 
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-BB 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a 20.0 percent credit of qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures incurred in the rehabilitation of a certified historic structure.  The 
credit is not refundable. The Commissioner of the Department of Revenue in consultation 
with the Massachusetts Historical Commission will authorize annually for the 12 years 
beginning January 1, 2006 and ending December 31, 2017 an aggregate amount of available 
historic structures credits not to exceed $50 million per year. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6J 
 
Vermont:  Under the Vermont Downtown and Village Center Tax Credit program, a 
qualified applicant of a qualified historic rehabilitation project may claim against his or her 
individual income tax liability a credit of 10.0 percent of the qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures as defined under Section 47(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and properly 
chargeable to the federally certified rehabilitation.  To qualify for this tax credit, expenditures 
for the qualified project must exceed $5,000. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930cc(a) 
 

18. Historic Preservation: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-33.6-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of this chapter is to create economic incentives for the purpose 
of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic structures, as well as to 
generate the positive economic and employment activities that will result from such 
redevelopment and reuse.”   
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2013 / N/A 
 
Description:  A taxpayer that incurs qualified rehabilitation expenditures for the substantial 
rehabilitation of a certified historic structure, provided the taxpayer is not a social club, is 
entitled to a credit against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 
44-12, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 or 44-30.  The credit is equal to 20.0 percent of the qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures for any certified historic structure or 25.0 percent of the qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures, provided that either (i) at least 25.0 percent of the total rentable 
area of the certified historic structure is available for a trade or business or (ii) the entire 
rentable area located on the first floor of the certified historic structure is available for a trade 
or business.  
 
Tax credits are allowed for the tax year in which the structure or an identifiable portion of the 
structure is placed into service.  The maximum credit cannot exceed $5.0 million for all 
phases of any certified rehabilitation project and the total credits authorized cannot exceed 
the sum of the estimated credits available in the historic preservation tax credit trust fund. 
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Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax * * 
2013 Franchise Tax * * 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax * * 
2013 Bank Tax * * 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax * * 
2013 Personal Income Tax * * 

2013 Total * * 

* Figures are included in the amounts for Historic Structures in 17. above 
 
Projection Methodology:  The projection for CY 2014 and CY 2015 historic preservation tax 
credits is based on estimates prepared by the Office of Revenue Analysis for the November 
2013 Revenue Estimating Conference for FY 2014, FY 2015 and FY 2016 for only those 
projects that qualify under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-33.6.  The allocation of the 
total amount of historic preservation tax credits to CY 2014 and CY 2015 was executed by 
taking the five year average percentage of the total historic structures tax credits issued 
between July and December and January and June and multiplying these percentages by the 
Office of Revenue Analysis estimates for FY 2014, FY 2015 and FY 2016 for the new 
projects.  For CY 2014, the five year average percentage of the total amount of historic tax 
credits for the January to June period was multiplied against the estimated FY 2014 total 
amount of historic preservation tax credits redeemed for the included projects and the five 
year average percentage of the total amount of historic structures tax credits for the July to 
December was multiplied against the estimated FY 2015 total amount of historic preservation 
tax credits redeemed for the included projects.  A similar method was used for CY 2015 and 
fiscal years 2015 and 2016.  The amount of historic preservation tax credits allocated to each 
tax type is based on the particular tax type’s five year average percentage of total historic 
structures tax credits redeemed.  For personal income tax the percentage is 53.8 percent; for 
business corporations tax the percentage is 2.7 percent; for bank (financial institutions) tax 
the percentage is 6.1 percent; and for insurance companies gross premiums tax the 
percentage is 37.4 percent.  No company has ever used an historic preservation tax credit 
against the tax owed under the franchise tax or the public service corporation tax. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $10,932 Unknown 
2014 Franchise Tax $0 Unknown 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 
2014 Bank Tax $24,491 Unknown 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $111,955 Unknown 
2014 Personal Income Tax $234,657 Unknown 

2014 Projected Total $382,035 Unknown 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $30,333 Unknown 
2015 Franchise Tax $0 Unknown 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 
2015 Bank Tax $67,413 Unknown 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $217,308 Unknown 
2015 Personal Income Tax $688,465 Unknown 

2015 Projected Total $1,003,519 Unknown 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  A tax credit is available to individuals, limited liability companies, non-profit 
and for-profit corporations or other business entities for expenses associated with 
rehabilitating certain historic properties for residential use.  The credit is equal to the lesser of 
25.0 percent of the projected qualified rehabilitation expenditures or 25.0 percent of the 
actual rehabilitation expenditures, not exceeding $2.7 million.  The annual limit for all 
taxpayers is $15 million.  Unused credits may be carried forward for 5 years.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10-416a 
 
Maine:  After December 31, 2007, taxpayers are allowed historic rehabilitation credits for the 
certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures incurred.  A “substantial rehabilitation credit” 
is allowed against the income tax in an amount equal to 25.0 percent of the taxpayer’s 
certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures for which a tax credit is claimed under the 
Internal Revenue Code Section 47 for a certified historic structure located in Maine.  The 
credit allowed is increased to 30.0 percent of certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures 
for a certified affordable housing project. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-BB 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a 20.0 percent credit of qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures incurred in the rehabilitation of a certified historic structure.  The 
credit is not refundable. The Commissioner of the Department of Revenue in consultation 
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with the Massachusetts Historical Commission will authorize annually for the 12 years 
beginning January 1, 2006 and ending December 31, 2017 an aggregate amount of available 
historic structures credits not to exceed $50 million per year. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6J 
 
Vermont:  Under the Vermont Downtown and Village Center Tax Credit program, a 
qualified applicant of a qualified historic rehabilitation project may claim against his or her 
individual income tax liability a credit of 10.0 percent of the qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures as defined under Section 47(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and properly 
chargeable to the federally certified rehabilitation.  To qualify for this tax credit, expenditures 
for the qualified project must exceed $5,000. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930cc(a) 
 

20. Hydroelectric Power: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-30-22 and 44-30-23 
 
Stated Purpose:  “It is the policy of this state to support and foster the development of 
hydropower generating facilities by the establishment of tax incentives for those owners of 
existing dams who install hydroelectric power generation equipment.”   
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1980 / N/A 
 
Description:  A hydroelectric power developer will be allowed a non-refundable state income 
tax credit in the amount of 10.0 percent of the installation costs of a small hydroelectric 
power production facility at an existing dam site in Rhode Island.  The credit can be used 
against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11 or 44-30*.  This 
credit is limited to $500,000 in costs to develop a small hydroelectric power production 
facility for a maximum credit of $50,000. 
 
If the allowable amount of the credit exceeds the tax liability of the developer in the taxable 
year the credit is earned, unused portions of the credit may be carried forward to no more 
than five succeeding tax years.   
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations Tax:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Personal Income Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the hydroelectric power credit can no longer be used to offset 
personal income tax liability.   
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  100 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Credits  

Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2010 Total $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations Tax:  Amount of credit and number of 
taxpayers held constant with TY 2011.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

21. Incentives for Innovation and Growth: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-63-2 and 44-63-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2006 / 2011 
 
Description:  A tax credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-
11, 44-12 or 44-30* equal to 50.0 percent of the amount invested in an eligible qualified 
innovative company is allowed, but in no case shall the amount of the tax credit exceed 
$100,000.  A tax credit certificate may be issued in the name of the eligible company, an 
executive employee or employees of the company, an investor in the company or any 
combination thereof. 
 
Only companies with business primarily in those industries or trades identified by the Rhode 
Island Economic Development Corporation (RIEDC) upon advisory resolution of the Rhode 
Island Science and Technology Advisory Council as “Innovation Industries” producing 
traded goods and services can be deemed eligible for the investment.  RIEDC can approve no 
more than $1,000,000 in credits in any two year period. 
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If the allowable amount of the credit exceeds the tax liability of the investor in the taxable 
year the credit is earned, unused portions of the credit may be carried forward to no more 
than three succeeding tax years.  No tax credit can be approved by RIEDC after December 
31, 2016. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations and Franchise Taxes:  Business Tax Section, Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the incentives for innovation and growth credit can no longer be 
used to offset personal income tax liability.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Franchise Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $125,033 16 

2010 Total $125,033 16 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Franchise Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations and Franchise Taxes:  Amount of credit 
and number of taxpayers held constant with TY 2011.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2012 Franchise Tax $0 0 

2012 Projected Total $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2013 Franchise Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2014 Franchise Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2015 Franchise Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a credit against personal income tax for a cash investment 
of not less than $25,000 in the qualified securities of a Connecticut business by an angel 
investor.  The credit shall be in an amount equal to 25.0 percent of such investor’s cash 
investment, provided the total tax credits allowed to any angel investor shall not exceed 
$250,000.  The credit shall be claimed in the taxable year in which such cash investment is 
made and shall not be transferable.  Any unused credit that is claimed by the angel investor 
may be carried forward for 5 years.  A review of the effectiveness of the credit shall be 
conducted by Connecticut Innovations, Incorporated, by July 1, 2014. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-704d 
 

22. Interest for Loans to Mill Building Owners: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.9-9 
 
Stated Purpose:  It is the purpose of this chapter to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic industrial mill 
structures.  (Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.9-3) 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2004 / 2005 
 
Description:  A tax credit of 10.0 percent of the interest earned and paid on loans made to 
eligible businesses, solely and exclusively for expenditures made within a certified mill 
building can be used against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 
44-13, 44-14, 44-17 and 44-30*. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and Insurance 
Companies Taxes:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.     
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Personal Income Tax:  Personal Income Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the interest for loans to mill building owners’ credit can no 
longer be used to offset personal income tax liability.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2010 Total $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2011.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Projected Total $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

23. Investment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1974 / 2002 
 
Description:  A credit is allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapters 44-11, 44-14, 44-17 and 44-30* for the cost of realty and tangible personalty in 
Rhode Island, which are principally used by the taxpayer in the production of goods by 
manufacturing, processing or assembling.  General manufacturers are provided with a credit 
of 4.0 percent of the cost or qualified amounts for leased assets of tangible personal property 
and buildings and structural components of buildings provided that the assets have a useful 
life of at least four years.  A credit equal to 10.0 percent of the cost or qualified amounts for 
leased assets of tangible personal property, excluding motor vehicles and furniture, provided 
that the assets have a useful life of at least four years, is granted to manufacturers that are 
classified in major groups 20 through 39, 50 and 51, 60 through 67, 73, 76, 80 through 82, 
87, and 89 in the Standard Industrial Classification manual (SIC Codes).  A 10.0 percent 
credit of the cost or qualified amounts for leased assets of buildings and structural 
components is also provided to “high performance manufacturers” which are defined as 
businesses described in major groups 28, 30, 34 to 36 and 38 of the SIC Codes.  For leased 
buildings and structural components, the lease must have a term of at least 20 years.  High 
performance manufacturers must also meet certain wage requirements to qualify.  The above 
noted credit percentages also apply to computers, software, and telecommunications 
hardware even if these assets have useful lives of less than four years. 
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The 4.0 percent credit can reduce the tax due to the amount of the corporate minimum tax, 
currently $500.  The 10.0 percent credit can only reduce a tax liability by 50.0 percent unless 
it has been applied by a high performance manufacturer to the acquisition of buildings by 
purchase or by a lease of 20 years or more in which case the tax liability can be reduced to 
the amount of the corporate minimum tax.  All of the credits are non-refundable and unused 
amounts of the credits not used in the taxable year earned can be carried forward to not more 
than seven succeeding tax years. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Bank and Insurance Companies Taxes:  Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation testimony, November 2013 Revenue Estimating Conference.  
 
Personal Income Tax:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation.  Beginning in tax year 2011, the investment credit can no longer be used to offset 
personal income tax liability.   
 
The figures below include any amounts attributable to the Biotechnology Investment credit. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
  
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $16,580,000 283 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $430,000 1 
2010 Personal Income Tax $1,321,236 337 

2010 Total $18,331,236 621 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $17,570,000 73 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $190,000 1 

2011 Total $17,760,000 74 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $21,216,888 75 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $480,000 2 

2012 Total $21,580,000 77 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Bank and Insurance Companies Taxes:  
Amount of credit is based on the five year moving average value of the credit taken in tax 
year 2008 through tax year 2012.  The amount of taxpayers is assumed to be the same as the 
last observable value. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $15,718,000 75 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $587,750 2 

2013 Projected Total $16,305,750 77 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $16,201,600 75 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $529,300 2 

2014 Projected Total $16,730,900 77 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $17,433,920 75 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $443,410 2 

2015 Projected Total $17,877,330 77 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions.    
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a credit against corporation business tax equal to 5.0 
percent of the amount paid or incurred by a corporation for any new fixed capital 
investments.  Any credit not used during the income year in which the acquisition was made 
may be carried forward to the next five succeeding income years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217w 
 
Maine:  Maine has three credits which are similar.  Maine’s jobs and investment tax credit is 
applicable to taxpayers whose property is considered to be qualified investment of at least 
$5.0 million for the taxable year with a situs in Maine.  The taxpayer’s records must 
substantiate that at least 100 new jobs were created in the 24 month period following the date 
the property was placed in service.  The amount of the credit is equal to a former federal 
credit and is limited to $500,000 or the amount of tax, whichever is less. Maine’s seed capital 
investment credit is eligible to an investment in a business that: a) is located in Maine; b) has 
gross sales of $3.0 million or less per year; c) is the full-time, professional activity of at least 
one of the principal owners; and d) is a manufacturer, or a product or service provider with 
60.0 percent of sales derived from outside the state or to out-of-state residents, or is engaged 
in developing or applying advanced technologies, or must bring significant permanent capital 
to Maine.  FAME issues a certificate for up to 40.0 percent of the cash equity they provide to 
eligible Maine businesses.  25.0 percent of the authorized credit may be used for each tax 
year.  Finally Maine has a high-technology investment tax credit.  High-technology activity 
includes the design, creation, and production of computer software, computer equipment, 
supporting communications components and other accessories that are directly associated 
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with computer software and equipment.  Taxpayers engaged in high-technology activity that 
purchase and use eligible equipment or that lease eligible equipment from a lessor are 
generally eligible for a credit equal to the investment credit base for equipment that was 
placed into service in Maine during the tax year. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5215, 5216(B) and 5219(M) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provisions include only manufacturers; corporations engaged 
primarily in research and development; or in agriculture or commercial fishing.  The credit is 
3.0 percent of the cost or other basis of the property including buildings and leased tangible 
personalty and has a three year carry forward of unused credit. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 31A 
 
New Hampshire:  An investment tax credit equal to 75.0 percent of the contribution made to 
the Community Development Finance Authority during the contributor’s tax year is allowed 
against the business profits tax, the insurance taxes or the business enterprise tax individually 
or in combination. The credit or any unused portion of the credit may be carried forward for 
five succeeding years but may not exceed $1.0 million in any given tax year. Contributors 
may only take the credit after the contributions are actually received by the authority. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 162-L:10 
 
Vermont:  A person, upon obtaining the approval of the Vermont economic progress council 
may receive a credit against its income taxes imposed by this chapter in an amount equal to 
five to ten percent of its total investments within the state of Vermont in plants or facilities 
and machinery and equipment in the applicable tax year, but only if those investments exceed 
$150,000.  For investments made on or after January 1, 2012, Vermont also entitles taxpayers 
to a credit against the tax imposed of 24.0 percent of the credits allowed against the federal 
income tax for the taxable year. Such credits include:  elderly and permanently totally 
disabled credit, investment tax credit attributable to the Vermont-property portion of the 
investment, and child care and dependent care credits. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5930(g) and 5822(d) 
 

24. Jobs Training: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.6-4 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / 1997 
 
Description:  A qualified employer is allowed a credit against the taxes imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 and 44-30* of 50.0 percent of the 
qualifying expenses to provide training and/or retraining to qualifying employees.  A 
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qualified employer must be so sanctioned by the Rhode Island Human Resources Investment 
Council.  A qualifying employee is certain individuals employed by the employer in Rhode 
Island for at least 30 hours per week and earns or will earn immediately upon completion of 
the training and/or retraining program 150.0 percent of the state minimum wage. 
 
Fifty percent of the credit amount can be used in the taxable year in which the expense is 
incurred with the balance to be used in the succeeding tax year.  The maximum credit per 
employee is no more than $5,000 in any three-year period.   
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and Insurance 
Companies Taxes:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony, November 2013 Revenue 
Estimating Conference.  
 
Personal Income Tax:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation.  Beginning in tax year 2011, the jobs training credit can no longer be used to offset 
personal income tax liability.     
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $800,000 22 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $127,218 45 

2010 Total $927,218 67 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $1,330,000 5 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Total $1,330,000 5 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  109 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Credits  

Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  Amount of credit is based on the five year moving average 
value of the credit taken in tax year 2008 through tax year 2012.  The amount of taxpayers is 
assumed to be the same as the last observable value.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $586,000 5 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $586,000 5 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $687,200 5 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $687,200 5 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $680,640 5 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $680,640 5 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a tax credit equal to 5.0 percent of the amount paid or 
incurred by a corporation for human capital investments.  Expenditures that may qualify as 
human capital investments include:  
• In-state job training for persons employed in the state;  
• Work education programs in Connecticut, such as programs in public high schools and 

work education-diversified occupations programs; and 
• Worker training and education for persons employed in Connecticut, provided by 

Connecticut higher education institutions.  
 
A credit cannot exceed the amount of corporation business tax otherwise payable, although 
unused amounts can be carried forward for up to five succeeding income years.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217x 
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25.  Juvenile Restitution: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 14-1-32.1(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1980 / 1989 
 
Description:  An employer of a juvenile hired under the juvenile victim restitution program 
of the Family Court is entitled to receive a credit of 10.0 percent of the wages paid to the 
juvenile annually.  The credit cannot exceed $3,000 annually and may be taken against the 
taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11 and 44-30*.    
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations Tax:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the juvenile restitution credit can no longer be used to offset 
personal income tax liability.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2010 Total $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations Tax:  Amount of credit and number of 
taxpayers held constant with TY 2011.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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26. Lead Paint Abatement: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30.3-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2004 / N/A 
 
Description:  A property owner or lessee who resides in Rhode Island is entitled to tax relief 
for residential lead removal or lead hazard reduction when he or she obtains a Housing 
Resources Commission regulated certification, obtains a Department of Health regulated lead 
safe certification and fulfills all requirements, including certain income requirements as 
provided by this law.  The tax relief can be used against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
The tax relief shall be equal to the amount actually paid for the required lead abatement or 
lead hazard mitigation up to a maximum of $1,500 per dwelling unit for mitigation and up to 
$5,000 per dwelling unit for abatement.  The credit can be earned on a maximum of three 
dwelling units per claimant.  The tax credit is refundable for the amounts of the credit 
claimed in excess of the taxpayer’s liability. 
 
The maximum amount of credits that can be claimed in a given fiscal year is $250,000.  
Claimants with household incomes of $35,200 or less shall receive priority in receiving tax 
credit certificates. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $266,360 45 

2011 Personal Income Tax $250,000 54 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with TY 
2011.   
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  112 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Credits  

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $250,000 54 

2013 Personal Income Tax $250,000 54 

2014 Personal Income Tax $250,000 54 

2015 Personal Income Tax $250,000 54 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions allow a credit to an owner of a residence who 
pays for the containment or abatement of any paint, plaster or other accessible structural 
materials containing dangerous levels of lead or who pays for the replacement of one or more 
window units in a dwelling constructed before 1978 in order to bring the dwelling into full 
compliance with the provisions of Mass. Gen. L. c. 111, Section 197 (concerning materials 
containing dangerous levels of lead) may claim a credit for the lesser of the cost of the 
removal, containment or replacement or $1,500 per dwelling. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(e) 
 

27. Mortgage Interest (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2001 (but before January 1, 2011), a taxpayer entitled to the federal mortgage interest credit 
is entitled to a credit against the Rhode Island personal income tax.  The federal credit is for 
the interest paid or accrued by a taxpayer on the remaining principal of the certified amount 
of indebtedness.  If the credit rate exceeds 20.0 percent for any taxable year the credit amount 
cannot exceed $2,000.  In general, a taxpayer can take a credit equal to 25.0 percent of the 
amount of credit claimed on their federal personal income tax against the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the mortgage interest (federal) credit can no longer be used to 
offset personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $22,234 96 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Vermont have a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Owner-occupants of homes may deduct mortgage interest on their primary and 
secondary residences as itemized non-business deductions.  The mortgage interest deduction 
is limited to interest on debt no greater than the owner’s basis in the residence and is limited 
to no more than $1.0 million.  Maine generally conforms to federal income exclusion and 
deduction provisions used to calculate federal adjusted gross income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(1-D) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions deduct all interest from a secured debt mortgage presuming 
the following criteria are met: the taxpayer applying for the deduction is legally liable for the 
loan and the payment was made on a “qualified residence.” 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811 
 

28. Motion Picture Production: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31.2-5 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The primary objective of this chapter is to encourage development in 
Rhode Island of a strong capital base for motion picture film, videotape, and television 
program productions, in order to achieve a more independent, self-supporting industry.  This 
objective is divided into immediate and long-term objectives as follows:  
1.  Immediate objectives are to:  

i.  Attract private investment for the production of motion pictures, videotape 
productions, and television programs, which contain substantial Rhode Island 
content as defined herein.  

ii.  Develop a tax infrastructure, which encourages private investment. This 
infrastructure will provide for state participation in the form of tax credits to 
encourage investment in state- certified productions.  

iii.  Develop a tax infrastructure utilizing tax credits, which encourage investments in 
multiple state-certified production projects.  

2.  Long-term objectives are to:  
i.  Encourage increased employment opportunities within this sector and increased 

competition with other states in fully developing economic development options 
within the film and video industry.  

ii.  Encourage new education curricula in order to provide a labor force trained in all 
aspects of film production.”   

 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2005 / 2012 
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Description:  A 25.0 percent tax credit based on the amount of state-certified production 
costs directly attributable to activities within the state may be awarded to a motion picture 
production company; provided that the primary locations are within the state.  The credit can 
be used against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-14, 44-
17 and 44-30.  To qualify, the minimum total production budget must be at least $100,000 
and the maximum credit allowed is $5.0 million per production.  The credit can be 
transferred or sold to another Rhode Island taxpayer and unused amounts of the credit can be 
carried forward for not more than three succeeding tax years. 
 
No more than $15.0 million in total credits may be issued for any tax year for motion picture 
production tax credits and/or musical and theatrical production tax credits.  No specific 
amount shall be set aside for either type of production.  No credits will be issued on or after 
July 1, 2019. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $34,900 1 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $1,661,033 3 
2010 Personal Income Tax $856,539 54 

2010 Total $2,552,472 58 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $902,095 5 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $1,999,984 3 
2011 Personal Income Tax $1,925,661 35 

2011 Total $4,827,740 43 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $415,197 2 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $1,874,355 1 
2012 Personal Income Tax $335,625 11 

2012 Total $2,625,177 14 
 
Projection Methodology:  The projection for CY 2013, CY 2014 and CY 2015 motion 
picture production tax credits is based on estimates prepared by the Office of Revenue 
Analysis for the November 2013 Revenue Estimating Conference for FY 2013, FY 2014, FY 
2015 and FY 2016 for motion picture production projects that qualify under Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-31.2.  The allocation of the total amount of motion picture 
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production tax credits to CY 2013, CY 2014 and CY 2015 was executed using the 
percentages derived for the allocation of historic structures tax credits and the Office of 
Revenue Analysis applying these percentages to the estimates for FY 2013, FY 2014, FY 
2015 and FY 2016 for the included motion picture productions.  For CY 2013, the five year 
average percentage for the January to June period was multiplied against the estimated FY 
2013 total amount of motion picture production tax credits and the five year average 
percentage for the July to December period was multiplied against the estimated FY 2014 
total amount of motion picture production tax credits.  A similar method was used for CY 
2014 and CY 2015 and fiscal years 2014, 2015 and 2016.  The amount of motion picture 
production tax credits allocated to each tax type is based on the particular tax type’s three 
year average percentage of total motion picture production tax credits redeemed.  For 
personal income tax the percentage is 40.5 percent; for business corporations tax the 
percentage is 13.7 percent; for bank (financial institutions) tax the percentage is less than 1.0 
percent; and for insurance companies gross premiums tax the percentage is 46.0 percent.  No 
company has ever used a motion picture production tax credit against the tax owed under the 
franchise tax or the public service corporation tax. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $847,764 Unknown 
2013 Bank Tax $511 Unknown 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $1,858,533 Unknown 
2013 Personal Income Tax $1,849,374 Unknown 

2013 Projected Total $4,556,182 Unknown 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $993,919 Unknown 
2014 Bank Tax $1,498 Unknown 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $2,374,279 Unknown 
2014 Personal Income Tax $3,160,678 Unknown 

2014 Projected Total $6,530,374 Unknown 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $1,510,245 Unknown 
2015 Bank Tax $2,290 Unknown 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $4,428,302 Unknown 
2015 Personal Income Tax $4,599,898 Unknown 

2015 Projected Total $10,540,735 Unknown 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut has imposed a two-year moratorium on the motion picture tax 
credit for fiscal years 2014 and 2015.  However, under the prior provision for income years 
commencing on or after January 1, 2010, production companies incurring production 
expenses or costs between $100,000 and $500,000 may be eligible for a credit equal to 10.0 
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percent of production expenses or costs, between $500,000 and $1.0 million may be eligible 
for a credit equal to 15.0 percent of production expenses or costs, and more than $1.0 million 
may be eligible for a credit equal to 30.0 percent of production expenses or costs.  To qualify 
for the credit, production companies must conduct at least 50.0 percent of the principal 
photography days within the state, or expend at least 50.0 percent of post-production costs 
within the state, or expend at least $1.0 million of post-production costs within the state.  No 
expenses or costs incurred outside the state and used within the state shall be eligible for the 
credit.  An entity may not transfer more than 50.0 percent of a credit allowed for the income 
year commencing between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2011 in any one income year, 
and thereafter, an entity may not transfer more than 25.0 percent of a in any one income year.  
No credit may be sold, assigned or otherwise transferred, in whole or in part, more than three 
times.   
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217jj 
 
Maine:  Effective March 29, 2006, a visual media production company is allowed a 
nonrefundable income tax credit in an amount equal to 5.0 percent of the visual media 
production expenses if such expenses are $75,000 or greater.  A visual media production 
company certified by the Department of Economic and Community Development is allowed 
a reimbursement equal to 12.0 percent of certified production wages paid to employees who 
are residents of Maine and 10.0 percent of certified production wages paid to other 
employees. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5219-Y and 6902(1)  
 
Massachusetts:  Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, and before 
January 1, 2023, a taxpayer whose production expenses exceed 50.0 percent of the total 
production expenses for a motion picture or who shoot at least 50.0 percent of the total 
principal photography days of the film in Massachusetts is entitled to an additional credit 
equal to 25.0 percent of all Massachusetts production expenses, excluding the payroll 
expenses used to claim the total aggregate payroll credit. The entire salary paid to a high 
salary employee that is equal to or greater than $1 million may be used to calculate the 
production expense credit including the portion of the salary that is less than $1 million 
provided that such salary is excluded from the payroll credit, for which it does not qualify.  
They are also allowed a credit equal to 25.0 percent of the total aggregate payroll paid by a 
motion picture production company that constitutes Massachusetts source income.  These tax 
credits are refundable at 90.0 percent and may be carried forward to any of the five 
subsequent taxable years.   
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(1) 
 
Vermont:  Nonresidents can take a credit on income they receive for a dramatic performance 
in a commercial film production during that tax year.  This credit is in the amount by which 
the Vermont tax on this income, exclusive of the credit, exceeds the highest personal income 
tax rate in the taxpayers’ home state, multiplied by the Vermont commercial film production 
income.  This credit is repealed for tax years beginning after January 1, 2013. 
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Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5826 
 

29. Motor Carrier Fuel Use Taxes Paid to Rhode Island: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 31-36.1-15 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of this chapter is to assure the payment of tax on fuel 
consumed by motor carriers in propelling qualified motor vehicles on the public highways in 
Rhode Island.” 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1981 / 2006 
 
Description:  All motor carriers are entitled to a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 31-36 on all motor fuel purchased within the state but used 
outside of the state for its operations, provided that the tax imposed by the laws of the State 
of Rhode Island has been paid by the motor carrier on said fuel.  The credit is equal to the tax 
rate per gallon of motor fuel in effect when the fuel was purchased. 
 
The tax credit is refundable to the extent that the credit exceeds the amount of the motor fuel 
tax for which the motor carrier is liable. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  The number of 
taxpayers is the number of licensed IFTA (International Fuel Tax Agreement) carriers in 
Rhode Island. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $3,580,586 875 

2011 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $3,473,116 874 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with TY 
2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax  $3,473,116 874 

2013 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $3,473,116 874 

2014 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $3,473,116 874 

2015 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $3,473,116 874 
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Law Comparison:  All of the five New England states are also signatories of the International 
Fuel Tax Agreement and, therefore, all have similar provisions. 
 

30. Musical and Theatrical Production: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31.3-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of this chapter is to create economic incentives for the purpose 
of stimulating the local economy and reducing unemployment in Rhode Island.”   
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
 
Description:  This credit is equal to 25.0 percent of the “production and performance 
expenditures” and “transportation expenditures” directly attributable to activities in the state 
for a live stage production in a “qualified production facility.”  The credit is allowed against 
the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-12, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 
and 44-30.  To qualify, the minimum production budget must be $100,000 and the maximum 
credit allowed is $5.0 million per production.   
 
“Production and performance expenditures” include expenditures incurred in the state 
including, but not limited to, expenditures for design, construction and operation, including 
sets, special and visual effects, costumes, wardrobes, make-up, accessories, costs associated 
with sound, lighting, staging, payroll, transportation expenditures, advertising and public 
relations expenditures, facility expenses, rentals, per diems, accommodations and other 
related costs.  “Transportation expenditures” include expenditures for the packaging, crating, 
and transportation both to the state for use in a qualified theater production of sets, costumes, 
or other tangible property constructed or manufactured out of state, and/or from the state 
after use in a qualified theater production of sets, costumes, or other tangible property 
constructed or manufactured in this state and the transportation of the cast and crew to and 
from the state.  “Qualified production facility” means a facility located in the state in which 
live theatrical productions are, or are intended to be, exclusively presented that contains at 
least one stage, a seating capacity of 1,500 or more seats, and dressing rooms, storage areas, 
and other ancillary amenities necessary for the accredited theater production.  
 
No more than $15.0 million may be issued for any tax year for the total combined motion 
picture tax credits and musical and theatrical production tax credits.  No credits will be issued 
on or after July 1, 2019. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Franchise, Public Service Corporation, 
Bank, Insurance Companies and Personal Income Taxes:  The projection for CY 2014 and 
CY 2015 musical and theatrical production tax credits is based on estimates prepared by the 
Office of Revenue Analysis for the November 2013 Revenue Estimating Conference for FY 
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2014, FY 2015 and FY 2016 for motion picture production projects, including musical and 
theatrical productions, that qualify under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-31.3.  The 
allocation of the total amount of musical and theatrical production tax credits to CY 2014 and 
CY 2015 was executed by using the percentages derived for the allocation of historic 
structures tax credits and the Office of Revenue Analysis applying these percentages to the 
estimates for FY 2014, FY 2015 and FY 2016 for the included musical and theatrical 
productions.  For CY 2014, the five year average percentage for the January to June period 
was multiplied against the estimated FY 2014 total amount of musical and theatrical 
production tax credits and the five year average percentage for the July to December period 
was multiplied against the estimated FY 2015 total amount of musical and theatrical 
production tax credits.  A similar method was used for CY 2015 and fiscal years 2015 and 
2016.  To date, only one musical and theatrical production tax credit has been issued.  The 
Office of Revenue Analysis assumed that all of this credit would be redeemed against the 
personal income tax based on the three year average percentage of total motion picture 
production tax credits redeemed. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected       Number 

of Taxpayers 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2014 Franchise Tax $0 0 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2014 Personal Income Tax $58,689 1 

2014 Projected Total $58,669 1 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2015 Franchise Tax $0 0 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2015 Personal Income Tax $115,534 1 

2015 Projected Total $115,534 1 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states.   
 

31. Non-Resident Trust Beneficiary for Accumulating Distribution: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-37 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1971 / N/A 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  A non-resident beneficiary of a trust is 
allowed a credit against the tax otherwise due under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-
30 when Rhode Island income includes all or part of an accumulation distribution by the trust 
on which the trust has paid the Rhode Island tax. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Beginning in 
tax year 2011, the non-resident trust beneficiary for accumulating distribution credit can no 
longer be used to offset personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Massachusetts have a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  A beneficiary of a trust whose adjusted gross income includes all or part of an 
accumulation distribution by that trust, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code Section 665, 
or its equivalent, shall be allowed a credit against the tax otherwise due under this Part for all 
or a proportionate part of any tax paid by the trust. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5214-A 
 
Massachusetts:  A trustee or other fiduciary having control of the payment to a nonresident of 
the Commonwealth shall reduce the amount of taxable income. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 10 
 

32. Prior Year Minimum Tax (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010  
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2001 (but before January 1, 2011), a taxpayer entitled to the federal prior year minimum tax 
credit is entitled to a credit against the Rhode Island personal income tax.  The federal credit 
is for taxpayers that paid the alternative minimum tax in prior tax years.  In general, a 
taxpayer can take a credit equal to 25.0 percent of the amount of credit claimed on their 
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federal personal income tax against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
44-30. 
 
Data Source:  The Division of Taxation is unable to provide data on this credit for resident 
and non-resident taxpayers for TY 2010.  This does not mean that there was no tax 
expenditure for this credit in TY 2010. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

33. Property Tax Relief: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-33-5 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of this chapter is to provide relief, through a system of tax 
credits and refunds and appropriations from the general fund, to elderly and/or disabled 
persons who own or rent their homes.” 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1977 / 2006 
 
Description:  Rhode Island full-year residents with total annual household income of $30,000 
or less are entitled to a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
44-30 equal to the amount by which the property taxes accrued or rent constituting property 
taxes accrued upon the claimant’s homestead for the taxable year exceeds a certain 
percentage of the claimant’s total household income for that taxable year, which percentage 
is based upon income level and household size.  The credit is computed based on the 
following table: 
 

Income Range  1 Person  2 or More Persons 
Less than $6,000  3.0 %  3.0 % 
$6,001 to $9,000  4.0 %  4.0 % 
$9,001 to $12,000  5.0 %  5.0 % 
$12,001 to $15,000  6.0 %  6.0 % 
$15,001 to $30,000  6.0 %  6.0 % 

 
The maximum credit allowed is $300 per household per year.  The credit is refundable up to 
the maximum amount of credit in any given tax year. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation. 
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Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $14,331,123 52,517 

2011 Personal Income Tax $12,423,123 45,723 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with TY 
2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $12,423,123 45,723 

2013 Personal Income Tax $12,423,123 45,723 

2014 Personal Income Tax $12,423,123 45,723 

2015 Personal Income Tax $12,423,123 45,723 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.  
  
Connecticut:  For income year 2011 and thereafter, Connecticut decreased the credit allowed 
for property taxes paid on the taxpayer’s primary residence or motor vehicle from $500 to 
$300, and phased out the credit at a steeper rate than under the prior law.   
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-704c 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include renters and owners and are limited to residents who 
occupied a homestead in Maine for the entire calendar year.  For an “elderly household,” a 
resident claimant 62 or older, the rent constituting property tax paid is 25.0 percent and for 
non-elderly households, it is 20.0 percent.  The maximum benefits are based on household 
income and number of persons in the household. The value of the refund granted ranges from 
$400 for homeowners and renters living alone to $2,000 for homeowners and renters of all 
ages.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 6201 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a credit available only to certain taxpayers 
65 and older and if the taxpayer’s total income does not exceed $51,000 for a single 
individual who is not the head of household.  $64,000 for a head of household, and $77,000 
for a husband and wife filing a joint return and the assessed valuation of the residence does 
not exceed $764,000.  The value of the credit that may be granted is $970.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(k) 
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Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include an adjustment of statewide or local share property 
tax liability or a homestead owner or renter credit.  Homeowners have a two part calculation 
in determining the adjustment amount:  1) Single Threshold: 2% adjusted to reflect the 
district’s per pupil spending, with higher thresholds for districts with higher spending.  2) 
Multiple Threshold: 3 brackets and thresholds:  Lowest Bracket: 2% for income up to $9,999 
Highest Bracket: 5% for income $25,000–$47,000.  This includes a minimum benefit based 
on education taxes on up to $15,000 of house site value.  Renters have a Multiple Threshold 
calculation: 3 brackets and thresholds: Lowest Bracket: 2% for income up to $9,999.  Highest 
Bracket: 5% for income $25,000–$47,000.  The maximum benefit a taxpayer may receive is 
not more than $8,000 related to any one property tax year.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 6066 
 

34. Qualified Electric Vehicle (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2001 (but before January 1, 2011), a taxpayer entitled to the federal qualified electric vehicle 
credit is entitled to a credit against the Rhode Island personal income tax.  The federal credit 
is equal to 10.0 percent of the cost of any qualified electric vehicle acquired by the taxpayer 
between February 17, 2009 and December 31, 2011 up to a maximum of $2,500.  In general, 
a taxpayer can take a credit equal to 25.0 percent of the amount of credit claimed on their 
federal personal income tax against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Beginning in 
tax year 2011, the qualified electric vehicle (federal) credit can no longer be used to offset 
personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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35.  Qualifying Widow(er): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-26 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1993 / N/A 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  A Rhode Island resident who qualifies as a 
“surviving spouse” under the Internal Revenue Code of the United States, is at least 65 years 
of age, and has an adjusted gross income (AGI) of less than $25,000 is entitled to a credit 
against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  The credit is equal to 
2.0 percent of the taxpayer’s AGI up to a maximum of $500.  The credit is not refundable 
and cannot be carried forward to succeeding tax years. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Beginning in 
tax year 2011, the qualifying widow(er) credit can no longer be used to offset personal 
income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

36. Real or Personal Property Taxed in Another State: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-40-3(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1981 / 1991 
 
Description:  To the extent that a tax is imposed on a generation-skipping transfer by Rhode 
Island General Law Section 44-40-3(a) a reduction in said tax is allowed for any real 
property located in another state or personal property with taxable situs in another state 
which requires the payment of a tax for which credit is received against the federal 
generation-skipping transfer tax.  The amount of the reduction is the ratio of the value of the 
property in the other state to the value of the gross generation-skipping transfer for federal 
tax purposes. 
 
Data Source:  Estate Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
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Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 

2011 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with TY 
2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected         

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax  $0 0 

2013 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 

2014 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 

2015 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Real or tangible personal located outside of Connecticut that is subject to 
generation-skipping transfer taxes by any state or states other than Connecticut for which 
such federal credit is allowable, the amount of tax due shall be reduced by the lesser of (1) 
the amount of any such taxes paid to such other state or states and allowed as a credit against 
the federal generation-skipping transfer tax or (2) an amount computed by multiplying such 
federal credit by a fraction. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-390b 
 
Maine:  Tax not directly connected with a trade or business or with property held for 
production of rents or royalties may be deducted only as an itemized deduction on Form 
1040, Schedule A. These include the following (1) state, local or foreign real property tax; 
(2) state or local personal property tax; (3) state, local or foreign income, war profits, or 
excess profit tax; and (4) generation-skipping transfer tax imposed on income distributions. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(1-D) 
 
Vermont:  State and local property taxes paid by a taxpayer are deductible, but only if the 
taxes were based on value alone and imposed on a yearly basis.  Additionally, there are other 
miscellaneous taxes that are deductible, such as generation-skipping transfer tax imposed on 
income distributions. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811 
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37. Research and Development Expense: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-32-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1994 / 1999 
 
Description:  A taxpayer is allowed a credit against the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-17 and 44-30* for the excess, if any, of the qualified 
research expenses for the taxable year over the base period research expenses, where 
qualified and base period research expenses are as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 41.  The amount of 
credit is equal to 22.5 percent of expenses for the first $25,000 worth of credit taken and 16.9 
percent of expenses for any amount of applicable credit above $25,000. 
 
The credit allowed cannot reduce the tax due for any taxable year by more than 50.0 percent 
of the tax liability that would be payable and for corporations to no less than the minimum 
tax as set in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-2(e).  Unused amounts of the credit 
earned in a taxable year may be carried forward to not more than seven succeeding tax years. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations and Insurance Companies Taxes:  Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation testimony, November 2013 Revenue Estimating Conference. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation.   Beginning in tax year 2011, the research and development expense credit can no 
longer be used to offset personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $5,128,469 106 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $430,000 1 
2010 Personal Income Tax $979,353 113 

2010 Total $6,537,822 220 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $2,495,857 46 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $160,000 1 

2011 Total $2,655,857 47 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $5,077,699 47 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Total $5,077,699 47 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations and Insurance Companies Taxes:  Amount 
of credit is based on the five year moving average value of the credit taken in tax year 2008 
through tax year 2012.  The amount of taxpayers is assumed to be the same as the last 
observable value. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $4,353,540 47 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $386,000 1 

2013 Projected Total $4,739,540 48 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $4,542,248 47 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $317,200 1 

2014 Projected Total $4,859,448 48 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $4,328,697 47 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $258,640 1 

2015 Projected Total $4,587,337 48 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A corporation may receive a credit against its corporation business tax equal to 
20.0 percent of the amount by which research and experimental expenditures, as defined in 
Section 174 of the Internal Revenue Code, in the current income year exceed expenditures in 
the preceding year on expenditures.  Unused credits may be carried forward for 15 years. 
 
Connecticut also allows a credit against corporation business taxes for research and 
development expenditures incurred in the state.  The credit increases from 1.0 percent of 
expenditures up to $50 million to 6.0 percent of expenditures over $200 million.  Unused 
credits may be carried forward until fully taken.   
 
Companies with less than $70 million in gross sales that cannot take either research and 
development credit because they do not have a tax liability, are permitted to sell unused 
credits back to the state at 65.0 percent of their value.  The maximum annual refund is $1.5 
million per company. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217j, 12-217n and 12-217ee 
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Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a credit of 5.0 percent of the excess, if any, of the 
qualified research expenses for the tax year over the base amount, the average spent on 
research expenses over the last 3 years, and 7.5 percent of the basic research payments.  The 
credit is limited to 100.0 percent of the corporation’s first $25,000 of tax and 75.0 percent of 
the tax in excess of $25,000 and has a 15 year carryover.  A taxpayer that qualifies for the 
research expense tax credit is also allowed an additional credit against the tax due under this 
Part equal to the excess, if any, of qualified research expenses for the taxable year over the 
super credit base amount. A “super credit base amount” means the average amount spent on 
qualified research expenses by the taxpayer in the 3 taxable years immediately preceding the 
effective date of this section, increased by 50%. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5219-K and 5219-L 
 
Massachusetts:  A credit is allowed for domestic or foreign corporations against its excise tax 
equal to the sum of 10.0 percent of the excess, if any, of the qualified research expenses for 
the taxable year over the basic amount; and 15.0 percent of the basic research payments 
determined under Section 41(e)(1)(A) of the Federal Revenue Code.  Effective January 1, 
2009, the distinction between domestic and business corporations is eliminated and both are 
designated as business corporations. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38M 
 
New Hampshire:  The maximum credit allowed for all taxpayers is $1.0 million per fiscal 
year.  The credit is based upon 10.0 percent of the excess of the qualified R&D expenses for 
the taxable year over the base amount.  Each taxpayer’s share of the credit shall not exceed 
$50,000 per fiscal year.   
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:5(XIII) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions allow for a 10.0 percent qualified research and development 
expense credit upon obtaining approval of the Progress Council.  Any taxpayer beginning 
January 1, 2011 is also eligible for a credit equal to 30.0 percent of the amount of the Federal 
tax credit allowed in the taxable year for eligible research and development expenditures 
under Section 41(a) of the Internal Revenue Code and which are made within the state. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5930d and 5930ii 
 

38. Research and Development Property: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-32-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1994 / 1999 
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Description:  A taxpayer is allowed a credit against the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-17 and 44-30* for tangible personal property and other 
tangible property, including buildings and structural components of buildings that is 
acquired, constructed or reconstructed, or erected after July 1, 1994.  The property must be 
depreciable or a recovery property as determined under 26 U.S.C. § 167 and § 168, have a 
useful life of at least three years, have a situs in the state, and are used principally for 
purposes of research and development in the experimental or laboratory sense.  The amount 
of credit is equal to 10.0 percent of the cost or other basis for Federal income tax purposes of 
the property. 
 
The credit allowed cannot reduce the tax due for corporations to less than the minimum tax 
as set in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-2(e).  Unused amounts of the credit earned 
in a taxable year may be carried forward to not more than seven succeeding tax years. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations and Insurance Companies Taxes:  Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation testimony, November 2013 Revenue Estimating Conference. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation.   Beginning in tax year 2011, the research and development property credit can no 
longer be used to offset personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $1,101,191 7 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $22,883 10 

2010 Total $1,124,074 17 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $20,000 1 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $20,000 1 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $1,725 1 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Total $1,725 1 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations and Insurance Companies Taxes:  Amount 
of credit is based on the five year moving average value of the credit taken in tax year 2008 
through tax year 2012.  The amount of taxpayers is assumed to be the same as the last 
observable value. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $378,889 7 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $378,889 7 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $414,667 7 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $414,667 7 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $383,056 7 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $383,056 7 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

39. Resident Trust Beneficiary for Accumulating Distribution: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-19 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1971 / N/A 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  A resident beneficiary of a trust is allowed a 
credit against the tax otherwise due under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30 when 
Rhode Island income includes all or part of an accumulation distribution by the trust on 
which the trust has paid the Rhode Island tax. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Beginning in 
tax year 2011, the resident trust beneficiary for accumulating distribution credit can no longer 
be used to offset personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
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Maine:  A beneficiary of a trust whose adjusted gross income includes all or part of an 
accumulation distribution by that trust, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code Section 665, 
or its equivalent, shall be allowed a credit against the tax otherwise due under this Part for all 
or a proportionate part of any tax paid by the trust. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5214-A 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include that no person shall be taxed for income 
received from any trustee or other fiduciary which income has itself been taxed under 
Massachusetts’ law. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 10 
 
Vermont:  Credit is available to a partner, member, shareholder, or beneficiary required to 
pay Vermont income tax in the same proportion as the income of the person is distributed to 
the shareholder, partner, member or beneficiary. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930i 
 

40.  Residential Renewable Energy System: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-57-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2000 / 2009 
 
Description:  An eligible person who pays all or part of the cost of an eligible renewable 
energy system is allowed a credit of 25.0 percent of the cost of the system against the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11 and 44-30*.  Eligible renewable 
energy systems consist of a photovoltaic system, a solar domestic hot water system, an active 
solar space heating system, a geothermal system or a wind-generating system that is installed 
in a dwelling. 
 
The computation of the credit is subject to a maximum renewable energy system cost of 
$15,000 for a photovoltaic system, $7,000 for a solar domestic hot water system, $15,000 for 
an active solar heating system, $7,000 for a geothermal system and $15,000 for a wind-
energy system.  Renewable energy systems with cost in excess of these maximums will 
receive a credit of 25.0 percent of the maximum allowable system cost. 
 
The tax credit cannot lower the claimant’s tax liability to below the minimum tax as required 
by Rhode Island law and unused amounts of the credit cannot be carried forward to 
succeeding tax years. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
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Data Source:  Business Corporations Tax:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.   
 
Personal Income Tax:  Personal Income Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Beginning in tax year 2011, the residential renewable energy system credit can no longer be 
used to offset personal income tax liability.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $104,625 62 

2010 Total $104,625 62 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations Tax:  Amount of credit and number of 
taxpayers is held constant with TY 2012. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provides a credit equal to the lesser of 15.0 percent of the net 
expenditure or $1,000.  Massachusetts allows a carry over of any excess amount. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6 
 
Vermont:  A taxpayer is entitled to a 100.0 percent credit for the Vermont-property portion of 
the business solar energy tax credit component of the Federal investment tax credit applied 
against the taxpayer’s Federal tax liability. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930z 
 

41.  Specialized Mill Building Investment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.9-7  
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Stated Purpose:  “It is the purpose of this chapter to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic industrial mill 
structures.”  (Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.9-3) 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2004 / N/A 
 
Description:  The owner of a certified mill building may be allowed a specialized investment 
tax credit as set out in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31-2.  A credit of 10.0 percent 
of the rehabilitation and reconstruction costs of a certified mill building that has been 
substantially rehabilitated may be taken against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapters 44-11, 44-14, 44-17 and 44-30*. 
 
Application of the tax credit cannot reduce the taxpayer’s tax liability below the minimum 
tax required by Rhode Island law.  The tax credit not refundable but unused portions of the 
tax credit may be carried forward no more than seven succeeding tax years. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Bank and Insurance Companies Taxes:  Business Tax 
Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation.  Beginning in tax year 2011, the specialized mill building investment credit can no 
longer be used to offset personal income tax liability.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $0 0 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2010 Total $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $0 0 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Bank and Insurance Companies Taxes:  
Amount of credit and number of taxpayers is held constant in TY 2011.   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $0 0 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Projected Total $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $0 0 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $0 0 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $0 0 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

42. Taxes Paid to Other States: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-18 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1971 / 1972 
 
Description:  A resident shall be allowed a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-30 for the aggregate of net income taxes imposed for the taxable 
year by other states, including the District of Columbia of the United States, provided that 
such taxes are imposed irrespective of the residence of the taxpayer.  The credit shall not 
exceed the proportion of the taxpayer’s Rhode Island personal income tax that the taxpayer’s 
Rhode Island income derived from the other taxing states bears to his or her entire Rhode 
Island income for the same taxable year. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010, TY 2011, and TY 2012 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation. 
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Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $124,489,741 69,801 

2011 Personal Income Tax $140,340,482 72,586 

2012 Personal Income Tax $149,361,327 74,602 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with TY 
2012. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Personal Income Tax $149,361,327 74,602 

2014 Personal Income Tax $149,361,327 74,602 

2015 Personal Income Tax $149,361,327 74,602 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a credit against personal income taxes in the amount of any 
income tax imposed on any resident or part-year resident for the taxable year by another 
state. 
  
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-704 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions also include the income taxes of any state, political subdivision 
thereof, the District of Columbia, or any political subdivision of a foreign country, which is 
analogous to a state of the United States; however, the other taxing jurisdiction must allow a 
reciprocal reduction of its tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5217-A 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions also include the income taxes of all territories or 
possessions of the United States [e.g. Guam, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands], as well as, 
of the Canadian provinces. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(a) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions also include credit for the income taxes of all territories or 
possessions of the United States [e.g. Guam, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands], the District of 
Columbia and a limited credit for the income taxes of the Canadian provinces. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5825 
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43. Wages Paid by Employers in Mill Buildings: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.9-8 
 
Stated Purpose:  “It is the purpose of this chapter to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic industrial mill 
structures.”  (Rhode Island General Law Sections 42-64.9-2 and 42-64.9-3) 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2004 / N/A 
 
Description:  A taxpayer who owns and operates an eligible business within a certified mill 
building that has been substantially rehabilitated is allowed a credit against the tax imposed 
under Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11 or 44-30*.  The credit is equal to 100.0 
percent of the total amount of Rhode Island salaries and wages as are paid to the same 
employees in excess of the prior calendar year.  The maximum credit allowed per taxable 
year under the provision of the subsection is three thousand dollars ($3,000) per qualified 
employee. 
 
The credit cannot reduce the tax liability of the taxpayer below the minimum tax required by 
Rhode Island law.  Unused amounts of the credit cannot be carried forward to succeeding tax 
years.  An eligible business that is also located in an enterprise zone can use the credit 
provided under this section or that provided in Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.3-6 
but not both. 
 
*As of January 1, 2011, this credit is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations Tax:  Business Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  Beginning in tax 
year 2011, the credit for wages paid by employers in mill buildings can no longer be used to 
offset personal income tax liability 
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporations Tax, 1; Personal Income Tax, 5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
2010 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2010 Total $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
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Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations Tax:  Amount of credit and number of 
taxpayers is held constant with TY 2011.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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1. Accelerated Amortization for Certain Manufacturers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-11.3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1994 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any taxpayer engaged in manufacturing activities in Rhode Island that has on 
the average over the five previous years annually produced goods at facilities located in 
Rhode Island which generate net sales of at least $10.0 million and where on the average at 
least 80.0 percent of that production has been for eventual sale to a branch of the United 
States armed services may if it represents that it anticipates the need to reduce its reliance on 
such sales, elect to amortize the unrecovered basis of all or a portion of its depreciable assets 
over a 60 month period in equal monthly installments.  
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions allow a taxpayer to amortize new business startup expenses such 
as the cost of legal services, which are normally incurred during initiation.  These outlays can 
be amortized over 180 months even though they are similar to other payments made for non-
depreciable intangible assets that are not recoverable until the business is sold. If a taxpayer 
does not make this election, the expenses must be capitalized. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(1-D) 
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Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ taxpayers may elect to treat certain capital costs of starting a 
business as deferred expenses and amortize them over five years.  Without the election, only 
costs for particular assets could be recovered through depreciation deductions.  The election 
to amortize these costs allows for a deferral of tax or an interest-free loan. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 

2. Alimony Paid (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for alimony paid “under divorce or 
separate maintenance decrees or written separation agreements” between the taxpayer and 
the taxpayer’s spouse or former spouse. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  
The federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island 
adjusted gross income to total United States adjusted gross income for each tax year.  
Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated Rhode Island value of the 
deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.996 percent for TY 2010 and 2.961 percent for TY 
2011.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total 
Rhode Island tax filers to total United States tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $1,129,783 2,376 

2011 Personal Income Tax $1,203,498 2,394 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $1,203,498 2,394 

2013 Personal Income Tax $1,203,498 2,394 

2014 Personal Income Tax $1,203,498 2,394 

2015 Personal Income Tax $1,203,498 2,394 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal adjusted gross income 
and, therefore, allow this item since it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for alimony paid. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total 5.3 percent income 
for amounts paid to former spouses for alimony or separate maintenance under court order. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of alimony or separate maintenance payments is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

3. Amortization of Air or Water Pollution Control Facilities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-7 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1974 / 2010 
 
Description:  A taxpayer, at his or her election, is allowed to take as a deduction the 
amortization of the adjusted basis for determining gain of any “treatment facility” over a 
period of 60 months.  The deduction is allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-30.  The amortization deduction requires that the federal 
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depreciation or amortization, if any, must be added back before the Rhode Island calculation 
is made.  A treatment facility means “any land, facility, device, building, machinery, or 
equipment, the construction, reconstruction, erection, installation, or acquisition of which” 
meets federal and state standards for the control of air or water pollution, has been made 
primarily to control the pollution of water or air, and is certified as approved by the Director 
of the Rhode Island Department of Health. 
 
As of January 1, 2011, this deduction is no longer allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  Beginning in tax year 
2011, this deduction is no longer available. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ taxpayers may elect to amortize the cost of a certified 
pollution control facility over a five-year period, allowing for accelerated recovery of these 
costs.  The excess of accelerated recovery over depreciation deductions otherwise allowable 
results in a deferral of tax or an interest-free loan. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 

4. Amortization of Air or Water Pollution Prevention and Treatment Facilities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-11.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1966 / 2000  
 
Description:  A taxpayer, at his or her election, is allowed to take as a deduction the 
amortization of the adjusted basis for determining gain of any “treatment facility” over a 
period of 60 months.  The deduction is allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-11.  The amortization deduction requires that the federal 
depreciation or amortization, if any, must be added back before the Rhode Island calculation 
is made. 
 
A treatment facility means “any land, facility, device, building, machinery, or equipment, the 
construction, reconstruction, erection, installation, or acquisition of which” meets federal and 
state standards for the control of air or water pollution, has been made primarily to control 
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the pollution of water or air and applies only to water and air pollution control facilities that 
are installed for the treatment of waste waters and air contaminants resulting from industrial 
processes. 
 
A prevention facility means “any land, facility, device, building, machinery, or equipment 
the construction, reconstruction, erection, installation, or acquisition of which” meets federal 
and state standards for the prevention of air or water pollution or contamination, has been 
made primarily to prevent the pollution or contamination of water or air, and applies only to 
water and air pollution prevention facilities that are installed for the prevention of waste 
waters, air contaminants, and hazardous solid wastes resulting from industrial processes. 
 
The treatment or prevention facility must be certified by the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Management. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.   
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction for 100.0 percent of the costs 
associated with an approved air or industrial treatment facility during the taxable year of the 
construction, reconstruction, erection or improvement of the facility. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38D(a) 
 

5. Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, etc. (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for certain business expenses of Armed 
Forces reservists, qualified performing artists, and fee-basis government officials.  These 
expenses are ordinary and necessary unreimbursed expenses attributable to an individual’s 
job including vehicle expenses, expenses related to travel that is not overnight (parking fees, 
tolls, transportation by train, bus, etc.) excluding meals and entertainment, expenses related 
to overnight travel (lodging, airfare, etc.) excluding meals and entertainment, other business 
expenses, and meals and entertainment. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  
The federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island 
adjusted gross income to total United States adjusted gross income for each tax year.  
Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated Rhode Island value of the 
deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.996 percent for TY 2010 and 2.961 percent for TY 
2011.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total 
Rhode Island tax filers to total United States tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $51,298 524 

2011 Personal Income Tax $58,499 606 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $58,499 606 

2013 Personal Income Tax $58,499 606 

2014 Personal Income Tax $58,499 606 

2015 Personal Income Tax $58,499 606 
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Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal adjusted gross income 
and, therefore, allow this item since it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for certain business expenses of Armed 
Forces reservists, qualified performance artists, and fee-based government officials. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total 5.3 percent income 
for certain business expenses of Armed Forces reservists, qualified performing artists, and 
fee-based government officials as stated on the taxpayer’s federal income tax return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of certain business expenses of Armed Forces reservists, qualified performance 
artists, and fee-based government officials is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

6. Connecting Fees, Switching and Carrier Access Charges: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-1(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1942 / 1985 
 
Description:  All amounts paid by a corporation subject to the tax imposed under Rhode 
Island General Law Section 44-13-4(4) to another corporation for connecting fees, switching 
charges, and carrier access charges shall be deducted from the gross earnings of the paying 
corporation. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Public Service Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

7. Domestic Production Activities (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-55-8 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2013 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for qualified domestic production 
activities.  Qualified domestic production activities include manufacturing based in the U.S., 
selling, leasing or licensing items that have been manufactured in the U.S., selling, leasing, or 
licensing movies that have been produced in the U.S., construction services in the U.S., 
architectural and engineering services related to a U.S. based project, and software 
development, including video games, in the U.S. 
 
Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 any deduction made by a 
taxpayer for qualified domestic production activities under Section 199 of the Internal 
Revenue Code shall be added back to the taxpayer’s taxable income effectively eliminating 
this deduction under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income, Table 2: Individual Income and 
Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income, Internal Revenue Service.  TY 2010 
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and TY 2011 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined 
by multiplying the total reported amount of the deduction by the aggregate Rhode Island 
resident effective personal income tax rate.  For TY 2010 this rate is 2.765 percent.  For TY 
2011 this rate is 2.838 percent.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the 
IRS’ SOI report for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $781,409 1,681 

2011 Personal Income Tax $780,308 1,663 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.  No deduction is allowed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $780,308 1,663 

2013 Personal Income Tax $780,308 1,663 

2014 Personal Income Tax n/a n/a 

2015 Personal Income Tax n/a n/a 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal adjusted gross income 
and, therefore, allow this item since it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for qualified domestic production 
activities. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total 5.3 percent income 
for qualified domestic production activities as stated on the taxpayer’s federal income tax 
return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  148 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Deductions 

Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of qualified domestic production activities is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

8. Educator Expenses (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income allows a qualified educator to deduct unreimbursed expenses 
incurred for books, supplies, computer equipment, other equipment, and supplementary 
materials used in a classroom or related to athletics.  The maximum allowable deduction is 
$250. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income, Table 2: Individual Income and 
Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income, Internal Revenue Service.  TY 2010 
and TY 2011 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined 
by multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective 
personal income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the 
revenue forgone amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2010, these Rhode 
Island resident effective tax rates range from -0.030 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1.00 but under $25,000 to 5.217 percent for the federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or 
more.  For TY 2011, the comparable numbers are 0.026m percent for the federal AGI 
category of $1.00 but under $25,000 and 5.010 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI 
report for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $109,576 16,672 

2011 Personal Income Tax $111,159 16,965 
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Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $111,159 16,965 

2013 Personal Income Tax $111,159 16,965 

2014 Personal Income Tax $111,159 16,965 

2015 Personal Income Tax $111,159 16,965 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal adjusted gross income 
and, therefore, allow this item since it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for educator expenses. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Beginning January 1, 2006, Massachusetts’ does not allow the deduction for 
expenses paid or incurred by an eligible educator for books, supplies, equipment and other 
qualified materials used in the classroom.   
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(D) 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of educator expenses is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

9. Electricity for Resale: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-4(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1942 / 2008  
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Description:  The transmission or sale of electricity to other public utilities, non-regulated 
power producers or municipal utilities for resale whether within the state or not shall be 
deducted from gross earnings prior to the calculation of the tax imposed by this section. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Public Service Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  A deduction is allowed from all sales for resale of water, steam, gas and 
electricity to public service corporations and municipal utilities, whether or not such 
purchasers are Connecticut public service corporations or Connecticut municipal utilities, 
and whether or not they are subject to the Public Service Companies Tax.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-265(b)(1) 
 

10. Health Savings Account (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
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Federal adjusted gross income allows for the deduction of contributions to a qualified health 
savings account (HSA).  For contributions to an HSA to be deductible, the taxpayer must be 
enrolled in a high-deductible health insurance plan and not be covered by another type of 
health insurance.  The high deductible health insurance plan must satisfy certain criteria.  In 
tax year 2010, the maximum deductible HSA contribution was $3,050 for individual 
coverage and $6,150 for family coverage.  For tax year 2011, there were no changes in the 
maximum deductible HSA contribution limits for individual or family coverage. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  
The federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island 
adjusted gross income to total United States adjusted gross income for each tax year.  
Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated Rhode Island value of the 
deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.996 percent for TY 2010 and 2.961 percent for TY 
2011.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total 
Rhode Island tax filers to total United States tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $315,912 4,000 

2011 Personal Income Tax $347,334 4,182 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $347,334 4,182 

2013 Personal Income Tax $347,334 4,182 

2014 Personal Income Tax $347,334 4,182 

2015 Personal Income Tax $347,334 4,182 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal adjusted gross income 
and, therefore, allow this item since it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
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Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for contributions to a Health Savings 
Account. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total income for 
contributions to a Health Savings Account as stated on the taxpayer’s federal income tax 
return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 
Vermont:  Vermont allows a deduction for all expenses in excess of 7.5 percent of the 
taxpayer’s adjusted gross income paid during the taxable year for medical care of the 
taxpayer or his dependents, provided those expenses are not reimbursed.  This deduction 
includes prescribed drugs or insulin, and all amount paid for the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, 
treatment or prevention of disease.  It may also apply to amounts paid for needed lodging for 
treatment away from one’s residence. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

11. Individual Retirement Arrangement (IRA) Contributions (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for contributions to traditional individual 
retirement arrangements.  For tax year 2010, the contributions are subject to a maximum 
amount of $5,000 if the taxpayer is less than 50 years old or $6,000 if the taxpayer is 50 
years old or more.  In addition, in tax year 2010, such contributions are not deductible if the 
taxpayer is covered by a retirement plan at work and his or her modified adjusted gross 
income (MAGI) is more than $109,000 for a married couple filing a joint return and $66,000 
for a single individual.  For tax year 2011, the same maximum deductible contribution 
amounts apply as in tax year 2010.  In tax year 2011, IRA contributions are not deductible if 
the taxpayer is covered by a retirement plan at work and his or her MAGI is more than 
$110,000 for a married couple filing a joint return and $66,000 for a single individual. 
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Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income, Table 2: Individual Income and 
Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income, Internal Revenue Service.  TY 2010 
and TY 2011 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined 
by multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective 
personal income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the 
revenue forgone amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2010, these Rhode 
Island resident effective tax rates range from -0.030 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1.00 but under $25,000 to 5.217 percent for the federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or 
more.  For TY 2011, the comparable numbers are 0.026m percent for the federal AGI 
category of $1.00 but under $25,000 and 5.010 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI 
report for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $1,079,251 10,227 

2011 Personal Income Tax $1,049,309 9,816 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $1,049,309 9,816 

2013 Personal Income Tax $1,049,309 9,816 

2014 Personal Income Tax $1,049,309 9,816 

2015 Personal Income Tax $1,049,309 9,816 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.     
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with Federal adjusted gross 
income and, therefore, allow this item as part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for contributions to an Individual 
Retirement Arrangement. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
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Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total 5.3 percent income 
for contributions to an Individual Retirement Arrangement as stated on the taxpayer’s federal 
income tax return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 5(b) 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

12. Itemized Deductions from Federal Return: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(C)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island allows as a deduction from modified adjusted gross income the 
amount of federal itemized deductions claimed on the taxpayer’s federal income tax return as 
modified by the modifications in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12. 
 
As of January 1, 2011, this deduction is no longer allowed against the taxes imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation.  Non-Residents:  TY 2010 Data Warehouse, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Effective for tax year 2011 and thereafter, itemized deductions are no longer allowed to be 
taken when determining personal income tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $196,776,766 244,493 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut does not allow any standard or itemized deductions from 
Connecticut adjusted gross income in determining the taxpayer’s Connecticut tax liability.  
Connecticut allows only exemption amounts to be deducted from Connecticut adjusted gross 
income when determining the taxpayer’s Connecticut tax liability.  These exemption amounts 
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depend on the filing status of the taxpayer and phase out as Connecticut adjusted gross 
income increases. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(20) 
 
Maine:  An individual who has claimed itemized deductions from federal adjusted gross 
income in determining the individual’s federal taxable income for the taxable year may claim 
itemized deductions from Maine adjusted gross income as provided. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5125 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts does not allow for the use of federal itemized deductions 
against Massachusetts’ 5.3 percent income.  Massachusetts does have its own schedule of 
deductions that can be taken against 5.3 percent income.  These deductions are the amounts 
paid to Social Security, Medicare, and Railroad, U.S. or Massachusetts retirement up to a 
maximum of $2,000; the allowance for children under age 13 or disabled dependent/spouse 
expenses; number of dependent members of household under age 12 or age 65 or over or 
disabled dependents up to a maximum of two; a rental deduction up to a maximum of 
$3,000; and other deductions including deductions allowed on the federal return to arrive at 
federal adjusted gross income. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3 
 
Vermont:  Vermont does not have a state-determined standard deduction or itemized 
deductions.  Since Vermont uses federal income tax liability as the starting point for 
calculating Vermont personal income tax liability, the federal standard and itemized 
deductions are used in calculating an individual’s Vermont income tax liability.  Vermont 
requires taxpayers to include Vermont income taxes paid that are an itemized deduction on 
the taxpayer’s federal income tax return in the determination of Vermont personal income tax 
liability. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

13. Keogh Plan and Simplified Employee Pension Plan Contributions (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income with the modifications.  The Rhode Island income 
of a non-resident individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions 
entering into his or her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode 
Island sources.” 
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Federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for contributions to a Keogh plan and a 
simplified employee pension (SEP) plan.  For tax years 2010 and 2011, the deduction for 
contributions to a defined-contribution Keogh or SEP plan is limited to 25.0 percent of the 
compensation paid to the employee(s) that are participating in the plan or $49,000 whichever 
is less.  For a defined-benefit Keogh or SEP plan, the tax year 2010 and tax year 2011 
deduction limits are based on the actuarial assumptions and computations underlying the plan 
and an actuary must determine the deduction limit. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income, Table 2: Individual Income and 
Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income, Internal Revenue Service.  TY 2010 
and TY 2011 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined 
by multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective 
personal income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the 
revenue forgone amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2010, these Rhode 
Island resident effective tax rates range from -0.030 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1.00 but under $25,000 to 5.217 percent for the federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or 
more.  For TY 2011, the comparable numbers are 0.026m percent for the federal AGI 
category of $1.00 but under $25,000 and 5.010 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI 
report for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $2,630,454 3,864 

2011 Personal Income Tax $2,578,333 3,812 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 
2012 Personal Income Tax  $2,578,333 3,812 

2013 Personal Income Tax $2,578,333 3,812 

2014 Personal Income Tax $2,578,333 3,812 

2015 Personal Income Tax $2,578,333 3,812 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.    
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income based provisions begin with Federal adjusted gross 
income and, therefore, allow this item as part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for contributions to Keogh and 
Simplified Employee Pension plans equal to 25.0 percent of their income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction for contributions to Keogh 
and Simplified Employee Pension plans as stated on the taxpayer’s federal income tax return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, §§ 2(a)(2)(F) and 5(b) 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of deductions for contributions to Keogh and Simplified Employee Pension plans is 
adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

14. Merchandise Sold: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-5(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1942 / 2003 
 
Description:  Corporations with a principal line of business in manufacturing, selling, and 
distributing to the public illuminating or heating gas may deduct from the gross earnings 
reported on the corporations’ gross earnings tax return “the net invoice price plus the 
transportation cost” of any merchandise sales. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Public Service Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions allow the deduction from the Utilities Companies’ 
Tax for sales of appliances, which use water, steam, gas or electricity for the net invoice 
price plus transportation costs of such appliances. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-265(b)(1) 
 

15. Moving Expenses (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for moving expenses provided that the 
expenses are incurred within one year from the date that the taxpayer has reported to work in 
the new location, the new main job location is at least 50 miles farther from your former 
home than your old job location was from your former home, and the taxpayer works full-
time for 39 weeks in the first 12 months after arrival in the area of the new job location (self-
employed taxpayers must also work 78 weeks in the first 24 months after arrival in the area 
of the new job location). 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  
The federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island 
adjusted gross income to total United States adjusted gross income for each tax year.  
Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated Rhode Island value of the 
deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.996 percent for TY 2010 and 2.961 percent for TY 
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2011.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total 
Rhode Island tax filers to total United States tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $290,060 3,991 

2011 Personal Income Tax $330,739 4,220 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $330,739 4,220 

2013 Personal Income Tax $330,739 4,220 

2014 Personal Income Tax $330,739 4,220 

2015 Personal Income Tax $330,739 4,220 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant. 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income based provisions begin with Federal adjusted gross 
income and, therefore, allow this item as part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for moving expenses. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5125 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total 5.3 percent income 
for moving expenses. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a) 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
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taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of deductions for moving expenses is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

16. Net Operating Losses: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-11(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 2007  
 
Description:  A taxpayer subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
44-11 shall be allowed a net operating loss deduction that is the same as that allowed under 
26 U.S.C. § 172 subject to the specific determinative criteria outlined in Rhode Island 
General Law Section 44-11-11. 
 
This section also allows the taxpayer to carry the net operating loss forward for five 
succeeding tax years. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Corporate Income, Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation.  An estimated apportionment factor of 0.5 percent was applied to the total net 
operating losses reported.  The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the 
apportioned net operating losses by the business corporations tax rate of 9.0 percent. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $43,594,194 2,703 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $46,423,779 2,757 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  $46,423,779 2,757 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $46,423,779 2,757 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $46,423,779 2,757 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $46,423,779 2,757 
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Law Comparison:  All New England states have net operating loss deduction provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut has a specific statutory provision allowing a net operating loss 
carry-over deduction and does not simply follow the Internal Revenue Code Section 172 (26 
U.S.C. § 172).  The Connecticut statute provides any excess of allowable deductions over the 
gross income in the same year, or the amount of such excess apportioned to Connecticut 
under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-218, is an operating loss and is deductible as an operating loss 
carry-over for operating losses incurred in income years commencing on or after January 1, 
2000, in each of the 20 income years following the loss year.  Net operating losses may not 
be carried back.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217(a)(4)(A) 
 
Maine:  Maine generally conforms to the Internal Revenue Code as of a specific date but 
Maine requires several modifications to federal taxable income related to net operating losses 
in order to arrive at Maine net income. For each taxable year subsequent to the year of the 
loss, a subtraction modification is allowed for an amount equal to the absolute value of the 
amount of any net operating loss arising from tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2002, for which federal adjusted gross income was increased under Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 
36, § 5200-A(1)(H), and that, pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 172, was carried back for federal 
income tax purposes, less the absolute value of loss used in the taxable year of loss to offset 
any addition modification required by Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5200-A(1). 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5200-A(1) 
 
Massachusetts:  Corporations are allowed a deduction for net operating losses computed 
under Massachusetts’ law.  The Massachusetts net operating loss is the amount by which the 
sum of the deductions allowed to arrive at net income, excluding the deductions for net 
operating loss and the dividends-received deduction exceeds gross income for the taxable 
year. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 30(5)(b) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire allows a deduction for the amount of the net operating 
loss carryover determined under 26 U.S.C. § 172 in effect on December 31, 1996.  A net 
operating loss is apportioned in the year incurred according to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:3.  
The law does not allow for the carry-back of losses in any instance.  New Hampshire uses 26 
U.S.C. § 172 that was in effect on December 31, 1996 except for the requirement to carry 
back the loss and the limitation to carry forward for 10 years following the loss year. The net 
operating loss must be apportioned in the year the loss is incurred and is also a deduction 
before apportionment in the year deducted.  
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:5, XIII 
 
Vermont:  Effective for tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2007, Vermont enacted a 
“stand-alone” net operating loss deduction, in place of the federal net operating loss 
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deduction, by defining “Vermont net operating loss” (VNOL) as any negative income after 
allocation and apportionment of Vermont net income.  The VNOL is allowed as a carry-
forward in the 10 years following the loss year.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5888(4)(B) 
 

17. One Half of Self-Employment Tax (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for one-half of the amount of self 
employment tax paid by self-employed taxpayers.  Self employed individuals, those 
taxpayers who are sole proprietors, independent contractors, partners in a partnership, and 
members in a single member LLC, must pay a tax on net earnings from self employment for 
Social Security and Medicare.  Since taxpayers that are employees are responsible for only 
one-half of the Social Security and Medicare taxes assessed, the other half being paid by the 
employer, self-employed taxpayers are allowed to deduct one-half of the self employment tax 
paid to Social Security and Medicare. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  
The federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island 
adjusted gross income to total United States adjusted gross income for each tax year.  
Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated Rhode Island value of the 
deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.996 percent for TY 2010 and 2.961 percent for TY 
2011.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total 
Rhode Island tax filers to total United States tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $2,621,980 70,359 

2011 Personal Income Tax $2,936,492 74,917 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $2,936,492 74,917 

2013 Personal Income Tax $2,936,492 74,917 

2014 Personal Income Tax $2,936,492 74,917 

2015 Personal Income Tax $2,936,492 74,917 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income based provisions begin with federal adjusted gross 
income and, therefore, allow this item as part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for one-half of the self-employment tax 
paid. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total 5.3 percent income 
for one-half of the self-employment tax paid as stated on the taxpayer’s federal income tax 
return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of deductions for one-half of the self- employment tax is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

18. Penalty for Early Withdrawal of Savings (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
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individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income allows a deduction for the penalty paid for the withdrawal of 
monies from a certificate of deposit or other time deposit savings account prior to the 
maturation of the time deposit savings account. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  
The federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island 
adjusted gross income to total United States adjusted gross income for each tax year.  
Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated Rhode Island value of the 
deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.996 percent for TY 2010 and 2.961 percent for TY 
2011.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total 
Rhode Island tax filers to total United States tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $38,635 4,390 

2011 Personal Income Tax $52,039 3,875 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $52,039 3,875 

2013 Personal Income Tax $52,039 3,875 

2014 Personal Income Tax $52,039 3,875 

2015 Personal Income Tax $52,039 3,875 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal adjusted gross income 
and, therefore, allow this item since it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for the penalty on the early withdrawal 
of monies from time deposit savings accounts. 
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total 5.3 percent income 
for the penalty on the early withdrawal of monies from time deposit savings accounts. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of the penalty on the early withdrawal of monies from time deposit savings 
accounts is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

19. Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture Capital Partnership: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-43-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
 
Description:  A deduction reducing net income or net worth, gross earnings, or gross 
premiums for making a qualifying investment in a certified venture capital partnership shall 
be allowed for the amount of the qualifying investment in the year in which the taxpayer first 
makes such an investment prior to computing the tax owed under Rhode Island General Law 
Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14 or 44-17.  (A modification reducing federal adjusted gross 
income shall be allowed prior to computing the tax owed under Rhode Island General Law 
Chapters 44-30.) 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and Insurance 
Companies Taxes:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2010 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected       Number 

of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2012 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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20. Return or Unabsorbed Premiums or Premiums for Reinsurance Assumed: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-17-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1896 / 2007 
 
Description:  Taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
44-17 are allowed to deduct from gross premiums “the amount of return premiums on 
contracts covering property and risks,” “the amount of premiums for reinsurance assumed of 
the property and risks,” and, for mutual insurance companies, “the amount of dividends or 
unabsorbed premiums” applied as a partial payment of the premiums or returned to 
policyholders in cash or credited to policyholders. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and New Hampshire have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  The Maine insurance premiums tax is measured by the full amount of gross 
insurance premiums, reduced by all direct return premiums on the gross direct premiums, and 
all dividends paid to policy holders on direct premiums.  Except when direct return premiums 
are returned in the same tax year that the premium was paid, the deduction allowed may be 
taken only if the tax has been paid. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 2515 
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New Hampshire:  The premium tax on authorized and formerly authorized insurers is 
calculated based on the total of gross direct premiums received during the previous calendar 
year for policies insuring property, subjects or risks resident or located in the state, or to be 
performed in the state, minus premiums or dividends returned or credited to policyholders. 
Title insurers may also deduct the portion of the premiums chargeable to title search and 
examination services. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 400-A 
 

21. Self-Employed Health Insurance (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for the premiums paid for medical, 
dental, and qualified long-term care insurance for the taxpayer, the taxpayer’s spouse, and the 
taxpayer’s dependents if the taxpayer is a self-employed individual with a net profit, a 
partner with net earnings from self-employment, or a shareholder owning more than 2.0 
percent of the outstanding stock of an S corporation with wages from the corporation.  The 
insurance plan must be established under the business.  The premium deduction for qualified 
long-term care insurance is subject to a maximum allowable amount. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income, Table 2: Individual Income and 
Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income, Internal Revenue Service.  TY 2010 
and TY 2011 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined 
by multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective 
personal income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the 
revenue forgone amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2010, these Rhode 
Island resident effective tax rates range from -0.030 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1.00 but under $25,000 to 5.217 percent for the federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or 
more.  For TY 2011, the comparable numbers are 0.026m percent for the federal AGI 
category of $1.00 but under $25,000 and 5.010 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI 
report for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $3,026,527 14,295 

2011 Personal Income Tax $3,146,397 13,939 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $3,146,397 13,939 

2013 Personal Income Tax $3,146,397 13,939 

2014 Personal Income Tax $3,146,397 13,939 

2015 Personal Income Tax $3,146,397 13,939 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.      
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal adjusted gross income 
and, therefore, allow this item since it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for payments for health insurance by 
the self-employed. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total 5.3 percent income 
for payments for health insurance by the self-employed. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of deductions for payments for health insurance by the self-employed is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
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22. Standard Deduction: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(B) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island allows a basic standard deduction from modified adjusted gross 
income.  The standard deduction values are adjusted for inflation as specified by Rhode 
Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(J).  For tax year 2010, the standard deduction 
amounts were $5,700 for single filers, $9,550 for married joint and qualifying widow(er) 
filers, $4,750 for married separate filers and $8,400 for head of household filers.  In tax year 
2010, a taxpayer could choose to use the above standard deduction amounts or the amount of 
their federal itemized deductions, whichever was greater. 
 
Beginning in tax year 2011, a single filer’s standard deduction was $7,500, married joint and 
qualifying widow(er) filers’ standard deduction was $15,000, married separate filers standard 
deduction was $7,500 and head of household filers was $11,250.  For taxpayers earning 
greater than $175,000 regardless of filing status, there is a phase-out in the deduction amount 
allowed to be taken.  For each $5,000 increase, or part thereof, in modified adjusted gross 
income a reduction of 20.0 percent in allowable standard deduction amount is imposed.  
Once a taxpayer’s modified adjusted gross income exceeds $195,000 the allowable standard 
deduction amount is zero. 
 
Data Source:  Residents: TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents: TY 2010 and TY 2011 Data Warehouse, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index: 1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $69,038,199 319,705 

2011 Personal Income Tax $156,575,391 575,791 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.  
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $177,011,979 575,791 

2013 Personal Income Tax $177,011,979 575,791 

2014 Personal Income Tax $177,011,979 575,791 

2015 Personal Income Tax $177,011,979 575,791 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut does not allow any standard or itemized deductions from 
Connecticut adjusted gross income in determining the taxpayer’s Connecticut tax liability.  
Connecticut allows only exemption amounts to be deducted from Connecticut adjusted gross 
income when determining the taxpayer’s Connecticut tax liability.  These exemption amounts 
depend on the filing status of the taxpayer and phase out as Connecticut adjusted gross 
income increases. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(20) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a standard deduction for resident individual is equal to 
the standard deduction as determined in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code Section 
63. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5124-A (for tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2008) 
 
Vermont:  Since Vermont uses federal income tax liability as the starting point for 
calculating Vermont personal income tax liability, the federal standard which is adjusted 
annually for inflation and itemized deductions are used in calculating an individual’s 
Vermont income tax liability.  The amount is also increased for those who are 65 years and 
older and/or blind.    
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

23. Student Loan Interest (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
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individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income allows a deduction for the interest paid on a qualified student 
loan.  A qualified student loan is a loan that was taken out solely to pay qualified education 
expenses.  For tax years 2010 and 2011, a deduction for student loan interest paid up to a 
maximum of $2,500 is only available to taxpayers with modified federal adjusted gross 
income of less than $75,000 if filing single or less than $150,000 if filing a joint return. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income, Table 2: Individual Income and 
Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income, Internal Revenue Service.  TY 2010 
and TY 2011 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined 
by multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective 
personal income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the 
revenue forgone amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2010, these Rhode 
Island resident effective tax rates range from -0.030 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1.00 but under $25,000 to 5.217 percent for the federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or 
more.  For TY 2011, the comparable numbers are 0.026m percent for the federal AGI 
category of $1.00 but under $25,000 and 5.010 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI 
report for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $653,249 40,873 

2011 Personal Income Tax $703,943 40,976 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $703,943 40,976 

2013 Personal Income Tax $703,943 40,976 

2014 Personal Income Tax $703,943 40,976 

2015 Personal Income Tax $703,943 40,976 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal adjusted gross income 
and, therefore, allow this item since it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for interest paid on a student loan up to 
$2,500. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions follow the federal deduction for interest paid by 
the taxpayer for a qualified education loan for graduate or undergraduate education, subject 
to taxpayer income limitations. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3B(a)(12) 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of interest paid on a student loan is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
 

24. Tax Incentives for Employers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-55-4.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
 
Description:  Businesses that employ and retain in the State employees who have been 
previously unemployed for at least 26 consecutive calendar weeks and have been domiciled 
residents of Rhode Island for at least 52 consecutive calendar weeks or have been a recipient 
of Rhode Island’s Aid to Families with Dependent Children program for at least one year 
preceding the date of hire shall receive a deduction from the income, gross earnings, 
deposits, or gross premiums subject to the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-15 and 44-17.  The deduction is equal to 40.0 percent of 
the eligible employee’s first year wages, up to a maximum $2,400 per eligible employee.  (A 
modification reducing income subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-30 shall apply to eligible businesses.) 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank, Bank Deposits and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.   
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Reliability Index:  5  
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2010 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Public Service Corporation, Bank, Bank 
Deposits and Insurance Companies Taxes:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable 
data.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2012 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

25. Tuition and Fees (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income.  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or 
her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal adjusted gross income allows a deduction for tuition and fees.  Tuition and fees are 
defined as qualified expenses for higher education.  The maximum amount of tuition and fees 
that can be deducted is $4,000.  The qualified higher education expenses can be for the 
taxpayer, the taxpayer’s spouse, or a dependent of the taxpayer.  For tax years 2010 and 
2011, the tuition and fees deduction could only be taken by single filers with modified 
adjusted gross income (MAGI) of not more than $80,000 and married joint filers with MAGI 
of not more than $160,000. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Income, Table 2: Individual Income and 
Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income, Internal Revenue Service.  TY 2010 
and TY 2011 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined 
by multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective 
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personal income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the 
revenue forgone amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2010, these Rhode 
Island resident effective tax rates range from -0.030 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1.00 but under $25,000 to 5.217 percent for the federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or 
more.  For TY 2011, the comparable numbers are 0.026m percent for the federal AGI 
category of $1.00 but under $25,000 and 5.010 percent for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI 
report for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $248,240 6,963 

2011 Personal Income Tax $243,618 6,957 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $243,618 6,957 

2013 Personal Income Tax $243,618 6,957 

2014 Personal Income Tax $243,618 6,957 

2015 Personal Income Tax $243,618 6,957 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal adjusted gross income 
and, therefore, allow this item since it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal 
gross income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is the federal adjusted gross income as defined by 
federal law, which by application allows a deduction for tuition and fees paid for qualified 
higher education. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Effective January 1, 2006, Massachusetts’ provisions does not follow the 
federal deduction for tuition payments paid by the taxpayer for a qualified education 
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expenses.  However, there is a separate Massachusetts deduction for undergraduate tuition if 
the total paid exceeds 25.0 percent of the taxpayer’s Massachusetts adjusted gross income. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3B(a)(11)  
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to 
Vermont income tax is federal taxable income.  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal 
taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal 
treatment of tuition and fees paid for qualified higher education is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B) 
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1. Biodiesel Portion of Blended Gallon of Diesel Fuel: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 31-36-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1925 / 2009 
 
Description:  The manufactured biodiesel portion of any gallon of blended biodiesel and 
petroleum diesel fuel is excluded from the state’s motor fuel tax provided that the 
manufactured biodiesel consists of “[m]ono-alkyl esters of long chain fatty acids derived 
from vegetable oils or animal fats which conform to ASTM D6751 specifications for use in 
diesel engines” and the production of which “results in employment in Rhode Island at a 
fixed location at a manufacturing facility for biodiesel fuel.” 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Motor Fuel Tax $0 0 

2011 Motor Fuel Tax $0 0 

2012 Motor Fuel Tax  $263,762 1 

2013 Motor Fuel Tax $362,697 1 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exclusion and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2013. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Motor Fuel Tax $362,697 1 

2015 Motor Fuel Tax $362,697 1 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  For fuel consisting of eligible cellulosic biofuel or of a blend of gasoline and 
eligible cellulosic biofuel, the tax per gallon shall be reduced in proportion to the percentage 
of the fuel content consisting of eligible cellulosic biofuel, measured by available energy 
content, as determined by the department of energy resources. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64D, § 1A 
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2. Conveyance of Mobile/Manufactured Homes for Consideration of $100 or Less: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 31-44-20(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Section 31-44-20 applies only 
to mobile and manufactured homes that are conveyed for a consideration of more than $100.  
In the event that no consideration is paid for the conveyance of a mobile/manufactured home, 
no documentary stamps are required on the instrument of conveyance. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Real Estate Conveyance Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

3. Conveyance of Real Estate for Consideration of $100 or Less: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-25-1(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law.  
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1968 / 2004  
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Section 44-25-1 applies only to 
“lands, tenements or other realty” that are conveyed for a consideration of more than $100.  
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In the event that no consideration is paid for the conveyance of the lands, tenements or other 
realty, no documentary stamps are required on the instrument of conveyance. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Real Estate Conveyance Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont have similar 
provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exclusion for conveyance of property when 
the consideration is less than $2,000. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-498(a)(10) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exclusion for conveyance where the 
consideration is not more than $100. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64D, § 1 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire’s provisions include exclusion for conveyance where the 
consideration is $4,000 or less at which time a minimum fee of $20 is imposed. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78-B:1, I(b) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include exclusion of the first $100,000 for a conveyance of 
a principal residence if except that no tax shall be imposed on the first $110,000 in value of 
the property transferred if the purchaser obtains a purchase money mortgage funded in part 
with a homeland grant through the Vermont housing and conservation trust fund or which the 
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Vermont housing and finance agency or U.S. Department of Agriculture and Rural 
Development has committed to make or purchase and tax at the rate of one and one-quarter 
percent shall be imposed on the value of that property in excess of $110,000 a guarantee fee 
is paid to the Vermont Home Mortgage Guaranty Program.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9602(1) 
 

4. Conveyance of Real Estate Relating to the Capitol Center Project: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-25-2(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1968 / 2000  
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Section 44-25-1 “does not 
apply to any deed, instrument, or writing which has or shall be executed, delivered, accepted, 
or presented for recording” that relates to the Capitol Center Project in the City of 
Providence. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Real Estate Conveyance Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

5. Corporations Exempt from Taxation by Charter: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-1(2)(vi) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition, “[a]ny corporation expressly exempt from taxation by charter” is 
excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-11.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

6. Corporations Not Doing Business for Profit: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-1(2)(iv) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition, “[c]orporations specified in § 7-6-4, incorporated hospitals, 
schools, colleges, and other institutions of learning not organized for business purposes and 
not doing business for profit and no part of the net earnings of which inures to the benefit of 
any private stockholder or individual,” are excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11.   
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Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exclusion for companies exempt by the 
federal corporation net income tax law or under any other section of the Internal Revenue 
Code; however, such organizations are likewise taxed on their unrelated business income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-214(a)(2)(B) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a general exclusion for a corporation, which is exempt 
from federal income tax from the Maine corporate income tax by definition.  Maine also 
exempts associations, trusts, or other unincorporated organizations which by reason of its 
purposes or activities is exempt from federal income tax with respect to its unrelated business 
taxable income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5102(6) and 5162(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exclusion for corporations, which are tax 
exempt for federal income tax purposes under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 30(1) and 30(2) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire’s provisions include exclusion from the business 
enterprise tax for organizations exempt from federal tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the 
Internal Revenue Code and regulated investment companies. 
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New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, I 
 
Vermont:  For corporations that are organized for religious, charitable, scientific or 
educational purposes for which no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private 
stockholder or individual member are exempt from corporate income tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811 
 

7. Corporations Taxed Under Business Corporations Tax: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-12-1(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1912 / 2004 
 
Description:  A corporation that is subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-11 is excluded from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-
12, except for the amount which the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-
12 exceeds the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11.  
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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8. Corporations that Maintain and Manage Intangible Investments: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-1(2)(vii) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  Corporation is defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-1(2).  By 
definition “[c]orporations which together with all corporations under direct or indirect 
common ownership that employ not less than five full-time equivalent employees in the state, 
which maintain an office in the state which are confined to the maintenance and management 
of their intangible investments and the collection and distribution of the income from those 
investments or from tangible property physically located outside the state.” are excluded 
from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
44-11.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Passive investment companies are exempt from the corporation business tax.  
In addition, dividends received, directly or indirectly, from such companies do not constitute 
gross income for corporation business tax purposes.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-213(a)(9)(C) 
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Massachusetts:  Corporate Regulated Investment Companies are exempt from the corporate 
excise. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 30 and 38B 
 

9. Dividends Received From Shares of Stock: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-11-12(1) and 44-14-15  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1989 
 
Description:  Dividends received from the shares of stock of any business entity subject to 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13 or 44-14 shall be 
excluded from a taxpayer’s net income that is subject to the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-11. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Corporate Income, Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation.  An estimated apportionment factor of 0.5 percent was applied to the total 
dividends received that were reported.  The amount of revenue forgone is derived by 
multiplying the apportioned dividends received by the business corporations tax rate of 9.0 
percent. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $9,089,422 1,322 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $10,536,278 1,303 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exclusion and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  $10,536,278 1,303 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $10,536,278 1,303 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $10,536,278 1,303 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $10,536,278 1,303 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
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Connecticut:  “In arriving at net income… whether or not the taxpayer is taxable under the 
federal corporation net income tax, there shall be deducted from gross income… in the case 
of all taxpayers, all dividends as defined in the Internal Revenue Code effective and in force 
on the last day of the income year not otherwise deducted from gross income, …other than 
thirty per cent of dividends received from a domestic corporation in which the taxpayer owns 
less than twenty per cent of the total voting power and value of the stock of such 
corporation.” 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217(a)(1)(D) 
 
Maine:  The taxable income of the taxpayer under the laws of the United States shall be 
decreased by…[f]ifty percent of the apportionable dividend income the taxpayer received 
during the taxable year from an affiliated corporation that is not included with the taxpayer in 
a Maine combined report. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5200-A.2.G 
 
Massachusetts:  “Net income…adjusted as follows shall constitute taxable net income:  (1) 
95.0 percent of dividends exclusive of distributions in liquidation, included therein shall be 
deducted other than dividends from or on account of the ownership of… (iii) any class of 
stock, if the corporation owns less than fifteen per cent of the voting stock of the corporation 
paying such dividend.” 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38(a)(1) 
 

10. Financial Institutions: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-1(2)(i) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition, “[s]tate banks, mutual savings banks, federal savings banks, trust 
companies, national banking associations, building and loan associations, credit unions, and 
loan and investment companies” are excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11.  These financial institutions are 
taxable under Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-14 or 44-15. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  189 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exclusions 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  There is an exemption from the corporation business tax for qualified banks, 
insurers and investment companies located in a designated insurance and financial services 
export zone within the City of Hartford. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 32-538 
 
Maine:  Financial corporations subject to the Maine financial institutions franchise tax under 
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5206 are not subject to the Maine corporate income tax.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(6) 
 
Massachusetts:  In lieu of the corporate excise tax, every financial institution engaged in 
business in Massachusetts is subject to an excise tax for financial institutions measured by 
taxable net income. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 2(a) 
 
Vermont:  Banking corporations and loan associations are exempt from the corporation 
income tax.  Instead, they are subject to a franchise tax on the privilege of doing business in 
Vermont.  The tax is imposed on every corporation that is a bank, savings bank, savings 
institution, trust company, savings and loan association, and building and loan association 
located in Vermont. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5836 
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11. Fraternal Beneficiary Societies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-1(2)(v) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  Fraternal beneficiary societies, as defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 
27-25-1, are excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-11. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Fraternal benefit societies that are operated under the lodge system and 
designed to provide benefits to members and their dependents and other domestic fraternal 
societies operated under the lodge system, which devote their net earnings to charitable 
purposes are exempt from federal income tax under Internal Revenue Code Sections 
501(c)(8) and 501(c)(10) and, therefore, are exempt from the Connecticut corporation 
business, dues, and insurance tax.  However, entities exempt from federal income tax under 
Internal Revenue Code Section 501 may be subject to the Connecticut tax on unrelated 
business income, under appropriate circumstances.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-543(b)(3) 
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Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a general exclusion for a corporation, which is exempt 
from federal income tax from the Maine corporate income tax by definition.  Maine also 
exempts associations, trusts, or other unincorporated organizations which by reason of its 
purposes or activities is exempt from federal income tax with respect to its unrelated business 
taxable income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5102(6) and 5162(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exemption for those corporations, which 
are tax exempt for federal income tax purposes under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue 
Code. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 30(1) and 30(2) 
 
Vermont:  For corporations that are organized for religious, charitable, scientific or 
educational purposes for which no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private 
stockholder or individual member are exempt from corporate income tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811 
 

12. Fraternal Benefit Societies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-17-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1896 / 2010 
 
Description:  Insurers that are organized as fraternal benefit societies, as defined in Rhode 
Island General Law Section 27-25-1, are excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-17. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

13.  Gain or Loss on Sale of Any Property Other Than Securities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-14-11 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1942 / 1956 
 
Description:  By definition, taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-14 exclude gains and losses from the sale or other disposition of any 
property other than securities from gross income.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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14. Income from Sale of International Investment Management Services: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14.5 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
 
Description:  A taxpayer located in Rhode Island that employs, separately or as part of a 
consolidated tax return, an average of not less than 500 full-time equivalent employees in the 
state shall exclude from its net income subject to tax under Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-11 any income derived from the sale of international investment management 
services to non-U.S. persons or non-U.S. investment funds. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Earnings from international banking facilities are allowed to be deducted under 
the net income base. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217(a)(1)(C) 
 

15.  Insurance and Surety Companies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-1(2)(iii) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition, insurance and surety companies are excluded from the base of 
taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11.  These 
companies are subject to the tax imposed under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-17. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type 

Projected         
Forgone Revenue 

Projected        
Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exclusion from the corporation business tax 
for domestic insurance companies or those organized or incorporated under the laws of any 
other state or foreign government. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-214(a)(2) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include exclusion from the Maine corporate income tax for 
insurance companies by definition. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(6) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exclusion for insurance companies from 
the corporate excise tax but provide that such companies are subject to a tax on premiums. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 30(1) and 30(2) 
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Vermont:  Life, fire, and marine insurance companies and mutual life, fire, and marine 
insurance companies are expressly excluded from the corporate income tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(3)(A) 
 

16. Interest Received from Debt Instruments Issued by Public Service Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-12(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1989 
 
Description:  Interest received from the debt instruments or the distributive share of the 
taxable income of any company subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-13 are excluded from a taxpayer’s net income that is subject to the tax imposed 
under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

17. Long-Term Gain from Capital Investment in Small Business: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-43-5 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
 
Description:  A long-term capital gain realized from the sale or exchange of an interest in any 
entity which at the time the interest was acquired was a “qualifying business entity” is 
excluded from the determination of income that is subject to the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14 or 44-30. 
 
A “qualifying business entity” is a business entity that has average annual gross revenue less 
than $2.5 million; has been in business for less than 4 years; expends to establish, expand or 
increase its operations at a regular place of business in Rhode Island; and has received 
certification from the Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2010 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2012 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Vermont has a similar provision. 
 
Vermont:  An exclusion from taxable income for the first $2,500 of adjusted net long-term 
capital gains.  Gains from the sale of standing timber and farms retained the previous 40.0 
percent exclusion.  Taxpayers over age 77 were allowed to choose the most beneficial 
exclusion method. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B)(ii) 
 

18. Lubricating Oils, Marine Diesel Fuel, Aviation Fuel and Heating Oil: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 31-36-1(4) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1925 / 2009 
 
Description:  Lubricating oils, marine diesel fuel, aviation fuel, and heating oil are excluded 
from the list of fuels that are suitable to use in the operation and propulsion of motor vehicles 
with internal combustion engines that are subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 31-36. 
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Data Source:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Rhode Island Total Distillate Fuel Oil Sales for 
Residential Use, U.S. Department of Energy.  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Other Non-taxable 
Distribution (gallons), Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Total gallons 
of residential fuel oil and other non-taxable fuel are summed and multiplied by the motor fuel 
tax rate of $0.32 per gallon to arrive at the revenue forgone.  No reliable data exists from 
which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Motor Fuel Tax $52,941,712 No estimate possible 

2011 Motor Fuel Tax $47,297,903 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Combined gallons of residential fuel oil, according to the U.S. 
Department of Energy for TY 2012, and the gallons of other non-taxable fuel, held constant 
with TY 2011, and multiplied the total by the motor fuel tax rate of $0.32 per gallon to arrive 
at the estimated revenue forgone for TY 2012.  Amount of exclusion for TY 2013 through 
TY 2015 is held constant with TY 2012.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is 
possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Motor Fuel Tax $48,078,063 No estimate possible 

2013 Motor Fuel Tax $48,078,063 No estimate possible 

2014 Motor Fuel Tax $48,078,063 No estimate possible 

2015 Motor Fuel Tax $48,078,063 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.    
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s motor vehicle fuels tax excludes lubricating oils from the 
definition of “fuels.” 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-455a 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions exclude lubricating oils from the definition of internal 
combustion engine fuel.  Aircraft users are entitled to a reimbursement in the amount of the 
tax paid, less 4 cents per gallon upon presenting to the State Tax Assessor a refund 
application accompanied by the original invoices showing those purchases. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 2902 and 2910 
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Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions exclude lubricating oils from the definition of fuel 
in the taxation of gasoline law cite. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64A, § 1   
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s law excludes lubricating oils from the gasoline tax definition.  Gasoline 
or other motor fuel is defined to mean any type of fuel, by whatever name it may be called, 
used in an internal combustion engine to generate power to propel a motor vehicle upon a 
highway. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 23, § 3173 
 

19. Maximum Tax of $0.50 per Cigar: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-20-13.2(a)(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1992 / 2009 
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Section 44-20-13.2(a)(1) is 
placed on all smokeless tobacco, cigars, and pipe tobacco products sold or held for sale in the 
state by any person.  As of April 1, 2009, the tax is imposed at a rate of 80.0 percent of the 
wholesale cost of cigars, pipe tobacco products and smokeless tobacco other than snuff.  
Notwithstanding the 80.0 percent rate, the tax on cigars shall not exceed $0.50 for each cigar. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  The total number of 
individual cigars with a wholesale cost greater than $0.63 was 1,266,374 in TY 2010; 
1,008,364 in TY 2011; 1,571,589 in TY 2012; and 1,331,903 in TY 2013.  The Office of 
Revenue Analysis (ORA) used data for the January through March 2009 period and the 
January through March 2010 period to determine that 34.23 percent of the total number of 
cigars in each tax year with a wholesale cost greater than $0.63 per cigar had an average 
wholesale cost greater than $1.25 per cigar.  Based on information provided by New York 
State in a 2011 fiscal note, ORA assumed that these “premium cigars” had an average 
wholesale cost of $2.53 per cigar.  The remaining 65.77 percent of cigars with an average 
wholesale price of more than $0.63 and less than or equal to $1.25 per cigar were assumed to 
have an average wholesale cost of $0.94 per cigar (the midpoint between $0.63 and $1.25).  
Revenue forgone is based on the difference between taxes estimated using 80.0 percent of the 
projected wholesale value, computed using these assumptions, and actual taxes collected 
each year.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  200 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exclusions 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Cigarette Tax $870,555 No estimate possible 

2011 Cigarette Tax $613,924 No estimate possible 

2012 Cigarette Tax $1,080,373 No estimate possible 

2013 Cigarette Tax $915,603 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exclusion is held constant with TY 2013.  No 
projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Cigarette Tax $915,603 No estimate possible 

2015 Cigarette Tax $915,603 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Effective July 1, 2011, the tax on all tobacco products is 50.0 percent of the 
wholesale price, not to exceed 50 cents per cigar. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-330c(a)(1) and 12-330c(a)(2) 
 
Vermont:  The tax on cigars is 92.0 percent of the wholesale price for cigars with a wholesale 
price of $2.17 or less per cigar, $2.00 per cigar for cigars with a wholesale price of $2.18 to 
$9.99 per cigar, or $4.00 per cigar for cigars with a wholesale price of $10.00 or more per 
cigar. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7811 
 

20. Net Taxable Estate Amount: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-22-1.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1985 / 2009 
 
Description:  The Rhode Island estate tax is imposed upon the transfer of the net estate of 
every resident or non-resident decedent.  For decedents whose death occurs on or after 
January 1, 2010, the net taxable estate amount excluded from the Rhode Island estate tax is 
$850,000.  Beginning on January 1, 2011 and each January 1 thereafter, the exclusion 
amount will be adjusted by the percentage of increase in the Consumer Price Index for all 
Urban Consumers  (CPI-U) as of September 30 of the prior calendar year compounded 
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annually and rounded up to the nearest $5.00 increment.  For decedents whose death occurs 
on or after January 1, 2011, the net taxable estate exclusion amount was $859,350; on or after 
January 1, 2012, the net taxable estate exclusion amount is $892,865; on or after January 1, 
2013, the net taxable estate exclusion amount is $910,725; and on or after January 1, 2014, 
the net taxable estate exclusion amount is $921,655.  Prior to January 1, 2010, the net taxable 
estate exclusion amount was $675,000. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
   
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Number of taxpayers is held constant. 
  

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Estate Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions.    
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut has a unified exclusion for Connecticut estate and gift tax of $2.0 
million.  Similar to the applicable federal exclusion amount, the Connecticut unified 
exclusion amount applies to either gift or estate tax.  Unlike the federal exclusion, the 
Connecticut amount is only conditionally available.  If the sum exceeds $2.0 million, 
Connecticut estate tax is due on the sum including the first $2.0 million. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-391(g)(1) 
 
Maine:  For 2011 and beyond, Maine changed the estate tax to conform to the federal 
standard.  Maine also excludes capital gains on assets held at the owner’s death.  The cost 
basis of the appreciated assets is adjusted upward to the market value at the owner’s date of 
death.  The exclusion amount is $2.0 million. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 4062(1-A)(A) and 5102(1-D) 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  202 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exclusions 

Massachusetts:  The filing thresholds and exclusion amounts for Massachusetts estate tax 
purposes for the estate of a decedent dying on or after January 1, 2003, with no adjusted 
taxable gifts, are as follows:  2003, $700,000; 2004, $850,000; 2005, $950,000; and 2006 and 
thereafter, $1.0 million.  The filing threshold and exclusion amount for the estate of 
decedents with adjustable gifts are individually determined for both Massachusetts and 
federal tax purposes.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 65C, § 2A 
 
New Hampshire:  The amount of the New Hampshire estate tax is equal to the maximum 
federal estate tax credit allowable for state death taxes with respect to property subject to this 
state’s jurisdiction to impose a tax. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 87:1 
 
Vermont:  The tax imposed under state law cannot exceed the maximum allowable credit for 
state death taxes under the Internal Revenue Code Section 2011.  This “piggyback” system 
was changed for decedents with a date of death on or after January 1, 2002.  Effective for 
estates of individuals dying on or after January 1, 2009, the Vermont estate tax will not 
exceed the amount of tax imposed by the Internal Revenue Code Section 2001 calculated 
using the applicable credit amount under the Internal Revenue Code Section 2010 as in effect 
on January 1, 2008, with no deduction under Internal Revenue Code Section 2058.  This 
exclusion amount is $2.75 million. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7442a(c) 
 

21. Possession of Ten Packs of Cigarettes with Out-of-State Tax Stamps: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-20-16 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1948 / 1991  
 
Description:  The provisions of Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-20-13 through 44-20-
17 do not apply to the use or storage of cigarettes up to a maximum of 10 packs as 
“ordinarily defined by the practice of the trade” which have been brought into the state on the 
person. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Cigarette Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions allow an individual the use or storage of cigarettes in 
an amount not exceeding 200 cigarettes which have been brought into this state on the person 
or in accompanying baggage. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-320 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions allow an unlicensed individual to transport cigarettes for personal 
use not to exceed two cartons as commonly defined. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 4366-B 
 

22. Public Service Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-1(2)(ii) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition public service corporations, with the exception of those public 
service corporations that are provided for in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-2.2, 
are excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-11.  These companies are subject to the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-13. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
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Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions specifically state that the taxation provided for public 
service companies tax upon gross earnings in any year shall be in lieu of all other taxes. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-268j 
 

23. Subchapter S Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-2(d)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law.  
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 2004 
 
Description:  Small business corporations organized under subchapter S, 26 U.S.C. § 1361 et 
seq. shall not be subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11 
except “to the extent of the income that is subject to federal tax under subchapter S.”  
Subchapter S corporations are subject to taxation under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
44-12. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions.    
 
Connecticut:  Subchapter S corporations are exempt from the corporation business tax for 
income years beginning on or after January 1, 2001. Applicable to income years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2002, however, subchapter S corporations are subject to an annual 
business entity tax of $250. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-214(a)(2)(J) 
 
Maine:  Subchapter S corporations are generally exempt from the Maine corporate income 
tax.  A subchapter S corporation, however, is a “taxable corporation,” for purposes of the 
Maine corporate income tax, if it is required to file a return by Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 
5241, relating to subchapter S corporations with resident shareholders or income derived 
from sources in Maine; and is subject to federal tax under the Internal Revenue Code 
Sections 1374 and 1375. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(10) 
 
Massachusetts:  After January 1, 2009, generally, the income of a qualified subchapter S 
corporation is not subject to the net income measure of the corporate excise tax.  
Shareholders are subject to the personal income tax on their distributive share of qualified 
subchapter S corporation income.  Subchapter S corporations with total receipts for the 
taxable year of $6 million or more, however, are subject to the net income measure of the 
corporate excise tax.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 32D 
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New Hampshire:  Subchapter S corporations are exempt from the New Hampshire corporate 
income tax but are subject to the state’s business enterprise tax on the total undistributed 
revenues of the enterprise whatever source derived. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-E:1 
 
Vermont:  A subchapter S corporation is defined as a corporation for which a valid election 
under Internal Revenue Code Section 1362 (a) is in effect.  A corporation that elects and is 
granted subchapter S corporation treatment for federal income tax purposes is considered a 
subchapter S corporation for Vermont income tax purposes.  Subchapter S corporations are 
not subject to Vermont’s corporate income tax, except to the extent of income taxable to the 
corporation under the Internal Revenue Code.  Subchapter S corporations are subject to a 
minimum tax of $250. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5911 
 

24. Taxed Gross Earnings and Associated Costs of Non-Public Service Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-2.2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
 
Description:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-2.2 requires that a corporation or 
public service company whose principal business in Rhode Island is not an activity 
enumerated in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-4 shall be subject to the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11 or 44-30 “provided that the gross earnings 
subject to tax under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-4 and the direct and indirect 
costs associated with these gross earnings” are excluded from the calculation of net income 
upon which said taxes are assessed. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2010 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2012 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

25. Taxes Legally Imposed on Consumer but Separately Stated on Invoice: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-12(b)(iv) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 2006  
 
Description:   Taxes legally imposed directly on the consumer that are separately stated on 
the invoice, bill of sale, or similar document provided to the purchaser are not included in the 
sale price upon which the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 is 
assessed. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s law excludes from the sales price, the amount of any tax not 
including manufacturers or importer’s excise tax imposed by the United States upon or with 
respect to retail sales. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-407 
 
Maine:  The sale price does not include the amount of any tax imposed by the United States 
on or with respect to retail sales. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1752 
 
Massachusetts:  In computing the tax due, and before applying the rate, the vendor should 
exclude the tax reimbursement paid by purchaser to vendor and the federal manufacturers’ 
excise (currently applicable to the federal retail excise tax provisions) levied on motor 
vehicles (trucks) under the Internal Revenue Code.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 1 
 
Vermont:  Effective January 1, 2007, the term “sales price,” which is the tax base for the 
sales and use tax, does not include any taxes legally imposed directly on the consumer that 
are separately stated on the invoice, bill of sale, or similar document given to the purchaser. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9701(4)(B)(iii) 
 

26. Value-Added Non-Voice Services That Use Computer Processing Applications: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-4(4) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1942 / 2008  
 
Description:  “Value added non-voice services in which computer processing applications are 
used to act on the form, content, code, and protocol of the information to be transmitted” are 
excluded from the definition of telecommunication service and thus are not subject to the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-13. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Public Service Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

27. Veterinary and Testing Laboratories Services: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-7.3(b)(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 / N/A  
 
Description:  Effective October 1, 2012, sales and use tax is imposed on pet care services, 
except veterinary and testing laboratories services.  
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model. 
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Reliability Index:  3 
 
Projection Methodology:  Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model 
used to project revenue forgone for TY 2012.  The TY 2012 projected revenue forgone figure 
reflects 3 months of revenue forgone.  For TY 2013, the Office of Revenue Analysis used the 
full year value of forgone sales and use tax revenue for TY 2012 and applied the TY 2013 
over TY 2012 actual growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues.  TY 2014 and 
TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible 
due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $995,741 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $4,175,840 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $4,175,840 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $4,175,840 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Effective July 1, 2011, pet grooming, pet obedience services, and pet boarding, 
unless provided as an integral part of professional veterinary services, are taxable.  
Veterinary services are not identified as taxable services and are exempt from tax. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-407(a)(37)(KK) 
 
Vermont:  Sales of services are exempted from sales and use tax, unless specifically 
designated as taxable.  Veterinary services are not specifically designated as a taxable 
service.   
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741 
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1. Agricultural Products for Human Consumption: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(61) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2007 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale or storage, use or consumption of livestock and poultry of the kinds of 
products which ordinarily constitute food for human consumption and of livestock of the 
kind the products of which ordinarily constitute fibers for human use are exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 actual growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to 
TY 2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $2,462,635 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $2,502,027 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 actual growth rate in Rhode 
Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue 
forgone and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 actual growth rate in Rhode Island sales and 
use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 
and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is 
possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $2,612,679 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $2,739,197 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $2,739,197 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $2,739,197 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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2. Air and Water Pollution Control Facilities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(15) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1966 / 1980  
 
Description:  The sale or storage, use or consumption of tangible personal property or 
supplies acquired for use in the operation of air and/or water pollution control facilities and 
which have been certified as approved for that purpose by the Director of the Rhode Island 
Department of Environmental Management are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 actual growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to 
TY 2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $1,063,106 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $1,080,112 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 actual growth rate in Rhode 
Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue 
forgone and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 actual growth rate in Rhode Island sales and 
use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 
and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is 
possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $1,127,879 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $1,182,496 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $1,182,496 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $1,182,496 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include personal property incorporated into waste 
treatment facilities or consumed in air pollution control facilities. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(21) and 12-412(22) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include sales of water pollution control and air pollution control 
facilities certified as such by the Commissioner of Environmental Protection and any part or 
accessories thereof or any materials for the construction or maintenance of a facility. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(29) and 1760(30) 
 

3. Aircraft and Aircraft Parts: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(56) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2004 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale or storage, use or consumption of any new or used aircraft or aircraft 
parts is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 actual growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to 
TY 2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $968,830 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $984,328 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 actual growth rate in Rhode 
Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue 
forgone and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 actual growth rate in Rhode Island sales and 
use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 
and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is 
possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $1,027,859 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $1,077,633 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $1,077,633 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $1,077,633 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of, aircraft having a maximum 
certificated takeoff weight of 6,000 pounds or more is exempt from tax.  Effective July 1, 
2006, all aircraft repair or replacement parts and repair services are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(20), 12-412(76), and 12-412(77) 
 
Maine:  An exemption applies to sales or leases of aircraft that weigh over 6,000 pounds, that 
are propelled by one or more turbine engines, or that are in use by a federal Aviation 
Administration classified 135 operator. A “classified 135 operator” is a small commercial air 
carrier such as a commuter airline or air taxi.  An exemption also applies to the sale or use in 
Maine of replacement or repair parts of an aircraft used by a scheduled airline in the 
performance of service under 49 U.S. Code, Subtitle VII and federal Aviation Administration 
regulations. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(76) and 1760(88) 
 
Massachusetts:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of aircraft and repair or 
replacement parts exclusively for use in aircraft or in the significant overhauling or 
rebuilding of aircraft or aircraft parts or components on a factory basis is exempt from sales 
and use taxes. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(uu) and 6(vv) 
 
Vermont:  There is an exemption for aircraft sold to a person, which holds itself out to the 
public as engaging in air commerce, for use primarily in the carrying of persons or property 
for compensation or hire.  Effective June 11, 2007 through June 30, 2018, an exemption also 
applies to parts, machinery, and equipment to be installed in any aircraft.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(29) 
 

4. Banks and Regulated Investment Companies Interstate Toll Free Calls: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(49) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  216 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 

 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / 1999 
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 does not apply to 
“the furnishing of interstate and international, toll-free, terminating telecommunication 
service that is used directly and exclusively by or for the benefit of an eligible company.” 
 
An eligible company is a company that employs “on average during the calendar year” at 
least 500 full-time equivalent employees and is a regulated investment company, as defined 
in 26 U.S.C. § 1 et seq., or a corporation to the extent the service is provided to or on behalf 
of a regulated investment company, an employee benefit plan, a retirement plan or a pension 
plan or a state chartered bank. 
 
Data Source:  Investment Company Fact Book 2013, Investment Company Institute and 
Federal Communications Commission (FCC).  TY 2010 revenue forgone is calculated by 
applying the sales and use tax rate to the number of toll-free calls made by an investment 
company in Rhode Island.  The revenue forgone estimate is based on the assumption of 4 
hours of toll free calls per day, 5 days a week, 52 weeks a year, at a cost of 6.9 cents per 
minute.  The product is multiplied by the total number of toll-free calls made in the United 
States, which is then scaled to U.S. investment firms using the ratio of U.S. investment firms 
to total U.S. firms.  The result is then scaled to Rhode Island using the ratio of Rhode Island 
investment firms to U.S. investment firms.  The estimate of revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying this figure by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the 
number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in 
Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2010 forgone revenue. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $204,773 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $208,048 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax $217,249 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $227,769 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $227,769 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $227,769 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Sales of international and interstate telecommunications service are exempt from tax 
for all purchasers. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 2557(33) and 2557(34) 
 

5.  Beverage Containers, Hard-to-Dispose Material, and Litter Control Participation 
Permittee: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-44-3.6 and 44-44-2(1)  
 
Stated Purpose:  This chapter is enacted to provide funding for the litter reduction and 
recycling program and the hard-to-dispose material – control and recycling program, created 
pursuant to Rhode Island General Law Chapter 37-15.1. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1984 / 2012 
 
Description:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-44-3.6 expressly exempts from the taxes 
and fees imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-44 “any measure upon which 
this state is prohibited from taxing under the Constitution of the United States.”  Fruit juices, 
sports drinks, ready-to-drink teas, energy drinks and ready-to-drink coffees are excluded 
from the definition of beverage which is subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Section 44-44-3.  Effective July 1, 2012, the definition of “beverage” was amended to 
include all non-alcoholic drinks for human consumption, except milk, but including beer and 
other malt beverages and subject these beverages to the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Law Section 44-44-3.   
 
Data Source:  2011 and 2013 State of the Industry Report, Beverage World Magazine.  
Annual Estimates of Population for the United States (2010 through 2013), United States 
Census Bureau.  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Revenue forgone is 
based on beverage sales in Rhode Island that are not subject to the tax on beverage 
containers, which includes milk sales.  Number of taxpayers was provided by the Division of 
Taxation.   
 
Beverage World data  determined that Rhode Island subjected 82.91 percent of beverage 
sales, without regard to milk sales, to the tax on beverage containers in TY 2010 and 82.44 
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percent of beverages sales, without regard to milk sales, to the tax on beverage containers in 
TY 2011.  Based on the TY 2010, TY 2011 and TY 2012 litter control fees collected by the 
Division of Taxation, the Office of Revenue Analysis determined the full market value of the 
litter control fees for each fiscal year and used that information to compute estimated revenue 
forgone on beverage sales, without regard to milk sales, for TY 2010, TY 2011 and TY 2012.   
 
Forgone revenue from milk sales is based on the number of cases of milk sold in Rhode 
Island annually multiplied by 4.0 cents per case.  Rhode Island milk sales are based on the 
per capita consumption of milk (in gallons) divided by four to determine the per capita 
consumption of milk (cases) and the result is multiplied by the population of Rhode Island to 
determine the number of cases of milk consumed in Rhode Island.   
 
Effective July 1, 2012, this exemption applies only to milk sales.  Projected revenue forgone 
for TY 2012 is based on beverage sales for only the first six months of the year, but a full 
year of milk sales.   
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Tax on Beverage Containers $400,948 30 

2011 Tax on Beverage Containers $412,284 30 

2012 Tax on Beverage Containers $307,124 34 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2013 through TY 2015 is based solely on a projection of milk 
sales.  Number of taxpayers is held constant. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Tax on Beverage Containers $216,319 34 

2014 Tax on Beverage Containers $216,319 34 

2015 Tax on Beverage Containers $216,319 34 
 
Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

6. Bibles: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(29) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1982 / N/A 
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Description:  From the sale and from the storage, use, or other consumption of “any 
canonized scriptures of any tax-exempt nonprofit religious organization including, but not 
limited to, the Old Testament and the New Testament versions.”   
 
This sales and use tax exemption has been deemed unconstitutional by the Rhode Island 
Supreme Court (Ahlburn v. Clark, 728 A.2d 449 (RI. 1999); see notes to Decisions). 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Subject to the provisions of Section 1760-C, no tax on sales, storage or use may be 
collected upon or in connection with bibles. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(13) 
 
Massachusetts:  Bibles, prayer books and other books used for religious worship are exempt 
from sales tax. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(m) 
 

7.  Boats or Vessels Brought in Exclusively for Winter Storage Maintenance, Repair or 
Sale: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(46) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  220 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 

 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1991 / N/A 
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20 “is not 
applicable for the period commencing on the first day of October in any year to and including 
the 30th day of April next succeeding with respect to the use of any boat or vessel within 
Rhode Island exclusively for purposes of: (i) delivery of a vessel to a facility in this state for 
storage, including dry storage and storage in water by means of apparatus preventing ice 
damage to the hull, maintenance, or repair; (ii) the actual process of storage, maintenance, or 
repair of the boat or vessel; or (iii) storage for the purpose of selling the boat or vessel.” 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone revenue 
from this exemption is included in the “Boats or Vessels Generally” exemption.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include an exemption from use tax for vessels 
brought into the state exclusively for storage, maintenance or repair. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-413a 
 
Maine:  The purchase of a watercraft outside this State is exempt if the watercraft is 
registered outside the State by the purchaser and used outside the State by the purchaser and 
the watercraft is present in the State not more than 30 days, not including any time spent in 
this State for temporary storage, during the 12 months following its purchase. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(25)(B) 
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8. Boats or Vessels Generally: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(48) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1993 / N/A 
 
Description:  From the sale and from the storage, use or other consumption of any new or 
used boat is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $3,849,815 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $3,911,396 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $4,084,377 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $4,282,161 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $4,282,161 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $4,282,161 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

9. Boats Sold to Non-Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(30) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1982 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale of a boat or vessel to a bona fide non-resident who does not register 
the boat or vessel in this state, or document the boat or vessel with the United States 
government at a home port within the state, whether the sale or delivery of the boat or vessel 
is made within this state or elsewhere; provided, that the non-resident transports the boat 
within thirty (30) days after delivery by the seller outside the state for use thereafter solely 
outside the state is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-
18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone revenue 
from this exemption is included in the “Boats or Vessels Generally” exemption.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A vessel sold to a non-resident is exempt from tax, if the non-resident does not 
maintain a permanent place of abode in Connecticut, the vessel is not registered or required 
to be registered with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles and the non-resident 
provides the retailer with CERT-139 (Sales and Use Tax Exemption for a Vessel Purchased 
by a Non-Resident of Connecticut).  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(60) and 12-408(1) 
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Maine:  Sales of watercraft to a person that is not a resident of Maine, when the watercraft is 
intended to be sailed or transported outside the State immediately upon delivery by the seller; 
sales to a person that is not a resident of the State, under contracts for the construction of a 
watercraft intended to be sailed or transported outside the State immediately upon delivery 
by the seller, of materials to be incorporated in the watercraft; and sales to a person that is not 
a resident of the State for the repair, alteration, refitting, reconstruction, overhaul or 
restoration of a watercraft intended to be sailed or transported outside the State immediately 
upon delivery by the seller, of materials to be incorporated in the watercraft are exempt from 
the sales and use tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(25) 
 

10. Building Materials Used to Rebuild After Disaster: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(51) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1998 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of lumber, hardware, and other 
building materials used in the reconstruction of a manufacturing business facility, which 
suffers the destruction of 60.0 percent or more of the facility is exempt from the tax imposed 
under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  The exemption does not apply to the cost 
of the reconstruction materials, which are reimbursed by insurance. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

11. Buses, Trucks or Trailers Used in Interstate Commerce: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-40 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1992 / 2012  
 
Description:  The purchase, rental, or lease of a bus, truck or trailer, by a bus or trucking 
company, is not subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 
provided that the bus, truck and/or trailer is utilized exclusively in interstate commerce.  
Effective June 20, 2012, buses operated by a bus company are allowed the sales and use tax 
exemption for the purchase or rental/lease of a bus that transports passengers for hire, 
provided that the bus is used no less than 80.0 percent of the time in interstate commerce.   
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $2,527,046 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $2,567,469 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone.  
The projected TY 2012 revenue forgone was then reduced by 20.0 percent to reflect the 
change in law enacted in the 2012 General Assembly session.  Applied the TY 2013 over TY 
2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to 
project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No 
projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $2,397,487 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $2,513,585 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $2,513,585 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $2,513,585 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Each purchaser of a commercial truck, truck, tractor, truck tractor, or semi-
trailer or vehicle used in combination therewith is exempt from tax upon presentation of a 
certificate/permit issued by the Interstate Commerce Commission. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(70) 
 
Maine:  The sale of a vehicle, railroad rolling stock, aircraft or watercraft that is placed in use 
by the purchaser as an instrumentality of interstate or foreign commerce within 30 days after 
that sale and that is used by the purchaser not less than 80 percent of the time for the next 2 
years as an instrumentality of interstate or foreign commerce is exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(41) 
 

12. Camps: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(16) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1967 / N/A 
 
Description:  The rental charged for living quarters, or sleeping or housekeeping 
accommodations at camps or retreat houses operated by religious, charitable, educational, or 
other nonprofit organizations as listed in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(5); or 
privately owned and operated summer camps for children are exempt from the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $918,194 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $932,881 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $974,138 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $1,021,310 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $1,021,310 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $1,021,310 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Privately owned and operated summer camps for children, as well as those 
operated by religious or charitable organizations, are exempt from tax on the lodging 
accommodations. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12407(a)(17) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include an exemption for living quarters, sleeping or 
housekeeping accommodations at camps, which are also entitled to a corresponding property 
tax exemption.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(17) 
 
Massachusetts:  An exemption from both the sales tax on meals and the room occupancy 
excise is provided for summer camps for children age 18 and under, or for summer camps for 
developmentally disabled individuals.  Camps that satisfy the above criteria but offer their 
facilities during the off-season to individuals 60 years of age or over for 30 days or less in 
any calendar year will not lose their exemption. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 2 and 6(cc) 
 
Vermont:  Overnight accommodations as well as meals at camps serving children are not 
subject to the rooms or meals tax.  
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Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9202(6) and 9202(10)(D)(ii)(VI) 
 

13. Casual Sales: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20(g) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1995  
 
Description:  The sale of tangible personal property not held or used by the seller in the 
course of the activities for which the seller is required to hold a seller’s permit are exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  Casual sales are limited 
to no more than five in any twelve-month period and include sales made at bazaars, fairs, 
picnics, or similar events by non-profit organizations for a total of two events that do not 
exceed six days in duration. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Data is for the casual 
sale of motor vehicles only.   
 
Reliability Index:  1    
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $148,726 452 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $113,513 326 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $159,143 384 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected revenue forgone for TY 2013 through TY 2015 is held 
constant with TY 2012.  The number of taxpayers for TY 2013 through TY 2015 is also held 
constant with TY 2012. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $159,143 384 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $159,143 384 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $159,143 384 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Casual or isolated sales are exempt from tax. These are sales whose number, 
scope, and character are insufficient to make it necessary for the seller to have a seller’s 
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permit. This exemption is based on the fact that sales tax applies only to sales by retailers and 
a person making casual or isolated sales would not meet the definition of “retailer” contained 
in Connecticut law. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-431 
 
Maine:  Casual sales, in general, are not subject to Maine’s sales and use taxes. These taxes 
are imposed on sales at retail, and casual sales are specifically excluded from the definition 
of retail sales.  In most cases of casual sales involving the sale of trailers, truck campers, 
motor vehicles, special mobile equipment except farm tractors and lumber harvesting 
vehicles or loaders, watercraft or aircraft, the sales and use tax must be imposed. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1752(11)(B)(1) and 1764 
 
Massachusetts:  Casual and isolated sales by a vendor not regularly engaged in the business 
of making sales at retail are exempt except for the casual or isolated sale of a motor vehicle, a 
trailer, a boat or an airplane. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(c) 
 
Vermont:  Sale of tangible personalty as a casual sale is exempt.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(4) 
 

14. Charitable, Education or Religious Organizations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(5) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1961 / 1988 
 
Description:  The sale to and from the storage, use, and other consumption of tangible 
personal property by nonprofit hospitals, educational institutions, churches, orphanages and 
other institutions or organizations operated exclusively for religious or charitable purposes, 
interest free loan associations not operated for profit, nonprofit organized sporting leagues 
and associations and bands for boys and girls under the age of 19, state chapters of national 
vocational students organizations, organized nonprofit golden age and senior citizens clubs 
for men and women and parent teacher associations are exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue. 
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Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $72,580,096 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $73,741,087 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $77,002,266 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $80,731,080 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $80,731,080 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $80,731,080 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  The exemption extends to any organization, which is exempt from federal 
Income Tax under various Internal Revenue Code § 501 provisions. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(8) and 12-412(5) 
 
Maine:  The exemption includes:  (1) proprietors of unincorporated hospitals, (2) hospitals, 
(3) medical research centers, (4) churches, (4) schools, (5) incorporated nonprofit nursing 
homes, (6) incorporated nonprofit residential care facilities, (7) incorporated nonprofit 
assisted housing programs for the elderly, (8) incorporated nonprofit home health agencies, 
(9) incorporated nonprofit rural community health centers, (10) incorporated nonprofit dental 
health centers, (11) medical clinics whose sole mission is to provide free medical care to the 
indigent or uninsured, (12) organizations organized for the purpose of establishing and 
maintaining laboratories for scientific study and investigation in the field of biology or 
ecology, (13) institutions operating educational television or radio stations, and (14) 
organizations or their affiliates whose purpose is to provide literacy assistance or free clinical 
assistance to children with dyslexia. 
 
Maine also exempts sales to (a) incorporated private nonprofit residential child caring 
institutions, (b) community mental health facilities, mental retardation facilities and 
substance abuse facilities, (c) incorporated nonprofit memorial foundations that primarily 
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provide cultural programs free to the public, historical societies and museums, (d) 
incorporated nonprofit nursery schools and day-care centers, (e) any church affiliated 
nonprofit organization which operates… a residential home for adults, (f) incorporated 
nonprofit organizations that provide free temporary emergency shelter or food for 
underprivileged individuals in Maine, (g) incorporated nonprofit child abuse and neglect 
prevention councils, statewide organizations that advocate for children and that are members 
of the Medicaid Advisory Committee, and certain community action agencies, (h) any 
nonprofit free public lending library which is funded in part or wholly by the State or any 
political subdivision or the federal government, (i) incorporated nonprofit Veterans’ 
Memorial Cemetery Associations, (j) incorporated nonprofit hospice organizations, (k) 
nonprofit youth organizations whose primary purpose is to provide athletic instruction in a 
non-residential setting and councils and local units of incorporated nonprofit national 
scouting organizations, (l) incorporated nonprofit animal shelters, (m) local branches of 
incorporated international nonprofit charitable organizations that lend medical supplies and 
equipment to persons free of charge, (n) incorporated nonprofit organizations whose sole 
purpose is to fulfill the wishes of children with life-threatening diseases when their family or 
guardian is unable to otherwise financially fulfill those wishes, (o) incorporated nonprofit 
monasteries and convents, (p) incorporated nonprofit organizations engaged primarily in 
providing support systems for single-parent families for the development of psychological 
and economic self-sufficiency, (q) local branches of incorporated nonprofit organizations 
whose purpose is to construct low-cost housing for low-income people, (r) incorporated 
nonprofit organizations whose sole purpose is to create, maintain and update a registry of 
Vietnam veterans, (s) incorporated nonprofit organizations whose primary purposes are to 
promote public understanding of hearing impairment and to assist hearing-impaired persons, 
(t) nonprofit organizations whose primary purpose is to develop housing for low-income 
people, and (u) nonprofit organizations whose primary purpose is to obtain, medically 
evaluate and distribute eyes for use in corneal transplantation, research and education. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36, §§ 1760(15), 1760(16), 1760(18-A), 1760(28), 
1760(42), 1760(43), 1760(44), 1760(47-A), 1760(49), 1760(50), 1760(51), 1760(55), 
1760(56) 1760(60), 1760(62), 1760(63), 1760(65), 1760(66), 1760(67), 1760(69), 1760(70), 
1760(72), 1760(77) and 2557(3) 
 
Massachusetts:  The exemption includes sales to any corporation, foundation, organization or 
institution exempt from tax under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(e) 
 
Vermont:  Organizations that qualify for exempt status under the provisions of 26 U.S.C. § 
501(c)(3) as well as agricultural organizations similarly qualified when presenting 
agricultural fairs, field days or festivals are not subject to the sales and use tax and 
organizations which qualify for exempt status under the provisions of 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(4)-
(13) and (19), and political organizations as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 527(e) are exempt from 
the sales and use tax upon entertainment charges…in the case of not more than four special 
events (not including usual or continuing activities of the organization) held in any calendar 
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year, and which, in the aggregate, are not held on more than four days in such year, and 
which are open to the general public. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9743(3) and 9743(5) 
 

15. Clothing and Footwear: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(27) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1977 / 2012 
 
Description:  The sales of articles of clothing and footwear suitable for general use to be 
worn as human wearing apparel are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-18.  This exemption does not apply to clothing for athletic activity or 
protective use.  Effective October 1, 2012, the sales and use tax exemption is amended to 
exclude the sale of clothing, including footwear, with a retail sales price which exceeds $250 
per item.  Sales and use tax is imposed to the portion of the retail price of an individual item 
of clothing or footwear that exceeds $250. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $53,716,763 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $54,576,016 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone.  
Beginning on October 1, 2012, however, this exemption does not apply to the portion of the 
sales price of an item of clothing or footwear that exceeds $250.  As a result, the revenue 
forgone estimate for TY 2012 was adjusted to take into account the change in application of 
the exemption.  Applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and 
use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone (adjusted to take into account the change in the 
exemption for a full year) to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 2015 
assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a 
lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $52,731,898 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $48,078,153 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $48,078,153 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $48,078,153 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s exemption provisions are limited to clothing costing less than 
$50.  If an article of clothing or footwear is sold for more than the exemption limit, tax is 
computed on the entire purchase price, not merely the excess.  Effective July 1, 2011, this 
exemption has been repealed; however, the exemption has been restored for items sold on 
and after June 1, 2015. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(47) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ exemption provisions are limited to clothing, including 
footwear that is intended to be worn or carried on the human body.  The exemption, which is 
limited to $175 for any article of clothing, does not apply to special clothing or footwear 
designed for athletic activity or protective use and is not normally worn except for the 
athletic or protective use. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64I, § 6(k) 
 
Vermont:  Effective January 1, 2007, a sales and use tax exemption applies to all clothing, 
but clothing shall not include clothing accessories or equipment, protective equipment, or 
sport or recreational equipment.  Clothing and footwear will not be subject to sales tax 
regardless of price.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(45) 
 

16. Coffins, Caskets, and Burial Garments: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(12) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1952 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of coffins, caskets, shrouds and 
other burial garments ordinarily sold by a funeral director as part of the business of funeral 
directing are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
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Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $1,088,019 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $1,105,423 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $1,154,310 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $1,210,207 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $1,210,207 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $1,210,207 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut exempts tangible personal property by any funeral establishment 
performing the primary services in preparation for and the conduct of burial or cremation, 
provided any such property must be used directly in the performance of such services and the 
total amount of such exempt sales with respect to any single funeral may not exceed $2,500, 
and caskets used for burial or cremation.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(55) 
 
Maine:  “Sales of funeral services” are considered to mean sales of tangible personal property 
by a funeral director insofar as such sales are a necessary part of the preparation of a human 
body for burial, or a necessary part of the ceremony conducted by the funeral director prior to 
or in connection with the burial of a human body. Sales by funeral directors of caskets, 
vaults, boxes, clothing, crematory urns, or other similar items generally referred to as 
“funeral furnishings,” are exempt from tax. 
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(24) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of coffins, caskets, burial garments or other materials, which are 
ordinarily sold by a funeral director as part of the business of funeral directing are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(n) 
 
Vermont:  Funeral charges, including sales of tangible personal property such as caskets, 
vaults, boxes, clothing, crematory urns, and other such funeral furnishings as are necessary 
incidents of the funeral, but excluding the sale of flowers and other items sold as an 
accommodation rather than as an integral part of the funeral service or preparation therefore 
are exempt 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(22) 
 

17. Coins: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(43) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1988 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale and other consumption of coins having numismatic or investment 
value are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  2010, 2011 and 2012 Annual Reports, United States Mint.  Annual Estimates 
of Population for the United States (2010 through 2012), United States Census Bureau.  
Revenue forgone is based on the annual numismatic and bullion coin sales in Rhode Island.  
Annual U.S. numismatic and bullion coin sales are scaled for Rhode Island using the ratio of 
Rhode Island’s population to the total U.S. population.  Revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying this amount by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the 
number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $778,613 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $989,451 No estimate possible 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $689,228 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  
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TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of 
taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $722,604 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $722,604 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $722,604 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exemptions for gold or silver bullion, legal 
tender of any nation, rare and antique coins and coins traded according to value as a precious 
metal.  The exemption is limited to transactions in which the total value of the sale is less 
than $1,000. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(45) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ exemption includes sales of $1,000 or more of items traded 
or sold according to their value as precious metals such as rare coins of numismatic value, 
gold or silver bullion or coins and gold or silver tender of any nation traded and sold 
according to its value as precious metal. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(ll) 
 
Vermont:  Coins and other numismatic items when purchased as a medium of exchange are 
exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Code of Vt. Rules § 1.9701(7)(B)(3) 
 

18. Commercial Fishing Vessels in Excess of Five Net Tons: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(26) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1976 / 2002 
 
Description:  The sales of vessels and other watercraft of more than five net tons if used 
exclusively for commercial fishing are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-18.  The exemption also applies to fishing equipment used in 
connection with the commercial fishing done by the vessel as well as material for the 
maintenance and/or repair of the vessels. 
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Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone revenue 
from this exemption is included in the “Boats or Vessels Generally” exemption.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Commercial fishing vessels and machinery or equipment for use thereon are 
exempt.  A “commercial fishing vessel” includes any vessel with a certificate of 
documentation issued by the United States Coast Guard for coastwise fishery. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(40) 
 
Maine:  Maine does not include an exemption, but does provide a refund as follows.  A 
refund and an alternative exemption card procedure exist for certain depreciable machinery 
and equipment used in commercial fishing.  This includes new or used watercraft, nets, traps, 
cables, tackle and related equipment necessary to and used directly and primarily in the 
operation of a commercial fishing venture. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 2013 and Code Me. R. § 323  
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exemption for vessels used directly and 
exclusively in commercial fishing, machinery and equipment and replacement parts thereof. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(o) 
 

19. Commercial Vessels of More Than 50 Tons Burden: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(25) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1976 / N/A 
 
Description:  Sales made to commercial ships, barges or other vessels of 50 tons burden or 
more primarily engaged in interstate or foreign commerce are exempt from the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  Provisions, supplies and material purchased 
for maintenance and repair of such commercial vessels are also exempt. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone revenue 
from this exemption is included in the “Boats or Vessels Generally” exemption.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of barges or vessels of 50 ton burden are exempt from tax when 
constructed in the Commonwealth and sold by their builders.  Also exempt are sales of fuel 
or fuel substitutes for those vessels engaged in interstate or foreign commerce or used 
directly and exclusively in commercial fishing along with the machinery and equipment used 
for those vessels, and replacement parts for the vessels, machinery, and equipment. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(o) 
 

20. Compressed Air: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(33) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1984 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, consumption or other use of compressed air is exempt from 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.   
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found in the other New England states. 
 

21. Containers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(4) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1988  
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of non-returnable containers, 
including boxes, paper bags, and wrapping materials which are biodegradable and all bags 
and wrapping materials utilized in the medical and healing arts, when sold without the 
contents to people who place the contents in the container and sell the contents with the 
container are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  
Returnable containers are also exempt when sold with the contents in connection with the 
retail sale of the contents.  Returnable containers are also exempt when sold for refilling. 
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Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $10,221,833 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $10,385,341 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $10,844,630 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $11,369,778 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $11,369,778 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $11,369,778 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions are similar to Rhode Island’s and include an 
exemption for returnable dairy product containers when sold without the contents. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(14) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include returnable containers sold with the contents or resold for 
refilling.  A further part of the provisions cover packaging materials when sold for packing or 
shipping tangible personalty or for packing or shipping tangible personalty sold by the 
purchaser of the packaging materials. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(12) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ exempts most containers.  They include sales of empty 
returnable and non-returnable containers to be filled and resold, containers the contents of 
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which are exempt from the sales tax, and returnable containers when sold with the contents 
or resold for refilling. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(q) 
 
Vermont:  Materials, containers, labels, sacks, cans, boxes, drums or bags and other packing, 
packaging or shipping materials for use in packing, packaging or shipping tangible 
personalty by a manufacturer or distributor are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(16) 
 

22. Deed, Instrument or Writing where Grantor is U.S. Government or State of Rhode 
Island: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-25-2(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1968 / 2000 
 
Description:  Any deed, instrument, or writing where the United States, the State of Rhode 
Island or one the State’s political subdivisions are the grantor is exempt from the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-25. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exemption for those deeds for which 
Connecticut is prohibited from taxation under the US Constitution or related laws. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-498 
 

23. Diesel Emission Control Technology: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(63) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2010 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale and use of diesel retrofit technology that is required by Rhode Island 
General Law Section 31-47.3-4 is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

24. Dietary Supplements: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(59) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2006 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of dietary supplements, as defined 
in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-7.1(1)(v), sold on prescription are exempt from 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  A dietary supplement is any 
product, other than tobacco, that contains one or more of the following: a vitamin; a mineral; 
an herb or other botanical; an amino acid; a dietary substance for use by humans that 
increases the total dietary intake; or a concentrate, metabolite, constituent, extract, or 
combination of any ingredient described in above. 
 
Data Source:  2010 and 2011 Supplemental Business Report, Nutrition Business Journal.  
Annual Estimates of Population for the United States (2010 and 2011), United States Census 
Bureau.  Revenue forgone is based on the annual sales of dietary supplements by prescription 
in Rhode Island.  The U.S. sales of dietary supplements are scaled to Rhode Island using the 
ratio of Rhode Island’s population to the total U.S. population.  It is assumed that 25.0 
percent of Rhode Island sales of dietary supplements are by prescription.  Revenue forgone is 
determined by multiplying this amount by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to 
determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $1,673,476 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $1,769,784 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $1,848,052 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $1,937,543 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $1,937,543 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $1,937,543 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision.  
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Maine:  Medicines, tonics, vitamins and preparations in liquid, powdered, granular, tablet, 
lozenge or pill form, sold as dietary supplements or adjuncts, when sold on the prescription 
of a physician are exempt  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1752(3-B) 
 

25. Distressed Essential Community Hospital: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 23-17.25-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2010 / N/A 
 
Description:  For a period of 12 years, Landmark Medical Center (LMC) or any entity owned 
and controlled by LMC, or any successor-in-interest to LMC, shall not be required to pay or 
otherwise be financially responsible for any Rhode Island sales and use taxes that might 
otherwise be due in connection with any purchases, capital improvements, or any other 
activities conducted by LMC pursuant to the health facility licenses maintained by LMC. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of tangible personal property to and by profit and nonprofit charitable 
hospitals in the state are exempt.  Connecticut’s exemption includes nursing homes, rest 
homes and homes for the aged as well. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(5) 
 

26. Educational Institutions Rental Charges: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(18) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1967 / N/A 
 
Description:  The rent charged by any educational institution for living quarters, or sleeping 
or housekeeping accommodations or other rooms or accommodations to any student or 
teacher necessitated by attendance at an educational institution is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $5,618,618 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $5,708,493 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $5,960,950 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $6,249,607 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $6,249,607 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $6,249,607 No estimate possible 
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Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar Sales and Use Tax provisions.  
Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont provide similar exemptions under the Room 
Occupancy Excise, Rooms, and Rooms and Meals taxes, respectively. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include the exemption of lodging accommodations at 
educational institutions. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12407(a)(17) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include the exemption of rental charges for living quarters, 
sleeping or housekeeping accommodations to any student necessitated by attendance at a 
school as defined further by Maine statutes. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(19) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provisions include the exemption of lodging 
accommodations, including dormitories, at religious, charitable, educational and 
philanthropic institutions; provided, however, that this exemption shall not apply to 
accommodations provided by any such institution at a hotel or motel operated by the 
institution 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64G, § 2(b) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire excludes from the definition of occupancy, “[o]ccupancy 
at a facility or establishment owned or leased pursuant to a long-term agreement by an 
organization operated for educational purposes, which organization is exempt from federal 
income taxation under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, but only if occupancy 
at such facility or establishment is provided: (A) To students regularly attending the 
organization; (B) To employees, faculty members or administrative officials of the 
organization, but only if occupancy at such facility or establishment is provided in 
connection with responsibilities performed for the organization; (C) To volunteers providing 
services in connection with the organization; or (D) To any person, but only if occupancy at 
such facility or establishment is provided pursuant to an activity which is related to 
educational purposes and the sponsor of such activity is an organization exempt from federal 
income taxation under Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code or the federal or state 
government or an instrumentality thereof.  The exemption provided by this subparagraph 
(b)(2)(D) shall not apply if occupancy at the facility or establishment is offered to the general 
public on a regular and continuous basis without regard to an activity which is related to 
educational purposes.” 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78-A:3, VI(b)(2) 
 
Vermont:  The rental charges to students attending a school are not subject to the rooms tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9202(8)  
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27. Electricity and Gas for Domestic Use by Occupants of Residential Premises: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(21) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1972 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of electricity or gas furnished for 
domestic use by occupants of residential premises is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $42,366,364 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $43,044,056 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $44,947,668 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $47,124,246 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $47,124,246 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $47,124,246 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions exempt the sale, furnishing or service of gas, 
including bottled gas, and electricity, when delivered to consumers through mains, lines, 
pipes or bottles for use in any residential dwelling. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(3) 
 
Maine:  Maine exempts coal, oil, wood and all other fuels, including gas and the first 750 
kilowatt hours of residential electricity per month, when bought for cooking and heating in 
buildings designed and used for both human habitation and sleeping. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(9)(B) and 1760(9)(C) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions are similar to Rhode Island, which exempts the 
sales, furnishing or service of water, gas, steam or electricity used for residential purposes. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(j) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont exempts sales of electricity, oil, gas and other fuels used in a residence 
for all domestic use, including heating. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(26) 
 

28. Electricity, Steam and Thermal Energy from Rhode Island Economic Development 
Corporation (now the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-40.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1995 / N/A 
 
Description:  The gross receipts from the sale, storage, use or other consumption of 
electricity, steam and thermal energy that is produced, transmitted, and/or sold by the Rhode 
Island Commerce Corporation are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Quonset Development Corporation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exemption and number of taxpayers held constant.   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $0 0 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of gas, steam, electricity or heating fuel for use by any business that 
has five or fewer employees, that had gross income of less than $1,000,000 for the preceding 
calendar year, and that reasonably expects gross income of less than $1,000,000 for the 
current calendar year are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(qq) 
 

29. Equipment for Research and Development: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(42) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1987 / 1996  
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of equipment that is used for 
research and development purposes by a qualifying company is exempt from the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  A qualifying company is a business “for 
which the use of research and development equipment is an integral part of its operation.”  
Equipment means “scientific equipment, computers, software and related items.” 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $839,766 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $853,199 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $890,931 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $934,074 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $934,074 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $934,074 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Property used in research and development can qualify for the exemptions 
given to manufacturing materials.  Research and development services are not among the list 
of taxable services and, therefore, are not subject to tax.  
 
Connecticut also provides a sales and use tax exemption for the sale of and the storage, use or 
other consumption of machinery, equipment, tools, materials, supplies and fuel used directly 
in the biotechnology industry.  “Biotechnology” means the application of technologies, such 
as recombinant DNA techniques, and new bioprocesses, using living organisms, or parts of 
organisms, to produce or modify products, to improve plants or animals, to identify targets 
for small molecule pharmaceutical development, to transform biological systems into useful 
processes and products or to develop microorganisms for specific uses. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-407(a)(a)(37) and 12-412(89) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s exemption provisions include sales of machinery and equipment for the use 
by the purchaser directly and exclusively in research and development in the experimental 
and laboratory sense and primarily biotechnology applications and also by the purchaser to 
be used. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(32) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of machinery or replacement parts thereof used in research and 
development by a manufacturing corporation or a research and development corporation is 
exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(r) and 6(s) 
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Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions exempt sales of tangible personal property purchased for 
use or consumption directly and exclusively, except for isolated or occasional uses, in 
commercial industrial or agricultural research and development. 
 
Vermont’s Statute:  T Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(24) 
 

30. Estates of Persons Declared Missing in Action by U.S. Armed Forces: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-22-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1977 / 1990 
 
Description:  The estate of a serviceman or servicewoman who has been classified by the 
armed forces of the United States as missing in action is exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-22. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Estate Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

31. Farm Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(32) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1984 / 2004  
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of machinery and equipment, 
including replacement parts, and tools and supplies used in the repair and maintenance of 
farming equipment, used directly for commercial farming and agricultural production is 
exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  “Commercial 
farming” is defined as the keeping or boarding of five or more horses or the production 
within this state of agricultural products, including, but not limited to, field or orchard crops, 
livestock, dairy, and poultry, or their products, where the keeping, boarding, or production 
provides at least $2,500 in annual gross sales to the operator. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $474,124 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $481,708 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $503,011 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $527,370 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $527,370 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $527,370 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include any items sold exclusively for use in 
agricultural production by a farmer engaged in such production as a business as evidenced by 
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the Farmer’s Tax Exemption Permit issued by the Connecticut Department of Revenue 
Services. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(63) 
 
Maine:  Maine does not include an exemption but does provide a refund as follows. A refund 
and an alternative exemption card procedure exist for certain depreciable machinery and 
equipment used in commercial agricultural production, commercial fishing, or commercial 
aquacultural production. The refund procedure is also applicable to purchases of electricity 
used for such purposes.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36, § 2013 and Code Me. R. §323  
  
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include sales of machinery of replacement parts 
used directly and exclusively in agricultural production.  Farmers (including persons who 
raise poultry and livestock) and fishermen pay no tax on materials, tools and fuel they buy 
that is used or consumed directly and exclusively in agricultural production and commercial 
fishing or in the production of laboratory animals for qualifying research. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(r), 6(s) and 6(p) 
 
Vermont:  Sales of agricultural machinery and equipment for direct and exclusive use (except 
for isolated or occasional uses) to produce or grow tangible personalty for sale at farms 
(including stock, dairy, poultry, fruit, and truck farms) orchards, nurseries, or in greenhouses 
or other similar structures used primarily for the raising of agricultural or horticultural items 
for sale are exempt from sales and use tax.  Uses will be presumed to not be isolated or 
occasional if they total not more than 4.0 percent of the time the machinery or equipment is 
operated. Vermont also includes items used in the production on farms of tangible personal 
property.  This applies to a specific list of items including feed, seed, plants, baler twine, 
silage bags, sheets of plastic for bunker covers or agricultural wrap, and breeding of other 
livestock.  They also include pesticides, chemicals and fertilizers but only when used for 
agriculture. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9741(25) and 9741(3) 
 

32. Farm Structure Construction Materials: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(44) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1988 / N/A 
 
Description:  Lumber, hardware and other materials used in the new construction of farm 
structures including production facilities and any other structures used in connection with 
commercial farming are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 44-18. 
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Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $1,303,558 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $1,324,410 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $1,382,981 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $1,449,952 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $1,449,952 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $1,449,952 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Any materials for the construction, repair or maintenance of an animal waste storage 
facility are exempt. An “animal waste storage facility” means a structure or pit constructed 
and used solely for storing manure, animal bedding waste or other wastes generated by 
animal production. For a facility to be eligible for this exemption, the Commissioner of 
Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources must certify that a nutrient management plan has 
been prepared in accordance with Title 7, Section 4204 for the farm utilizing that animal 
waste storage facility. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(81) 
 

33. Feed for Certain Animals Used in Commercial Farming: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(63) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
 
Description:  The feed for “livestock and poultry of the kinds of products of which ordinarily 
constitute food for human consumption and of livestock of the kind the products of which 
ordinarily constitute fibers for human use” is exempted from the sales and use tax.   
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Projection Methodology:  Revenue forgone is projected using Fiscal Note 2012-S-2283.  TY 
2012 reflects 6 months of revenue forgone since this exemption was effective July 1, 2012.  
No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax $161,251 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $326,871 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $332,650 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $334,059 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include sales of organic bedding materials for farm animals and 
hay.  It also includes seed, fertilizers, defoliants, and pesticides for use in the commercial 
production of an agricultural or silvicultural crop as well as sales of breeding stock, semen, 
embryos, feed, hormones, antibiotics, medicine, pesticides, and litter for use in animal 
agricultural production.  Maine’s provisions include sales of tree seedlings for use in 
commercial forestry.  It finally includes sales of feed, hormones pesticides, antibiotics and 
medicine for use in aquacultural production and sales of bait to commercial fisherman. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(7), 1760(73) and 1760(78) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts exempts from sales tax the “sales of feed, including the bags 
in which the feed is customarily contained, for livestock and poultry of a kind which 
ordinarily constitute food for human consumption or are to be sold in the regular course of 
business or for animals produced for research, testing, or other purposes relating to the 
promotion or maintenance of the health, safety or well-being of human beings or animals or 
for fur-bearing animals, the pelts of which are sold in the regular course of business.” 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(p)(2)  
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Vermont:  “Agriculture feeds, seed, plants, baler twine, silage bags, agricultural wrap, sheets 
of plastic for bunker covers, liming materials, breeding and other livestock, semen breeding 
fees, baby chicks, turkey poults, agriculture chemicals other than pesticides, veterinary 
supplies, and bedding; and fertilizers and pesticides for use and consumption directly in the 
production for sale of tangible personal property on farms, including stock, dairy, poultry, 
fruit and truck farms, orchards, nurseries, or in greenhouses or other similar structures used 
primarily for the raising of agricultural or horticultural commodities for sale” are exempt for 
the sales and use tax in Vermont. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741 
 

34. First 100,000 Barrels of Beer of a Brewer in Continuous Operation for 12 Months: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 3-10-1(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1933 / 2013 
 
Description:  The first 100,000 barrels of beer produced and distributed in the State in any 
calendar year is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 3-10-
1(a), provided that the brewer has actively and directly owned, managed and operated a 
brewery in the State for at least 12 consecutive months.  A barrel of beer is defined as 31 
gallons. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $544 3 

2011 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $355 3 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2012 through TY 2015 assumes no additional growth; 
however, the projected revenue forgone takes into account the alcoholic beverage tax rate 
increase on beer from $3.00 per barrel to $3.30 per barrel effective December 1, 2013 
through March 31, 2015.  Number of taxpayers is held constant with TY 2011. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $355 3 

2013 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $373 3 

2014 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $391 3 

2015 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $382 3 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

35. Flags: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(34) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
  
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1984 / 1992 
  
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of United States, Rhode Island or 
POW-MIA flags is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-
18. 
 
Data Source:  Flag Manufacturers Association of America.  Annual Estimates of Population 
for the United States (2010 through 2013), United States Census Bureau.  Revenue forgone is 
based on the annual sales of U.S. flags in Rhode Island.  Nationally, the sale of U.S. flags is 
consistent year to year; therefore, no growth in U.S. sales is estimated.  U.S. sales are scaled 
for Rhode Island using the ratio of Rhode Island’s population to the total U.S. population.  
Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying this amount by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data 
exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $35,733 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $35,396 No estimate possible 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $35,136 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $34,925 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No 
projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $34,925 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $34,925 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Flags of the United States and the State of Connecticut are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(23) 
 
Massachusetts:  Flags of the United States are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(w) 
 
Vermont:  Flags of the United States sold to and by veterans’ organizations which are 
exempted under Internal Revenue Code 501(c)(19), are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(33) 
 

36. Food and Food Ingredients: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(9) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended: 1948 / 2006  
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of all food and food ingredients 
sold for ingestion or chewing by humans for their taste or nutritional value are exempt from 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  For the purposes of this 
chapter, “food and food ingredients” does not include candy, soft drinks, dietary 
supplements, alcoholic beverages, tobacco, food sold through vending machines or prepared 
foods generally. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  The 
exemption amount for food items paid for by food stamps, Rhode Island General Law 
Section 44-18-30(39), as determined from information provided by the Rhode Island 
Department of Human Services (DHS), was subtracted from this estimate.   No reliable data 
exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied the TY 2011 
over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2010 forgone 
revenue (before the deduction related to food stamps) to estimate forgone revenue, then 
subtracted the exemption amount for food stamps. 
 
Reliability Index: 3 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $139,757,561 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $140,150,961 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  For TY 2012 and TY 2013, applied the year-over-year growth rate 
in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to the prior year’s revenue forgone estimate 
(before any deduction related to food stamps) to project revenue forgone, then subtracted the 
exemption amount for food stamps.  TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume no additional growth in 
the estimate of revenue forgone, but the TY 2014 and TY 2015 projected exemption amount 
for food stamps is deducted to projected TY 2014 and TY 2015 revenue forgone.   No 
projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $146,386,459 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $153,933,409 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $154,836,456 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $153,768,507 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Specific food groupings that are similar to those of Rhode Island are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(13) 
 
Maine:  Sale of grocery staples and certain meals are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(3) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of food products for human consumption which includes cereals and 
cereal products, flour and flour products, milk and milk products, including ice cream, 
oleomargarine, meat and meat products, fish and fish products, eggs and egg products, 
vegetables and vegetable products, fruit and fruit products, soft drinks, herbs, spices and salt, 
sugar and sugar products, candy and confectionery; coffee and coffee substitutes, tea, cocoa 
and cocoa products; and ice when used for household consumption are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(h) 
 
Vermont:  Sales of food, food stamps, purchases made with food stamps, food products and 
beverages sold for human consumption off the premises where sold are exempt. 
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Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(13) 
 

37. Food Items Paid for by Food Stamps: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(39) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1986 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of eligible food items which are 
properly paid for with U.S. government food stamps issued in accordance with the Food 
Stamp Act of 1977, 7 U.S.C. § 2011 et seq., are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Department of Human Services (DHS).  Revenue forgone is 
based on the state’s Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits issued by 
DHS.  An assumed leakage factor of 10.0 percent was applied for out-of-state use.  The 
balance is then multiplied by 7.0 percent.  Number of taxpayers represents the average 
number of SNAP recipients during each calendar year. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $15,671,683 145,892 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $17,764,527 164,120 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $18,512,798 175,024 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $18,951,051 180,421 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2014 and TY 2015 projected revenue forgone and number of 
taxpayers is based on estimated data provided by DHS.    
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $18,048,003 182,460 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $19,115,952 186,888 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Items purchased with federal Food Stamp coupons, subject to the provisions of 
Section 12-412e, are exempt. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(57) 
 
Maine:  Sales of items purchased with federal Food Stamps distributed by the Department of 
Human Services are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(54) 
 
Massachusetts:  Tangible personal property purchased with federal Food Stamps and not 
otherwise exempt under this Chapter is exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(kk) 
 
Vermont:  Sales of food, food stamps, and purchases made with Food Stamps are exempt 
including a limited list of restaurant meals. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9202(10)(D)(ii)(X) and 9741(13) 
 

38. Gasoline: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(6) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1996 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of gasoline and other products 
taxed under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 31-36 and aviation fuel are exempt from the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Self-Serve Unleaded 
Gasoline Prices, Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources.  Revenue forgone is based on 
taxable sales of motor fuel, gasoline and diesel in Rhode Island.  Office of Revenue Analysis 
calculated Rhode Island taxable sales by multiplying the annual taxable gallons of gasoline 
and diesel by the average monthly price per gallon, including state and federal taxes, of self-
serve unleaded gasoline and low sulfur diesel fuels.  Revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying this figure by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the 
number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $87,992,573 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $113,361,644 No estimate possible 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $111,016,992 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  For TY 2013, applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in 
Rhode Island’s per penny motor fuel tax yield to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 
2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $110,779,965 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $110,779,965 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $110,779,965 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of motor fuel is exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(15) 
 
Maine:  Certain motor fuels upon which a tax at the maximum rate for highway use has been 
paid is exempt from sales and use tax. 
  
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(8)(A) 
 
Massachusetts:  Gasoline and special motor carrier fuels that are subject to the provisions of 
Chapter 64A (Taxation of Sales of Gasoline), 64E (Taxation of Special Fuels in the 
Propulsion of Motor Vehicles), or 64F (Taxation of Fuel and Special Fuels Acquired Outside 
and Used within the Commonwealth) of the Massachusetts General Laws are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(g) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions are similar to those of Rhode Island except that jet fuel is 
taxable for sales and use tax purposes. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741 
 

39. Heating Fuels: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(20) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1972 / N/A 
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Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of every type of fuel used in the 
heating of homes and residential premises. 
 
Data Source:  Oil Prices (Fuel), Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources.  Distillate Fuel 
Oil Sales for Residential Use, Independent Statistics and Analysis, U.S. Energy Information 
Administration; U.S. Department of Energy.  Revenue forgone is based on annual sales of 
residential distillate fuel oil in Rhode Island.  Office of Revenue Analysis calculated Rhode 
Island sales of residential distillate fuel oil by multiplying total Rhode Island residential 
gallons of distillate fuel oil consumed by the average monthly price per gallon of home 
heating oil.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying this figure by 7.0 percent.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $23,164,209 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $27,406,946 No estimate possible 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $29,102,024 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  
TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of 
taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $30,511,281 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $30,511,281 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $30,511,281 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  All fuels used for heating purposes for residential use are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(16) 
 
Maine:  Coal, oil, wood and all other fuels, except gas and electricity, when bought for 
cooking and heating in buildings designed and used for both human habitation and sleeping 
are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(9) 
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Massachusetts:  The sales of fuel used for residential heating purposes are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(j) and 6(qq) 
 
Vermont:  The sales of electricity, oil, gas and other fuels used in a residence for all domestic 
use including heating are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(26) 
 

40. Horse Food Products: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(53) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2000 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of horse food products purchased 
by a person engaged in the business of boarding horses is exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model for all 
livestock feed.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  
This estimate was scaled to horses by multiplying the estimate by the ratio of “total horses 
and ponies on Rhode Island farms” to the “total number of livestock on Rhode Island farms” 
derived from the United States Department of Agriculture, 2011 State Agriculture Overview.  
The calculated percentage was 6.26 percent.  For TY 2011, applied the TY 2011 over TY 
2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $47,673 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $48,435 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $50,577 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $53,018 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $53,018 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $53,018 No estimate possible 
 
Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s exemption for “agricultural production,” includes the raising, 
feeding, caring for, shearing, training or management of livestock, including horses. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(63)(C) 
 
Maine:  Sales of breeding stock, semen, embryos, feed, hormones, antibiotics, medicine, 
pesticides and litter for use in animal agricultural production and sales of antiseptics and 
cleaning agents used in commercial animal agricultural production. Animal agricultural 
production includes the raising and keeping of equines. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(7-C) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont exempts agricultural feeds broadly. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(3) 
 

41. Hospitals and Other Specific Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-12-11 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1923 / 1984  
 
Description:  The following corporations are specifically exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-12: Roger Williams General Hospital, Women and 
Infants Hospital, Rhode Island Hospital, St. Joseph’s Hospital, Butler Hospital, Cranston 
General Hospital Osteopathic, the Woonsocket Hospital, Newport Hospital, South County 
Hospital, Lincoln School, St. George’s School, the Wheeler School.  In addition, insurance 
and surety companies, public service and nonprofit corporations, fraternal benefit societies, 
and all corporations exempt by charter are also exempt. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Franchise Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut specifically exempts hospitals that are classified as children’s 
general hospitals by the department.  Also any short-term acute hospital operated exclusively 
by the state. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12407(a)(28) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont exempts nonprofit hospital service corporations from all forms of 
taxation. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 8, § 4518 
 

42. Human Blood: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(60) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2007 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of human blood is exempt from the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  The 2011 National Blood Collection and Utilization Survey Report (conducted 
by the American Association of Blood Banks), United States Department of Health and 
Human Services.  Annual Estimates of Population for the United States (2010 and 2011), 
United States Census Bureau.  Revenue forgone is based on the sale of whole blood and red 
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blood cell units to hospitals located in Rhode Island.  The total value of units of blood 
collected in the U.S. is scaled for Rhode Island using the ratio of Rhode Island’s population 
to the total U.S. population.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying this amount by 
7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $844,201 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $836,241 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $873,224 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $915,509 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $915,509 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $915,509 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Blood or blood plasma when sold for medical use in humans or animals is 
exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(19) 
 
Massachusetts:  Medical items, including oxygen, blood, and blood plasma are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(l) 
 
Vermont:  Blood or blood plasma used in treatment intended to alleviate human suffering or 
to correct, in whole or in part, human physical disabilities is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(2) 
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43. Installation Labor Charges When Separately Stated: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-12(b)(ii) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 2006  
 
Description:  The amount charged for labor or services rendered in installing or applying the 
property sold is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 
provided that the charges for such labor or services rendered are separately stated by the 
retailer to the purchaser. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index: 3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $30,665,659 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $31,156,187 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $32,524,060 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $34,109,514 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $34,109,514 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $34,109,514 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Charges for labor rendered in installing or applying the property sold, provided 
such charge is separately stated are exempt. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12407(a)(8)(B) 
 
Maine:  The price received for labor or services used in installing or applying or repairing the 
property sold or fabricated if separately charged or stated is exempt. 
  
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1752(14)(B) 
  
Massachusetts:  Installation charges that are separately stated are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 1 
 
Vermont:  Effective January 1, 2007, installation charges, if the charges are separately stated 
on the invoice, bill of sale, or similar document given to the purchaser, are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9701(B)(iv) 
 

44. Jewelry Display Product: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(47) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1993 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of tangible personal property used 
to display any jewelry product is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-18 as long as the title to the jewelry display product is transferred by the jewelry 
manufacturer or seller and the jewelry display product is shipped out of state for use solely 
outside the state and is not returned to the manufacturer or seller.  
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

45. Manufacturers’ Machinery and Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(22) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1974 / 1998 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of tools, dies, and molds, and 
machinery and equipment, including replacement parts, and related items to the extent used 
in connection with the actual manufacture, conversion, or processing of tangible personal 
property or computer software whether or not it is to be sold or that machinery and 
equipment used in the furnishing of power to an individual manufacturing plant is exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  Machinery and 
equipment used in administration or distribution operations is not exempt. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $25,356,182 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $25,761,779 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $26,901,087 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $28,203,765 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $28,203,765 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $28,203,765 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Machinery used directly in a manufacturing production process is exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(34) 
 
Maine:  Machinery and equipment for use by the purchaser directly and primarily in either 
the production of tangible personal property intended to be sold or leased ultimately for final 
use or consumption or in the production of tangible personal property is exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(31) 
  
Massachusetts:  Machinery or its replacement parts, that is used directly and exclusively in 
an industrial plant in the actual manufacture of tangible personal property that is to be sold is 
exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(r) and 6(s) 
 
Vermont:  Machinery and equipment for use or consumption directly and exclusively except 
for isolated or occasional uses in the manufacture of tangible personal property for sale or in 
the manufacture of other machinery or equipment, parts or supplies for use in the 
manufacturing process is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(14) 
 

46. Medicines, Drugs and Durable Medical Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(10) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1948 / 2011  
 
Description:  Beginning on October 1, 2011, this exemption no longer applies to over-the-
counter drugs.  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of drugs sold on prescription, 
medical oxygen, insulin whether or not it is sold on prescription, over-the-counter drugs 
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(until October 1, 2011), excluding grooming and hygiene products, durable medical 
equipment for home use only, and supplies and related ancillary dressings used to dispense or 
administer prescription drugs are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-18.   
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $128,169,140 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $126,360,349 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  The amount of TY 2011 revenue forgone for over-the-counter 
(OTC) drugs was decreased by 25.0 percent to account for the removal of the exemption for 
OTC drugs effective October 1, 2011.  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in 
Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone (revenue forgone for 
OTC drugs was deducted) to project TY 2012 revenue forgone and applied the TY 2013 over 
TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone 
to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  
No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $115,748,193 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $121,353,269 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $121,353,269 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $121,353,269 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Oxygen, blood plasma, prostheses, walkers and wheel chairs, prescription 
medicines, and syringes are exempt.  Effective July 1, 2011, over-the-counter drugs and 
medicines are no longer exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(4), 12-412(48) and 12-412(19) 
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Maine:  Sales of medicines for human beings sold by prescription are exempt from Maine 
sales tax.  Sales of over-the-counter drugs and medical marijuana are not exempt from Maine 
sales tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(5) 
 
Massachusetts:   Sales of medicine, insulin needles and insulin syringes on prescriptions of 
registered physicians and…sales of artificial devices individually designed, constructed or 
altered solely for the use of a particular crippled person so as to become a brace, support, 
supplement, correction or substitute for the bodily structure including the extremities of the 
individual; sales of artificial limbs, artificial eyes, hearing aids and other equipment worn as 
a correction or substitute for any functioning portion of the body; sales of artificial teeth by a 
dentist and the materials used by a dentist in dental treatment; sales of eyeglasses, when 
especially designed or prescribed by an ophthalmologist, oculist or optometrist for the 
personal use of the owner or purchaser; sales of crutches and wheel chairs for the use of 
invalids and crippled persons; and sales of baby oil; and the rental, sales and repairs of 
kidney dialysis machines, enteral and parenteral feedings, and feeding devices, suction 
machines, physician-prescribed, medically necessary breast pumps, oxygen concentrators, 
oxygen regulators, oxygen humidifiers, oxygen masks, oxygen cannulas, ultrasonic 
nebulizers, life sustaining resuscitators, incubators, heart pacemakers, canes, all types of 
hospital beds for home use, tripod quad canes, breast prosthesis, alternating pressure pad 
units and patient lifts, when prescribed by a physician.  Sales of over-the-counter drugs are 
not exempt from Massachusetts sales tax. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(l) and 6(z) 
 
Vermont:  Drugs intended for human use, durable medical equipment, mobility enhancing 
equipment, and prosthetic devices and supplies, including blood, blood plasma, insulin, and 
medical oxygen, used in treatment intended to alleviate human suffering or to correct, in 
whole or in part, human physical disabilities are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(2) 
 

47. Mobile and Manufactured Homes Generally: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(50) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of mobile and / or manufactured 
homes that are subject to tax under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 31-44 are exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
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Data Source:  Industry Statistics and Finance, Manufactured Housing Institute.  Revenue 
forgone is based on the sales of manufactured homes in Rhode Island.  The number of 
manufactured homes shipped to Rhode Island is multiplied by the average price of 
manufactured homes in New England (data for Rhode Island not was available) to derive 
total Rhode Island mobile and manufactured home sales.  Revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying this figure by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the 
number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $46,494 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $62,153 No estimate possible 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $18,396 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  
TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of 
taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $19,287 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $19,287 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $19,287 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include that the sale of a new modular or 
prefabricated home, from a manufacturer shall be subject to sales and use taxes except that 
the sales price of a new mobile manufactured home or new modular or prefabricated home 
shall be deemed to be 70.0 percent of the manufacturer’s sales price applicable with respect 
to such sale. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412c 
 
Maine:  Sales of new manufactured housing to the extent of all costs other than materials that 
is included in the sale price are exempt up to a maximum of 50.0 percent of the sale price.  
Sales of used manufactured houses are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(40) 
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Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include exclusion for 40.0 percent of the receipts from the 
sale of mobile homes and modular housing when they are sold as tangible personal property. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(32) 
 

48. Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment for Amputee Veterans: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(35) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1985 / 1989 
 
Description:  The sale of a motor vehicle and adaptive equipment to and for the use of a 
veteran with a service-connected loss of or loss of use of a leg, foot, hand or arm or any 
veteran who is a double amputee, whether service-connected or not is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Expenditures Report 2008, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  TY 2007 
estimate is grown by the TY 2008 over TY 2007 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales 
and use tax receipts to arrive at TY 2008 revenue forgone.  TY 2008 estimate is grown by the 
TY 2009 over TY 2008 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and use tax receipts to 
arrive at TY 2009 revenue forgone.  TY 2009 estimate is grown by the TY 2010 over TY 
2009 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and use tax receipts to arrive at TY 2010 
revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island registry 
sales and use tax revenues was applied to TY 2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $13,197 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $14,345 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
registry sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue 
forgone.  Applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and 
use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 
and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is 
possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $14,669 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $15,507 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $15,507 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $15,507 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include a general exemption for special equipment 
installed in a motor vehicle for all persons with physical disabilities. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(80) 
 
Maine:  Sales of motor vehicles to amputee veterans who have been granted free registration 
of such vehicles by the Secretary of State are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(22) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of motor vehicles purchased by or for the use of a veteran who has 
been determined to be permanently disabled, by the medical advisory board and has been 
issued a disabled veteran number plate are exempt. The exemption applies only to a single 
motor vehicle that must be purchased by and registered for the personal, noncommercial use 
of the disabled veteran. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(u) 
 
Vermont:  An exemption for one motor vehicle owned or leased and operated by a 
permanently physically handicapped person for whom the vehicle controls have been altered 
to enable the person to drive is granted. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8911(12) 
 

49. Motor Vehicles and Adaptive Equipment for Persons with Disabilities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(19) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1969 / 2000 
 
Description:  The sale of special adaptations, the component parts of special adaptations, or a 
specially adapted motor vehicle is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-18 provided that the owner supplies the tax administrator with an affidavit 
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of a licensed physician indicating that the specially adapted motor vehicle is necessary to 
transport a disabled family member including the owner. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Expenditures Report 2008, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  TY 2007 
estimate is grown by the TY 2008 over TY 2007 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales 
and use tax receipts to arrive at TY 2008 revenue forgone.  TY 2008 estimate is grown by the 
TY 2009 over TY 2008 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and use tax receipts to 
arrive at TY 2009 revenue forgone.  TY 2009 estimate is grown by the TY 2010 over TY 
2009 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and use tax receipts to arrive at TY 2010 
revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island 
registry sales and use tax revenues was applied to TY 2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $88,257 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $95,935 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
registry sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue 
forgone.  Applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and 
use tax revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 
and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is 
possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $98,097 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $103,705 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $103,705 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $103,705 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.  
 
Connecticut:  Sales and the storage, use or other consumption of special equipment installed 
in a motor vehicle for the exclusive use of a person with physical disabilities and repair or 
replacement parts for such equipment, whether such repair or replacement parts are 
purchased separately or in conjunction with such equipment, and whether such parts continue 
the original function or enhance the functionality of such equipment are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(80) 
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Massachusetts:  Sales of a motor vehicles purchased by and for the use of a person who has 
suffered loss, or permanent loss of use of, both legs or both arms or one leg and one arm or 
by and for the use of a veteran who has been determined to be permanently disabled by the 
medical advisory board and has been issued a disabled veteran number plate are exempt.  
This exemption applies to one motor vehicle only owned and registered for the personal, 
noncommercial use of such person. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(u) 
 
Vermont:  An exemption for one motor vehicle owned or leased and operated by a 
permanently physically handicapped person for whom the vehicle controls have been altered 
to enable the person to drive is granted. 
  
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8911(12) 
 

50. Narragansett Pier Railroad Company: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-1(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1942 / 1985 
 
Description:  The Narragansett Pier Railroad Company is exempted from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-13 “in any year until and unless the net receipts of the 
railroad applicable to dividends or other form of distribution of corporate earnings shall in 
the year amount to a sum not less than 4.0 percent of the aggregate valuation of the property 
of the railroad as determined by the public utility administrator.” 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Public Service Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

51. Newspapers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of newspapers is exempt from the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  In this context, newspapers are 
defined as “unbound publications printed on newsprint, which contains news, editorial 
comment, opinions, features, advertising, and other matters of public interest.”  Newspapers 
do not include “a magazine, handbill, circular, flyer, sales catalog, or similar item unless the 
item is printed for and distributed as a part of a newspaper.” 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, the TY 
2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues was applied to 
TY 2010 revenue forgone to estimate revenue forgone.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $2,147,276 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $2,181,624 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $2,278,105 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $2,388,422 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $2,388,422 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $2,388,422 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include newspapers by subscription, magazines, 
regardless of frequency, and publications by subscription that only contain puzzles. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(114) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include sales of any publication regularly issued at average 
intervals not exceeding 3 months.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(14) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include newspapers and magazines, regardless of 
frequency. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(m) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provision includes newspapers and tangible personalty, which becomes 
part of a newspaper even if the newspaper is distributed without charge.  Newspapers must, 
on an average for the tax year, contain as at least 10.0 percent of its printed material, news of 
general or community interest, community notices, editorial comment, or articles by different 
authors. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(15) 
 

52. Ocean Marine Insurance: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-17-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1896 / N/A 
 
Description:  The premiums received from contracts of ocean marine insurance as defined in 
Rhode Island General Law Section 44-17-6 are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-17.  
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Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Ocean marine insurance companies are excluded from the tax on net direct 
insurance premiums. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-210(b) 
 

53. Out-of-State Shipments of Rhode Island Alcoholic Beverage Manufacturers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 3-10-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1933 / 1956 
 
Description:  Rhode Island based manufacturers of alcoholic beverages that have reason to 
ship any beverage out-of-state with the intention that the consumption of that beverage shall 
occur outside of the state’s borders may receive an exemption from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Section 3-10-2.  The exemption from the tax shall be granted by 
the Department of Business Regulation. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Alcoholic Beverage Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  No tax is imposed on sales to licensed distributors or sales for export.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-435 
 
Massachusetts:  Alcoholic beverages made in Massachusetts or imported into Massachusetts 
and then exported are exempt.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 138, § 21 
 

54. Personal and Dependent: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(C) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Resident and non-resident taxpayers are allowed a personal and/or dependent 
exemption against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  The 
exemption amount is adjusted for inflation as determined by Rhode Island General Law 
Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(E) using tax year 2000 as the base year.  A personal exemption is 
granted to the taxpayer and spouse, if jointly filing a tax return, and the dependent exemption 
is granted to the dependents that are claimed by the taxpayer on their federal income tax 
return. 
 
In TY 2010, the personal and dependent exemption amount was $3,650 per exemption 
claimed by the taxpayer on their federal income tax return.  In TY 2011, the personal and 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  282 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 

dependent exemption amount was $3,500 per exemption claimed by the taxpayer on their 
federal return and for any taxpayer whose adjusted gross income, as modified for Rhode 
Island purposes, exceeded $175,000, the exemption amount was reduced by 20.0 percent for 
each $5,000 (or fraction thereof) by which the taxpayer’s adjusted gross income for the 
taxable year exceeded $175,000, with a complete phase-out of the exemption at $195,000 of 
adjusted gross income.  In TY 2012, the personal and dependent exemption amount was 
$3,650 and the phase-out started at $181,900 of modified federal adjusted gross income, with 
complete phase-out at $202,700.  In TY 2013, the personal and dependent exemption amount 
was $3,750 and the phase-out started at $186,550 of modified federal adjusted gross income 
with complete phase-out at $207,950.   
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Data Warehouse, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying exemptions taken to reduce personal tax 
liability by an effective tax rate in TY 2010 of 2.89 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.74 
percent for non-resident taxpayers and an effective tax rate in TY 2011 of 2.84 percent for 
resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers.  Number of taxpayers 
includes all taxpayers that claimed an exemption to reduce their personal tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $100,704,877 564,838 

2011 Personal Income Tax $93,390,727 598,782 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exemption is grown by the growth rate in the 
exemption amount.  For TY 2012, the growth rate is 4.2857 percent (i.e., $3,650 / $3,500).  
For TY 2013, the growth rate is 2.7397 percent (i.e., $3,750 / $3,650).  No further growth is 
assumed for TY 2014 and TY 2015.  The number of taxpayers is held constant with TY 
2011.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $97,393,187 598,782 

2013 Personal Income Tax $100,061,493 598,782 

2014 Personal Income Tax $100,061,493 598,782 

2015 Personal Income Tax $100,061,493 598,782 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Any person, other than a trust or estate, subject to the income tax for any 
taxable year who files under the federal income tax for such taxable year as a married 
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individual filing separately or, for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2012, but 
prior to January 1, 2013, a personal exemption of $13,500 is allowed.  In the case of any such 
taxpayer whose Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds $27,000, the 
exemption amount shall be reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000, or fraction thereof, by which 
the taxpayer’s Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds said amount. 
 
A taxpayer filing as a head of household for federal income tax purposes is entitled to a 
personal exemption of $19,000 in determining Connecticut taxable income.  A taxpayer 
filing as head of household whose Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year 
exceeds $38,000, the exemption amount shall be reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000, or 
fraction thereof, by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable 
year exceeds the said amount. 
 
Any husband and wife subject to the Connecticut personal income tax for any taxable year 
who file a return under the federal income tax for such taxable year as married individuals 
filing a joint return or any person who files a return for such taxable year as a surviving 
spouse, as defined in Section 2(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, is entitled to a single 
personal exemption of $24,000 in determining Connecticut taxable income for purposes of 
this chapter.  In the case of a taxpayer filing jointly or as a qualified widow(er) and the 
Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds $48,000, the exemption 
amount shall be reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000, or fraction thereof, by which the 
taxpayer’s Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds the said amount. 
In no event shall the reduction exceed 100.0 per cent of the exemption for each filing status. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-702 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include personal exemptions as a deduction to 
income as follows:  A personal exemption amount is allowed for the single or married filing 
separately filer, which is $4,400.  Married filing jointly is allowed an exemption amount of 
$8,800.  Head of household is allowed a $6,800 exemption.  There are additional exemptions 
provided for dependents, which is $1,000 per dependent and filers age 65 or over before 
2009 for the primary filer and spouse are provided with an additional $700 each.  Blindness 
for the primary filer and spouse is allowed $2,200 each. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3 
 
Maine:  A resident individual is allowed $2,850 for each exemption that the individual 
properly claims for the taxable year for federal income tax purposes, unless the taxpayer is 
claimed as a dependent on another return.  Beginning January 1, 2013, a resident individual 
is allowed a deduction equal to the total amount of deductions allowed for personal 
exemptions in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code, Section 151. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5126 
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Vermont:  Since Vermont uses an individual’s federal tax liability as the starting point for 
calculating Vermont income tax liability, the federal personal exemptions allowed under IRC 
§151 are allowed for Vermont personal income tax purposes. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5824 
 

55. Personal Holding Company, Regulated Investment Company, or Real Estate 
Investment Trust: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-2(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1956 / 2004 
 
Description:  A personal holding company registered under the federal Investment Company 
Act of 1940, a regulated investment company, or a real estate investment trust shall not pay 
the tax imposed under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-2(a) but rather must pay 
annually to the state a tax equal to $0.10 for each $100.00 of gross income.  Gross income is 
as defined in federal income tax law plus any interest not included in federal gross income 
less interest precluded from taxation by Rhode Island and less 50.0 percent of the excess 
capital gains over capital losses realized in the taxable year. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and New Hampshire have similar provisions. 
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Connecticut:  These entities are exempt from the net income base of the tax and from the 
capital base and the minimum tax.  Regulated investment company (RIC) means a regulated 
investment company as defined in I.R.C. § 851.  Distributions paid by RICs to the Company 
that are “exempt-interest dividends,” as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 852(b)(5), and “capital gain 
dividends,” as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 852(b)(3)(C), are not “dividends as defined in the 
federal income tax law” because federal law transforms their character from dividend income 
to exempt-interest income and capital gain income, respectively.  Therefore, “exempt-interest 
dividends” and “capital gain dividends” may not be deducted under Connecticut business 
taxes.  Distributions paid by the Regulated Investment Company to the Company that are not 
“exempt-interest dividends” or “capital gain dividends” may be deducted, provided that such 
distributions are “dividends” as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 316 and no provision of federal 
income tax law expressly transforms their dividend character, and provided that the 
Regulated Investment Company is a domestic corporation. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217(a)(1)(B), 12-217(a)(3) and 12-219(c) 
 
New Hampshire:  An enterprise shall not be characterized as a business organization and 
shall be excluded from taxation at the entity level if it elects to be treated as a qualified 
investment company.  A qualified investment company is defined as (1) A regulated 
investment company as defined in Section 851 of the United States Internal Revenue Code of 
1986 in effect on December 31, 2000; (2) An organization that is an investment company 
under the Investment Company Act of 1940 as amended; (3) An organization that would be 
an investment company under the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, but for the 
exception from investment company status provided by Section 3(c)(1) or 3(c)(7) of said 
Investment Company Act; or (4) A qualified community development entity as defined in 
Section 45D of the United States Internal Revenue Code, which entity is owned, controlled, 
or managed, directly or indirectly, by the business finance authority of the state of New 
Hampshire. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 77-A:1, I and XXI 
 

56. Precious Metal Bullion: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(24) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1975 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of precious metal bullion is exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  Precious metal bullion is 
defined as an “any elementary precious metal which has been put through a process of 
smelting or refining…and which is in a state or condition that its value depends upon its 
content not upon its form.”  Precious metal bullion does not include fabricated precious metal 
that has been manufactured for one or more “customary industrial, professional or artistic 
uses.” 
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Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include gold or silver bullion, legal tender of any 
nation, rare and antique coins if such sales are less than $1,000. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(45) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions exempt sales of $1,000 or more of rare coins of 
numismatic value; gold or silver bullion or coins; or, gold or silver tender traded and sold 
according to value as precious metal are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(ll) 
 

57. Premiums Received from Insurance for Medical Malpractice: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-14.1-1(g) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1976 / 2010  
 
Description:  Prior to January 1, 2011, any joint underwriting association created pursuant to 
the authority granted was exempt from taxation on gross premiums and stabilization reserve 
funds received for medical malpractice insurance provided for in Rhode Island General Law 
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Section 44-17-1.  Effective January 1, 2011, any such joint underwriting association shall pay 
an annual tax to the tax administrator of 2.0 percent of the gross premiums on contracts of 
insurance.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  Beginning in calendar 
year 2011, the premiums received from insurance for medical malpractice exemption can no 
longer be used to offset insurance companies gross premiums tax. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

58.  Prewritten Computer Software Delivered Electronically: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2007 / 2011 
 
Description:  Beginning on October 1, 2011, prewritten computer software delivered 
electronically or by load and leave is no longer exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of prewritten 
computer software delivered electronically or by load and leave was exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 in 2010 and 2011 (until October 1st).   
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $7,901,822 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Because this exemption was repealed effective October 1, 2011, 
applied the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to 
nine months of TY 2010 revenue forgone to estimate TY 2011 revenue forgone.   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $6,021,165 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

59. Promotional and Product Literature of Boat Manufacturers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(38) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1984 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use, or other consumption of boat manufacturers’ 
promotional and product literature is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-18 provided that said literature is shipped to points outside of Rhode Island 
and either (1) accompanies the product which is sold; (2) is shipped in bulk to out-of-state 
dealers for use in the sale of the product; or (3) is mailed to directly to customers at no 
charge. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, the TY 
2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues was applied to 
TY 2010 revenue forgone to estimate revenue forgone.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $252,398 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $256,435 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $267,776 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $280,743 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $280,743 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $280,743 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Maine’s exemption includes all advertising or promotional materials printed on 
paper and purchased for the purpose of subsequently transporting such materials out the 
State. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(83) 
 

60. Property Otherwise Exempted: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-36(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1989  
 
Description:  Property purchased at retail, the sale of which “would be exempt by express 
specification” from the sales tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 is 
also exempted from the use tax imposed under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20 
had the sale been otherwise subject to the sales tax. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Items exempt from use tax are those, which are exempt if the storage, 
acceptance, consumption or other use is not otherwise taxable. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-411 
 
Maine:  A tax is imposed…on the storage, use or other consumption in this State of tangible 
personal property or a service, the sale of which would be subject to tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1861 
 
Massachusetts:  An excise is hereby imposed upon the storage, use or other consumption in 
the Commonwealth of tangible personal property or services purchased from any vendor or 
manufactured, fabricated or assembled from materials acquired either within or outside the 
Commonwealth for storage, use or other consumption within the Commonwealth. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64I, § 2 
 
Vermont:  Unless property has already been or will be subject to the sales tax,…there is 
imposed on every person a use tax…for the use within this state, except as otherwise 
exempted. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9773 
 

61. Property Purchased from Federal Government: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-35 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1956 
 
Description:  The storage, use, or other consumption of property purchased from the United 
States, its agencies and instrumentalities is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-18 “only to the extent that the taxation in this state would violate 
the provisions of the Constitution of the United States.” 
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Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 revenue forgone to estimate revenue forgone.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $9,678,535 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $9,833,353 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $10,268,230 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $10,765,467 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $10,765,467 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $10,765,467 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of tangible personal property or services, which the state is prohibited 
from taxing under the Constitution or laws of the United States, are exempt. 
  
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § Section 12-413(2) 
 
Maine:  No tax is imposed on the sales, storage or use on or in connection with sales made 
directly to the State of Maine or any political subdivision, or to the federal government, or to 
any unincorporated agency or instrumentality of Maine or the federal government, including 
agencies and instrumentalities that are wholly owned. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(1) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales, which the Commonwealth is prohibited from taxing under the 
Constitution or laws of the United States are exempt. 
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Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(a)  
 
Vermont:  Sales not within the taxing power of the state under the Constitution of the United 
States are exempt.  To qualify for the exemption, payment must be received directly from the 
governmental agency, instrumentality, public authority, public corporation or political 
subdivision.  Sales to states other than Vermont or to their agencies, instrumentalities, public 
authorities, public corporations or political subdivisions are not exempt.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9743 
 

62. Property Purchased Outside of State by Non-Resident and Brought Into State: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-36(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1989  
 
Description:  The storage, use or other consumption of property purchased by the user while 
a non-resident, used outside of Rhode Island while a non-resident, and then brought into 
Rhode Island for the user’s personal use is exempt from the use tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-18.  The term used outside of Rhode Island does not include “the 
mere removal of the property from the state of purchase” to Rhode Island. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Law Comparison:  Maine and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Maine:  Sales of property purchased and used by the present owner outside the State for more 
than 12 months prior to the property’s use in Maine. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(45)(B) 
 
Vermont:  Property purchased by the user while a non-resident of this state, except in the 
case of tangible personal property, which the user, in the performance of a contract, 
incorporates into real property located in the state is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9744(2) 
 

63. Property Returned Within 120 Days from the Date of Delivery: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(58) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2006 / N/A 
 
Description:  The amount charged for property returned by customers within 120 days from 
the date of delivery when the entire amount, exclusive of handling charges, paid for the 
property is refunded in either cash or credit is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-18.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  294 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 

 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include a general provision for refunds of sales tax 
paid if the item is returned within 90 days from the date of purchase. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12407(a)(8)B 
 
Maine:  Sale price excludes the price of property returned by customers, when the full price 
is refunded either in cash or by credit. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1752(14)(B)(3) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ law includes a general provision for refund of the sales tax 
paid if the items are returned within 90 days from date of sale. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 1 
 
Vermont:  The commissioner may provide by regulation for the exclusion from taxable 
receipts…property that has been returned on the receipt or charge for which a refund or 
credit of the tax has been made. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9780 
 

64. Prosthetic Devices and Mobility Enhancing Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(11) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1948 / 2006  
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of prosthetic devices as defined in 
Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-7.1(t) sold on prescription including but not limited 
to artificial limbs, dentures, spectacles and eyeglasses and artificial eyes; artificial hearing 
devices and hearing aids, whether or not sold on prescription and mobility enhancing 
equipment as defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-7.1(p) including 
wheelchairs, crutches and canes are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $12,363,946 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $12,561,719 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $13,117,258 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $13,752,458 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $13,752,458 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $13,752,458 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s exemption includes oxygen, blood plasma, prostheses, custom-
made wigs or hairpieces, hearing and vision aids, canes, crutches, walkers and wheel chairs, 
vital life support equipment, apnea monitors, support hose and related repair or replacement 
parts and repair services. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(19) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ exemption includes sales of artificial devices individually 
designed, constructed or altered solely for a particular crippled person so as to become a 
brace, support, supplement, correction or substitute for the bodily structure including the 
extremities of the individual. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(l) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s exemption includes prosthetic aids, hearing aids, eyeglasses or artificial 
devices designed for the use of a particular individual to correct or alleviate physical 
incapacity and crutches, and wheelchairs for the use of invalids or crippled persons and not 
for rental. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(5)(A) 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  296 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 

Vermont:  Vermont’s exemptions include durable medical equipment, mobility enhancing 
equipment, and prosthetic devices and supplies, including blood, blood plasma, insulin, and 
medical oxygen, used in treatment intended to alleviate human suffering or to correct, in 
whole or in part, human physical disabilities. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(2) 
 

65. Purchases Used for Manufacturing Purposes: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(7) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1996 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of “computer software, tangible 
personal property, electricity, natural gas, artificial gas, steam, refrigeration, and water” is 
exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 when “the 
property or service is purchased for the purpose of being manufactured into a finished 
product for resale and becomes an ingredient, component, or integral part of the 
manufactured, compounded, processed, assembled or prepared or if the property or service is 
consumed in the process of manufacturing for resale computer software, tangible personal 
property, electricity, natural gas, artificial gas, steam, refrigeration, or water.” 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $293,086,511 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $297,774,719 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $310,943,724 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $326,001,091 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $326,001,091 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $326,001,091 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of and the storage or use of materials, rope, fishing nets, tools and fuel or 
any substitute therefore, which become an ingredient or component part of tangible personal 
property to be sold or which are used directly in the fishing industry or in an industrial plant 
in the actual fabrication of the finished product to be sold are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(18) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of materials, tools and fuel, or any substitute therefore, which become 
an ingredient or component part of tangible personal property to be sold or which are 
consumed and used directly and exclusively in an industrial plant in the actual manufacture 
of tangible personal property to be sold are exempt. 
  
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(r) and 6(s) 
 
Maine:  Ninety-five percent of the sale price of all fuel and electricity purchased for use at a 
manufacturing facility is exempt from the sales and use tax.  Maine’s provisions also include 
tangible personal property that becomes an ingredient or component part of tangible personal 
property produced for later sale or lease or that becomes an ingredient or component of 
tangible personal property produced pursuant to a contract with the federal Government.  
There is a third provision that fuel oil or coat, the by-products from the burning of which 
become an ingredient or component part of tangible personal property for later sale. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(9-D), 1760(9-G), 1760(74) and 2557(36) 
 
Vermont:  Tangible personal property which becomes an ingredient or component part of, or 
is consumed or destroyed or loses its identity in the manufacture of tangible personal 
property for sale is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(14) 
 

66. Qualified Sales of Manufactured and Mobile Home Parks: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 31-44-3.3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
 
Description:  The qualified sale of a mobile or manufactured home community to a resident-
owned organization is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
44-25. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Real Estate Conveyance Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

67. Refillable and Reusable Beverage Containers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-44-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1984 / 1998 
 
Description:  Reusable and refillable beverage containers are exempt from the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-44.  Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-44 
imposes a tax of $0.04 on each case of beverage containers sold by a wholesaler to a retailer 
or consumer. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5  
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

68. Renewable Energy Products: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(57) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2005 / N/A 
  
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of solar photovoltaic modules or 
panels, or any module or panel that generates electricity from light, solar thermal collectors, 
geothermal heat pumps, wind turbines, towers used to mount wind turbines if specified or 
sold by a wind turbine manufacturer, DC to AC inverters that interconnect with utility power 
lines, manufactured mounting racks and ballast pans for solar collector, module or panel 
installation, monitoring and control equipment if specified or supplied by a manufacturer of 
solar thermal, solar photovoltaic, geothermal or wind energy systems, and solar storage tanks 
that are part of a solar domestic hot water system or a solar space heating system are exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Fiscal Note 2012-S-2112 and Fiscal Note 2013-S-0127, Rhode Island Budget 
Office.  Revenue forgone is based on residential renewable energy system tax credits taken in 
TY 2010 and TY 2011 and the number of taxpayers that claimed said credits.  Office of 
Revenue Analysis used this data to estimate sales of renewable energy products in Rhode 
Island for TY 2010 and TY 2011 and multiplied it by 7.0 percent to estimate revenue 
forgone.   
  
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $37,162 78 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $30,275 64 
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Projection Methodology:  Applied the ratio of TY 2011 residential renewable energy system 
tax credits to FY 2011 Rhode Island personal income tax collections to the estimates of 
Rhode Island personal income taxes for FY 2012 through FY 2015 to project revenue 
forgone for TY 2012 through TY 2015.  Number of taxpayers held constant with TY 2011.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $31,435 64 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $31,972 64 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $33,518 64 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $35,295 64 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales and use of solar energy electricity generating systems, passive or active 
solar water or space heating systems, geothermal resource systems, including related 
equipment and sales of installation services are exempt from sales tax.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(117) 
 
Maine:  An exemption is provided for sales of tangible personal property to a qualified 
community wind power generator, as defined in Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. 36 Section 2017(1)(B) 
for use directly and primarily in the generation of electricity in Maine at a community wind 
power generation facility, as defined in Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. 36 Section 2017(1)(A-1). The 
exemption is limited to sales occurring on or before December 31, 2011. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36, § 1760(89) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of equipment directly related to a solar, wind-powered, or heat pump 
system that serves as the primary or auxiliary heat source for taxpayer’s principal residence is 
exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(dd) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions exempt hot water systems that converts solar energy into 
thermal energy used to heat water but limited to the property directly used to capture, convert 
or store solar energy for this purpose.  In addition, property incorporated into photovoltaic 
systems that are not covered by the manufacturing exemption. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 32, § 9741(46) 
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69. Rental Charged for Living or Sleeping Quarters in a Hospital or Nursing Home: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(17) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1967 / N/A 
 
Description:  The rental charged for living or sleeping quarters in an institution licensed by 
the state for the hospitalization, custodial, or nursing care of human beings is exempt from 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  The 
sales and use tax model estimate includes non-profit and propriety hospitals, non-profit and 
propriety nursing homes, medical care and hospitalization.  No reliable data exists from 
which to determine the number of taxpayers.  Applied the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth 
rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 2010 forgone revenue to estimate TY 
2011 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $28,061,937 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $28,510,815 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $29,771,698 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $31,213,384 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $31,213,384 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $31,213,384 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions.  Massachusetts, New 
Hampshire and Vermont provide similar exemptions under their Room Occupancy Excise, 
Rooms or Rooms and Meals taxes, respectively. 
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include an exemption for rentals in nonprofit 
charitable hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes and homes for the aged. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12407(a)(17)(A), 12407(a)(17)(B) and 
12407(a)(17)(F) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include an exemption on rental charged for living or sleeping 
quarters in an institution licensed by the state for the hospitalization or nursing care of human 
beings is exempt from tax.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(18) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provisions include the exemption of lodging 
accommodations, including dormitories, at religious, charitable, educational and 
philanthropic institutions; provided, however, that this exemption shall not apply to 
accommodations provided by any such institution at a hotel or motel operated by the 
institution 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64G, §§ 2(c) and 2(d) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire excludes from the definition of hotel “[a] hospital licensed 
under RSA 151, or a sanitarium, convalescent home, nursing home, or home for the aged.” 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78-A:3, III(a) 
 
Vermont:  The room charges to occupy a hospital or other institution providing health care 
such as a nursing home are not subject to the rooms and meals tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9202(3)(A) 
 

70. Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation (now the Rhode Island Commerce 
Corporation) Project Status Designees: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64-20 
 
Stated Purpose:  The exercise of the powers granted by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
42-64 titled “Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation” will be in all respects for 
the benefit of the people of Rhode Island, the increase of their commerce, welfare, and 
prosperity and for the improvement of their health and living conditions and will constitute 
the performance of an essential governmental function. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1974 / 2011 
 
Description:  Effective June 30, 2011 this exemption was repealed and will only apply to 
projects approved prior to July 1, 2011 and those projects for which long-term agreements 
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were entered.  Acquisitions, projects of construction, reconstruction, rehabilitations, 
improvement and development projects of the Rhode Island Economic Development 
Corporation (EDC) receive an exemption from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-18.  For purposes of the exemption the EDC shall not be required to hold 
legal title to any real or personal property, including any fixtures, furnishings or equipment 
which are acquired and used in the construction and development of the project, but the legal 
title may be held in the name of a lessee (including sub-lessees) from the corporation.  This 
property, which shall not include any goods or inventory used in the project after completion 
of construction, shall be exempt from taxation to the same extent as if legal title of the 
property were in the name of the Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation.  The 
sales tax benefits granted only apply to materials used in the construction, reconstruction or 
rehabilitation of the project and to the acquisition of furniture, fixtures and equipment, except 
automobiles, trucks or other motor vehicles, or materials that otherwise are depreciable and 
have a useful life of one year or more. 
 
The EDC must submit an impact analysis to the General Assembly to include, description of 
project for tax exemption, estimated number of new jobs, amount of personal income tax 
revenue to be received and the estimated amount of loss of sales tax revenue.  The EDC must 
annually certify that the number of estimated full-time jobs with benefits is on target or 
exceeds the estimate initially made by the EDC.  The certification by the EDC is no longer 
needed when the income tax revenue exceeds the sales tax benefits granted.   
 
Data Source:  Field Audit Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $4,422,835 3 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $9,223,950 7 

2012 Sales and Use Tax $2,979,997 5 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $1,867,128 3 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2014 projected revenue forgone is based on pending refund 
applications filed with the Field Audit Section of the Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
under the assumption that all refunds will be paid in TY 2014.  For TY 2015, the Office of 
Revenue Analysis used the five year average amount of sales and use tax refunds issued to 
the three taxpayers with long term project status agreements. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $5,938,019 7 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $4,407,796 3 
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Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include an exemption for “[p]ersonal property and 
services used or consumed in development, construction, rehabilitation, renovation, repair or 
operation of housing facilities for low and moderate income families and persons” and 
“[s]ervices used or consumed in the development, construction, rehabilitation, renovation or 
repair of housing facilities for low and moderate income families in qualified census tracts or 
difficult development areas.” 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(29) and 12-412(100) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include an exemption for “[S]ales of tangible personal property 
and transmission and distribution of electricity to qualified development zone businesses.” 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(87) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provisions include the exemption of “[S]ales of building 
materials and supplies to be used in the construction, reconstruction, alteration, remodeling 
or repair of…any building, structure, residence, school or other facility included under any 
written contract dated on or after January 1, 1985 arising out of or related to the 
Massachusetts Port Authority residential and school soundproofing programs, 
notwithstanding whether such building, structure, residence, school or other facility is owned 
by or held in trust for the benefit of the Massachusetts Port Authority or is used exclusively 
for public purposes.” 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(f)(3) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont exempts from the sales and use tax “[S]ales of building materials within 
any three consecutive years: i) in excess of one million dollars in purchase value, which may 
be reduced to $250,000.00 in purchase value upon approval of the Vermont economic 
progress council… used in the construction, renovation or expansion of facilities which are 
used exclusively, except for isolated or occasional uses, for the manufacture of tangible 
personal property for sale, or ii) in excess of $250,000.00 in purchase value incorporated into 
a downtown redevelopment project as defined by rule by the commissioner of the department 
of housing and community affairs. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(39) (Section 9741(39)(i) is not available for 
new purchases as of January 1, 2007 and is repealed effective January 1, 2017.) 
 

71. Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation Lessees: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 45-37.1-9 
 
Stated Purpose:  The exercise of the powers granted by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
45-37.1 titled “Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation” will be in all respects for the 
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benefit of the people of Rhode Island, the increase of their commerce, welfare, and prosperity 
and for the improvement of their health and living conditions and will constitute the 
performance of an essential government. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1967 / 2011 
 
Description:  The Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation (RIIFC) is not required to 
pay any taxes or assessments upon or in respect of a project, or any property or moneys of 
the corporation.  In the case of any person, partnership, corporation, or concern leasing a 
project from RIIFC any such person, partnership, corporation or concern so leased shall be 
exempt from payment of state sales tax applicable to materials used in construction of such a 
facility only to the extent that the costs of such materials do not exceed the amount financed 
through the corporation.  The sales tax benefits granted only apply to materials used in the 
construction, reconstruction or rehabilitation of the project and to the acquisition of furniture, 
fixtures and equipment, except automobiles, trucks or other motor vehicles, or materials that 
otherwise are depreciable and have a useful life of one year or more. 
 
Effective June 30, 2011 this exemption was repealed.   
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony at the November 2013 Revenue 
Estimating Conference.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $1,685,485 2 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $152,744 2 
 
Projection Methodology:  This exemption was repealed effective July 1, 2011 for projects not 
approved on or before June 30, 2011.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2015 Sales and Use Tax n/a n/a 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
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72. Sacramental Wines Sold Directly to Member of Clergy: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 3-10-1(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1933 / 1997  
 
Description:  Sacramental wines sold directly to a member of the clergy for use by the 
purchaser, or his or her congregation for sacramental or other religious purposes is exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 3-10. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Alcoholic Beverage Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Sacramental wines are exempt from the excise tax on alcoholic beverages. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 138, § 21 
 

73.  Sales and Use Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30.A(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1965 / 1986 
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Description:  The use tax provisions of Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 do not 
apply to the use, storage or other consumption in Rhode Island of tangible personal property 
purchased at retail outside the state where the purchaser has paid a sales or use tax equal to or 
greater than the amount imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 in another 
taxing jurisdiction.  If the purchaser has paid a sales or use tax in an amount less than the 
amount imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 in another taxing jurisdiction, 
then the purchaser must pay to the tax administrator the difference in the amount paid to the 
other taxing jurisdiction and the amount that would be imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A credit is allowed if any taxable property or services have already been 
subjected to sales or use tax in another state or political subdivision thereof. Connecticut tax 
is due only on the difference between the applicable Connecticut rate and the rate on which 
the other jurisdiction’s tax was computed. If the other jurisdiction’s rate was higher than 
Connecticut’s, no further tax is due.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-430(5) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s use tax provisions do not apply to the use, storage or consumption in Maine 
of purchases made outside the state, if the purchaser paid the other jurisdiction a sales or use 
tax equal or greater to the amount of tax imposed by Maine. However, if the amount of tax 
paid to the other jurisdiction is less than the amount imposed by Maine, the purchaser must 
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pay tax in an amount representing the difference between the tax paid in the other jurisdiction 
and the total amount of tax that otherwise would be due to Maine.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1862 
 
Massachusetts:  A credit is allowed against Massachusetts use tax for sales tax paid to 
another state or territory on purchases of items for use, storage or other consumption in 
Massachusetts.  The credit is allowed if (1) the other state allows a corresponding credit on 
sales or use tax paid to Massachusetts on property brought into the other state, (2) a sales or 
similar tax was actually paid to the other reciprocal state, and (3) the tax paid to the other 
state was legally due without any right to a refund or credit. If the Massachusetts tax rate is 
higher than the rate of the other state’s tax, the use tax is payable to the extent of the rate 
difference. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64I, § 7(c) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions apply to motor vehicles only.  Motor vehicles on which a 
state sales or use has been paid by the person applying for registration in Vermont or paid by 
the person at the time of the tax payment to another state was the spouse of the person now 
applying for registration. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8911(9) 
 

74. Sales Beyond Constitutional Power of State: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use, or other consumption of tangible personal property the 
gross receipts from the sale of which, or the storage, use, or other consumption of which, 
Rhode Island is prohibited from taxing under the Constitution of the United States or under 
the Constitution of Rhode Island are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of tangible personal property or services which this state is prohibited 
from taxing under the Constitution or laws of the United States are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(2) 
 
Maine:  Sales the State is prohibited from taxing under the Constitution or laws of the United 
States or under the Constitution of this State are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(1) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales which the Commonwealth is prohibited from taxing under the 
constitution or laws of the United States are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(a) 
 
Vermont:  Sales not within the taxing power of this state under the Constitution of the United 
States are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(1) 
 

75. Sales by Writers, Composers, Artists: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30.B 
 
Stated Purpose:  Prior to December 1, 2013, “The General Assembly makes the following 
findings of facts: (1) The downtown area of the city of Providence has been characterized by 
blighted areas, and dilapidated and abandoned structures; (2) As a result, the downtown area 
has been designated an economic development zone in order to stop the deterioration and 
stimulate economic activity; (3) The capitol center area of the city of Providence has become 
an attractive location, especially with the construction of the Providence Place Mall; (4) In 
order to promote, revitalize and redevelop the "Old Downtown" area of the city of 
Providence it is necessary to provide tax exemptions to this area as it has been designated as 
an economic development zone; (5) In order to promote, revitalize, and redevelop the 
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"Downtown or other industrial or manufacturing buildings" located in the City of Pawtucket, 
it is necessary to provide tax exemptions to this area as it has been designated as an economic 
development zone; (6) The development of an active artistic community, including "artists in 
residence", in this area would promote economic development, revitalization, tourism, 
employment opportunities, and encourage business development by providing alternative 
commercial enterprises while in Providence creating a link between the Old Downtown and 
the Capital Center Area; (7) There is a separate artistic community in the town of Westerly 
which is important to preserve, promote, and revitalize, and which is distinct from that in the 
city of Providence; (8) There is a separate artistic community in the city of Woonsocket 
which is important to promote and revitalize and which is distinct from that in the cities of 
Providence and Pawtucket and the town of Westerly; (9) There is a separate artistic 
community in the city of Warwick which is important to preserve, promote, and revitalize 
and which is distinct from that in the cities of Providence, Pawtucket, Woonsocket and the 
town of Westerly; (10) There are separate artistic communities in the city of Newport and in 
the town of Tiverton which are important to promote and revitalize and which are distinct 
from those in the cities of Providence, Pawtucket, Warwick and Woonsocket and the towns 
of Westerly and Little Compton; (11) There is a separate artistic community in the town of 
Warren which is important to promote and revitalize and which is distinct from that in the 
cities of Providence, Pawtucket, Newport, Warwick and Woonsocket and the towns of 
Westerly and Tiverton.” 
 
Effective December 1, 2013 the stated purpose was changed to: “The general assembly makes 
the following findings of facts:  (1) The arts and culture are a significant asset for Rhode 
Island, one which generates revenue through increased tourism and economic activity, 
creates jobs and economic opportunities, revitalizes communities adding to quality of life and 
property values, and fosters creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship. (2) Since 1998 the 
establishment of arts districts where “one-of-a-kind limited production” works of art may be 
sold exempt from state sales tax has resulted in an increased presence for the arts in 
designated cities and towns, with benefits to those communities and to the state. (3) Since the 
establishment of arts districts, many communities have sought legislation to expand the 
program to their city or town.  (4) There is value in expanding the arts district program 
statewide, providing incentives for the sale and purchase of art. This is a unique opportunity 
for Rhode Island to shape history, and gain an advantage over other states, by becoming the 
first and only state in the country to declare a statewide sales tax exemption on art. This will 
strengthen Rhode Island's identity as an arts-friendly destination and “State of the Arts”.” 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / 2013 
 
Description:  Prior to December 1, 2013, the works of writers, composers, and artists 
residing in and conducting a business within a section of the defined economic development 
zone in the cities of Providence or Pawtucket, or the defined economic development zone in 
the town of Westerly or the defined economic zone in the city of Woonsocket, or the defined 
economic zone in the city of Warwick, or in those areas within the city of Newport, and the 
town of Little Compton, which are zoned “general business,” “waterfront business” or 
“limited business,” or have been designated by the city of Newport as part of the arts district, 
or in those areas of the town of Warren which are zoned “waterfront district,” “special 
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district,” “village business district,” “manufacturing district,” “business district” or “Warren 
historic district,” or in those areas of the town of Tiverton which are zoned “business 
commercial,” “business waterfront” or “village commercial” are exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
A “work” means an original and creative work, whether written, composed or executed for 
“one-of-a-kind limited” production and which falls into one of the following categories:  (i) 
A book or other writing; (ii) a play or the performance of said play; (iii) a musical 
composition or the performance of said composition; (iv) A painting or other like picture; (v) 
a sculpture; (vi) traditional and fine crafts; (vii) the creation of a film or the acting within the 
film; or (viii) the creation of a dance or the performance of the dance.  
 
Effective December 1, 2013, this exemption was expanded to apply to the sales of artistic 
works by: (a) an individual who is a resident of and has a principal place of business situated 
in this state; (b) a writer, composer or artist conducting their business as a legal entity 
organized and registered under the laws of this state and that has its principal place of 
business situated in this state; or (c) any art gallery located in the state of Rhode Island.  In 
addition, print and photograph were added to the list of original and creative works of art that 
are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Fiscal Note 2013-S-0743, Rhode Island Budget Office.  Excise Tax Section, 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Revenue forgone is based on eligible sales of artistic 
works in Rhode Island multiplied by 7.0 percent.  It is assumed that one third of sales in 
Rhode Island occur at a location that qualifies for this exemption.  Beginning on December 1, 
2013, this exemption includes the sale of artistic works statewide.  Number of taxpayers for 
TY 2013 reflects the number of sales tax exemption certificates issued by the Division of 
Taxation on December 1, 2013. 
 
Reliability Index:  2   
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $896,548 175 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $907,550 175 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $918,693 175 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $1,085,527 543 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2014 and TY 2015 revenue forgone is projected using Fiscal 
Note 2013-S-0743.  Beginning December 1, 2013, this exemption includes the sale of artistic 
works statewide.  As a result, total estimated sales of artistic works were used to projected 
revenue forgone for that time frame.  Number of taxpayers is held constant. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $2,848,575 543 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $2,922,555 543 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

76. Sales in Municipal Economic Development Zones: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30.C 
 
Stated Purpose:  The General Assembly makes the following findings of fact: (1) Various 
sections of several towns in the state, including, but not limited to, the town of West 
Warwick, are deteriorated, blighted areas which have created very difficult challenges to 
economic development; (2) Several areas of the state are in a distressed financial condition as 
defined by Rhode Island General Law Section 45-13-12(b) and cannot finance economic 
development projects on its own without the participation of private enterprise; (3) The 
General Assembly has found that it is nearly impossible for private enterprise alone to meet 
these challenges; (4) In certain sections of financially distressed communities, the serious 
challenges of economic development and/or redevelopment have not been met by private 
enterprise alone and the impact is being felt throughout the community; (5) Legislation 
enacted to encourage redevelopment of the deteriorated, blighted areas through the formation 
of local redevelopment agencies has had very limited success; (6) Various states, such as 
New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Michigan, have had a great deal of success in generating 
economic development by exercising the authority to exempt and/or stabilize taxes; (7) The 
State of Rhode Island has generated economic growth by redirecting and/or exempting 
certain commercial and retail activity from the imposition of sales, use and income taxes with 
recent examples being the Providence Place Mall, the Arts Districts in the cities of 
Providence, Pawtucket and Westerly, and financial services and aquaculture industries; (8) 
Most recently, municipalities in our state have had great success in attracting large 
commercial development, including financial services, manufacturing, and major energy 
facilities, due in large part to the authority to exempt and/or stabilize property, tangible 
and/or inventory taxes; (9) Attracting large non-residential developments or encouraging 
expansion of existing commercial entities can be extremely important to municipalities, 
where the quality of public education is largely dependent on the local tax base, thereby 
expanding the commercial tax base and reducing reliance upon the residential tax base; (10) 
The ability to attract this development and increase the non-residential tax base, in turn, 
improves municipalities’ ability to finance school systems, municipal services and 
infrastructure, thereby improving the quality of life; (11) In addition to increasing the local 
non-residential tax base, this development creates construction jobs, permanent jobs, and 
spurs additional investment by private enterprises; and (12) Providing authority to offer tax 
exemptions from, or to stabilize, the imposition of sales and use taxes will attract and assist 
in expanding, revitalizing and redeveloping the tax base in our municipalities, thereby 
providing long-term economic benefits and development.  
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Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2002 / 2005  
 
Description:  All businesses engaging in qualifying sales and located in new construction in a 
Municipal Economic Development (MED) Zone are exempt from the requirement to charge 
and collect 50.0 percent of the current sales and use tax pursuant to Rhode Island General 
Law Sections 44-18-18 and 44-18-20 for a period of 10 years.  Sales and use taxes collected 
in a MED Zone shall be returned to the municipality in which the MED Zone is located in 
accordance with the provisions of Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30.C(b).  
Qualifying sales do not include “gambling activities, or the retail sales of motor vehicles, 
furniture, home furnishings, including mattresses and oriental rugs, tobacco products or 
packaged alcoholic beverages.”  In addition, qualifying sales must originate and have the 
point of delivery within the same MED Zone. 
 
Data Source:  As of January 1, 2013, no business has applied for status as an eligible 
business engaging in qualifying sales in a MED Zone. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Vermont has a similar provision. 
 
Vermont:  Receipts from the tax imposed by this chapter on sales of construction materials 
used in qualified projects…shall be allocated…and paid to the municipality in which the 
project is located as follows:  (1) In a municipality in which the population is 7,500 residents 
or less, all receipts from sales in excess of $100,000 of construction materials used in each 
separate qualified project located in that municipality; (2) In a municipality in which the 
population is greater than 7,500 residents but fewer than 30,000 residents, all receipts from 
sales in excess of $200,000 of construction materials used in each separate qualified project 
located in that municipality; or (3) In a municipality in which the population is more than 
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30,000 residents, all receipts from sales in excess of $1.0 million of construction materials 
used in each separate qualified project located in that municipality 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9819(a) 
 

77. Sales in Public Buildings by Blind People: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(14) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1965 / 1988 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of all products or wares offered for 
purchase in all public buildings from a person licensed under Rhode Island General Law 
Section 40-9-11.1 titled “Authorization to Establish Vending Facilities for the Blind on State 
Property” is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  2010, 2011, and 2012 Annual Reports, Office of Rehabilitation Services, 
Rhode Island Department of Human Services.  Revenue forgone is based on sales generated 
through the Business Enterprises Program multiplied by 7.0 percent.  Number of taxpayers 
reflects the number of licensed blind vendors. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $107,597 17 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $114,825 16 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $103,600 13 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exemption and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2012.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $103,600 13 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $103,600 13 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $103,600 13 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
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78. Sales of Motor Vehicles to Non-Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(13) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1958 / 1990 
 
Description:  The sale of a motor vehicle to a bona fide non-resident who does not register 
the motor vehicle in Rhode Island regardless of where the sale or delivery of the motor 
vehicle took place is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-
18.  If a motor vehicle is sold to a bona fide non-resident whose state of residence does not 
allow a like exemption to its non-residents, then a sales tax is imposed at a rate equal to the 
rate that would have been imposed in the bona fide non-resident’s home state not to exceed 
the rate that is imposed under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20.  When 
computing the tax, the licensed Rhode Island motor vehicle dealer shall take into 
consideration the law in the bona fide non-resident’s state of residence as it pertains to the 
trade-in of motor vehicles.  The sales tax collected by the Rhode Island licensed motor 
vehicle dealer is remitted to the tax administrator. 
 
It should be noted that Massachusetts is a non-reciprocal state to Rhode Island when it comes 
to the assessment of a sales tax on the sale of motor vehicles to bona fide non-residents.  
Thus, sales by Rhode Island motor vehicle dealers to residents of Massachusetts are subject 
to Rhode Island sales tax up to the Massachusetts sales tax rate.  The sales taxes collected 
from Massachusetts residents are remitted to the Rhode Island Department of Revenue.  For 
TY 2011, applied the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales tax 
receipts to TY 2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index:  1  
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $2,872,468 2,499 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $3,122,361 2,499 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
registry sales tax receipts to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone.  
TY 2013 through TY 2015 assumes no additional growth.  Number of taxpayers is held 
constant.   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $3,192,731 2,499 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $3,192,731 2,499 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $3,192,731 2,499 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $3,192,731 2,499 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provision allows an exemption from the sales tax for non-
residents who do not register the vehicle in Connecticut. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(60) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions exempt the sales of motor vehicles, truck bodies and trailers, 
semitrailers, aircraft and camper trailers purchased by a non-resident or a resident business 
and intended to be driven or transported outside the state immediately upon delivery by the 
seller. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(23), 1760(23-A), 1760(23-B), 1760(23-
C) and 1760(23-D) 
 

79. Sales of Non-Motorized Recreational Vehicles Sold to Non-Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(54) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2003 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale of a non-motorized recreational vehicle to a bona fide non-resident 
who does not register the non-motorized recreational vehicle in Rhode Island regardless of 
where the sale or delivery of the non-motorized recreational vehicle took place is exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  If a non-motorized 
recreational vehicle is sold to a bona fide non-resident whose state of residence does not 
allow a like exemption to its non-residents, then a sales tax is imposed at a rate equal to the 
rate that would have been imposed in the bona fide non-resident’s home state not to exceed 
the rate that is imposed under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20.  When 
computing the tax, the licensed Rhode Island non-motorized recreational vehicle dealer shall 
take into consideration the law in the bona fide non-resident’s state of residence as it pertains 
to the trade-in of non-motorized recreational vehicles.  The sales tax collected by the Rhode 
Island licensed non-motorized recreational vehicle dealer is remitted to the tax administrator. 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  317 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 

Non-motorized recreational vehicle is any portable dwelling designed and constructed to be 
used as a temporary dwelling for travel, camping, recreational and vacation use that is 
eligible to be registered for highway use. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions generally exempt sales of camper trailers purchased by a non-
resident and intended to be driven or transported outside the state immediately upon delivery 
by the seller. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(23-C) 
 

80. Sales of Trailers Ordinarily Used for Residential Purposes: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20(d)(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1995  
 
Description:  The sale or transfer of a trailer, other than a camping trailer, of the type 
ordinarily used for residential purposes and commonly known as a house trailer or a mobile 
home is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20. 
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Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $499,307 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $507,294 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $529,729 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $555,381 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $555,381 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $555,381 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include an exemption for mobile manufactured homes 
if such dwelling is permitted as a non-conforming use. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412c(b) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s exemptions include the sales of used manufactured housing and new 
manufactured housing to the extent of all costs, other than materials, included in the sale 
price, but the exemption may not exceed 50.0 percent of the sale price.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(40) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include an exemption of 40.0 percent of the receipts from 
the sales of mobile homes when sold as tangible personal property. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(32) 
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81. Sales to Common Carriers for Use Outside of the State: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-33 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The gross receipts from sales of tangible personal property to a common 
carrier, shipped by the seller via the purchasing carrier under a bill of lading to a point 
outside of Rhode Island and the property is actually shipped to the out-of-state destination for 
use by the carrier in the conduct of its business as a common carrier is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision.  
 
Maine:  Maine does not include an exemption, however a person engaged in furnishing 
common carrier passenger service is entitled to reimbursement of the tax paid on internal 
combustion engine fuel used by that person in locally encouraged vehicles. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 2909 
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82. Sales to Federal Government: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-31 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The gross receipts from the sale of any tangible personal property to the United 
States government, its agencies and instrumentalities are exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $5,055,949 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $5,136,824 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $5,363,998 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $5,623,749 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $5,623,749 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $5,623,749 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.  
 
Connecticut:  Sales of tangible personal property or services to the United States or 
respective agencies are exempt. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(1) 
 
Maine:  Maine does not impose a tax on sales, storage or use on or in connection with sales 
made directly…to the federal government, or to any unincorporated agency or 
instrumentality…the federal government, including agencies and instrumentalities that are 
wholly owned.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(2) and 2557(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales made to the United States, Massachusetts or their political subdivisions 
or agencies are exempt from tax. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(d) 
 
Vermont:  Any sale, service, or admission to a place of entertainment charged by or to…The 
United States of America, any of its agencies and instrumentalities, insofar as it is immune 
from taxation when it is the purchaser, user or consumer, or when it sells services or property 
of a kind not ordinarily sold by private persons is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9743(2) 
 

83. Sales to the State or its Political Subdivisions: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(8) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale to and the storage, use or other consumption by the State of Rhode 
Island, any city, town, district or other political subdivision of the State is exempt from the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18.  Every redevelopment agency 
created pursuant Rhode Island General Law Chapter 45-31 is deemed to be a subdivision of 
the municipality in which it is located. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $35,943,495 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $36,518,447 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $38,133,465 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $39,980,068 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $39,980,068 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $39,980,068 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  The sales of tangible personal property or services to…the state of Connecticut 
or any of the political subdivisions thereof or their respective agencies are exempt.  In 
addition, sales of goods and services to The University of Connecticut Educational Properties 
Incorporated, the Connecticut Resources Recovery Authority for the operation of projects, 
and any tourism district in the state are also exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(1), 12-412(84), 12-412(92) and 12-412(93) 
 
Maine:  Sales to the state or any political subdivision…or to any unincorporated agency or 
instrumentality of either of them or to any incorporated agency or instrumentality of them 
wholly owned by them are exempt.  In addition, sales to nonprofit fire departments, nonprofit 
ambulance services, regional planning commissions and councils of government, nonprofit 
volunteer search and rescue organizations and the Maine Science and Technology 
Foundation are also exempt 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(2), 1760(26), 1760(37), 1760(53), 
1760(68) and 2557(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales to…the Commonwealth or any political subdivision thereof or their 
respective agencies are exempt.  In addition, sales of fire trucks to any volunteer, nonprofit 
fire company or similar organization furnishing public fire protection, and sales of 
ambulances to any volunteer, nonprofit organization furnishing a public ambulance service, 
are also exempt. 
  
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(d) and 6(x) 
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Vermont:  The state of Vermont, its agencies, instrumentalities, public authorities, public 
corporations, and political subdivisions are not subject to sales and use tax when: it is a 
purchaser, user, or consumer; it is a vendor of services or property of a kind not ordinarily 
sold by private persons; or it charges for admission to any amusement.  In addition, a school 
or municipality;…which “[F]or the purposes of this subdivision, “school” means a school as 
defined in 16 V.S.A. § 11(7) and (8) and “municipality” means a city, town, unorganized 
town, village, grant, or gore, are also not subject to sales and use tax.  Finally, sales of 
equipment, supplies, and building materials made directly to volunteer fire departments, 
volunteer ambulance companies, or volunteer rescue squads for official use by the volunteer 
organizations. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9743(1), 9743(6) and 9743(21) 
 

84. Sales to U.S. Government and Operators of Railroad Transportation Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 31-36-13 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1925 / 1977 
 
Description:  Any fuel sold by a distributor to the United States government or to a person, 
firm, or corporation who or which shall use the fuel solely for the operation of railroad 
transportation equipment on fixed rails or tracks is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 31-36. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Revenue forgone is 
based on motor fuel consumption by exempt distributors. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Motor Fuel Tax $218,190 8 

2011 Motor Fuel Tax $436,127 5 

2012 Motor Fuel Tax $515,052 6 

2013 Motor Fuel Tax $870,620 6 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exemption and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2013. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Motor Fuel Tax $870,620 6 

2015 Motor Fuel Tax $870,620 6 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  The gasoline tax is not imposed if the imposition of the tax is precluded by federal 
law or regulation. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 2903(4)(F) 
 
Vermont:  Railroad rolling stock, including depreciable parts, machinery and equipment to be 
installed as a capital asset in such rolling stock, sold for use primarily in the carriage of 
persons or property.  Railroad rolling stock includes locomotives, cabooses, boxcars, tank 
cars, flatbed cars, maintenance of way equipment and all other wheeled vehicles used on rails 
or tracks.  Railroads are also exempt in purchasing diesel fuels. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9741(30) and 9741(7) 
 

85. School Meals: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1989 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of meals served by public, private, 
or parochial schools, school districts, colleges, universities, student organizations, parent 
teacher associations to the students or teachers of a school, college, or university whether the 
meals are served by the educational institutions or by a food service or management entity 
under contract to the educational institutions is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $5,228,115 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $5,311,744 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $5,546,655 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $5,815,250 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $5,815,250 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $5,815,250 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut’s, Maine’s and Massachusetts’ exemptions are under the 
Sales and Use Tax.  New Hampshire’s and Vermont’s exemptions are under the Meals and 
Rooms tax. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of meals and food products to students and teachers by schools, colleges 
and universities and to patients by hospitals, homes for the aged and convalescent homes, 
nursing homes and rest homes are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(9) 
 
Maine:  Meals served to students and teachers by schools, colleges, universities, student 
organizations and parent-teacher associations to the students or teachers of a school are 
exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(6)(A) and 1760(6)(E) 
 
Massachusetts:  Only meals served to students at schools, colleges and universities and meals 
served by camps for children eighteen years of age or under or for developmentally disabled 
individuals are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(cc) 
 
New Hampshire:  Meals served or furnished by an organization operated for educational 
purposes, which organization is exempt from federal income taxation under Section 
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501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, either directly through facilities owned and operated 
by such organization or indirectly through a catering or food service enterprise under contract 
with such organization, but only if such meals are served or furnished:  (A) To students 
regularly attending the organization; (B) To employees, faculty members or administrative 
officers of the organization; (C) To volunteers providing services in connection with the 
organization; or (D) To other persons but only if the meals are served or furnished pursuant 
to an activity which is related to educational purposes and the sponsor of such activity is an 
organization exempt from federal income taxation under Section 501(c) of the Internal 
Revenue Code or the federal or state government of an instrumentality thereof. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78-A:3, X(c)(2) 
 
Vermont:  Schools may sell meals on their own ground without collecting the meals tax.  
Contractors may sell meals to school students and staff under this exemption, but restaurants 
and caterers otherwise subject to the tax may not deliver meals to the schools without 
collecting the tax.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9202(10)(D)(ii)(II) 
 

86. Special Adaptations for Wheelchair Accessible Taxicabs: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(19)(iii) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2007 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale of: special adaptations or the component parts of the special 
adaptations, for a “wheelchair accessible taxicab” as defined in Rhode Island General Law 
Section 39-14-1 and/or a “wheelchair accessible public motor vehicle” as defined in Rhode 
Island General Law Section 39-14.1-1 are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

87. Supplies Used in On-Site Hazardous Waste Recycling, Reuse, or Treatment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(37) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1988 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of tangible personal property or 
supplies used or consumed in the operation of equipment, the exclusive function of which is 
recycling, reuse, or recovery of materials (other than precious metals) from the treatment of 
hazardous wastes as defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 23-19.1-4 are exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 provided that the 
hazardous wastes are generated in Rhode Island solely by the same taxpayer and where the 
personal property is located at, in or adjacent to a generating facility of the taxpayer in Rhode 
Island. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  328 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provision includes an exemption for personal property for 
incorporation into or used in waste treatment facilities. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(21) 
 

88. Supplies Used in Preparing Floral Products and/or Arrangements: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(52) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2000 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use, or other consumption of tangible personal property or 
supplies purchased by florists, garden centers, or other like producers or vendors of flowers, 
plants, floral products, and natural and artificial floral arrangements which are ultimately sold 
with flowers, plants, floral products, and natural and artificial floral arrangements or are 
otherwise used in the decoration, fabrication, creation, processing, or preparation of flowers, 
plants, floral products, or natural and artificial floral arrangements are exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $885,774 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $899,943 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $939,742 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $985,249 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $985,249 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $985,249 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Vermont has a similar provision. 
 
Vermont:  Sales of fresh cut flowers only, by a qualified Section 501(c)(3) organization, 
during a single annual sales event not to exceed seven days, are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9743(3)(D) 
 

89. Telecommunications Carrier Access Services: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(45) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1989 / 2007  
 
Description:  Carrier access service or telecommunications service purchased by a 
telecommunications company from another telecommunications company to facilitate the 
provision of telecommunications service is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-18.  
 
Data Source:  Field Audit Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Tax Year 2010 is 
estimated by applying a two year moving average growth rate to 2005 actual data to estimate 
TY 2006 and TY 2007 telecommunication carrier access charges and then applying a growth 
rate of -0.81 percent to the TY 2007 estimate to sequentially estimate telecommunication 
carrier access service charges for TY 2008, TY 2009 and TY 2010.  Forgone revenue was 
then determined by multiplying the estimated telecommunications carrier access service 
charges by 7.0 percent. 
 
Reliability Index: 2 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $6,147,890 1 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $6,098,297 1 
 
Projection Methodology: TY 2012 through TY 2015 are held constant to TY 2011 values for 
both forgone revenue and number of taxpayers. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $6,098,297 1 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $6,098,297 1 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $6,098,297 1 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $6,098,297 1 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Sales of international and interstate telecommunications services are exempt from 
the service provider tax for all purchasers. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 2557(33) and 2557(34) 
 
Vermont:  Charges for wholesale transactions between telecommunications service providers 
where the service is a component part of a service provided to an end user. This exemption 
includes, but is not limited to, network access charges and interconnection charges paid to a 
local exchange carrier  In addition, the sale of telecommunications service to an affiliate of 
the telecommunications provider is not a taxable transaction under Vermont law. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9741(41) and 9742(10) 
 

90. Textbooks: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(36) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1985 / 2007  
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of textbooks by an “educational 
institution” as defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(18) or within the 
purview of Rhode Island General Law Section 16-63-9(4) or used textbooks are exempt from 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  331 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 

Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  For TY 2011, applied 
the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to TY 
2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $2,950,884 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $2,998,087 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 2012 revenue forgone 
and applied the TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax 
revenues to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 
2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due 
to a lack of reliable data.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $3,130,676 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $3,282,278 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $3,282,278 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $3,282,278 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut exempts sales of college textbooks both new and used to full and 
part-time students enrolled at institutions of higher education or a private occupational 
school. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(109) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of books required for instructional purposes in educational institutions 
are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(m) 
 
Vermont:  Organizations which qualify for exempt status under the provisions of 26 U.S.C. § 
501(c)(3) shall be exempt…if the organization’s gross sales of tangible personal property and 
services which would be subject to tax under this chapter but for this subdivision, in the prior 
year, did not exceed $20,000.00. 
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Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9743(3)(C) 
 

91. Total Loss or Destruction of Motor Vehicle within 120 Days of Tax Payment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-21(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1977  
 
Description:  In the case of a motor vehicle that has been destroyed or been deemed a total 
loss within 120 days of its purchase, the amount of the use tax paid on the vehicle under 
Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20 constitutes an overpayment.  The overpayment 
may be credited against the amount of use tax on any replacement vehicle, which the owner 
acquires or may be refunded in whole or in part. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Expenditures Report 2008, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  TY 2007 
estimate is grown by the TY 2008 over TY 2007 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales 
and use tax receipts to arrive at TY 2008 revenue forgone.  TY 2008 estimate is grown by the 
TY 2009 over TY 2008 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and use tax receipts to 
arrive at TY 2009 revenue forgone.  TY 2009 estimate is grown by the TY 2010 over TY 
2009 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and use tax receipts to arrive at TY 2010 
revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in Rhode Island 
registry sales and use tax revenues was applied to TY 2010 forgone revenue.   
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $444,584 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $483,261 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  The growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and use tax 
revenues for TY 2012 over TY 2011 was applied to TY 2011 revenue forgone to project TY 
2012 revenue forgone.  The growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and use tax revenues 
for TY 2013 over TY 2012 was applied to TY 2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 
revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the 
number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data.  
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $494,153 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $522,401 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $522,401 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $522,401 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Vermont has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  No use tax shall be payable in cases of purchase when a motor vehicle which 
has been declared a total loss…is rebuilt for sale or use, provided the purchaser was 
subjected to the sales and use tax for the last taxable sale of the vehicle. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-431(a)(2)(D) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include exemption for the total loss or destruction of a 
vehicle from an accident occurring within 3 months of the purchase. 
 
Vermont’s Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8902(5)(D)(ii) 
 

92. Trade-In Value of Boats: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(41) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of “so much of the purchase price 
paid for a new or used boat as is allocated for a trade-in allowance on the boat of the buyer 
given in trade to the seller or of the proceeds applicable only to the boat as are received from 
an insurance claim as a result of a stolen or damaged boat, towards the purchase of a new or 
used boat by the buyer” is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Where a trade-in…of any vessel…is received by a retailer of…such vessels 
upon the sale of another… such vessel to a consumer, the tax is only on the difference 
between the sale price of… such vessel purchased and the amount allowed on… such vessel 
traded in on such purchase. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-430(4) 
 
Maine:  When one or more watercraft are traded in toward the sale price of another 
watercraft, the tax imposed… must be levied only upon the difference between the sale price 
of the watercraft and the trade-in allowance of the watercraft taken in trade. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1765(3) 
 
Massachusetts:  Where a trade-in of a boat is received by a dealer in boats… upon the sale of 
another boat to a consumer or user, the tax shall be imposed only on the difference between 
the sale price of the boat purchased and the amount allowed on the boat traded in on such 
purchase.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 27A 
 
Vermont:  Sales price does not include credit for any trade-in where trade-in means an 
allowance…made for like-kind property given to a vendor. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9701(4)(B)(v) 
 

93. Trade-In Value of Private Passenger Automobiles: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(23) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1975 / 2011 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of “so much of the purchase price 
paid for a new or used automobile as is allocated for a trade-in allowance on the automobile 
of the buyer given in trade to the seller, or of the proceeds applicable only to the automobile 
as are received from the manufacturer of automobiles for the repurchase of the automobile 
whether the repurchase was voluntary or not towards the purchase of a new or used 
automobile by the buyer” is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-18.  The term “automobile” means a private passenger automobile not used for 
hire and does not refer to any other motor vehicle.  
  
Prior to October 1, 2011, proceeds received as a result of an insurance claim for the total loss 
of a motor vehicle were exempt from sales tax. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2010 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation Model.  No 
reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  Due to the change to 
this exemption effective October 1, 2011, the forgone revenue estimate for TY 2011 is 
adjusted for the change in law.  For TY 2011, the TY 2011 over TY 2010 growth rate in 
Rhode Island registry sales and use tax receipts was applied to an adjusted TY 2010 forgone 
revenue figure.   
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $8,916,324 No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $9,563,213 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the TY 2012 over TY 2011 growth rate in Rhode Island 
registry sales and use tax receipts to TY 2011 revenue forgone (adjusted to take into account 
the change in the exemption for a full year) to project TY 2012 revenue forgone.  Applied the 
TY 2013 over TY 2012 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales and use tax receipts to TY 
2012 revenue forgone to project TY 2013 revenue forgone.  TY 2014 and TY 2015 assume 
no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of 
reliable data.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $9,383,648 No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $9,920,076 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $9,920,076 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $9,920,076 No estimate possible 
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Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Where a trade-in of a motor vehicle is received by a motor vehicle dealer upon 
the sale of another motor vehicle to a consumer…the tax is only on the difference between 
the sale price of the motor vehicle…and the amount allowed on the motor vehicle…traded in 
on such purchase. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-430(4) 
 
Maine:  When one or more motor vehicles are traded in toward the sale price of another 
motor vehicle, the tax imposed… must be levied only upon the difference between the sale 
price of the motor vehicle and the trade-in allowance of the motor vehicle taken in trade. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1765(1) 
 
Massachusetts:  Where a trade-in of a motor vehicle…is received by a dealer… upon the sale 
of another motor vehicle…to a consumer or user, the tax shall be imposed only on the 
difference between the sales price of the motor vehicle… purchased and the amount allowed 
on the motor vehicle… traded in on such purchase. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 26 
 
Vermont:  For any purchaser who has paid tax on the purchase or use of a motor vehicle that 
was sold or traded by the purchaser…the taxable cost of the replacement motor 
vehicle…shall exclude the value allowed by the seller on any motor vehicle accepted by him 
as part of the consideration of the motor vehicle, provided the motor vehicle accepted by the 
seller is owned and previously or currently registered by the purchaser, with no change of 
ownership since registration. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8902(5)(A) 
 

94. Transfers or Sales Made to Immediate Family Members: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20(d)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1995 
 
Description:  The sale or transfer of tangible personal property that is otherwise subject to the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 is exempt from said tax “when the 
transferee or purchaser is the spouse, mother, father, brother, sister, or child of the transferor 
or seller.” 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
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Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  No use tax shall be payable in cases of purchase of motor vehicles, vessels, 
snowmobiles and aircraft when the purchaser is the spouse, mother, father, brother, sister or 
child of the seller. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-431(a)(2)(A) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include an exemption for family members 
including a spouse, mother, father, brother, sister, or child of the seller in the purchase of 
motor vehicles, trailers, boats and airplanes. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64I, § 7(b) 
 

95. Transfers or Sales Related to Business Dissolution or Partial Liquidation: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20(d)(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 1995 
 
Description:  The sale or transfer of tangible personal property that is otherwise subject to the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 is exempt from said tax “when the 
transfer or sale is made in connection with the organization, reorganization, dissolution, or 
partial liquidation of a business entity provided that: (1) the last taxable sale, transfer or use 
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of the article being sold was subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-18; (2) the transferee is the business entity referred to or is a stockholder, owner, 
member or partner; and (3) any gain or loss to the transferor is not recognized” as income for 
federal income tax purposes. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  No use tax shall be payable in cases of purchase when a motor vehicle or 
vessel is sold in connection with the organization, reorganization or liquidation of an 
incorporated business, provided the last taxable sale or use of the motor vehicle or vessel was 
subjected to the sales or use tax and the purchaser is the incorporated business or a 
stockholder thereof. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-431(a)(2)(B) 
 
Maine:  A retail sale that is subject to the sales and use tax includes the sale or liquidation of 
a business or the sale of substantially all of the assets of a business, to the extent that the 
seller purchased the assets of the business for resale, lease or rental in the ordinary course of 
business, except when: the sale is to an affiliated entity and the transferee,…purchases the 
assets for resale, lease or rental in the ordinary course of business; or  the sale is to a person 
that purchases the assets for resale, lease or rental in the ordinary course of business or that 
purchases the assets for transfer to an affiliate,…for resale, lease or rental by the affiliate in 
the ordinary course of business. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1752(11)(A)(4) 
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Massachusetts:  The sale or transfer of a motor vehicle, trailer, or other vehicle to or from a 
business entity is exempt from tax as follows, provided that the transferor previously paid the 
sales or use tax on the vehicle, and (a) the sale or transfer must be pursuant to a transaction 
which qualifies as a “reorganization;” or (b) the sale or transfer must be pursuant to the 
formation of a partnership or corporate trust, or pursuant to the organization of a corporation, 
solely in exchange for an ownership interest in the enterprise; or (c) the sale or transfer must 
be to an owner of a business entity solely in exchange for the owner’s interest on the 
complete dissolution of a partnership or corporate trust, or the complete liquidation of a 
corporation. 
 
Massachusetts Regulation:  830 CMR 64H.25.1 Motor Vehicles 
 
Vermont:  The transfer of tangible personal property to a corporation in a reorganization, a 
merger or consolidation; the distribution of property by a corporation in liquidation, the 
distribution of property by a partnership in liquidation is exempt from tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9742(2) through 9742(6) 
 

96. Transportation Charges of Motor Carriers to Haul Goods: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(40) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale or hiring of motor carriers as defined in Rhode Island General Law 
Section 39-12-2(1) to haul goods when the contract or hiring cost is charged by a motor 
freight tariff filed with the Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission based on the number of 
miles driven or by the number of hours spent on the job is exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 

  
97. Vehicles Purchased by Non-Resident Military Personnel Subject to Sales Tax 

Elsewhere: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30.A(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law.  
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1965 / 1986 
 
Description:  The use, storage or other consumption of a motor vehicle purchased in Rhode 
Island where the buyer is an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces stationed 
outside of Rhode Island and where the buyer has paid a sales or use tax greater than or equal 
to the amount imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 is exempt from the use 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-20.  If the buyer has paid a sales or 
use tax in an amount less than that imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18, 
then the buyer must pay the difference between the amount of the tax paid and the amount of 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18 to the tax administrator. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of motor vehicles to non-resident members of the armed forces on full-
time active duty in Connecticut or their spouses are taxed at a reduced 4.5 percent rate, 
provided that the retailer requires and obtains documentation including a declaration under 
penalty of false statement confirming the purchaser’s military status and state of residency.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-408(1)(B) 
 
Maine:  Sales of an automobile purchased and used by the present owner outside the State 
and if the owner is an individual who was, at the time of purchase, a resident of the other 
state. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(45)(A) 
 
Vermont:  The motor vehicle purchase and use tax shall not apply to motor vehicles on which 
a state sales or use tax has been paid by the person applying for a registration in Vermont. If 
the tax paid in another state is less than the Vermont tax the tax due shall be the difference. 
 
Vermont Statute: Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8911(9) 
 

98. Water for Residential Use: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(28) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1977 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of water provided for domestic use 
by occupants of residential premises is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source: Annual Survey of Rhode Island Water Rates 2010, Rhode Island Water 
Resources Board.  TY 2010 estimate is based on usage of 60,000 gallons per household at an 
average cost of $356.96 per year.  It is estimated that there were 410,639 households in 
Rhode Island in calendar year 2010.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the total 
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yearly sales by 7.0 percent.  CY 2011 determined by applying the growth rate in Rhode 
Island’s population as per the U.S. Census between July 1, 2011 and July 1, 2010 to the 
number of taxpayers, multiplying this figure by the $356.96 average annual cost of water 
consumption and multiplying this result by 7.0 percent to compute revenue forgone from the 
exemption. the revenue forgone.   
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax $10,260,719 410,639 

2011 Sales and Use Tax $10,238,105 409,734 
 
Projection Methodology: Similar calculations as used for CY 2011 of population growth 
were determined for CY 2012 and CY 2013 and applied to in the same manner as for CY 
2011.  A three year moving average Rhode Island population growth rate was used to 
estimate CY 2014 and CY 2015 number of taxpayers.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  $10,237,656 409,716 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $10,265,167 410,817 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $10,245,677 410,037 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $10,249,450 410,188 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut exempts the sales of water, steam and telegraph services, when 
delivered to consumers through mains, lines, pipes or bottles.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(3)(C) 
 
Maine:  Sales of water purchased for use in buildings designed and used for both human 
habitation and sleeping, with the exception of hotels, are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(39) 
 
Massachusetts:  The sales, furnishing, and service of water is exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(i) 
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99.  Wine and Spirits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(64)  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 2013 
 
Description:  The sale by a Class A Licensee of alcoholic beverages or the storage, use or 
other consumption of wine and spirits is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-18 for the period December 1, 2013 through March 31, 2015. 
 
Data Source: Sales and Taxation of Alcoholic Beverages in Rhode Island, May 1, 2013, 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation and Rhode Island House Fiscal Office 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2013 revenue loss based on estimated FY 2014 revenue loss of 
$7,173,128 adjusted to reflect the single month of forgone revenue.  TY 2014 revenue loss is 
based on the aforementioned FY 2014 revenue loss and the FY 2015 revenue loss of 
$9,643,118 adjusted to reflect the twelve months of forgone revenue.  TY 2015 revenue loss 
is based on the aforementioned FY 2015 revenue loss adjusted to reflect three months of 
forgone revenue.  No estimate of the number of taxpayers is possible. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Sales and Use Tax $1,371,152 No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax $11,757,047 No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax $3,688,247 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

100. Youth Activities Equipment Sold for $20 or Less: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-18-30(31) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1984 / 1995 
 
Description:  The sale for not more than $20 per item by non-profit charitable organizations 
for youth activities which the organization is formed to sponsor and support or by accredited 
elementary and secondary schools for the purposes of the schools or of organized activities of 
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enrolled students and the storage, use or other consumption of such items are exempt from 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A sales and use tax exemption is provided for sales of items for $20 or less 
made by eleemosynary organizations when the sales are made for purposes of supporting 
youth activities.  Examples of such organizations include:  Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Parent-
Teacher Organizations, Boys’ and Girls’ Clubs, Little League, Pee Wee Football, 4-H Clubs, 
Camp Fire Girls and Junior Achievement.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(26) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of tangible personal property by a nonprofit organization for 
fundraising purposes are exempt from sales tax as casual and isolated sales if (i) the 
organization does not make sales in the regular course of business of the same type of 
property and if (ii) amounts derived from such casual and isolated sales are used to further 
the organization’s exempt purpose. 
 
Massachusetts Regulation:  830 CMR Section 64H.6.1(4)(a)  
 
Maine:  Sales of tangible personal property and taxable services by elementary and 
secondary schools and by student organizations sponsored by those schools, including 
booster clubs and student or parent-teacher organizations, as long as the profits from the sales 
are used to benefit those schools or student organizations or are used for a charitable purpose. 
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(64) 
 
Vermont:  Any sale by the state of Vermont, or any of its agencies, instrumentalities, public 
authorities, public corporations or political subdivisions when it is a vendor of services or 
property of a kind not ordinarily sold by private persons is exempt from the sales and use tax.  
In addition, sales by qualified Section 501(c)(3) organizations shall be exempt form the sales 
and use tax if the organization’s gross sales of tangible personal property and services which 
would be subject to the sales and use tax but for this exemption, in the prior year, did not 
exceed $20,000. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9743(1) and 9743(3)(C) 
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1. Bonus Depreciation Provided by JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 2003: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-61-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2002 / 2008  
 
Description:  For purposes of depreciating assets under Rhode Island General Law Chapters 
44-11, 44-14 and 44-30, the bonus depreciation provided by the federal Job Creation and 
Workers Assistance Act (JCWAA) of 2002 and the federal Jobs Growth Tax Relief 
Reconciliation Act (JGTRRA) of 2003, or any subsequent enactment for federal tax 
purposes, is not allowed for Rhode Island tax purposes.  In the year those assets are placed in 
service and in all subsequent years, depreciation for Rhode Island tax purposes is allowed as 
it would have been computed prior to the enactment of the JCWAA of 2002. 
 
The JCWAA of 2002 allowed a special 30.0 percent bonus depreciation deduction in the first 
year for qualifying proper ty purchased after September 10, 2001, and before September 11, 
2004, for purposes of computing federal net income.  In addition, the JCWAA of 2002 
modified Internal Revenue Code Section 168(k) to allow taxpayers to claim an additional 
first-year bonus depreciation allowance on any new Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery 
System (MACRS) property when the recovery period is 20 years or less.  The additional 
depreciation allowance is equal to 30.0 percent of the adjusted cost basis of the property after 
any Internal Revenue Code Section 179 expense deductions are taken.  The JGTRRA of 
2003 increased the bonus depreciation deduction from 30.0 percent to 50.0 percent for assets 
purchased after May 5, 2003, but before January 1, 2005.  The American Jobs Creation Act 
of 2004 extended some bonus depreciation rules for certain aircraft as well as other items.  
The Economic Stimulus Act of 2008 reintroduced bonus depreciation of 50.0 percent for 
qualifying property placed in service in tax year 2008.  The American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act of 2009 extended the 50.0 percent bonus depreciation for qualifying 
property placed in service in tax year 2009.  The Small Business Jobs Act of 2010 increased 
the bonus depreciation from 50.0 percent to 100.0 percent for qualifying property acquired 
and placed in service after September 8, 2010, but before January 1, 2012.  Qualifying 
property acquired on or before September 8, 2010 is eligible for the 50.0 percent bonus 
depreciation, provided that it was placed in service prior to January 1, 2013.  The American 
Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 extends the 50.0 percent bonus depreciation for qualifying 
property placed in service in tax year 2013. 
 
Rhode Island’s disallowance of bonus depreciation is a timing issue.  In the year that an asset 
is put in service and is eligible for the federal bonus depreciation, a Rhode Island taxpayer 
must take as a modification increasing federal adjusted gross income (federal AGI) the 
difference in the bonus depreciation amount allowed on the federal tax return and the 
depreciation amount allowed for Rhode Island tax purposes.  In subsequent years, a Rhode 
Island taxpayer may take as a modification decreasing federal AGI the difference in the 
depreciation amount allowed for Rhode Island tax purposes and the depreciation amount 
allowed on the federal tax return.  At the end of the asset’s “useful” life, the same amount of 
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depreciation will be realized by the taxpayer on both the federal and the Rhode Island tax 
returns.  Thus, over the life of the asset, there is no net impact on Rhode Island tax 
collections. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations Tax:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Corporate 
Income – C Returns Only, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  This modification includes 
combined bonus depreciation and enhanced Section 179 expensing for C-corporations only 
and the amounts are not necessarily specific to Rhode Island-based activity.  For TY 2010 
and TY 2011, the total net modification resulted in an increase to federal taxable income; 
therefore, there is no revenue forgone from this modification in TY 2010 or TY 2011.  The 
number of taxpayers includes C-corporations that had a modification increasing or 
decreasing federal taxable income and can include a taxpayer in both categories, provided the 
taxpayer simultaneously had a modification increasing and decreasing federal taxable 
income. 
 
Bank Tax:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) 
calculations.  Modifications include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal 
adjusted gross income (AGI).  For TY 2010 and TY 2011, the total net modification by 
resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; therefore, there is no revenue 
forgone from this modification in TY 2010 or TY 2011.  The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that either increased or 
decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporations and Personal Income Taxes, 1; Bank Tax, 5  
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 7,715 
2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Personal Income Tax $0 17,422 

2010 Total $0 25,137 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 8,084 
2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Personal Income Tax $0 23,201 

2011 Total $0 31,285 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations and Personal Income Taxes:  Amount of 
modification and number of taxpayers is held constant with TY 2011.   
 
Bank Tax:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 8,084 
2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax $0 23,201 

2012 Projected Total $0 31,285 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 8,084 
2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax $0 23,201 

2013 Projected Total $0 31,285 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 8,084 
2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Personal Income Tax $0 23,201 

2014 Projected Total $0 31,285 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 8,084 
2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Personal Income Tax $0 23,201 

2015 Projected Total $0 31,285 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut personal income tax law requires that for property placed in 
service after September 10, 2001 but prior to September 11, 2004, in taxable years ending 
after September 10, 2001, any additional allowance for depreciation under Section 168(k) of 
the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), as provided by the JCWAA of 2002, to the extent 
deductible in determining federal adjusted gross income be recorded as a modification 
increasing federal adjusted gross income for Connecticut income tax purposes.  In addition, 
Connecticut personal income tax law mandates that to the extent any additional allowance for 
depreciation under Section 168(k) of the IRC, as provided by the JCWAA of 2002, for 
property placed in service after December 31, 2001, but prior to September 10, 2004, was 
added to federal adjusted gross income in computing Connecticut adjusted gross income for a 
taxable year ending after December 31, 2001, 25.0 percent of such additional allowance for 
depreciation in each of the four succeeding taxable years. 
 
Connecticut corporation tax law states that for purposes of determining net income subject to 
tax, the deduction allowed for depreciation shall be determined as provided under the IRC, 
provided that in making such determination the provisions of Section 168(k) of the IRC do 
not apply.  
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-701(a)(20)(A)(ix), 12-701(a)(20)(B)(v) and 12-
217(b)(1) 
 
Maine:  Beginning in tax year 2002, Maine decoupled from federal bonus depreciation.  
Maine’s tax laws require federal adjusted gross income, for personal income tax purposes, 
and federal net income, for corporation tax purposes, to be increased with respect to property 
placed in service during the tax year by an amount equal to the net increase in depreciation 
attributable to:  (1) For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2002 but prior to January 1, 
2006, a 30.0 percent bonus depreciation deduction claimed by the taxpayer pursuant to the 
JCWAA of 2002.  (2) For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2002 but prior to 
January 1, 2006, a 50.0 percent bonus depreciation deduction claimed by the taxpayer 
pursuant to the JGTRRA of 2003.  (3) For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2008 but 
before January 1, 2011, an amount equal to the net increase in depreciation attributable to the 
depreciation deduction claimed by the taxpayer under Section 168(k) of the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) arising from amendments to the code applicable to taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2008.  (4) For tax years beginning in 2011 and 2012, an amount equal to the 
depreciation deduction claimed by the taxpayer under Section 168(k) for which a Maine 
credit is claimed under section 5219-GG; and an amount equal to the net increase in 
depreciation attributable to the depreciation deduction claimed by the taxpayer under Section 
168(k) with respect to property for which a Maine credit is not claimed under section 5219-
GG.  (5) For tax years beginning in 2013, an amount equal to the net increase in depreciation 
attributable to the depreciation deduction claimed by the taxpayer under Section 168(k) for 
which a Maine credit is claimed under section 5219-JJ for that tax year; and an amount equal 
to the net increase in depreciation attributable to the depreciation deduction claimed by the 
taxpayer under Section 168(k) with respect to property for which a Maine credit is not 
claimed under section 5219-JJ. 
 
The addition modifications are recaptured in future years through a series of subtraction 
modifications.  Federal adjusted gross income or federal net income is reduced by a fraction 
of any amount previously added back by the taxpayer.  (1) For tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2002 but prior to January 1, 2006, the adjustment under this paragraph is available 
for each year during the recovery period, beginning 2 years after the beginning of the tax 
year during which the property was first placed in service.  The fraction is equal to the 
amount added back previously with respect to the property, divided by the number of years in 
the recovery period minus 2.  (2) With respect to all other property, for the taxable year 
immediately following the taxable year during which the property was first placed in service, 
the fraction allowed by this paragraph is equal to 5.0 percent of the amount added back 
previously with respect to the property.  For each subsequent taxable year during the 
recovery period, the fraction is equal to 95.0 percent of the amount added back previously 
with respect to the property, divided by the number of years in the recovery period minus 2.  
(3) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, an amount equal to the net 
increase in the depreciation deductions allowable under Sections 167 and 168 of the IRC that 
would have been applicable to that property had the depreciation deduction under Section 
168(k) of the IRC not been claimed with respect to such property placed in service on or after 
January 1, 2008 for which an addition was required in a prior year.  (4) For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2012, an amount equal to the net increase in the depreciation 
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deduction allowable under Sections 167 and 168 of the IRC that would have been applicable 
to that property had the depreciation deduction under Section 168(k) of the IRC not been 
claimed with respect to such property placed in service during the tax year beginning in 2011 
or 2012 for which an addition was required for the tax year beginning in 2011 or 2012.  (5) 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, an amount equal to the net increase in 
the depreciation deduction allowable under Sections 167 and 168 of the IRC that would have 
been applicable to that property had the depreciation deduction under Section 168(k) of the 
IRC not been claimed with respect to such property placed in service during the taxable year 
beginning in 2013 for which an addition was required for the tax year beginning in 2013. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5122(1)(N), 5122(1)(AA), 5122(1)(FF), 
5122(1)(HH), 5122(2)(Q), 5122(2)(AA), 5122(2)(II), 5122(2)(MM), 5200-A(1)(N), 5200-
A(1)(T), 5200-A(1)(Y), 5200-A(1)(AA), 5200-A(2)(M), 5200-A(2)(R), 5200-A(2)(V) and 
5200-A(2)(Y) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts personal income tax law excludes the deduction allowed by 
Section 168(k) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), as amended and in effect for the current 
tax year, from “Part B adjusted gross income.” 
 
Massachusetts taxation of corporations law also excludes from the definition of “net income” 
the deduction allowed by Section 168(k) of the IRC, as amended and in effect for the current 
tax year. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1)(N) and ch. 63, §§ 1, 30(4)(iv) and 
52A(1)(b)(iv) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire defines the “United States Internal Revenue Code” to 
mean “[f]or all tax years beginning after January 1, 2000, the United States Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986 in effect on December 31, 2000.”  Thus, by definition, any amendments to the 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) that occurred after December 31, 2000 are not allowable under 
New Hampshire’s business profits tax and business taxpayers have to adjust the taxable 
income reported on the federal tax return before reporting gross business profits on the New 
Hampshire business tax return.  The adjustment requires: (1) the removal of the federal bonus 
depreciation in effect for the taxable year; and (2) the inclusion of only the depreciation 
allowed under the IRC in effect on December 31, 2000. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, XX 
 
Vermont:  Vermont defines net income for any corporate taxpayer as “the taxable income of 
the taxpayer for that taxable year under the laws of the United States, without regard to 26 
U.S.C. § 168(k) of the Internal Revenue Code, and excluding income which under the laws 
of the United States is exempt from taxation by the states.”  In the case of pass through 
business entities, Vermont defines taxable income as “federal taxable income determined 
without regard to Section 168(k) of the Internal Revenue Code.”   
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5811(18) and 5811(21) 
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2. Companies Engaged in Buying, Selling, Dealing in or Holding Securities on Own 

Behalf: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-2(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 2004 
 
Description:  Corporations that buy, sell, deal in or hold securities on their own behalf and 
“not as a broker, underwriter, or distributor” and whose gross receipts derived from these 
actions amount to at least 90.0 percent of its total gross receipts derived from all activities in 
a taxable year can take as a modification reducing net income 50.0 percent of excess capital 
gains over capital losses for the taxable year prior to computing the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Section 44-11-2. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Every financial institution or business corporation which is engaged 
exclusively in buying, selling, dealing in, or holding securities on its own behalf and not as a 
broker,…and is not a bank holding company under the Internal Revenue Code, as amended 
and in effect for the taxable year…shall pay, on account of each taxable year, an excise equal 
to 0.132 percent of the gross income,…received by such corporation during the taxable year 
or $456, whichever is greater.  For every financial institution or business corporation that is 
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engaged in buying, selling, dealing or holding securities on its own behalf and not as a broker 
and is a bank holding company the respective rate is 0.33 percent of the gross income or 
$456 whichever is greater. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38B 
 

3. Contribution to Medical Savings Accounts by Scituate Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-25.1(d)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2002 / N/A  
 
Description:  A resident individual of the town of Scituate who establishes a medical savings 
account is allowed a modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income prior to 
computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30 for contributions 
made to said medical savings account to the extent such a contribution is deemed taxable 
under the Internal Revenue Code.  The income, including gains and losses on a medical 
savings account, is exempt from taxation. 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  Modifications include 
adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  For TY 
2010, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 percent for 
resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue 
forgone.  For TY 2011, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate 
of 2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to 
determine the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone 
amounts are combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The 
number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification 
that either increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $189 5 

2011 Personal Income Tax $248 4 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $248 4 

2013 Personal Income Tax $248 4 

2014 Personal Income Tax $248 4 

2015 Personal Income Tax $248 4 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

4. Contributions to an Account under Tuition Savings Program: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(c)(4) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2002 / NA 
 
Description:  Contributions made to an account under the tuition savings program, including 
the “contributions carryover”, if any, can be taken as a modification decreasing federal 
adjusted gross income prior to computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-30 subject to the limitation that the aggregate subtraction for any taxable year of 
the taxpayer shall not exceed $500 or $1,000 if a joint return.  The subtraction shall not 
reduce the taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income to less than zero. 
 
The following shall not be considered contributions to an account under the tuition savings 
program:  (1) Contributions made by any person to an account who is not a participant of the 
account at the time the contribution is made; (2) Transfers or rollovers to an account from 
any other tuition savings program account or from any other “qualified tuition program” 
under Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code; or (3) A change of the beneficiary of the 
account. 
 
In the case of a nonqualified withdrawal or distribution from an account in the tuition savings 
program pursuant to Rhode Island General Law Section 16-57-6.1 an amount equal to the 
lesser of the nonqualified withdrawal reduced by any penalty imposed in connection with the 
nonqualified withdrawal plus the earnings portion of the nonqualified withdrawal or the 
amount of taxpayer’s contribution modification for the taxable year of the withdrawal plus 
the two prior taxable years must be taken as a modification increasing federal adjusted gross 
income. 
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  
Modifications include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  For TY 2010, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective 
tax rate of 2.89 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to 
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determine the revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the net decreasing modification is multiplied 
by an effective tax rate of 2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-
resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ 
revenue forgone amounts are combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this 
modification.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers 
with a modification that either increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $78,912 3,205 

2011 Personal Income Tax $90,636 3,802 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected        Forgone 

Revenue 
Projected       Number 

of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $90,636 3,802 

2013 Personal Income Tax $90,636 3,802 

2014 Personal Income Tax $90,636 3,802 

2015 Personal Income Tax $90,636 3,802 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut taxpayers may deduct contributions to accounts established 
pursuant to any qualified state tuition program, as defined in Section 529(b) of the Internal 
Revenue Code, established and maintained by this state or any official, agency or 
instrumentality of the state, but shall not exceed five thousand dollars for each individual 
taxpayer, or ten thousand dollars for taxpayers filing a joint return.  Any amount of a 
contribution that is not subtracted by the taxpayer in that year for which the contribution is 
made, on or after January 1, 2006, may be carried forward as a subtraction from income for 
the succeeding five years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-701(a)(20)(B)(xiii) and 12-701a 
 
Maine:  Taxpayers can subtract from federal adjusted gross income the portion of 
contributions to a qualified tuition program established under Internal Revenue Code Section 
529 up to $250 per designated beneficiary.  This deduction may not be claimed on returns 
when federal adjusted gross income exceeds $100,000 for returns with a filing status of 
single or married filing separately or $200,000 for returns with a filing status of married joint 
or head of household.  
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(Y) 
 
Vermont:  The Vermont Higher Education Investment Plan (VHEIP) tax credit entitles a 
taxpayer, including each spouse filing a joint return, a nonrefundable credit of 10.0 percent of 
the first $2,500 contributed for each beneficiary to a Vermont higher education investment 
plan account.  A taxpayer who has received this credit must repay to the state 10.0 percent of 
any non-qualified distribution from a VHEIP account up to a maximum of the total credits 
received by the taxpayer. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5825a 
 

5. Domestic International Sales Corporations (DISCs): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-11(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1974 / N/A 
 
Description:  “Domestic International Sales Corporations (DISCs) are treated as they are 
under federal income tax law and shall not pay the amount of the tax computed under Rhode 
Island General Law Section 44-11-2(a).  Any income to shareholders of DISCs is to be 
treated in the same manner as it is treated under federal income tax law as it exists on 
December 31, 1984.” 
 
It should be noted that the federal law governing DISCs, specifically Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) Sections 291(a)(4) and 991 through 997 were amended by the Tax Reform Act (TRA) 
of 1984.  For all intents and purposes, the federal tax law provisions concerning DISCs were 
replaced by the creation of Foreign Sales Corporations (FSCs) in the TRA of 1984 and 
codified in Sections 921 through 927 of the IRC. 
 
Data Source:  Due to the effective elimination of DISCs under federal law, it is assumed that 
no such entities would qualify for this tax expenditure provided under Rhode Island General 
Law Section 44-11-11(c). 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows for the deduction of all…dividends received from a DISC 
or former DISC as defined in Section 992 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) and dividends 
deemed to have been distributed by a DISC or former DISC as provided in Section 995 of the 
IRC, other than 30.0 per cent of dividends received from a domestic corporation in which the 
taxpayer owns less than 20.0 per cent of the total voting power and value of the stock of such 
corporation from gross income when determining net income subject to tax. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217(a)(1)(D) 
 
Maine:  Maine imposes its tax on corporations…on each taxable corporation and on each 
group of corporations that derives income from a unitary business carried on by 2 or more 
members of an affiliated group.  By definition, a taxable corporation is a corporation that, at 
any time during that taxable year, realized Maine net income where Maine net income means 
for any corporation, the taxable income of that taxpayer for that taxable year under the laws 
of the United States…and apportionable to Maine.  A corporation is defined as any business 
entity subject to income taxation as a corporation under the laws of the United States.  By 
United States law, a DISC is exempt from income taxation as a corporation. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5102(6), 5102(8), 5102(10) and 5200(1) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts allows for 95.0 percent of dividends, exclusive of 
distributions in liquidation, received from a wholly owned DISC to be deducted from net 
income in determining taxable net income.  A wholly owned DISC is a DISC all of whose 
outstanding shares, except directors’ qualifying shares, are owned by a single corporation, 
either directly or indirectly. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 30(14), 30(15) and 38(a)(1)(ii) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire defines gross business profits to mean the amount of 
taxable income as would be determinable under the provisions of the United States Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) in effect as of December 31, 2000.  To the extent that a DISC does not 
have taxable income under the IRC in effect as of December 31, 2000 it will not be subject to 
New Hampshire’s business profits tax. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, III(a) and XX 
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Vermont:  Vermont imposes a tax on the Vermont net income earned or received in that 
taxable year by every taxable corporation, reduced by any allowed Vermont net operating 
loss.  Vermont net income is defined as the taxable income of the taxpayer for that taxable 
year under the laws of the United States, without regard to Section 168(k) of the Internal 
Revenue Code, and excluding income which under the laws of the United States is exempt 
from taxation by the states.  Under the laws of the United States, a DISC is exempt from 
income taxation as a corporation. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5811(18) and 5832 
 

6. Enterprise Zone Business Owner with Domiciliary in Enterprise Zone: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.3-7 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1982 / 1997  
 
Description:  A domiciliary of an enterprise zone who owns and operates a qualified business 
facility in that zone and which business is not required to file under Rhode Island General 
Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, or 44-17 may take as a modification decreasing federal 
adjusted gross income prior to computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapters 44-11 and 44-30 an amount of $50,000 during the first three years after certification 
and operations in the zone and may deduct $25,000 in the fourth and fifth year.  In the case 
of multiple business owners, the modification shall be apportioned according to the 
ownership interests of the qualified business.  
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations Tax:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure 
item. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Personal Income Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
Modifications include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  For TY 2011, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective 
tax rate of 2.84 percent for resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  The number 
of taxpayers includes all taxpayers with a modification that either increased or decreased 
federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporations Tax, 5; Personal Income Tax, 1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2010 Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Personal Income Tax $5,497 17 

2011 Total $5,497 17 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations Tax:  No projection is made due to lack of 
reliable data. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.   
  

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax $5,497 17 

2012 Projected Total $5,497 17 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax $5,497 17 

2013 Projected Total $5,497 17 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Personal Income Tax $5,497 17 

2014 Projected Total $5,497 17 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Personal Income Tax $5,497 17 

2015 Projected Total $5,497 17 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Maine allows as a modification decreasing the taxable income of the taxpayer under 
the laws of the United States in the case of a corporation, or federal adjusted gross income in 
the case of an individual, an amount equal to the reduction in salaries and wages expense for 
federal income tax purposes associated with the taxpayer’s federal empowerment zone 
employment credit as determined under Section 1396 of the Internal Revenue Code.   
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5122(2)(B) and 5200-A(2)(C) 
 

7.  Expensing of Assets in Lieu of Depreciation, Section 179 of Internal Revenue Code: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-61-1.1 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2003 / 2013  
 
Description:  Beginning on or after January 1, 2014, for purposes of the expensing of assets 
under Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-14 and 44-30, the expense deduction 
for Rhode Island tax purposes shall be allowed in the same manner as is provided for under 
Section 179 of the IRC.  Any remaining tax basis of the asset purchased shall be depreciated 
as provided for under the IRC Sections 167 and 168, excluding § 168(k).   
 
Prior to January 1, 2014, the expense deduction could not exceed $25,000 in any taxable 
year.  The additional expensing of assets under Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) provided by the federal Jobs Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003 
(JGTRRA), or any subsequent enactment for federal tax purposes, was not allowed for 
Rhode Island tax purposes.  In the year assets were placed in service and in all subsequent 
years, expenses and depreciation for Rhode Island tax purposes were allowed on those assets 
as it would have been computed prior to the enactment of the JGTRRA.  The expense 
deduction limitation of $25,000 applied to tax years beginning January 1, 2007 and ending 
December 31, 2013.   
 
Prior to the JGTRRA, businesses could expense up to $25,000 under Section 179 of the IRC.  
The amount that could be expensed was reduced on a dollar-for-dollar basis by the amount 
by which the cost of qualifying property exceeded $200,000.  Therefore, capital investments 
over $225,000 did not qualify.  The JGTRRA increased the maximum amount of expensing 
to $100,000 and the phase-out to $400,000, allowing purchases of qualifying property up to 
$500,000 in cost to qualify.  These limits were indexed for inflation for tax years beginning 
after 2003.  JGTRRA applied to tax years 2003 through 2005.  The American Jobs Creation 
Act of 2004 extended the JGTRRA’s provisions to tax years 2006 and 2007 and added off-
the-shelf computer software to the list of qualifying property.  The Tax Increase Prevention 
and Reconciliation Act of 2005 extended the increased expensing for small businesses under 
JGTRRA to tax years 2008 and 2009.  The Economic Stimulus Act of 2008 increased the 
maximum amount of expensing to $250,000 and the phase-out amount to $800,000 for tax 
year 2008.  The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 extended the provisions 
of the ESA to tax year 2009.  The Small Business Jobs Act of 2010 increased the Section 179 
limitations on expensing of depreciable business assets for tax years beginning in 2010 and 
2011 to $500,000 per item and $2.0 million overall.  In addition, the SBJA temporarily 
expanded the types of property that qualified for Section 179 expensing to include certain 
qualified real property.  The American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 extended the Section 
179 limitations in effect for tax years 2010 and 2011 to tax years 2012 and 2013.  As of 
March 31, 2014, the federal Section 179 expensing rules for tax year 2014 revert back to 
$25,000 of immediate expensing subject to a maximum capital expense of $200,000. 
 
Rhode Island’s disallowance of the increased expense deduction under Section 179 is a 
timing issue.  In the year that an asset is placed in service and is eligible for the federal 
increased expense deduction, a Rhode Island taxpayer must take as a modification increasing 
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federal adjusted gross income (federal AGI) the difference in the increased expense 
deduction amount allowed on the federal tax return and the expense deduction amount 
allowed for Rhode Island tax purposes which is a maximum of $25,000.  In subsequent years, 
a Rhode Island taxpayer may take as a modification decreasing federal AGI the expense 
deduction amount that was disallowed for Rhode Island tax purposes but allowed for federal 
tax purposes and the expense deduction amount allowed for Rhode Island tax purposes up to 
a maximum of $25,000.  This modification reducing federal AGI is taken until the expense 
deduction amount that was disallowed for Rhode Island tax purposes but allowed for federal 
tax purposes has been completely utilized.  Thus, there is no net impact on Rhode Island tax 
collections after the asset has been completely expensed. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations Tax:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Corporate 
Income – C Returns Only, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  This modification includes 
both bonus depreciation and enhanced Section 179 expensing for C-corporations only and the 
amounts are not necessarily specific to Rhode Island based activity.  For TY 2010 and TY 
2011, the total net modification resulted in an increase to federal taxable income; therefore, 
there is no revenue forgone from this modification in TY 2010 or TY 2011.  The number of 
taxpayers includes C-corporations that had a modification increasing federal taxable income 
or decreasing federal taxable income and can include a taxpayer in both categories provided 
the taxpayer simultaneously had a modification increasing and decreasing federal taxable 
income. 
 
Bank Tax:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) 
calculations.  Modifications include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal 
adjusted gross income (AGI).  For TY 2010 and TY 2011, the total net modification by 
resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; therefore, there is no revenue 
forgone from this modification in TY 2010 or TY 2011.  The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that either increased or 
decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporations and Personal Income Taxes, 1; Bank Tax, 5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 7,715 
2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Personal Income Tax $0 9,758 

2010 Total $0 17,473 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 8,084 
2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Personal Income Tax $0 7,864 

2011 Total $0 15,948 
 
Projection Methodology:  Effective January 1, 2014, Rhode Island law will conform to 
federal law with regard to expensing of assets in lieu of depreciation under IRC Section 179.   
 
Business Corporations and Personal Income Taxes:  The amount of modification and 
number of taxpayers is held constant with TY 2011.   
 
Bank Tax:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $0 8,084 
2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax $0 7,864 

2012 Projected Total $0 15,948 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 8,084 
2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax $0 7,864 

2013 Projected Total $0 15,948 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and New Hampshire have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Maine’s tax laws require the federal adjusted gross income or the federal net income 
of a taxpayer, for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003 but prior to January 1, 
2011, to be increased with respect to property placed in service during the taxable year by an 
amount equal to the net increase in expensing attributable to the increase in aggregate cost 
under Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) arising from amendments to the IRC 
applicable to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003.   
 
Maine’s tax law requires that the federal adjusted gross income or federal net income of the 
taxpayer be decreased by a fraction of any amount previously added back by the taxpayer to 
federal adjusted gross income.  In the case of property expensed pursuant to Section 179 of 
the IRC, the term “recovery period” means the recovery period that would have been 
applicable to the property had Section 179 not been applied. 
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In 2011, the Maine legislature enacted full conformity with federal Section 179 expense 
thresholds for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5122(1)(N)(3), 5122(2)(Q), 5200-A(1)(N)(3) 
and 5200-A(2)(M) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire defines the term “United States Internal Revenue Code” 
to mean “[f]or all tax years beginning after January 1, 2000, the United States Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986 in effect on December 31, 2000.”  Thus, by definition amendments to 
the Internal Revenue Code that occurred after December 31, 2000 are not allowable under 
New Hampshire’s business profits tax and business taxpayers have to adjust the taxable 
income reported on their federal return before reporting their gross business profits on their 
New Hampshire business tax return.  The adjustment will require: (1) The removal of the 
Section 179 expense allowed under the IRC in effect for the taxable year; and (2) the 
inclusion of only the Section 179 expense allowed under the IRC in effect on December 31, 
2000. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, XX 
 

8. Federally Taxable Qualified Withdrawals from Tuition Savings Program Account: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(c)(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / N/A 
 
Description:  The amount of any withdrawal or distribution from the tuition savings program 
referenced in Rhode Island General Law Section 16-57-6.1 which is included in federal 
adjusted gross income other than a withdrawal or distribution or portion thereof that is 
deemed nonqualified is a modification that decreases federal adjusted gross income for 
purposes of the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Under federal income tax law, the taxable portion of a qualified withdrawal or distribution is 
the earnings portion of the withdrawal or transfer that exceeds the adjusted qualified 
education expenses.  Adjusted qualified education expenses is the total qualified education 
expenses reduced by any tax-free educational assistance.  Tax-free educational assistance 
includes: the tax-free portion of scholarships and fellowships, veterans’ educational 
assistance, Pell grants, employer-provided educational assistance and any other nontaxable 
(tax-free) payments (other than gifts or inheritances) received as educational assistance. 
 
Data Source:  Personal Income Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. Modifications 
include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  
For TY 2010, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 
percent for resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the net 
decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.84 percent for resident 
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taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  The number of taxpayers includes all taxpayers 
with a modification that either increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $87,774 3,510 

2011 Personal Income Tax $93,835 3,851 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $93,835 3,851 

2013 Personal Income Tax $93,835 3,851 

2014 Personal Income Tax $93,835 3,851 

2015 Personal Income Tax $93,835 3,851 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  To the extent properly includable in the gross income for federal income tax 
purposes of a designated beneficiary, any distribution to such beneficiary from any qualified 
state tuition program, as defined in Section 529(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, established 
and maintained by this state or any official, agency or instrumentality of the state can be 
taken as a modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income for Connecticut income tax 
purposes. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(20)(B)(xii) 
 
Maine:  To the extent included in federal adjusted income, any amount that is a qualified 
distribution from an account established under the Maine College Savings Program and used 
for paying higher education expenses of the designated beneficiary of that account is 
subtracted from federal adjusted gross income in calculating a taxpayer’s Maine taxable 
income.   
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(J) 
 

9. Foreign Sales Corporations (FSCs): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-11(d) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1985 / N/A 
 
Description:  A corporation which qualifies as a Foreign Sales Corporation (FSC) under 
federal income tax law and has in effect for the entire tax year a valid election under federal 
law to be treated as a FSC shall not pay the amount of the tax computed under Rhode Island 
General Law 44-11-2(a).  Any income to shareholders of FSCs is to be treated in the same 
manner as it is treated under federal income tax law as it existed on January 1, 1985. 
 
This tax preference item allows an eligible corporation which has elected to be treated as a 
FSC for federal tax purposes to be exempted from the business corporations tax calculated by 
44-11-2(a) to the same extent the corporation would be exempted if it were an electing small 
business corporation. 
 
It should be noted that federal tax law provisions for Foreign Sales Corporations (FSCs) were 
enacted in the Tax Reform Act (TRA) of 1984 and codified in Sections 921 through 927 of 
the Internal Revenue Code.  In early 2000, the World Trade Organization (WTO) ruled that 
FSCs constituted an illegal trading subsidy.  In response, the United States passed The Extra-
Territorial Income Exclusion Act (ETIEA) of 2000 to replace the federal laws governing 
FSCs.  In 2004, the ETIEA was also ruled an illegal trading subsidy by the WTO.  In 2004, 
the American Jobs Creation Act of 2004 repealed the federal laws governing FSCs and the 
exclusion of extra-territorial income. 
 
Data Source:  Due to the repeal of the federal laws governing FSCs and the favorable tax 
treatment of extra-territorial income in 2004, it is assumed that no such entities would qualify 
for this tax expenditure provided under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-11(d). 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and the number of taxpayers is held 
constant with TY 2011.  
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax  $0 0 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Maine imposes its tax on corporations…on each taxable corporation and on each 
group of corporations that derives income from a unitary business carried on by 2 or more 
members of an affiliated group.  By definition, a taxable corporation is a corporation that, at 
any time during that taxable year, realized Maine net income where Maine net income means 
for any corporation, the taxable income of that taxpayer for that taxable year under the laws 
of the United States…and apportionable to Maine.  A corporation is defined as any business 
entity subject to income taxation as a corporation under the laws of the United States and a 
FSC is exempt from income taxation as a corporation under federal law. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5102(6), 5102(8), 5102(10) and 5200(1) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire defines gross business profits to mean the amount of 
taxable income as would be determinable under the provisions of the United States Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) in effect as of December 31, 2000.  To the extent that a FSC does not 
have taxable income under the IRC in effect as of December 31, 2000 it will not be subject to 
New Hampshire’s business profits tax. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, III(a) and XX 
 
Vermont:  Vermont imposes a tax on the Vermont net income earned or received in that 
taxable year by every taxable corporation, reduced by any allowed Vermont net operating 
loss.  Vermont net income is defined as the taxable income of the taxpayer for that taxable 
year under the laws of the United States, without regard to Section 168(k) of the Internal 
Revenue Code, and excluding income which under the laws of the United States is exempt 
from taxation by the states.  Under the laws of the United States, a FSC is exempt from 
income taxation as a corporation. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5811(18) and 5832 
 

10. Gain from Stock Options in Qualifying Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-39.3-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
 
Description:  “The income, gain, or preference items resulting from the sale, transfer, or 
exercise of qualified and nonqualified stock options, the stock issued or transferred on the 
exercise of any option and warrants issued with respect to options and/or stock of a 
qualifying corporation” can be taken by a qualifying taxpayer as a modification reducing 
federal adjusted gross income for the purposes of computing the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
A qualifying taxpayer is a resident of Rhode Island who has been employed at a location in 
Rhode Island for at least three consecutive months as a full-time employee of a qualifying 
corporation and the estate, heirs, and successors of that taxpayer.  A qualifying corporation is 
any corporation that (1) annually elects to be a qualifying corporation; (2) has at least 10 full-
time employees in Rhode Island; and (3) is engaged principally in at least one business 
activity described in Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes 7371, Computer 
Programming Services; 7372, Prepackaged Software; or 7373, Computer Integrated Systems 
Design. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (This modification is 
included in the Income or Gain from a Qualifying Employee’s Ownership of a Qualifying 
Corporation modification.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

11. Income Earned on Rhode Island Family Education Accounts: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-30-12(c)(2) and 44-30-25(f) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1988 / 2005  
 
Description:  The income earned on the assets held in family education accounts can be taken 
as a modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income prior to the computation of the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  A family education account is an 
account created by an individual taxpayer for the purpose of providing qualified educational 
benefits to a qualified beneficiary provided that the account is created by a written governing 
instrument as prescribed by the Tax Administrator that designates the account as a Rhode 
Island Family Education Account.   
 
Any amount withdrawn or deemed to be withdrawn from a Rhode Island Family Education 
Account other than as a qualified withdrawal shall be a modification increasing federal 
adjusted gross income prior to the computation of the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-30.  The modification increasing federal adjusted gross income shall not 
exceed the net modifications reducing federal adjusted gross income taken in the current or 
prior tax years. 
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  
Modifications include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  For TY 2010, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective 
tax rate of 2.89 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to 
determine the revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the net decreasing modification is multiplied 
by an effective tax rate of 2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-
resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ 
revenue forgone amounts are combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this 
modification.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers 
with a modification that either increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $6,345 171 

2011 Personal Income Tax $7,940 189 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.  
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $7,940 189 

2013 Personal Income Tax $7,940 189 

2014 Personal Income Tax $7,940 189 

2015 Personal Income Tax $7,940 189 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  To the extent properly includable in the gross income for federal income tax 
purposes of a designated beneficiary, any distribution to such beneficiary from any qualified 
state tuition program, as defined in Section 529(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, established 
and maintained by this state or any official, agency or instrumentality of the state can be 
taken as a modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income for Connecticut income tax 
purposes. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(20)(B)(xii) 
 
Maine:  To the extent included in federal adjusted gross income, any amount constituting a 
qualified distribution from an account established under Maine law and used for paying 
higher education expenses of the designated beneficiary of that account can be claimed as a 
modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income in determining Maine taxable income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(J) 
 

12. Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Historic Structures Tax Credits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-33.2-3(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / 2008 
 
Description:  Any assignment or sales proceeds received by the taxpayer for its assignment or 
sale of the tax credits allowed pursuant to Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-33.2 shall 
be taken as a modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income prior to the calculation 
of the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law Title 44 entitled “Taxation.” 
 
If a tax credit is subsequently recaptured, revoked or adjusted, the seller’s tax calculation for 
the year of revocation, recapture, or adjustment shall be increased by the total amount of the 
sales proceeds, without proration, as a modification increasing federal adjusted gross income 
under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
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In the event that the seller is not a natural person, the seller’s tax calculation under Rhode 
Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-12, 44-13 (other than with respect to the tax imposed 
under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-13), 44-14, 44-17, or 44-30, as applicable, 
for the year of revocation, recapture, or adjustment, shall be increased by including the total 
amount of the sales proceeds without proration. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Franchise, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  Modifications 
include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  
For TY 2010, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 
percent for resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the 
revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective 
tax rate of 2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to 
determine the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone 
amounts are combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The 
number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification 
that either increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporations, Franchise, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes, 5; Personal Income Tax, 1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Personal Income Tax $18,935 8 

2010 Total $18,935 8 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Personal Income Tax $2,340 6 

2011 Total $2,340 6 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations Franchise, Public Service Corporation, 
Bank and Insurance Companies Taxes:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Personal Income Tax:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax $2,340 6 

2012 Projected Total $2,340 6 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax $2,340 6 

2013 Projected Total $2,340 6 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Personal Income Tax $2,340 6 

2014 Projected Total $2,340 6 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Personal Income Tax $2,340 6 

2015 Projected Total $2,340 6 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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13. Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Motion Picture Production Credits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-31.2-9(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2005 / 2006 
 
Description:  Any motion picture production tax credit certificate issued in accordance with 
Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31.2-5 which has been issued to a motion picture 
production company or passed through in accordance with Rhode Island General Law 
Section 44-31.2-5(d), and to the extent not previously claimed against the tax of the motion 
picture production company or of the owner of the certificate if the certificate was issued in 
accordance with Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31.2-5(d), may be transferred or sold 
by such company to another Rhode Island taxpayer, subject to certain procedures and 
conditions.  Any assignment or sales proceeds received by the motion picture production 
company for its assignment or sale of the motion picture production tax credit shall be taken 
as a modification decreasing federal taxable income prior to the calculation of taxes imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Title 44, entitled “Taxation.” 
 
Failure to comply with Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31.2-9 will result in the 
disallowance of the tax credit until the taxpayers are in full compliance.  Disallowance of the 
motion picture production tax credit that was previously claimed is recaptured and added 
back as a modification increasing federal adjusted gross income. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Franchise, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  Modifications 
include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  
For TY 2010, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 
percent for resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the 
revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective 
tax rate of 2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to 
determine the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone 
amounts are combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The 
number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification 
that either increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporations, Franchise, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Companies Taxes, 5; Personal Income Tax, 1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Personal Income Tax $13,941 2 

2010 Total $13,941 2 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Personal Income Tax $1,736 2 

2011 Total $1,736 2 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations Franchise, Public Service Corporation, 
Bank and Insurance Companies Taxes:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax $1,736 2 

2012 Projected Total $1,736 2 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax $1,736 2 

2013 Projected Total $1,736 2 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Personal Income Tax $1,736 2 

2014 Projected Total $1,736 2 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Personal Income Tax $1,736 2 

2015 Projected Total $1,736 2 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

14. Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Musical and Theatrical Tax Credits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-31.3-2(b)(5)  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2012 
 
Description:  Any musical and theatrical production tax credit, to the extent not previously 
claimed against the tax of the taxpayer, may be transferred or sold to another Rhode Island 
taxpayer, subject to certain procedures and conditions.  The assignee of the tax credits may 
use acquired credits to offset up to 100.0 percent of the tax liabilities otherwise imposed 
pursuant to Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11, 44-2, 44-13 (other than the tax 
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imposed under § 44-13-13), 44-14, 44-17 or 44-30.  The assignee may apply the tax credit 
against taxes imposed on the assignee for not more than 3 succeeding tax years.  Any 
assignment or sales proceeds received for its assignment or sale shall be taken as a 
modification decreasing federal taxable income prior to the calculation of taxes imposed by 
the State of Rhode Island. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations, Franchise, Public Service Corporation, Bank, 
Insurance Companies and Personal Income Taxes:  No reliable data exists for this tax 
expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5  
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations, Franchise, Public Service Corporation, 
Bank, Insurance Companies and Personal Income Taxes:  No projection is made due to lack 
of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2012 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Franchise Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

15. Income or Gain from a Qualifying Employee’s Ownership of a Qualifying Corporation: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-43-8 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1993 / 1995  
 
Description:  “Any income, gain or preference items resulting from the transfer of employer 
securities from a qualified retirement plan, the sale, transfer, or exercise of stock, warrants, 
options, bonds, notes, or other interests of any corporation” can be taken as a modification 
decreasing federal adjusted gross income for the purpose of computing the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30 “provided that at the time of the sale, transfer, or 
exercise the corporation is a qualifying corporation” as defined in Rhode Island General Law 
Section 44-43-8(c) “with respect to the qualifying taxpayer.” 
 
Rhode Island General Law Section 44-43-8(b) defines a qualifying taxpayer as a current or 
former employee of a qualifying corporation employed for three consecutive months as a 
full-time employee in accordance with corporate policy.  Rhode Island General Law Sections 
44-43-8(c) and 44-43-8(d) define a qualifying corporation. 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  Modifications include 
adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  For TY 
2010, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 percent for 
resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue 
forgone.  For TY 2011, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate 
of 2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to 
determine the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone 
amounts are combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The 
number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification 
that either increased or decreased federal AGI.      
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Reliability Index:  1 (This modification includes the Gain from Stock Options in Qualifying 
Corporations modification.) 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $2,109 20 

2011 Personal Income Tax $2,216 12 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $2,216 12 

2013 Personal Income Tax $2,216 12 

2014 Personal Income Tax $2,216 12 

2015 Personal Income Tax $2,216 12 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

16. Interest on Obligations of the United States and its’ Possessions: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(c)(1) and 
44-11-11(a)(1)(vi) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1971 / N/A 
 
Description:  “Any interest income on obligations of the United States and its possessions to 
the extent includible in gross income for federal income tax purposes, and any interest or 
dividend income on obligations, or securities of any authority, commission, or 
instrumentality of the United States to the extent includible in gross income for federal 
income tax purposes but exempt from state income taxes under the laws of the United States; 
provided that the amount to be subtracted shall in any case be reduced by any interest on 
indebtedness incurred or continued to purchase or carry obligations or securities the income 
of which is exempt from Rhode Island personal income tax, to the extent the interest has 
been deducted in determining federal adjusted gross income or taxable income shall be 
subtracted from federal adjusted gross income” prior to computing the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  For 
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TY 2010, the decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 percent 
for resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue 
forgone.  For TY 2011, the decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 
2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine 
the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone amounts are 
combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The number of 
taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that 
decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $1,754,014 22,391 

2011 Personal Income Tax $2,324,091 22,556 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
  

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $2,324,091 22,556 

2013 Personal Income Tax $2,324,091 22,556 

2014 Personal Income Tax $2,324,091 22,556 

2015 Personal Income Tax $2,324,091 22,556 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  There shall be deducted from federal adjusted gross income in determining 
Connecticut adjusted gross income subject to the personal income tax, to the extent properly 
includable in gross income for federal income tax purposes, any income with respect to 
which taxation by any state is prohibited by federal law.   
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(20)(B)(i) 
 
Maine:  Federal adjusted gross income shall be reduced by interest or dividends on 
obligations of the United States and its territories and possessions or of any authority, 
commission or instrumentality of the United States to the extent that interest or those 
dividends are included in federal adjusted gross income but exempt from state income taxes 
under the laws of the United States.  A similar provision exists under Maine’s corporate 
income tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(A) and 5200-A(2)(A) 
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Massachusetts:  Massachusetts gross income shall mean the federal gross income…reduced 
by interest on obligations of the United States exempt from state income taxation to the 
extent included in federal gross income, and dividends received from a regulated investment 
company qualified under Section 851 of the Internal Revenue Code to the extent such 
dividends are attributable to interest on obligations of the United States exempt from state 
income taxation. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(A) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire’s taxation of interest and dividend income is intended to 
not impose any tax on any income in violation of the Constitution of the United States or in 
violation of any constitutional federal laws.   
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77:2 
 
Vermont:  Taxable income is defined as federal taxable income…decreased by income from 
United States government obligations to the extent such income is included in federal 
adjusted gross income. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B)(i) 
 

17. Military Pay of Non-Resident Individuals: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-32(d) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1971 / N/A 
 
Description:  Compensation paid by the United States for service in the armed forces of the 
United States, performed by an individual not domiciled in Rhode Island can be taken as a 
modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income for the purposes of computing the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  For TY 2010, the net 
decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 percent for resident 
taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  For 
TY 2011, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.84 
percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the 
revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone amounts are 
combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The number of 
taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that either 
decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $396,694 548 

2011 Personal Income Tax $451,580 578 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
  

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $451,580 578 

2013 Personal Income Tax $451,580 578 

2014 Personal Income Tax $451,580 578 

2015 Personal Income Tax $451,580 578 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
  
Connecticut:  Compensation paid by the United States for active service in the armed forces 
of the United States, performed by an individual not domiciled in Connecticut, shall not 
constitute income derived from sources within Connecticut. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-711(d) 
 
Maine:  A member of the armed services who is a legal resident of another state but is 
stationed in Maine by military orders is not subject to Maine income tax on his or her service 
pay. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5142(7) 
 
Massachusetts:  The compensation paid by the United States to its uniformed military 
personnel assigned to duty at military posts, bases or stations within the Commonwealth for 
services rendered by said personnel while on active duty shall be deemed to be from sources 
other than sources within the Commonwealth. 
  
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 5A(c) 
 
Vermont:  For any taxable year, the Vermont income of a resident individual is the adjusted 
gross income of the individual for that taxable year…less… the military pay for full-time 
active duty with the armed services earned outside Vermont; and the first $2,000 of military 
pay for unit training in Vermont to National Guard and United States Reserve personnel that 
have certified that all unit training of his or her unit was completed during the calendar year, 
and who has a federal adjusted gross income of less than $50,000. 
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Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5823(a)(2) 
 

18. New Research and Development Facilities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-32-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1974 / 1975  
 
Description:  A deduction for all expenditures paid or incurred for the construction, 
reconstruction, erection, or acquisition of any new tangible property that is depreciable under 
26 U.S.C. § 167, was acquired by purchase as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 179(d), is located in the 
State, and is used in the taxpayer’s trade or business for purposes of research and 
development in the experimental or laboratory sense shall be allowed against the portion of 
its entire net income allocated to Rhode Island during the taxable year.  The deduction can be 
taken against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11 and 44-30 and 
is in lieu of depreciation or an investment tax credit.  The deduction is not refundable and has 
no provision for carry over. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations Tax:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure 
item.   
 
Personal Income Tax:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  For TY 2010, the 
decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 percent for resident 
taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  For 
TY 2011, the decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.84 percent 
for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue 
forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone amounts are combined to 
determine the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporations Tax, 5; Personal Income Tax, 1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Personal Income Tax $180 3 

2010 Total $180 3 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Personal Income Tax $503 2 

2011 Total $503 2 
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Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations Tax:  No projection is made due to lack of 
reliable data.   
 
Personal Income Tax:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax $503 2 

2012 Projected Total $503 2 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax $503 2 

2013 Projected Total $503 2 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Personal Income Tax $503 2 

2014 Projected Total $503 2 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Personal Income Tax $503 2 

2015 Projected Total $503 2 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

19. Nonqualified Withdrawals from a Medical Savings Account by Scituate Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-30-25.1(d)(3)(i) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2002 / N/A 
 
Description:  An employee or account holder who withdraws money from a medical savings 
account for any purpose other than a purpose described in Rhode Island General Law Section 
44-30-25.1(c)(3) will incur a penalty of 10.0 percent of the withdrawal amount.  The amount 
of any such withdrawal shall, to the extent that any earlier contribution(s) or income was 
claimed as a modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income for Rhode Island 
purposes shall be a modification increasing federal adjusted gross income of the account 
holder or employee for the purpose of determining his or her tax liability under Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-30 in the year that the withdrawal or withdrawals are made.  
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Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  Modifications include 
adjustments that increase federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  For TY 2010, the total 
modification by resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; therefore, there is 
no revenue forgone from this modification in TY 2010.  The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that increased federal AGI.  
For TY 2011, no modification to federal AGI was taken by a resident or non-resident 
taxpayer.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 1 

2011 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2013 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2014 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2015 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

20. Nonqualified Withdrawals from Tuition Savings Program Account: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-30-12(b)(4) and 44-30-32(a)(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2002 / N/A 
 
Description:  A nonqualified withdrawal made from an account in the tuition savings plan 
program as defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 16-57-6.1 shall be recorded as a 
modification increasing federal adjusted gross income for the purpose of determining the 
amount of income subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  
The amount that must be added back to federal adjusted gross income is the lesser of (i) the 
amount of the nonqualified withdrawal reduced by any administrative fee or penalty imposed 
on the nonqualified withdrawal or (ii) the amount of the modification decreasing federal 
adjusted gross income taken under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(c)(4) for the 
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person’s taxable year and the two preceding taxable years less the amount of any 
nonqualified withdrawals taken in the two prior taxable years that were added to the person’s 
federal adjusted gross income in those years. 
 
Nonqualified withdrawals include (a) a transfer or rollover to a qualified tuition program 
under Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code other than the tuition savings program 
defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 16-57-6.1; (b) a withdrawal or distribution that 
is not applied on a timely basis to qualified higher education expenses; (c) a withdrawal or 
distribution that is not made due to the death or disability of the beneficiary of the tuition 
savings program or in an amount greater than the amount of a scholarship, allowance or 
payment received by said beneficiary; or (d) is not made under other circumstances for which 
an exclusion from federal adjusted gross income is allowed under 26 U.S.C. § 529 applies 
provided that the nonqualified withdrawal is made within two taxable years following the 
taxable year for which a modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income was taken 
pursuant to Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(c)(4). 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  Modifications include 
adjustments that decrease federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  For TY 2010 and TY 2011, 
the total modification by resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; 
therefore, there is no revenue forgone from this modification in TY 2010 or TY 2011.  The 
number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification 
that increased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 22 

2011 Personal Income Tax $0 42 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $0 42 

2013 Personal Income Tax $0 42 

2014 Personal Income Tax $0 42 

2015 Personal Income Tax $0 42 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
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Maine:  The amount of deduction from gross income claimed on a taxpayer’s federal income 
tax return for qualified tuition and related expenses pursuant to Internal Revenue Code 
Section 222 must be added back to federal adjusted gross income prior to determining the 
amount of Maine personal tax imposed. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(1)(Q) 
 

21. Nonqualified Withdrawals or Distributions from Rhode Island Family Education 
Accounts: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-30-12(b)(3) and 44-30-25(g) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2001 / N/A 
 
Description:  “Any amount withdrawn from a family education account other than as a 
qualified withdrawal shall be a modification increasing federal adjusted gross income” prior 
to computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  For TY 2010 and TY 2011, 
the total modification by resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; 
therefore, there is no revenue forgone from this modification in TY 2010 or TY 2011.  The 
number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification 
that increased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 8 

2011 Personal Income Tax $0 17 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $0 17 

2013 Personal Income Tax $0 17 

2014 Personal Income Tax $0 17 

2015 Personal Income Tax $0 17 
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  386 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items - Modifications 

Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

22. Organ Transplantation: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(c)(7) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2009 
 
Description:  An individual may subtract up to $10,000 from federal adjusted gross income if 
he or she, while living, donates one or more of his or her human organs to another human 
being for human organ transplantation.  An individual can claim this decreasing modification 
once and for unreimbursed expenses that are incurred by the claimant and related to the 
claimant’s organ donation in travel expenses, lodging expenses and lost wages.  This 
modification may be claimed by residents of Rhode Island only. 
 
Data Source:  Personal Income Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Modifications 
include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  
For TY 2010, the decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 
percent for resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the 
decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.84 percent for resident 
taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  The number of taxpayers includes all taxpayers 
with a modification that decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $2,267 47 

2011 Personal Income Tax $1,820 30 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $1,820 30 

2013 Personal Income Tax $1,820 30 

2014 Personal Income Tax $1,820 30 

2015 Personal Income Tax $1,820 30 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
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Massachusetts:  Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a deduction is 
allowed for any individual who donates an organ to another person for human organ 
transplantation.  The individual may claim travel expenses, lodging expenses, and lost wages 
not to exceed $10,000 that are incurred by the individual and related to the individual’s organ 
donation. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3(B)(a)(16) 
 

23. Performance-Based Income of Eligible Employees via the Jobs Growth Act: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.11-4 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2005 / N/A 
 
Description:  An eligible employee, as defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 42-
64.11-2(j), of an eligible company, as defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 42-
64.11-2(i), shall be allowed as a modification decreasing adjusted gross income and 
alternative minimum income 50.0 percent of the performance-based income realized by the 
eligible employee during any calendar year for which an eligible company has been certified 
under Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.11-3, prior to computing the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
In any taxable year for which an eligible company has been certified under Rhode Island 
General Law Section 42-64.11-3, said eligible company or its affiliates shall pay a tax equal 
to 5.0 percent of the aggregate performance-based compensation paid to its eligible 
employees. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Office, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.     
 
Reliability Index:  1  
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $4,056,733 1,247 

2011 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.  Although this modification decreasing federal AGI is still permitted under 
state law, the 2010 reform of the personal income tax system effectively made this 
modification moot. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2013 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2014 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2015 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

24. Profits or Gains from Sales of Work by Artists, Writers, and Composers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-1.1(c)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / 2005 
 
Description:  An individual to whom Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-1.1 applies is 
entitled to have the profits or gains arising from the publication, production, or sale of a work 
or works be taken as a modification reducing federal adjusted gross income for the purposes 
of computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  The 
modification is available only to artists, writers and composers that reside within designated 
economic development zones in Providence, Pawtucket, Woonsocket, Warwick, Westerly, 
Newport, Tiverton, Little Compton, and Warren. 
 
A work is defined in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-1.1(a) as “an original and 
creative work whether written, composed, created or executed” that falls into one of the 
following categories: (1) a book or other writing; (2) a play or the performance of said play; 
(3) a musical composition or the performance of said composition; (4) a painting or other like 
picture; (5) a sculpture; (6) traditional and fine crafts; (7) the creation of a film or the acting 
of said film; or (8) the creation of a dance or the performance of said dance. 
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  For 
TY 2010, the decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 percent 
for resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue 
forgone.  For TY 2011, the decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 
2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine 
the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone amounts are 
combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The number of 
taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that 
decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $11,373 50 

2011 Personal Income Tax $11,580 48 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $11,580 48 

2013 Personal Income Tax $11,580 48 

2014 Personal Income Tax $11,580 48 

2015 Personal Income Tax $11,580 48 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

25. Provision of Insurance Benefit to Dependent or Domestic Partner: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(c)(6) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2006 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any amount of insurance benefits or other coverage plan paid for or provided 
to a dependent, including a domestic partner that is included in adjusted gross income for 
federal income tax purposes shall be taken as a modification reducing federal adjusted gross 
income prior to the computation of the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 
44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  For 
TY 2010, the decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 percent 
for resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue 
forgone.  For TY 2011, the decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 
2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine 
the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone amounts are 
combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The number of 
taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that 
decreased federal AGI.      
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Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $29,035 347 

2011 Personal Income Tax $37,428 405 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011.  On June 26, 2013, the United States Supreme Court ruled the federal Defense 
of Marriage Act unconstitutional.  This ruling allows same sex couples to file federal tax 
returns with a married joint status.  Rhode Island law requires a taxpayer to file a state 
income tax return with the same filing status as used on their federal income tax return.  
Thus, a married same sex couple that files under a married joint status has excluded from 
federal AGI the amount of insurance benefits that are provided to both partners in a same sex 
union.  As a result, this modification is no longer necessary under state law. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $37,428 405 

2013 Personal Income Tax $37,428 405 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Massachusetts:  If an employee participates in an employer-provided health insurance plan, 
any amount which would be included in gross income of the employee by reason of coverage 
under the plan of any person other than the employee, to the extent such coverage is 
mandated by law.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(Q) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont law governing income taxes shall apply to parties to a civil union and 
surviving parties to a civil union as if federal income tax law recognized a civil union in the 
same manner as Vermont law. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5812 
 

26. Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture Capital Partnership: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-43-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
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Description:  A modification reducing federal adjusted gross income for making a qualifying 
investment in a certified venture capital partnership shall be allowed for the amount of the 
qualifying investment in the year in which the taxpayer first makes such an investment prior 
to computing the tax owed under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  (A deduction 
reducing net income or net worth, gross earnings, or gross premiums shall be allowed prior to 
computing the tax owed under Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14 or 
44-17.) 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  For TY 2010, the net 
decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 percent for resident 
taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  For 
TY 2011, the net modification by resident taxpayers and non-resident taxpayers increased 
federal AGI; therefore, there is no revenue forgone from this modification.  The number of 
taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that either 
increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $784 22 

2011 Personal Income Tax $0 24 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $0 24 

2013 Personal Income Tax $0 24 

2014 Personal Income Tax $0 24 

2015 Personal Income Tax $0 24 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

27. Railroad Retirement Benefits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Title 45 U.S.C. § 231m(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1935 / 2008  
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Description:  The United States Railroad Retirement Act provides that notwithstanding any 
other law of the United States, or of any State, territory, or the District of Columbia no 
annuity or supplemental annuity shall be assignable or be subject to any tax or to 
garnishment, attachment, or other legal process under any circumstances whatsoever. 
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  
Modifications include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  For TY 2010, the net decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective 
tax rate of 2.89 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to 
determine the revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the net decreasing modification is multiplied 
by an effective tax rate of 2.84 percent for resident taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-
resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ 
revenue forgone amounts are combined to determine the total revenue forgone for this 
modification.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers 
with a modification that either increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $107,843 266 

2011 Personal Income Tax $175,462 350 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $175,462 350 

2013 Personal Income Tax $175,462 350 

2014 Personal Income Tax $175,462 350 

2015 Personal Income Tax $175,462 350 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have specific provisions exempting railroad 
retirement benefits from state taxation.  Massachusetts and Vermont follow federal law in a 
manner similar to Rhode Island.  New Hampshire does not impose a personal income tax on 
any retirement benefits. 
 
Connecticut:  In computing Connecticut adjusted gross income there shall be subtracted from 
federal adjusted gross income, to the extent properly includable in gross income for federal 
income tax purposes…any tier 1 railroad retirement benefits. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(20)(B)(iv) 
 
Maine:  In determining income subject to the Maine personal income tax, federal adjusted 
gross income shall be reduced by “railroad retirement benefits paid by the United States, to 
the extent included in federal adjusted gross income.” 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(C) 
 

28. Recognition of Income from Discharge of Business Indebtedness: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-66-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2009 / N/A 
 
Description:  For purposes of computing Rhode Island taxable income under Rhode Island 
General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-14 and 44-30, the recognition of income from the discharge 
of business indebtedness deferred under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA) of 2009 for federal tax purposes, must be reported as a modification increasing 
federal income for Rhode Island tax purposes in the year the discharge of indebtedness 
occurred.  When claimed as income on a future federal tax return the deferred amount of the 
discharge of indebtedness may be reported as a modification decreasing federal income for 
Rhode Island tax purposes. 
 
The ARRA of 2009 allowed certain businesses that had debts discharged in 2009 and 2010 to 
defer the recognition of income from the cancellation of such debts until 2014 and then 
spread that recognition of income over a five year period. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporations and Bank Taxes:  No reliable data exists for this tax 
expenditure item.   
 
Personal Income Tax:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) 
calculations.  Modifications include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal 
adjusted gross income (AGI).  For TY 2010 and TY 2011, the total net modification by 
resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; therefore, there is no revenue 
forgone from this modification in TY 2010 or TY 2011.  The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that either increased or 
decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporations and Bank Taxes, 5; Personal Income Tax, 1 (data 
is for Rhode Island resident filers only) 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2010 Personal Income Tax $0 68 

2010 Total $0 68 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2011 Personal Income Tax $0 27 

2011 Total $0 27 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporations and Bank Taxes:  No projection is made 
due to lack of reliable data. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  For tax year 2012 and beyond only a modification decreasing federal 
AGI is available to a business that deferred income from the cancellation of indebtedness.  
The Office of Revenue Analysis determined the total amount of modifications increasing 
AGI that were taken in TY 2009, TY 2010 and TY 2011 and subtracted the total amount of 
modifications decreasing AGI that were taken in TY 2010 and TY 2011 to calculate the total 
amount of modifications increasing AGI that would be converted to modifications decreasing 
AGI in TY 2012 through TY 2015.  This amount was then distributed evenly over these tax 
years.  The total number of taxpayers was summed for the TY 2009 through TY 2011 period 
and is reported for TY 2012 through TY 2015. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2012 Personal Income Tax $300,176 108 

2012 Projected Total $300,176 108 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2013 Personal Income Tax $300,176 108 

2013 Projected Total $300,176 108 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2014 Personal Income Tax $300,176 108 

2014 Projected Total $300,176 108 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
2015 Personal Income Tax $300,176 108 

2015 Projected Total $300,176 108 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and New Hampshire have similar 
provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Any income from the discharge of indebtedness in connection with any 
reacquisition, after December 31, 2008, and before January 1, 2011, of an applicable debt 
instrument or instruments, as defined in Section 108 of the Internal Revenue Code, as 
amended by Section 1231 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009 
not included in federal adjusted gross income shall be taken as a modification increasing 
adjusted gross income for Connecticut income tax purposes. 
 
To the extent that any income from the discharge of indebtedness in connection with any 
reacquisition, after December 31, 2008, and before January 1, 2011, of an applicable debt 
instrument or instruments, as those terms are defined in the ARRA of 2009, was added to 
federal adjusted gross income in computing Connecticut adjusted gross income for a 
preceding taxable year, the amount of the income that was added to federal adjusted gross 
income shall be taken as a modification decreasing adjusted gross income for Connecticut 
income tax purposes. 
 
Similar provisions are included in Connecticut law for business corporation taxes. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217(b)(2)(A), 12-217(b)(2)(B), 12-
701(20)(A)(xi) and 12-701(20)(B)(xviii) 
 
Maine:  Maine taxable income for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, but before 
January 1, 2011, is federal adjusted gross income increased by an amount equal to the gross 
income during the taxable year from the discharge of indebtedness deferred under the United 
States Code, Section 108(i). 
 
Maine taxable income for tax years after December 31, 2010 is federal adjusted gross income 
decreased by an amount equal to the gross income from the discharge of indebtedness 
previously deferred under the Code, Section 108(i) and included in federal adjusted gross 
income. 
 
Similar provisions are included in Maine law for the imposition of tax on corporations. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5122(1)(CC), 5122(2)(DD), 5200-A(1)(W) 
and 5200-A(2)(U) 
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Massachusetts:  Gross income is defined as under the provisions of the Internal Revenue 
Code, as amended and in effect for the taxable year but shall be determined without regard to 
Section 108(i) of the Code 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 1 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire defines the term “United States Internal Revenue Code” 
to mean “[F]or all tax years beginning after January 1, 2000, the United States Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986 in effect on December 31, 2000.”  Thus, by definition amendments to 
the Internal Revenue Code that occurred after December 31, 2000 are not allowable under 
New Hampshire’s business profits tax and business taxpayers have to adjust the taxable 
income reported on their federal return before reporting their gross business profits on their 
New Hampshire business tax return.  The adjustment will require: (1) the addition of the 
deferred income from the cancellation of indebtedness taken in the taxable year; and (2) the 
subtraction of the amount of income from the cancellation of indebtedness deferred from a 
prior taxable year. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, XX 
 

29. Rental Vehicle Surcharge Retained by Rental Car Companies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 31-34.1-2(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1994 / 2012 
 
Description:  One-half of the revenue collected from the imposition of the surcharge imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Section 31-34.1-2(a) is retained by the rental car company and 
one-half of the surcharge is remitted to the state for deposit in the general fund. 
 
Effective June 20, 2012, the rental vehicle surcharge rate was increased from 6.0 percent to 
8.0 percent and the revenue retained by the rental car company from the rental vehicle 
surcharge was increased from 50.0 percent to 60.0 percent. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $3,054,203 49 

2011 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $2,690,870 51 
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Projection Methodology:  The number of taxpayers is held constant with TY 2011.  The 
Office of Revenue Analysis determined the amount of rental vehicle surcharge revenue that 
was retained by the rental vehicle companies for TY 2012 and TY 2013 based on the 
revenues deposited as general revenues prior to the transfer of rental vehicle surcharges 
assessed on customer facility charges.  For TY 2014 and TY 2015 the calculated amount 
from TY 2013 was held constant. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $3,687,620 51 

2013 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $5,445,197 51 

2014 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $5,445,197 51 

2015 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $5,445,197 51 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  The rental surcharge is equal to 3.0 percent of the total rental charge and is 
included in the sales tax basis.  It applies only if the rental company owns a fleet of at least 
five passenger motor vehicles used for rentals.  The total surcharge collected is retained by 
the rental company.  Rentals by licensed new car dealers, repairers and limited repairers are 
exempt from the surcharge. Rentals by used car dealers who are not primarily engaged in the 
rental business are also exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-692(b) 
 

30. Rhode Island Fiduciary Adjustment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(d) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1971 / 2002 
 
Description:  The taxpayer’s share, as beneficiary of an estate or trust, of the Rhode Island 
fiduciary adjustment determined under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-17 shall be 
taken as a modification either decreasing or increasing federal adjusted gross income as the 
case may be prior to the computation of the tax liability imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-30. 
 
The Rhode Island fiduciary adjustment is the net amount of the modifications provided for in 
Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12 exclusive of subdivisions (b)(4), (c)(3) and 
(c)(4) which relates to items of income or deduction of an estate or trust.  This includes the 
modification for the Rhode Island fiduciary adjustment, subdivision (d) of Rhode Island 
General Law Section 44-30-17, if the estate or trust is a beneficiary of another estate or trust.  

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  398 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items - Modifications 

The respective shares of an estate or trust and its beneficiaries, including solely for the 
purpose of this allocation, non-resident beneficiaries, in the fiduciary adjustment are in 
proportion to their respective share of federal distributable net income of the estate or trust. 
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 and TY 2011 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  
Modifications include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  For TY 2010 and TY 2011, the total net modification by resident and non-
resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; therefore, there is no revenue forgone from this 
modification in TY 2010 or TY 2011.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and 
non-resident taxpayers with a modification that either increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 1,006 

2011 Personal Income Tax $0 1,096 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $0 1,096 

2013 Personal Income Tax $0 1,096 

2014 Personal Income Tax $0 1,096 

2015 Personal Income Tax $0 1,096 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  With respect to a person who is the beneficiary of a trust or estate, there shall 
be added or subtracted, as the case may be, from adjusted gross income such person’s share, 
as determined under Section 12-714, in the Connecticut fiduciary adjustment. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(20)(C) 
 
Maine:  There shall be added to or subtracted from federal adjusted gross income, as the case 
may be, the taxpayer’s share of the fiduciary adjustment determined under section 5164, 
Computation of Taxable Income of Resident Estates and Trusts. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(3) 
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Massachusetts:  “Massachusetts gross income shall mean federal gross income…with the 
following further modifications:  …The items to be deducted therefrom are:  …Income 
received from any trustee or other fiduciary, which income is taxable under this chapter to 
the trustee or other fiduciary.” 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(C) 
 

31. Sales Tax Paid on a Qualified Motor Vehicle Purchase: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(b)(7) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2009 / N/A 
 
Description:  Beginning January 1, 2011, this modification is no longer required against the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  The amount equal to the 
deduction allowed for sales tax paid for a purchase of a qualified motor vehicle by the 
Internal Revenue Code Section 164(a)(6) is a modification increasing federal adjusted gross 
income for purposes of determining income subject to tax under Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Residents:  TY 2010 Statistics of Personal Income, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation.  Non-Residents:  Personal Income Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
Modification includes adjustments that increase federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  For 
TY 2010, the total modification by resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal 
AGI; therefore, there is no revenue forgone from this modification in TY 2010.  Beginning in 
tax year 2011, this modification is no longer relevant due to the limited timeframe of Internal 
Revenue Code Section 164(a)(6).      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 811 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

32. Tax Incentives for Employers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-55-4.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
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Description:  Businesses that employ and retain in the State employees who have been 
previously unemployed for at least 26 consecutive calendar weeks and have been domiciled 
residents of Rhode Island for at least 52 consecutive calendar weeks or have been a recipient 
of Rhode Island’s aid to families with dependent children program for at least one year 
preceding the date of hire shall receive a modification from the income, gross earnings, 
deposits, or gross premiums subject to the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-30.  The deduction is equal to 40.0 percent of the eligible employee’s first year 
wages, up to a maximum $2,400 per eligible employee.  (Eligible businesses shall receive a 
deduction from the income, gross earnings, deposits, or gross premiums subject to the taxes 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-15 and 44-17.) 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  For TY 2010, the decreasing 
modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.89 percent for resident taxpayers and 
3.74 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  For TY 2011, the 
decreasing modification is multiplied by an effective tax rate of 2.84 percent for resident 
taxpayers and 3.80 percent for non-resident taxpayers to determine the revenue forgone.  
Resident and non-resident taxpayers’ revenue forgone amounts are combined to determine 
the total revenue forgone for this modification.  The number of taxpayers includes those 
resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $19,144 18 

2011 Personal Income Tax $206 3 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers held constant 
with TY 2011. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax  $206 3 

2013 Personal Income Tax $206 3 

2014 Personal Income Tax $206 3 

2015 Personal Income Tax $206 3 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

33. Unemployment Compensation: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-12(b)(6) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2009 / N/A 
 
Description:  As of January 1, 2011, this modification is no longer required against the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-30.  For purposes of Rhode Island income 
subject to tax under Chapter 44-30 (before tax year 2011), the amount equal to any 
unemployment compensation received but not included in federal adjusted gross income 
(federal AGI) is a modification increasing federal AGI.   
 
Data Source:  Personal Income Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  For TY 2010, 
the modification by resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; therefore, 
there is no revenue forgone from this modification.  Beginning in tax year 2011, this 
modification is no longer applicable. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $0 46 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  The Maine taxable income of a resident is federal adjusted gross income increased 
by the amount of unemployment compensation received to the extent excluded from federal 
gross income in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code, Section 85(C). 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(BB) 
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1. Allocation and Apportionment of Brokerage Services: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14.2(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1995 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any taxpayer located in Rhode Island that provides securities brokerage 
services may choose to allocate its net income as follows: all net income derived directly or 
indirectly from the sale of security brokerage services shall be apportioned to Rhode Island 
only to the extent that securities brokerage customers are domiciled in Rhode Island.  The 
apportionment factor is defined as the ratio of the brokerage commissions and total margin 
interest paid on accounts owned by Rhode Island domiciled customers to the brokerage 
commissions and total margin interest paid on accounts owned by all of the taxpayer’s 
customers.  The apportioned net income is then subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-11.  If the taxpayer chooses to use this apportionment method, then 
the taxpayer must use this apportionment method for the five succeeding tax years after the 
tax year of election. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Each taxpayer that provides securities brokerage services,…shall apportion its 
net income derived, directly or indirectly, from rendering securities brokerage services as 
follows: the numerator of the apportionment fraction shall consist of the brokerage 
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commissions and total margin interest paid on behalf of brokerage accounts owned by the 
taxpayer’s customers who are domiciled in Connecticut during such taxpayer’s income year, 
computed according to the method of accounting used in the computation of net income. The 
denominator of the apportionment fraction shall consist of brokerage commissions and total 
margin interest paid on behalf of brokerage accounts owned by all of the taxpayer’s 
customers, wherever domiciled, during such taxpayer’s income year, computed according to 
the method of accounting used in the computation of net income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-218(g)(1) and 12-218(g)(2) 
 
Maine:  All income shall be apportioned to Maine by multiplying the income by the sales 
factor.  The sales factor is a fraction, the numerator of which is the total sales of the taxpayer 
in Maine during the tax period, and the denominator of which is the total sales of the 
taxpayer everywhere during the tax period.  Sales other than sales of tangible personal 
property are sourced as follows: receipts from the performance of services must be attributed 
to the state where the services are received. If the state where the services are received is not 
readily determinable, the services are deemed to be received at the home of the customer or, 
in the case of a business, the office of the customer from which the services were ordered in 
the regular course of the customer’s trade or business. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5211(8), 5211(14) and 5211(16-A)(A) 
 

2. Allocation and Apportionment of Credit Card Banks: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14.3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any banking institution whose business activities are taxable within and outside 
of Rhode Island and whose activities are limited to those described in Section 2(c)(2)(F) of 
the federal Bank Holding Company Act may choose to allocate all of its net income as 
follows: all net income derived directly or indirectly from the banking institution shall be 
apportioned to Rhode Island only to the extent that the banking institution’s customers are 
domiciled in Rhode Island.  The apportionment factor is defined as the ratio of the income 
derived from accounts owned by customers domiciled in Rhode Island to the income derived 
from accounts owned by all of the banking institution’s customers.  The apportioned net 
income is then subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11.  If 
the taxpayer chooses to use this apportionment method, then the taxpayer must use this 
apportionment method for the five succeeding tax years after the tax year of election. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Any financial service company as defined in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-218b(6), 
that has net income derived from credit card activities,…shall apportion its net income 
derived from credit card activities as follows: The numerator of the apportionment fraction 
shall consist of the “Connecticut receipts.”  The denominator of the apportionment fraction 
shall consist of (A) the total amount of interest and fees or penalties in the nature of interest 
from credit card receivables, (B) receipts from fees charged to card holders, including, but 
not limited to, annual fees, irrespective of the billing address of the card holder, (C) net gains 
from the sale of credit card receivables, irrespective of the billing address of the card holder, 
and (D) all credit card issuer’s reimbursement fees, irrespective of the billing address of the 
card holder. 
 
“Connecticut receipts” shall  be determined by adding (A) interest and fees or penalties in the 
nature of interest from credit card receivables and receipts from fees charged to card holders, 
including, but not limited to, annual fees, where the billing address of the card holder is in 
Connecticut and (B) the product of (i) the sum of net gains from the sale of credit card 
receivables and all credit card issuer’s reimbursement fees multiplied by (ii) a fraction, the 
numerator of which shall be interest and fees or penalties in the nature of interest from credit 
card receivables and receipts from fees charged to card holders, including, but not limited to, 
annual fees, where the billing address of the card holder is in Connecticut, and the 
denominator of which shall be the total amount of interest and fees or penalties in the nature 
of interest from credit card receivables and receipts from fees charged to card holders, 
including, but not limited to, annual fees, irrespective of the billing address of the card 
holder. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-218(j) 
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3. Allocation and Apportionment of Manufacturers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2003 / N/A 
 
Description:  A taxpayer whose principal business is described in sector 31, 32 or 33 of the 
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) may elect for any year to apportion 
its net income to Rhode Island based on the following allocation fraction: (1) For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2004, but before January 1, 2005, 30.0 percent property, 30 
percent payroll and 40 percent sales; and (2) For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2005, 25.0 percent property, 25.0 percent payroll and 50.0 percent sales.  
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  For income years beginning on or after January 1, 2001, the net income of 
manufacturers as classified in North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) 
sectors 31, 32 or 33 (most manufacturers) shall use an apportionment fraction where:  the 
numerator of the apportionment fraction shall consist of the taxpayer’s gross receipts which 
are assignable to Connecticut and the denominator of the apportionment fraction shall consist 
of the taxpayer’s total gross receipts whether or not assignable to Connecticut.  If 75.0 
percent or more of a manufacturer’s total gross receipts during the income year are from the 
sale of tangible personal property directly or indirectly in the case of a subcontractor, to the 
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United States government, the manufacturer may elect to apportion its net income using an 
apportionment fraction, to be computed as the sum of the property factor, the payroll factor 
and twice the receipts factor, divided by four.  The election, once made, is irrevocable and is 
applicable for five successive income years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-218(k) 
 
Maine:  Effective June 7, 2007 and applicable to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2007, any taxpayer having income from business activities which are taxable both within and 
without Maine must apportion net income using a single-factor formula.  Income is 
apportioned to Maine by multiplying the net income by the sales factor. Applicable to tax 
years beginning before January 1, 2007, Maine used a three-factor apportionment formula. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5211(1) and 5211(8)  
 
Massachusetts:  If a manufacturing corporation… has income from business activity which is 
taxable both within and without Massachusetts, its taxable net income…shall be apportioned 
by multiplying its taxable net income…by the resulting percentage as determined in the 
following formula:  For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2000, one hundred 
percent of the sales factor. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38(l)(2)(v) 
 
New Hampshire:  A business organization which derives gross business profits from business 
activity both within and without New Hampshire must apportion its gross business profits 
using a three-factor formula, the numerator of which shall be the property factor plus the 
compensation factor plus two multiplied by the sales factor and the denominator of which is 
four. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:3 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning in 2006 and thereafter, if the income of a taxable 
corporation is derived from trade, business or activity conducted both within and without 
Vermont, the portion of the corporation’s net income subject to tax in Vermont is determined 
by multiplying the Vermont net income by the arithmetic average of the property factor, the 
payroll factor, and the sales factor double weighted. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5833(a) 
 

4. Allocation and Apportionment of Regulated Investment Companies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14.2(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1995 / N/A 
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Description:  Any taxpayer located in Rhode Island that sells management, distribution or 
administration services to or on behalf of a regulated investment company, as defined by 
federal law, may choose to allocate its net income as follows: all net income derived directly 
or indirectly from the sale of management, distribution, or administration services to or on 
behalf of regulated investment companies shall be apportioned to Rhode Island only to the 
extent that shareholders of the regulated investment company are domiciled in Rhode Island.  
The apportionment factor is defined as the ratio of the taxpayer’s Rhode Island receipts from 
the services it provides to the taxpayer’s receipts everywhere from the services it provides.  
The apportioned net income is then subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law 
Chapter 44-11.  If the taxpayer chooses to use this apportionment method, then the taxpayer 
must use this apportionment method for the five succeeding tax years after the tax year of 
election. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Each taxpayer that provides management, distribution or administrative 
services…to or on behalf of a regulated investment company, as defined in Section 851 of 
the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) shall apportion its net income derived, directly or 
indirectly, from providing management, distribution or administrative services to or on 
behalf of a regulated investment company, including net income received directly or 
indirectly from trustees, and sponsors or participants of employee benefit plans which have 
accounts in a regulated investment company, as follows: the numerator of the apportionment 
fraction shall consist of the sum of the Connecticut receipts while the denominator of the 
apportionment fraction shall consist of the total receipts from the sale of management, 
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distribution or administrative services to or on behalf of all the regulated investment 
companies.  “Receipts” means receipts computed according to the method of accounting used 
by the taxpayer in the computation of net income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-218(f) 
 
Maine:  Maine has a special apportionment formula for mutual fund service providers.  A 
mutual fund service provider may elect to apportion its net income as follows: net income is 
multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the Maine receipts during the taxable year 
and the denominator of which is the total receipts everywhere for the same taxable year.  
Maine receipts from the direct or indirect provision of management, distribution or 
administration services to or on behalf of a regulated investment company or from trustees, 
sponsors and participants of employee benefit plans that have accounts in a regulated 
investment company are determined by multiplying total receipts for the taxable year from 
each separate regulated investment company for which the mutual fund service provider 
performs management, distribution or administration services by a fraction.  The numerator 
of the fraction is the average of the number of shares owned by the regulated investment 
company’s shareholders domiciled in this State at the beginning of and at the end of the 
regulated investment company’s taxable year, and the denominator of the fraction is the 
average of the number of the shares owned by the regulated investment company’s 
shareholders everywhere at the beginning of and at the end of the regulated investment 
company’s taxable year.  If the taxpayer chooses to use this apportionment method, then the 
taxpayer must use this apportionment method for the five succeeding tax years after the tax 
year of election. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5212 
 
Massachusetts:  Any mutual fund service corporation whose employment level in the current 
taxable year is equal to or greater than its jobs commitment level for such taxable year or any 
such mutual fund service corporation for which the jobs commitment level requirement no 
longer applies shall apportion such income by multiplying it by 100 percent of the sales 
factor.  A mutual fund service corporation that fails to achieve its jobs commitment level may 
still use 100 percent of the sales factor in apportioning net income if the failure to achieve the 
jobs commitment level for any taxable year is demonstrated by the mutual fund service 
corporation to be a direct result of adverse economic conditions in that taxable year.  A 
mutual fund service corporation is defined as any corporation doing business in the 
commonwealth which derives more than fifty percent of its gross income from the provision 
directly or indirectly of management, distribution or administration services to or on behalf 
of a regulated investment company and from trustees, sponsors and participants of employee 
benefit plans which have accounts in a regulated investment company. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38(m) 
 

5.  Allocation and Apportionment of Retirement and Pension Plans: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14.4  
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any taxpayer located in Rhode Island that sells management, distribution or 
administration services, including without limitations, transfer agent, fund accounting, 
custody and other similar related services to or on behalf of an employee retirement plan or 
pension plan may choose to allocate its net income as follows: all net income derived directly 
and indirectly from the sale of the management, distribution, or administration services to or 
on behalf of a retirement or pension plan shall be apportioned to Rhode Island to the extent 
that the beneficiaries or participants of a retirement or pension plan are domiciled in Rhode 
Island.  The apportionment factor is defined as the ratio of Rhode Island receipts, as defined 
in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14.4(2), from the services to the total receipts 
everywhere from the services.  The apportioned net income is then subject to the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11.  If the taxpayer chooses to use this 
apportionment method, then the taxpayer must use this apportionment method for the five 
succeeding tax years after the tax year of election. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Each taxpayer that provides management, distribution or administrative 
services…to or on behalf of a regulated investment company, as defined in Section 851 of 
the Internal Revenue Code shall apportion its net income derived, directly or indirectly, from 
providing management, distribution or administrative services to or on behalf of a regulated 
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investment company, including net income received directly or indirectly from trustees, and 
sponsors or participants of employee benefit plans which have accounts in a regulated 
investment company, as follows: the numerator of the apportionment fraction shall consist of 
the sum of the Connecticut receipts while the denominator of the apportionment fraction 
shall consist of the total receipts from the sale of management, distribution or administrative 
services to or on behalf of all the regulated investment companies.  “Receipts” means 
receipts computed according to the method of accounting used by the taxpayer in the 
computation of net income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-218(f) 
 
Maine:  Maine has a special apportionment formula for mutual fund service providers.  A 
mutual fund service provider may elect to apportion its net income as follows: net income is 
multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the Maine receipts during the taxable year 
and the denominator of which is the total receipts everywhere for the same taxable year.  
Maine receipts from the direct or indirect provision of management, distribution or 
administration services to or on behalf of a regulated investment company or from trustees, 
sponsors and participants of employee benefit plans that have accounts in a regulated 
investment company are determined by multiplying total receipts for the taxable year from 
each separate regulated investment company for which the mutual fund service provider 
performs management, distribution or administration services by a fraction.  The numerator 
of the fraction is the average of the number of shares owned by the regulated investment 
company’s shareholders domiciled in this State at the beginning of and at the end of the 
regulated investment company’s taxable year, and the denominator of the fraction is the 
average of the number of the shares owned by the regulated investment company’s 
shareholders everywhere at the beginning of and at the end of the regulated investment 
company’s taxable year.  If the taxpayer chooses to use this apportionment method, then the 
taxpayer must use this apportionment method for the five succeeding tax years after the tax 
year of election. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5212 
 
Massachusetts:  Any mutual fund service corporation whose employment level in the current 
taxable year is equal to or greater than its jobs commitment level for such taxable year or any 
such mutual fund service corporation for which the jobs commitment level requirement no 
longer applies shall apportion such income by multiplying it by 100 percent of the sales 
factor.  A mutual fund service corporation that fails to achieve its jobs commitment level may 
still use 100 percent of the sales factor in apportioning net income if the failure to achieve the 
jobs commitment level for any taxable year is demonstrated by the mutual fund service 
corporation to be a direct result of adverse economic conditions in that taxable year.  A 
mutual fund service corporation is defined as any corporation doing business in the 
commonwealth which derives more than fifty percent of its gross income from the provision 
directly or indirectly of management, distribution or administration services to or on behalf 
of a regulated investment company and from trustees, sponsors and participants of employee 
benefit plans which have accounts in a regulated investment company. 
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Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38(m) 
 

6. Passive Investment Treatment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-43 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2004 / N/A 
 
Description:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-1(2)(vii) excludes all corporations 
under direct or indirect common ownership that employ not less than five full-time 
equivalent employees in the state, maintain an office in the state and whose sole activities in 
the state are the maintenance and management of their intangible investments or of the 
intangible investments of entities registered as investment companies under the Investment 
Company Act of 1940 and the collection and distribution of income from those investments 
or from tangible property physically located outside of the state from the definition of 
corporation subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11.  Rhode 
Island General Law Section 44-11-43 ensures that the benefits conferred by Rhode Island 
General Law Section 44-11-1(2)(vii) [note: the general law reference is mislabeled in Rhode 
Island General Law Section 44-11-43] are available until December 31, 2014 for a 
“qualifying business” notwithstanding any changes made to, including the repeal of, said 
subsection of the law.   
 
A qualifying business is a business which:  meets the terms and conditions imposed by the 
Board of Directors of the Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation based upon the 
following findings of fact:  (1) the business “has committed to relocate from outside the state 
to a Rhode Island location no less than…an average of 250 full-time employees with a 
combined payroll of no less than $12.0 million annually” within 28 months of being 
designated a qualifying business; (2) the business would not relocate said jobs to the state 
absent the designation as a qualifying business; (3) “the annual salary of each 
employee…shall be no less than $25,000 per year, plus benefits typical to the industry;” and 
(4) the Economic Development Corporation shall certify only one company pursuant to 
Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-43 and that certification shall occur before August 
31, 2004. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and New Hampshire have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  The definition of “taxpayer” and “company” that are subject to Connecticut’s 
corporate income tax does not include a passive investment company.  A passive investment 
company is defined as “any corporation which is a related person to a financial service 
company…or to an insurance company…and (A) employs not less than five full-time 
equivalent employees in the state; (B) maintains an office in the state; and (C) confines its 
activities to the purchase, receipt, maintenance, management and sale of its intangible 
investments, and the collection and distribution of the income from such investments, 
including, but not limited to, interest and gains from the sale, transfer or assignment of such 
investments or from the foreclosure upon or sale, transfer or assignment of the collateral 
securing such investments.  “Intangible investments” shall be limited to loans secured by real 
property…including a line of credit which is a loan secured by real property and which 
permits future advances by the passive investment company; the collateral or an interest in 
the collateral that secured such loans if the sale of such collateral or interest is actively 
marketed by or on behalf of the passive investment company; and any short-term investment 
of cash held by the passive investment company which cash is reasonably necessary for the 
operations of such passive investment company. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-213(a)(1) and 12-213(a)(27) 
 
Maine:  Corporate small business investment companies licensed under the U.S. Small 
Business Investment Act of 1958, as amended, are exempt from the Maine corporate income 
tax provided the following conditions are met: (1) the entity is commercially domiciled in 
Maine; and (2) the entity is doing business primarily in Maine.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5202-A 
 
New Hampshire:  An enterprise shall not be characterized as a business organization and 
shall be excluded from taxation at the entity level if it elects to be treated as a qualified 
investment company.  A qualified investment company is (1) A regulated investment 
company as defined in Section 851 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 in effect on 
December 31, 2000; (2) An organization that is an investment company under the Investment 
Company Act of 1940 as amended; (3) An organization that would be an investment 
company under the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, but for the exception 
from investment company status provided by Section 3(c)(1) or 3(c)(7) of said Investment 
Company Act; or (4) A qualified community development entity as defined in Section 45D 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  414 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Other Items 

of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), which entity is owned, controlled, or managed, directly 
or indirectly, by the business finance authority of the state of New Hampshire.  A qualified 
investment company shall limit its activities to investment or other activities consistent with 
its organizational purpose and activities incidental to or in support of investment or other 
activities consistent with its organizational purpose. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 77-A:1, I and XXI 
 

7. Returns of Affiliated Groups of Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-4 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1938 / 1956 
 
Description:  An affiliated group of corporations may file a consolidated return for the 
taxable year in lieu of separate returns; provided, that all the corporations, which constitute 
the affiliated group at any time during the period for which the return is made and which are 
subject to taxation under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11 shall consent to the 
making of the consolidated return.  Separate income statements, balance sheets, and 
allocation schedules must be filed for each corporation joined on the consolidated return.  
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
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Connecticut:  Any taxpayer included in a consolidated return with one or more other 
corporations for federal income tax purposes may elect to file a combined return together 
with such other companies subject to the tax imposed as are included in the federal 
consolidated corporation income tax return.  In the case of a combined return, the tax shall be 
measured by the sum of the separate net income or loss of each corporation included or the 
minimum tax base of the included corporations but only to the extent that said income, loss 
or minimum tax base of any included corporation is separately apportioned to Connecticut.  
In computing said net income or loss, intercorporate dividends shall be eliminated, and in 
computing the combined additional tax base, intercorporate stockholdings shall be 
eliminated. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-223a 
 
Maine:  An income tax return or franchise tax return with respect to the tax imposed by this 
Part 8 of the Maine genera; laws shall be made by every taxable corporation that is required 
to file a federal income tax return.  A taxable corporation that is a member of an affiliated 
group and that is engaged in a unitary business with one or more other members of that 
affiliated group shall file, in addition, a combined report.  The State Tax Assessor may allow 
two or more taxable corporations that are members of an affiliated group and that are 
engaged in a unitary business to file a single return on which the aggregate Maine income tax 
liability of all those corporations is reported. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5220(5) 
 
Massachusetts:  A taxpayer may elect, without the consent of the Massachusetts 
Commissioner of Revenue, to treat as its Massachusetts combined group all corporations that 
are members of its affiliated group.  Such an affiliated group shall calculate Massachusetts 
taxable income in accordance with Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 32B(d), provided that all 
income of all group members, whether or not such income would otherwise be subject to 
apportionment or would be allocable to a particular state in the absence of such an election 
shall be treated as apportionable income for purposes of returns filed pursuant to said 
election.  An election shall be binding for and applicable to the taxable year for which it is 
made and for the next nine taxable years.  An election may be revoked, or renewed for 
another 10 taxable years, without the consent of the commissioner after it has been in effect 
for 10 taxable years, provided however that in the case of a revocation a new election under 
this subsection shall not be permitted in any of the immediately following three taxable 
years. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 32B(g) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire requires a business organization, defined as any 
enterprise, whether corporation, partnership, limited liability company, proprietorship, 
association, business trust, real estate trust or other form of organization; organized for gain 
or profit, carrying on any business activity within New Hampshire, to be subject to New 
Hampshire’s business profits tax as a separate entity, unless specifically authorized by New 
Hampshire law to be treated otherwise, such as, but not limited to, combined reporting.   
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New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, I 
 
Vermont:  Taxable corporations which received any income allocated or apportioned to 
Vermont for the taxable year and which under the laws of the United States constitute an 
affiliated group of corporations may file a consolidated return in lieu of separate returns if 
such corporations qualify and elect to file a consolidated federal income tax return for that 
taxable year. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5862(c) 
 

8. Special Apportionment of U.S. Federal Drug Administration Facilities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1992 / N/A 
 
Description:  A Rhode Island manufacturing facility, as defined by the United States 
Standard Industrial Classification Codes 283 and 384, that is certified and registered by the 
United States Food and Drug Administration may exclude from the allocation formula set 
forth in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14 the following: (1) From the numerator 
of the property factor set forth in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-11-14(a)(1), “the 
amount…by which the net book value of qualified property in the tax year for which an 
exclusion is claimed…exceeds the net book value of qualified property in the preceding tax 
year;” (2) From the numerator of the payroll factor set forth in Rhode Island General Law 
Section 44-11-14(a)(3), “the amount…by which total qualified payroll expenses of the 
taxpayer in the tax year for which an exclusion is claimed…exceeds the total qualified 
payroll expenses of the taxpayer in the immediately preceding tax year.”  The terms 
“qualified property” and “qualified payroll” are defined in Rhode Island General Law 
Sections 44-11-14.1(a)(1) and 44-11-14(a)(2). 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Business Corporations Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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1. Alternative Personal Income Tax: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.10 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  2006 / 2010 
 
Description:  For tax years beginning after December 31, 2005 and ending prior to January 1, 
2011, a taxpayer may elect to compute the tax liability imposed by Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-30 using the provisions contained in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-
30-2.10.  If no election is made, then the taxpayer’s personal income tax liability shall be 
computed as provided for in Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.6. 
 
The tax imposed under Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2.10 is determined by 
multiplying the taxpayer’s alternative Rhode Island taxable income by the applicable 
alternative tax rate.  Rhode Island alternative taxable income is equal to federal adjusted 
gross income “as modified by Rhode Island General Law Sections 44-30-12 and 44-30-32, 
for residents and non-residents, respectively” with no other state or federal deductions or 
exemptions allowed.  The alternative tax rate schedule is: for tax year 2006, 8.0 percent; for 
tax year 2007, 7.5 percent; for tax year 2008, 7.0 percent; for tax year 2009, 6.5 percent; and 
for tax year 2010, 6.0 percent.   
 
Once the taxpayer’s alternative personal income tax liability is determined the following 
credits are allowed: income taxes paid to other states; Rhode Island personal income tax 
withheld; Rhode Island payments of estimated tax; Rhode Island overpayment of taxes, and 
Rhode Island amount remitted by a limited liability company on behalf of a nonresident 
member.  No other state or federal tax credits shall be available to the taxpayer. 
 
Data Source:  Testimony provided by the Rhode Island Division of Taxation during the May 
2013 Revenue Estimating Conference.  Beginning in calendar year 2011, the alternative 
personal income tax rate is no longer applicable. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $91,819,000 10,514 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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2. Jobs Development Act: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.5-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1994 / 2004 
 
Description:  “The rate of tax payable by an eligible company or each of its eligible 
subsidiaries” as defined in Rhode Island General Law Sections 42-64.5-2(5) and 42-64.5-
2(6) “on its net income pursuant to applicable income tax provisions” contained in Rhode 
Island General Law Sections 44-11-2(a), 44-14-3(a), 44-14-4, 44-17-1, “or on its gross 
earnings pursuant to” Rhode Island General Law Section 44-13-4(4) “shall be reduced by the 
amount specified in” Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.5-4.  According to Rhode 
Island General Law Section 42-64.5-4, the amount of rate reduction for any eligible company 
that is not a telecommunications company shall be based on the aggregate amount of new 
employment for each taxable year over the base employment and is equal to 0.25 percent for 
each unit of new employment.  The total amount of rate reduction cannot exceed 6.0 percent 
in any taxable year.  For an eligible telecommunications company the amount of rate 
reduction shall be equal to 0.01 percent up to a maximum of 1.0 percent in any taxable year. 
 
New employment is defined as the amount of adjusted current employment for each taxable 
year minus the amount of base employment, but in no event less than zero; provided, 
however, no eligible company is permitted to transfer, assign or hire employees who are 
already employed within the State by such eligible company for itself or any affiliated entity.  
A unit of new employment means: “(i) for eligible companies which are not small business 
concerns, the amount of new employment divided by 50 rounded down to the nearest 
multiple of 50 and (ii) for eligible companies which are small business concerns the amount 
of new employment divided by 10 rounded down to the nearest multiple of 10.” 
 
Should any eligible company fail to maintain in any taxable year the number of units of new 
employment it reported for its 1997 tax year or, if applicable, the third taxable year following 
the base employment period election set forth in Rhode Island General Law Section 42-64.5-
5; the rate reduction provided for in Rhode Island General Law Sections 42-64.5-3 and 42-
64.5-4 shall expire permanently. 
 
Data Source:  November 2013 Revenue Estimating Conference Testimony, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Business Corporations Tax $16,481,596 7 
2010 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2010 Bank Tax $9,046 1 
2010 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2010 Total $16,490,642 8 

2011 Business Corporations Tax $11,853,646 6 
2011 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2011 Bank Tax $3,839 1 
2011 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2011 Total $11,857,485 7 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2012, TY 2013 and TY 2014 amount of revenue forgone and 
number of taxpayers are actual figures provided through testimony by the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation at the November 2013 Revenue Estimating Conference.  TY 2015 
amount of revenue forgone is based on a five year moving average and TY 2015 number of 
taxpayers is held constant with TY 2014. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected         

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Business Corporations Tax $7,340,000 5 
2012 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2012 Bank Tax $20,000 1 
2012 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2012 Projected Total $7,360,000 6 

2013 Business Corporations Tax $11,980,000 5 
2013 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2013 Bank Tax $3,839 1 
2013 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2013 Projected Total $11,209,976 6 

2014 Business Corporations Tax $7,340,000 5 
2014 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2014 Bank Tax $20,000 1 
2014 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2014 Projected Total $7,483,104 6 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Forgone Revenue 
Projected         

Number of Taxpayers 

2015 Business Corporations Tax $13,431,765 5 
2015 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
2015 Bank Tax $21,677 1 
2015 Insurance Companies Tax $0 0 

2015 Projected Total $13,444,552 6 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A taxpayer who creates at least ten new jobs in Connecticut may be allowed a 
credit…in an amount up to 60 per cent of the income tax deducted and withheld from the 
wages of new employees and paid over to the state.  For each new employee, credits may be 
granted for five successive years.  The credit shall be claimed in the income year in which it 
is earned. Any credits not used in a tax year shall expire.  The commissioner shall determine 
whether (1) the taxpayer…is eligible for the tax credit, and (2) the proposed job growth (A) 
is economically viable only with use of the tax credit, (B) would provide a net benefit to 
economic development and employment opportunities in the state, and (C) conforms to the 
state plan of conservation and development.  The total amount of credits granted to all 
taxpayers…shall not exceed 11.0 million dollars in any one fiscal year.  A credit under this 
section may be granted to a taxpayer for not more than five successive income years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217ii 
 
Massachusetts:  Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, a taxpayer, to 
the extent authorized by the life sciences tax incentive program…may be allowed a 
refundable jobs credit against the Massachusetts corporate income tax in an amount 
determined by the Massachusetts Life Sciences Center in consultation with the 
Massachusetts Department of Revenue.  A taxpayer taking said credit shall commit to the 
creation of a minimum of 50 net new permanent full-time positions in Massachusetts.  The 
amount of the jobs credit issued that exceeds the taxpayer’s liability under the Massachusetts 
corporate income tax shall be refunded to the taxpayer at a rate of 90 percent of the amount 
of excess credit.  The Department of Revenue shall issue the refundable portion of the jobs 
credit…in accordance with the cumulative amount, including the current year costs of 
incentives allowed in previous years, which shall not exceed $25.0 million annually. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38CC 
 
Vermont:  The Vermont Employment Growth Incentive (VEGI) provides a performance-
based employment growth incentive to be paid out of the business’s withholding account 
upon approval by the Vermont Economic Progress Council (VEPC) and the Vermont 
Department of Taxes.  The value of the incentives is dependent upon the net fiscal benefit 
resulting from projected qualifying payroll and qualifying capital investment.  An incentive 
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ratio is applied to the net fiscal benefit generated by the cost-benefit model in order to 
determine the maximum award the VEPC may authorize for each application it approves. 
 
The VEPC shall calculate an incentive percentage for each approved application as follows: 
Authorized award amount divided by the five-year sum of all payroll targets.  An approval 
shall specify: the application base jobs at the time of the application; total jobs at time of 
application; the application base payroll; total payroll at time of application; the incentive 
percentage; the wage threshold; the payroll thresholds; a job target for each year of the award 
period; a payroll target for each year of the award period; a capital investment target for each 
year of the award period and a sufficient description of the nature of the qualifying capital 
investment over the award period.  The council may authorize incentives in excess of net 
fiscal benefit multiplied by the incentive ratio not to exceed an annual authorization 
established by law. 
 
To the extent a business authorized to earn employment growth incentives…experiences a 
90-percent or greater drop below application base jobs or, in the case of a business with no 
jobs at the time its application is approved, a 90-percent or greater drop below its cumulative 
job target during the utilization period, all authority to earn and claim incentives…shall be 
revoked, and such business shall be subject to recapture of all incentives previously claimed, 
together with interest and penalty. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930b 
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1. Cigarette Tax Stamping Discount: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-20-19 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1939 / 2007  
 
Description:  Cigarette distributors have a right to purchase cigarette excise tax stamps at a 
discount from the stamp’s face value.  The cigarette distributor pays 98.75 percent of the face 
value of the cigarette excise tax stamps that are purchased to the Tax Administrator.  This 
yields a discount of 1.25 percent for the distributor.  Distributors may also be allowed to pay 
for the cigarette excise tax stamps purchased up to 30 days after the actual receipt of the tax 
stamps. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Cigarette Tax $1,656,908 25 

2011 Cigarette Tax $1,627,065 25 

2012 Cigarette Tax $1,618,545 25 

2013 Cigarette Tax $1,655,063 25 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers is held 
constant with TY 2013. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2014 Cigarette Tax $1,655,063 25 

2015 Cigarette Tax $1,655,063 25 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include a discount of 1.0 percent of the face value of 
the cigarette excise tax stamps if purchased by a distributor.  No discount applies if the 
cigarette excise tax stamps are purchased by a dealer.  The Commissioner of Revenue may 
permit a licensed distributor or licensed dealer to pay for such stamps within thirty days after 
the date of purchase, provided a bond or other security satisfactory to the Commissioner in an 
amount not less than the sale price of such stamps shall have been filed with the 
Commissioner conditioned upon payment for such stamps. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-298 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a discount rate of 1.15 percent for stamps at the face 
value of 100 mills, or $0.10 per cigarette.  The State Tax Assessor may permit a licensed 
distributor to pay for the stamps within 30 days after the date of purchase, if a bond 
satisfactory to the assessor in an amount not less than 50 percent of the sale price of the 
stamps has been filed with the assessor conditioned upon payment for the stamps. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 4366-A(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  For the period prior to July 1, 2011, every stamper may withhold and retain 
from each payment to be made by him for cigarette excise tax stamps, as compensation for 
service rendered in stamping packs of cigarettes, $1.85 for each 600 cigarette excise adhesive 
stamps purchased and a proportionate amount for any fraction thereof.  No such 
compensation shall be allowed on any sale of less than $100.  The commissioner, in his 
discretion, may, permit a stamper to pay for such stamps within 30 days after the date of 
purchase; provided that the stamper furnishes a bond. 
 
For stamps purchased on or after January 1, 2012, a stamper may withhold and retain from 
each payment to be made by that stamper for cigarette excise tax stamps as compensation for 
service rendered in stamping packs of cigarettes…the following amounts: (1) for encrypted 
stamps purchased and not returned for an abatement, $12 per roll of 1,200 stamps; and (2) in 
each fiscal year, $600 per roll of 30,000 encrypted stamps for the first 50 rolls purchased and 
$200 per each additional roll of 30,000 encrypted stamps purchased; and (3) in the case of 
non-encrypted adhesive stamps purchased and not returned for an abatement, $1.85 for each 
600 stamps purchased and a proportionate amount for any fraction thereof.  No such 
compensation shall be allowed on any sale of less than $100. The commissioner, in his 
discretion, may, permit a stamper to pay for such stamps within 30 days after the date of 
purchase; provided that the stamper furnishes a bond. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64C, § 30 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire does not provide a discount to stampers, however, the 
Commissioner of Revenue may permit a licensed wholesaler to pay for cigarette excise tax 
stamps within 30 days after the date of purchase, provided a bond satisfactory to the 
Commissioner in an amount not less than the sale price of such stamps shall have been filed 
with the Commissioner, conditioned upon the payment of such stamps. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78:9, I 
 
Vermont:  The Commissioner of Taxes shall sell cigarette excise tax stamps to licensed 
wholesale dealers and retail dealers at a discount of 2.3 percent of their face value for 
payment at time of sale.  At the purchaser’s request, the Commissioner of Taxes may sell 
cigarette excise tax stamps…to licensed wholesale dealers and retail dealers for payment 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  427 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Tax Abatements 

within 10 days, at a discount of 1.5 percent of their face value if timely paid.  No stamps may 
be purchased during the period June 15 through June 30 each year. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7772 
 

2. Political Check-Off: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-30-2(c)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1971 / 1997  
  
Description:  There shall be allowed as a credit against the tax due under Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-30 a contribution of $5.00, or $10.00 if married filing a joint return, 
for the public financing of the electoral system.  The first $2.00, $4.00 if married filing a 
joint return, shall go to a political party or a non-partisan account if indicated by the taxpayer 
up to a maximum of $200,000 in total for all political parties and the non-partisan account.  
The remainder of the credit is general revenue to the State. 
 
Data Source:  Personal Income Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Personal Income Tax $200,000 22,383 

2011 Personal Income Tax $200,000 10,016 
 

Political Party Contributions 
 

POLITICAL PARTY 
2010 

CONTRIBUTIONS 
2011 

CONTRIBUTIONS 
Democratic Party $10,340 $9,152 
Republican Party $4,336 $3,980 
Non-Partisan $47,178 $14,726 
Moderate Party $520 $586 

 
Projection Methodology:  By statute, the total maximum amount allowed for the political 
check-off on the personal income tax return is $200,000.  The actual number of taxpayers 
electing to contribute for TY 2012 is held constant for TY 2013 through TY 2015. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Personal Income Tax $200,000 8,985 

2013 Personal Income Tax $200,000 8,985 

2014 Personal Income Tax $200,000 8,985 

2015 Personal Income Tax $200,000 8,985 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Resident taxpayers may designate that $3 of their taxes be deposited in the Maine 
Clean Election Fund.  The State Tax Assessor shall provide on the first page of the income 
tax form a space for the filing individual to indicate whether that filer wishes to pay $3, or $6 
if filing a joint return, from the General Fund of the State to finance the Maine Clean 
Election Fund. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5286 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provides for a $1.00 credit for a resident individual filer and a 
$2.00 credit for a resident jointly filed return against the Massachusetts individual income tax 
to be paid over to the State Election Campaign Fund. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6C 
 
Vermont:  Vermont repealed this provision in 2009, effective for tax years beginning on and 
after January 1, 2010.  For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 1998 (but before 
January 1, 2010), all returns filed by individuals allowed an opportunity to designate funds to 
the Vermont campaign fund.   
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5862c 
 

3. Value of Farmland Included in Estate: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-23-5 / Rhode Island Public Law 
2013, Chapter 144, Article 9, Section 11 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1916 / 2013  
 
Description:  All farmland included as part of an estate, and utilized by the executor, 
administrator, heir-at-law, beneficiary or trustee as farmland, shall be appraised at its use 
value and not at fair market value.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
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Reliability Index:  5 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2013 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Estate Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  “Connecticut taxable estate” means, with respect to the estates of decedents 
dying on or after January 1, 2010, the gross estate less allowable deductions as determined 
under the Internal Revenue Code (IRC).  Section 2032A of the IRC allows an alternative 
method for valuing certain real property used as a farm to reflect the (lower) value of the 
property in its current use. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-391(c)(1)(B) 
 
Massachusetts:  If the gross estate of a decedent includes real property devoted to use as a 
farm for farming purposes, the estate may elect to value such property in accordance with 
section 2032A of the Internal Revenue Code.  Section 2032A of the IRC allows an 
alternative method for valuing certain real property used as a farm to reflect the (lower) value 
of the property in its current use. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 65C, § 5(c) 
 
Vermont:  For Vermont estate tax purposes, all values are determined for federal estate tax 
purposes.  Section 2032A of the IRC allows an alternative method for valuing certain real 
property used as a farm to reflect the (lower) value of the property in its current use. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. Title 32, § 7442a 
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1. Holding Period for Unstamped Cigarettes: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-20-14 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1948 / 2007 
 
Description:  Any consumer possessing any cigarettes with respect to the storage or use of 
which is subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Law Section 44-20-13 must, 
within 24 hours after coming into possession of the cigarettes in Rhode Island, file a return 
with the State.  The return must be accompanied by a payment for the amount of tax due 
shown on the tax return. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.   
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Cigarette Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a 24-hour holding period before unstamped cigarettes must 
have tax stamps affixed by dealers. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-303 
 
Maine:  Any person, who is not a licensed distributor, who imports, receives or otherwise 
acquires more than two cartons in any one month of unstamped cigarettes for use or 
consumption in Maine must file a return, on or before the last day of the month following the 
month in which unstamped cigarettes were acquired, together with payment of the tax. 
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 4384 
 
Massachusetts:  Stamps must be affixed to every cigarette package no later than 72 hours 
after receipt of the cigarettes. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass Gen. Laws ch. 64C, §30 
 
New Hampshire:  Any unlicensed person able to purchase unstamped tobacco products by 
statute may possess such products for his or her own use or consumption, if the tax otherwise 
due is paid by the unlicensed person to the Department of Revenue Administration directly. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78:14 
 
Vermont:  Vermont allows a 24-hour holding period before unstamped cigarettes must have 
tax stamps affixed by retailers. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7775 
 

2. Write-Downs or Reserves for Security Losses: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Section 44-14-14 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1942 / 1956  
 
Description:  A financial institution that is subject to the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Law Chapter 44-14 may elect to treat the amount of the write down of the value of 
any of its securities or the establishment of reserves for the decrease in values of its securities 
that have been required by regulators with supervisory authority over the financial institution 
as deductions in the year in which such write downs or reserves are recorded on its books.  
The write-downs or reserves specifically allocated to any security shall be used to adjust the 
basis of the security and the adjusted basis shall be used in determining gains or losses when 
the security is sold or disposed. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 
Calendar Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2010 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2011 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Forgone Revenue 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2012 Bank Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2013 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2014 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2015 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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IX. Recommendations for Improving the Report 
 
 The tax expenditures report’s effectiveness as a tax policy tool is dependent on the 
report’s users’ background, knowledge of state tax law and ability to understand the process 
by which estimates have been derived by the Office of Revenue Analysis.  Although 36.2 
percent in TY 2010 and 32.7 percent in TY 2011 of the tax expenditure items for which 
reliable data existed were assigned a reliability index level of “1,” meaning the source of the 
derived estimate was actual tax returns, ideally 100.0 percent of the derived estimates for tax 
expenditure items should have actual tax returns as its source. 
 

The primary tax type for which actual tax return data does not exist, and thus 
estimates of revenue forgone must be derived via less reliable methods, is the sales and use 
tax.  Given that the sales and use tax is the second largest source of state general revenue and 
that it is the tax type for which the greatest amount of revenue forgone was estimated, at 
$1.09 billion for TY 2010 and $1.14 billion for TY 2011, the Office of Revenue Analysis 
finds that the quality and quantity of data collected for sales and use tax needs to be 
improved for there to be an increase in the reliability of the revenue forgone estimates.  The 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation has implemented the new sales and use tax return 
reconciliation process for sales and use tax filers that requires more information on exempt 
sales be provided during the annual reconciliation.  Although the level of detail in the 
reconciliation has improved, compliance with the reconciliation requirement has been 
suboptimal.  As a result, it is difficult for the Office of Revenue Analysis to rely on the data 
generated from the reconciliation to estimate foregone revenues from the various sales and 
use tax exemptions.   
 

In addition, the quantity and quality of data for the business corporations tax is 
lacking.  The business corporations tax, commonly referred to as the corporate income tax, is 
the tax type with the third largest amount of estimated revenue forgone due to tax 
expenditure items at $95,329,204 for TY 2010 and $90,561,510 for TY 2011, but has the 
largest number of tax expenditures items at 32 in both TY 2010 and TY 2011 for which no 
reliable data exists from which to derive estimates of revenue forgone.  This compares to 8 
tax expenditure items in TY 2010 and 4 tax expenditure items in TY 2011 for which no 
reliable data exists for the personal income tax and 27 tax expenditure items in both TY 2010 
and TY 2011 for which no reliable data exists for the sales and use tax.  The Office of 
Revenue Analysis finds that the quality and quantity of data collected for the business 
corporations tax needs to be improved for there to be an increase in the reliability of the 
forgone revenue estimates for the business corporations tax.  Fortunately, most of the data 
that would improve the reporting of business corporations tax expenditure items is already 
reported on the taxpayers’ tax returns and the crux of the issue in this regard is capturing the 
relevant data from these returns.  The Division of Taxation is in the process of requiring most 
business corporations taxpayers to file their tax returns electronically allowing for the capture 
of more data. 
 

In the FY 2012 Capital Budget, the Division of Taxation requested $25.0 million over 
the FY 2012 – FY 2016 period to finance the development of an integrated tax system.  This 
request was approved by the General Assembly and the Division of Taxation has begun the 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  435 



IX. Recommendations for Improving the Report 

process of developing an integrated tax system.  Once it is fully implemented, the integrated 
tax system should provide the Division of Taxation with the capability to capture more 
relevant data from electronically filed returns.  Of particular importance is the ability to store 
and access taxpayer returns over a series of years.  This capability would allow the Office of 
Revenue Analysis to derive more precise estimates of forgone revenue from tax expenditure 
items for the sales and use and business corporations taxes.   
 

Finally, it is possible to shorten the tax expenditures report by redefining what is 
meant by tax expenditures.  Under current law, tax expenditures are broadly defined and 
apply to all items contained in law that reduce tax revenues.  Some tax expenditures may 
reduce tax revenues under one chapter of Rhode Island General Law while recapturing the 
tax revenues under a different chapter of Rhode Island General Law.  For example, insurance 
and surety companies are explicitly excluded from paying tax under Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-11 entitled “Business Corporation Tax” because such companies are subject 
to taxation under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-17 entitled “Taxation of Insurance 
Companies”.  Based on current law, the Office of Revenue Analysis has to report the tax 
expenditure associated with the exclusion of insurance and surety companies from the tax 
imposed under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-11 even though these companies are 
paying taxes under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-17.  The payment of taxes by 
insurance and surety companies under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-17 generates 
tax revenues that mitigate or perhaps even completely eliminate the tax expenditure 
associated with the exclusion of these companies from taxation under Rhode Island General 
Law Chapter 44-11.  Eliminating all tax expenditures that are the result of situations such as 
this would reduce the number of items for which “no estimate is possible” and improve the 
integrity of the tax expenditures report. 
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TITLE 44 
Taxation 

CHAPTER 44-48.1 
Tax Expenditure Reporting 

SECTION 44-48.1-1 
 
§ 44-48.1-1 Tax expenditure reporting.  
 
(a)  On or before the second Tuesday in January of each even numbered year beginning in 
2004, the chief of the office of revenue analysis, shall deliver a tax expenditure report to the 
general assembly. Each report will provide the minimum information for one hundred 
percent (100%) of tax expenditures in effect on January 1 of the calendar year preceding the 
report's publication.  
 
(b)  For the purposes of this section, a “tax expenditure” is any tax credit, deduction, 
exemption, exclusion, credit preferential tax rate, tax abatement, and tax deferral that 
provides preferential treatment to selected taxpayers, whether directly through Rhode Island 
General Law or constitutional provisions or indirectly through adoption of other tax codes.  
 
(c)  The information included for each tax expenditure shall include, but shall not be 
limited to:  
 

(1)  The legal reference of the expenditures, including information whether the 
expenditure is required as a result of federal or state constitutional, judicial, or 
statutory mandate.  
 
(2)  Amount of revenues forgone or an estimate, if the actual amount cannot be 
determined, for the calendar year immediately preceding the publication of the report. 
The report shall also include an estimate of revenue forgone for the calendar year in 
which the report is published and the year following the report's publication. The tax 
administrator shall develop an index of the reliability of each estimate using five (5) 
levels with level one being most reliable. Where actual tax returns are the source of 
the estimate, the estimate should be assigned reliability level one. Where no reliable 
data exists for the estimate, the estimate should be assigned reliability level five (5). 
The reliability level shall be reported for the estimate of the revenues forgone.  
 
(3)  To the extent allowable by law, identification of the beneficiaries of the 
exemption by number, income, class and industry.  
 
(4)  A comparison of the tax expenditure to the tax systems of the other New 
England states, with emphasis on Massachusetts and Connecticut.  
 
(5)  The data source(s) and analysis methodology.  
 

2014 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  437 



Appendix A:  Current Statute on Tax Expenditure Reporting 

(6)  To the extent allowable by law, identification of similar taxpayers or 
industries that do not enjoy the exemption.  

 
(d)  Each report shall include a section containing recommendations for improving the 
effectiveness of the report as a tax policy tool. This section shall identify the resources 
required to implement these recommendations and shall also contain an estimate of the costs 
associated with such recommendations.  
 
(e)  On or before the second Tuesday in January 2004, the chief of the office of revenue 
analysis shall make available to the general assembly a plan to improve Rhode Island’s tax 
expenditure reporting effort.  The plan shall include measurable criteria to evaluate 
improvements in the reliability of tax expenditure item estimates and the identification of 
beneficiaries of each tax expenditure item by number, income, class and industry.  The plan 
shall also include cost estimates of additional resources necessary to implement the plan, and 
may include any other information that the tax administrator deems appropriate for inclusion 
in said plan. 
 
History of Section. 
(P.L. 1996, ch. 327, § 1; P.L. 1996, ch. 394, § 1; P.L. 1997, ch. 30, art. 38, § 1; P.L. 2003, ch. 
142, § 1; P.L. 2003, ch. 146, § 1; P.L. 2006, ch. 246, art. 38, § 16.) 
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