
RHODE ISLAND DIVISION OF TAXATION - PAGE 1 OF 2 

 

Rhode Island Department of Revenue 

Division of Taxation 
  

 
ADV 2022-32 
Tax Administration 

ADVISORY FOR TAXPAYERS AND TAX PROFESSIONALS 
November 18, 2022

 
Division allows electronic signatures on additional form 

Initiative expanded to include Rhode Island Dealer’s Statement of Sale form 
 

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today announced that, 
effective immediately, it will allow electronic signatures in place of handwritten 
signatures for an additional type of form.1  
  
The Division is continuing with tax modernization efforts, and the expansion of 
electronically signed forms is one aspect of that process.  
  
On March 17, 2021, the Division expanded its electronic signature program, which 
increased the total number of forms accepting electronic signatures to seven, as listed 
in the following table: 

 
Today, the Division announced that it is now accepting electronic signatures for an 
additional form:  

   
An electronic signature is a way to get approval on electronic documents. Taxpayers 
have several signature options with these forms. They may use the applicable form’s 
built-in e-signature feature, use certain other electronic signature options, or use what 
is known as a “facsimile signature”. In general, a facsimile signature means a signature 
that is copied or scanned from a document that bears an authorized original signature. 

 
1 The Division is allowing electronic signatures for limited documents, under the authority of Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter § 42-127.1 (“Uniform Electronic Transactions Act”): 
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE42/42-127.1/INDEX.HTM 
 
2 The form names in this table link to forms that contain a built-in option for electronic signatures. The form can be 
completed once downloaded. In some cases, certain computer software programs may be needed to take full 
advantage of the built-in signature option. 
 
3 Form T336-1 is available only to licensed Motor Vehicle Dealers through direct distribution. Unlike the forms in the 
previous table, it is not available for download from the Division’s website. 

Form2 Title  
Form T-71  “Insurance Companies Tax Return of Gross Premiums”  

Form T-71A  “Surplus Line Broker Return of Gross Premiums”  
Form RI-71.3 Election  “Election to Have Withholding Based on Gain”  

Form RI-71.3 Remittance  “Remittance of Withholding on Sale of Real Estate by 
Nonresident”  

Form T-72  “Public Service Corporation Gross Earnings Tax Return”  
Form T-74  “Banking Institution Excise Tax Return”  
Form T-86  “Bank Deposits Tax” 

Form  Title  
Form RI T336-13 “Rhode Island Dealer’s Statement of Sale - Motor Vehicle”  

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE42/42-127.1/INDEX.HTM
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Other%20Corp/2020%20T-71_ws.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Other%20Corp/2020%20T-71A_ws.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/NRREWH/713_ElectionCertCombo_m3.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/NRREWH/713_RemittanceAckCombo_m.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Other%20Corp/2020%20T-72_ws.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Other%20Corp/2020%20T-74_ws.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Other%20Corp/2020%20T-86_ws.pdf
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Acceptable electronic signature methods include:  
 

• A typed name that is typed on a signature block;  
• A scanned or digitized image of a handwritten signature that is attached to an 

electronic record;  
• A handwritten signature input onto an electronic signature pad;  
• A handwritten signature, mark, or command input on a display screen with a 

stylus device; or  
• A signature created by a third-party software.  

   
The use of an electronic signature is an option, not a requirement. A taxpayer, or the 
taxpayer’s representative, may elect instead to have the return signed in the usual 
manner, with an original, handwritten signature.  By voluntarily submitting an e-
signature, the taxpayer certifies that the signature is valid and intended to operate as 
acknowledgement/execution of the document to which it is affixed. 
 
Once completed, the electronically signed form T336-1 should be filed through the 
same process as you would file your hand-signed form. 

 
A note for tax preparers: Authentication  

  
A preparer using the electronic signature option for a new client must first authenticate 
the client’s identity. This means that you must ensure that the taxpayers are who they 
say they are. You must authenticate a taxpayer’s identity when that taxpayer 
electronically signs the form in a remote transaction (i.e., not in person) and you do 
not have a personal or business relationship with that taxpayer. More information on 
authenticating a client’s identity is available in Advisory 2021-09. 

 
 
 
For more information about the Form T336-1, electronic signatures, or about other 
matters involving sales and use taxes, call the Division’s Excise & Estate Tax Section at 
(401) 574-8955 between 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. business days, or 
email: Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov.  

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, is open to the 
public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division of Taxation 
at (401) 574‐8829 or see https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us. 
 

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/Advisory/ADV_2021_09.pdf
mailto:Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us

