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This is a plain-language summary of State tax changes that were enacted in the 2022 
session of the Rhode Island General Assembly. Most of the tax changes were enacted 
in the budget bill for the 2023 fiscal year.2 Some of the changes were enacted in 
stand-alone legislation. The Division has included below a list of topics summarized 
in this document, along with their page numbers. (Links in the table of contents are 
live.) Please note: This document may be updated from time to time. 
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1This document was revised on December 6, 2022. The Summary of Legislative Changes now reflects expanded guidance regarding the 
periods impacted by the interest rate change. 

2House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended: http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123Aaa.pdf.  The bill was 
approved by the Rhode Island General Assembly and signed into law by Rhode Island Governor Daniel J. McKee on June 27, 2022 with 
an effective date of July 1, 2022 unless otherwise provided in the bill. 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123Aaa.pdf
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Child Tax Rebates 
 

During the Fall of 2022, the Rhode Island Division of Taxation will distribute one-time Child Tax 
Rebates to qualifying Rhode Island residents. There is no separate application for claiming a 
rebate. The Division will calculate each taxpayer’s rebate payment based on the taxpayer’s 2021 
Rhode Island personal income tax filing.   

Eligible taxpayers will be issued a rebate payment of $250 per child, up to a maximum of three 
children. For the purposes of this rebate, a child is defined as an individual who is eighteen 
years of age or under as of December 31, 2021. Rebate payments will be issued for each child 
validly claimed as a dependent on the taxpayer’s 2021 Rhode Island personal income tax return. 

Eligible taxpayers are any natural persons domiciled in Rhode Island who have filed their state 
personal income tax return for the 2021 taxable year by the due date. Taxpayers submitting 
amended filings must do so by August 31, 2022 to qualify for the rebate. Taxpayers filing their 
original returns by the extended due date of October 17, 2022 also qualify. 

To receive a rebate, taxpayers must meet one of the following income requirements for the 
2021 taxable year: 

• Single, married filing separately, head of household, or qualifying widow/widower with a 
federal adjusted gross income of $100,000 or less; or 

• Married filing jointly with a federal adjusted gross income of $200,000 or less.  

Child Tax Rebate payments will not be considered income for the purposes of state personal 
income tax for tax year 2022. They will also not be included in calculations when determining 
eligibility for any state program.  

This law provides an additional penalty for fraudulent claims. If a taxpayer fraudulently claims 
a dependent on their Rhode Island personal income tax return they must pay back the rebate 
amount received. The taxpayer will also be subject to a penalty of $10,000 for each fraudulently 
claimed dependent. 

 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30 
 

 

Cannabis tax 
 

With the passage of House Bill 7593, Substitute A as amended, Rhode Island legalized adult 
recreational use of cannabis in Rhode Island. The new law implements a state and local 
cannabis excise tax, to be remitted to the Division of Taxation. These taxes are imposed upon 
the sale of cannabis and cannabis products by a licensed cannabis retailer, and are in addition 
to other Rhode Island taxes, including sales and use tax. When cannabis is sold by the retailer 
to anyone other than a cannabis establishment, the cannabis product is subject to state sales 
and use tax, a 10% state excise tax, and a 3% local excise tax. The State will collect and 
distribute the local cannabis excise tax on behalf of the municipalities in which the cannabis 
product is delivered to purchasers. 

Every licensed adult use cannabis business must file a tax return on or before the 20th day of 
the month following the sale of cannabis and cannabis products. If the retailer fails to collect 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-30/INDEX.htm
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the tax from the purchaser, the purchaser must file a return and pay the tax directly to the 
state. 

Failure to pay the state cannabis excise tax to the state, or any amount of tax required to be 
collected and paid to the state, will result in the accrual of interest from the due date of the 
payment. 

The State cannabis excise and local cannabis excise taxes do not apply to the sale of cannabis 
products by a medical marijuana treatment center to entities that hold a compassion center 
permit, such as cardholders and caregivers. 

As with many other taxes, there are also provisions for inspection of the retail premises, 
necessary record keeping, and rights to appeal. 

The Cannabis Control Commission may make recommendations to the general assembly 
regarding the rate of taxation, and the General Assembly may adjust the rates of cannabis 
taxation at any time.  
 
Effective: 5/25/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7593, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Titles 21 and 44  
 

 

Driver privilege cards and permits 
 

On June 28, 2022, Governor Daniel J. McKee signed into law Senate Bill 2006, Substitute A as 
amended, allowing the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to issue driving privilege 
cards and driving privilege permits to applicants unable to establish legal presence in the United 
States. While the administration of these cards and permits will be undertaken by the DMV, to 
qualify under the new law, the applicant must have verification from the Division of Taxation 
that the applicant has either filed, or been claimed as a dependent on, a Rhode Island resident 
personal income tax return in the prior tax year.  

For applicants applying for driver privilege cards and/or permits between July 1, 2023 through 
December 31, 2023, the applicant must either file, or be claimed as a dependent on, a Rhode 
Island resident personal income tax return for tax year 2022. 

 
Effective: 7/1/2023 
Citation: Senate Bill 2006, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Titles 3, 31, and 44  
 

 

Modification for military service pensions 
 

The addition of subsection 11 to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-30-12 allows for a modification reducing 
federal adjusted gross income for taxpayers receiving military service pensions. This 
modification takes effect for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2023. Under this 
modification, when filing Rhode Island personal income taxes, a taxpayer may subtract the 
amount of the military service pension benefits that were included in their federal adjusted 
gross income. The balance after the modification would then be their modified federal adjusted 
income for Rhode Island tax purposes. 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7593aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE21/INDEX.HTM
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/INDEX.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/SenateText22/S2006aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE3/INDEX.HTM
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE31/INDEX.HTM
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/INDEX.HTM
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The modification, alone or in combination, may not exceed the amount of the military service 
pension received in the tax year for which the modification is claimed. For example, if a taxpayer 
receives a military pension and no other type of pension or annuity income, the taxpayer should 
list the full amount of military pension income on the military pension line of Schedule M – RI 
Modifications to Federal AGI, and list nothing on the line for retirement income from certain 
pension plans and annuities. 

 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws § 44-30-12 
 

 

Retirement income exemption increase 
 

A Rhode Island personal income tax modification applies for income from private sector 
pensions, government pensions, 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, and other such sources.  
 
For eligible taxpayers, up to $20,000 of their federally taxable income from sources such as 
pensions, 401(k) plans, and annuities, may be excluded as income subject to Rhode Island 
personal income tax. 
 
The income exemption applies to qualified taxpayers who: 
 

• Have a federal adjusted gross income (AGI) that includes taxable income from sources 
such as pensions, 401(k) plans, and annuities; 

• Have reached “full retirement age” as defined by the Social Security Administration; and 
• Have a federal AGI below a certain amount. 

 
This new law increases the current amount of taxable pension and/or annuity income that can 
be exempted from $15,000 to $20,000 starting with tax year 2023. 
 
Any military pension included in federal adjusted gross income should not be included within 
this modification. In this case, taxpayers should refer to subsection 11.  
 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws § 44-30-12 
 

 

Reduction of interest rate for certain delinquent payments 
 

The rate of interest for delinquent tax payments, pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-1-7, is 
determined annually and calculated by adding 2% to the prime rate in effect as of October 1 of 
the previous year, with a maximum interest rate of 21% and a minimum interest rate of 18%. In 
recent years, the interest rate on delinquent tax payments has been 18% per year, or the 
minimum rate, as a result of a low prime rate.   

After January 1, 2023, the minimum interest rate will drop to 12% per year for delinquent tax 
payments of many types going forward. This 12% interest rate applies to all tax types that are 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-30/44-30-12.htm
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-30/44-30-12.htm
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not taxes held in trust for the State of Rhode Island. “Trust fund taxes”, those that are taxes 
collected from taxpayers by businesses and remitted by those businesses to the State, will 
continue to accrue interest at 18%.  Trust fund taxes include sales tax, hotel tax, meals and 
beverage tax, and withholding tax.  

All outstanding liabilities prior to January 1, 2023 will accrue interest at the 18% rate through 
December 31, 2022.  The change will apply to all tax liabilities of non-trust fund taxes existing 
on January 1, 2023 and after. For example, if you have a corporate tax liability for tax year ending 
December 31, 2021 filed and paid on March 30, 2023, interest will accrue at 18% through 
December 31, 2022 and at 12% from January 1, 2023 until paid. 

 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws § 44-1-7 
 

 

Property tax relief 
 

Rhode Island law provides for a property tax credit for property taxes accrued, including the 
amount of rent constituting property taxes, on the taxpayer’s homestead based on the 
taxpayer’s household size and income level. The credit is calculated as the amount of property 
taxes above a certain percentage of the taxpayer’s total household income with a provision for 
a maximum credit allowance.   
 
The new law increases the maximum income level for taxpayers to qualify for the credit from 
$30,000 to $35,000 and provides for a maximum credit of $600 for tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2022. There are also provisions for inflation adjustments. 
 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws § 44-33-9 
 

 

Sales tax exemptions 
 

As a result of the new law, the following exemptions to sales and use tax were added:    
 
CERTAIN FUNERAL ITEMS: The sales and use tax exemption that includes coffins, caskets, urns, 
shrouds, and burial garments was expanded to include burial containers, urn liners, urn vaults, 
grave liners, grave vaults, burial tent setups, and prayer cards.   
 
BREAST PUMPS, BREAST PUMP COLLECTION AND STORAGE SUPPLIES: There is a new sales and 
use tax exemption for breast pumps and breast pump collection and storage supplies. The 
exemption from sales and use tax applies to the purchase of these items that are used in 
connection with a breast pump. Such items include breast shields and breast shield connectors, 
breast pump tubes and tubing adapters, breast pump valves and membranes, backflow 
protectors and backflow protector adapters, bottles and bottle caps specific to the operation 
of the breast pump, breast milk storage bags, and related items sold as part of a breast pump 
kit pre-packaged by a breast pump manufacturer.   
 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-1/44-1-7.htm
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-33/44-33-9.htm
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The exemption does not apply to items for general use and other items enumerated in the new 
law,  including bottles and bottle caps not used in connection with a breast pump Items the 
new law does not exempt from sales and use tax include: breast pump travel bags and other 
similar carrying accessories; cleaning supplies, ice packs, labels, and other similar products not 
sold as part of a pre-packed breast pump kit by a breast pump manufacturer; nursing bras, bra 
pads, breast shells, and other similar products; and creams, ointments, and other similar 
products used in connection with breast feeding-related symptoms or specified conditions. 
Please note, while these items are not exempt under this new exemption, the items may qualify 
under other exemptions pursuant to Rhode Island law. 
 
TRADE-IN VALUE OF MOTORCYCLES: There is a new sales and use tax exemption regarding the 
trade-in value of motorcycles. With this new law, the amount of the trade-in allowance for a 
new or used motorcycle is exempt from sales and use tax. Motorcycle is defined such that the 
exemption does not apply to motorcycles used for hire or other types of motor vehicles. 
 
Effective: 10/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 
 

 

Electronic filing and payment mandate for large business taxpayers 
 

Beginning on January 1, 2023, larger business registrant taxpayers are required to file returns 
and remit taxes to the State of Rhode Island electronically.  

A "larger business registrant" is any person who: 

• Operates as a business whose combined annual liability for all taxes administered by 
the Division of Taxation for the entity is or exceeds $5,000; or 

• Operated as a business whose annual gross income is over $100,000 for the entity. 

Penalties will be imposed if a larger business registrant taxpayer fails to file and pay 
electronically unless there was reasonable cause for the failure and such failure was not due 
to negligence or willful neglect.  These penalties include a $50 penalty for each failure to file a 
return by electronic means and 5% of the tax amount or $500, whichever is less, for each failure 
to pay electronically.  
 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws § 44-1-31.2 
 

 

Historic Preservation Tax Credits  
 
The “Historic Preservation Tax Credits 2013” program is intended to create economic incentives 
that stimulate the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic structures, and to 
generate economic and employment activities. 
 
In general, those qualifying under the program may receive a tax credit which can be applied 
against the Rhode Island corporate income tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11), 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-18/INDEX.htm
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
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public service corporation tax (Chapter 44-13), bank excise tax (Chapter 44-14), the insurance 
company gross premiums tax (Chapter 44-17), or personal income tax (Chapter 44-30). 

The new law extends the program’s sunset from June 30, 2022 to June 30, 2023. No credits 
can be authorized to be reserved on or after June 30, 2023, or upon the exhaustion of the 
maximum aggregate credits, whichever comes first.   
 
Per a new law passed this session, Senate Bill 2551, Substitute B, Rebuild Rhode Island tax credits 
can only be awarded after the Department of Labor and Training certifies compliance with the 
prevailing wage requirements, if applicable. 

An additional $28 million of funding has also been made available for this program. 
 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-33.6 
 
 

Motion Picture Production Tax Credits 
 

The “Motion Picture Production Tax Credits” program encourages development of a capital base 
for motion picture film, videotape, and television program productions in Rhode Island. The 
program’s goal is to create a more independent, self-supporting motion picture industry in the 
state. 

Those qualifying under the program may receive a tax credit which can be applied against the 
Rhode Island corporate income tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11), public service 
corporation tax (Chapter 44-13), bank excise tax (Chapter 44-14), the insurance company gross 
premiums tax (Chapter 44-17), or personal income tax (Chapter 44-30). 

Under former law, a maximum of $20 million in total tax credits could be issued for motion 
picture tax credits and/or musical and theatrical production tax credits.3  

Last year, the law was changed to provide that, solely for the 2022 tax year, the total amount 
of motion picture tax credits and/or musical and theatrical production tax credits issued cannot 
exceed $30 million.  

Under the new law, exclusively for tax years 2023 and 2024, the total amount of motion picture 
tax credits and/or musical and theatrical production tax credits cannot exceed $40 million. 
 
This change does not impact the scheduled sunset of this credit program in July 2027.  No 
credits can be issued on or after July 1, 2027, unless the production has received initial 
certification prior to July 1, 2027. 
 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-31.2 
 
 
 

 
3 The “Musical and Theatrical Production Tax Credits” program provided for under Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-31.3. This program functions similarly to the “Motion Picture Production Tax Credits” 
program. 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-33.6/INDEX.htm
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-31.2/INDEX.htm
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‘Qualified Jobs’ tax credits 
 

The “Rhode Island Qualified Jobs Incentive Act of 2015” program is intended to create jobs and 
stimulate business expansion in Rhode Island.  Those qualifying under the program may receive 
a tax credit which can be applied against the Rhode Island corporate income tax (Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-11), public service corporation tax (Chapter 44-13), bank excise tax 
(Chapter 44-14), the insurance company gross premiums tax (Chapter 44-17), or personal 
income tax (Chapter 44-30). 

The new law extends the program’s sunset from December 31, 2022 to December 31, 2023.   All 
credits must now be authorized to be reserved before December 31, 2023. 
 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-48.3 
 

 

‘Rebuild Rhode Island’ tax credits 
 

The “Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit” program provides tax credits to qualified commercial, 
residential, and mixed-use projects. The program exists to stimulate business development. 
Those qualifying under the program may receive a tax credit for use against the Rhode Island 
corporate income tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11), public service corporation tax 
(Chapter 44-13), bank excise tax (Chapter 44-14), or the insurance company gross premiums tax 
(Chapter 44-17), or may be used as a credit against personal income taxes for owners of pass-
through entities such as a partnership, a limited-liability company taxed as a partnership, or 
multiple owners of property. 

Per a new law passed this session, Senate Bill 2551, Substitute B, Rebuild Rhode Island tax credits 
can only be awarded after the Department of Labor and Training certifies compliance with the 
prevailing wage requirements, if applicable. 

The new law extends the program’s sunset from December 31, 2022 to December 31, 2023.   All 
credits must now be authorized to be reserved before December 31, 2023. 

Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.20 

 
 

‘Wavemaker’ expansion 
 

The Wavemaker Fellowship, technically known as the “Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker 
Fellowship” under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.26, is available to graduates who 
have incurred student loan debt during the completion of an associate degree, bachelor’s 
degree, or graduate degree and are pursuing careers in science, technology, engineering, 
mathematics, or design-related fields.  

Anyone with higher education loan debt who is employed in Rhode Island, either full-time or 
with an offer of full-time employment, in one of these fields may apply.  Recipients of a 
Wavemaker award may elect to take the award in the form of a tax credit or a direct payment 

http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-48.3/INDEX.htm
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE42/42-64.20/INDEX.htm
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as a method to defray the cost of student loan repayments.  However, credits cannot exceed 
100% of the education loan repayment expenses paid by the taxpayer during each service period 
completed for up to four consecutive service periods. 

The new law expands the Wavemaker Fellowship Program to include health care professionals, 
including high-demand healthcare practitioners or mental health professionals, clinical social 
workers, and mental health counselors, licensed by the department of health. Funding for 
healthcare professionals will administered from a dedicated fund distinct from the fund used 
to provide the credit to STEM and design awardees. 

The new law extends the program’s sunset from December 31, 2022 to December 31, 2023.   No 
incentives or credits shall be authorized after December 31, 2023. 
 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.26 
 

 

Tax increment financing 
 

The “Rhode Island Tax Increment Financing” program, under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 
42-64.21, is intended to stimulate business development and create new jobs in Rhode Island. 

In general, under a tax increment financing (TIF) agreement, the Division of Taxation pays to the 
developer the incremental State revenues directly realized from projects or businesses 
operation in the TIF area.  The taxes involved include the Rhode Island corporate income tax 
(Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11), public service corporation tax (Chapter 44-13), bank 
excise tax (Chapter 44-14), the insurance company gross premiums tax (Chapter 44-17), sales, 
use, and meals and beverage taxes (Chapters 44-18 and 44-19), and the personal income tax 
(Chapter 44-30). 

The new law extends the program’s sunset from December 31, 2022 to December 31, 2023.   The 
Rhode Island Commerce Corporation shall enter into no tax increment financing agreement 
after December 31, 2023. 
 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.21 
 

 

Prevailing wage requirements for certain tax credits 
 

On July 2, 2022, Senate Bill 2551, Substitute B, became effective without the Governor’s 
signature.  The new law adds provisions to both the Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit program 
and the Historic Preservation Tax Credits 2013 program in relation to construction projects and 
the wages of construction workers.  For construction projects over $10,000,000, construction 
workers must be paid wages and benefits as set forth in Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 
37-13.  Tax credits under these two programs can only be awarded after DLT certifies 
compliance with the prevailing wage requirements, if applicable.  DLT is primarily responsible 
for administering the new provisions and will work with the Commerce Corporation and the 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE42/42-64.26/INDEX.htm
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE42/42-64.21/INDEX.htm
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Division on regulations for the Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit and the Division on regulations 
for the Historic Preservation Tax Credits 2013.   

The law will take effect on January 1, 2023. 

 
Effective: 1/1/2023 
Citation: Senate Bill 2551, Substitute B  
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 42-64.20 and 44-33.6  
 

 

Hospital licensing fee 
 

As a result of the new law, Rhode Island’s hospital licensing fee under Rhode Island General 
Laws § 23-17-38.1 is as follows:    
 
STATE FISCAL YEAR 2022: The hospital licensing fee for the State’s fiscal year 2022 was changed 
from 5.725% to a fee equal to 5.656% of the net patient services revenue of every hospital for 
the hospital’s first fiscal year ending on or after January 1, 2020, except that the license fee for 
all hospitals located in Washington County, Rhode Island, shall be discounted by 37%. Every 
hospital shall pay the licensing fee to the Division of Taxation on or before July 13, 2022.  
 
STATE FISCAL YEAR 2023: The hospital licensing fee for the State’s fiscal year 2023 is equal to 
5.42% of the net patient services revenue of every hospital for the hospital’s first fiscal year 
ending on or after January 1, 2021, except that the license fee for all hospitals located in 
Washington County, Rhode Island, shall be discounted by 37%. Every hospital shall pay the 
licensing fee to the Division of Taxation on or before June 30, 2023.  
 
Effective: 7/1/2022 
Citation: House Bill 7123, Substitute A as amended 
Affects: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 23-17 
 

 

 
                                                 

This document is an informal summary of recently enacted Rhode 
Island legislation and is for general information purposes only. It is 
not a substitute for Rhode Island General Laws, or for Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation regulations, rulings, or notices. Citations listed 
in this document are from the original legislative text and are 
subject to revision. Some of the citations included in this 
publication refer to existing statutes that have been amended. 

 

Neena S. Savage 

Rhode Island Tax Administrator 

 

 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/SenateText22/S2551B.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE42/42-64.20/INDEX.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-33.6/INDEX.htm
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText22/HouseText22/H7123aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE23/23-17/INDEX.htm
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