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Rhode Island estate tax credit and threshold set for 2023
Law provides annual adjustment based on widely used measure of inflation

PROVIDENCE, R.l. — The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today published the Rhode
Island estate tax credit amount and threshold for the estates of decedents dying on
or after January 1,2023.

Rhode Island’s Estate Tax credit is adjusted annually by the percentage increase (if
any) in the consumer price index for all urban consumers (CPI-U). For decedents dying
on or after January 1, 2023, the credit amount is $80,395, exempting from taxation the
first $1,733,264 of an estate. This means that, in general, if a decedent passes away in
2023, a net taxable estate valued at $1,733,264, or less, will not be subject to Rhode
Island’s Estate Tax.

Rhode Island Estate Tax threshold amount ‘

For decedent whose death occurs in: Estate Tax threshold amount is:
2023 $1,733,264
2022 $1,648,611
2021 $1,595,156
2020 $1,579,922
2019 $1,561,719
2018 $1,537,656
2017 $1,515,156
2016 $1,500,000
2015 $1,500,000
2014 $921,655
2013 $910,725
2012 $892,865
2011 $859,350
2010 $850,000
2009 $675,000

In certain circumstances, the Rhode Island Estate Tax will not apply regardless of the
estate’s size. Rhode Island General Laws provide full details on application of the
Estate Tax. The Rhode Island General Laws also include computations and factors such
as marital deductions - R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-22.
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http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-22/INDEX.htm

Rhode Island Estate Tax credit ‘

For decedent whose death occurs in: Estate tax credit amount is:
2023 $80,395
2022 $74,300
2021 $70,490
2020 $69,515
2019 $68,350
2018 $66,810
2017 $65,370
2016 $64,400
2015 $64,400

The Division reminds filers that the RI-706" is the required form for filing a taxable or
a non-taxable estate return for the estate of a decedent who passed after January 1,
2015.

Estates with assets below $1.3M will be required to complete Pages 1-4 of the RI-706
including Part 6. This portion of the form is for differentiating the types of assets, and
is known as the recapitulation schedule. The actual schedules related to the different
classifications are not required for estates below $1.3M. If the decedent’s gross estate
is equal to or exceeds the $1.3M amount, the estate must complete the full return
including all schedules.

For more information or questions regarding Estate Tax, taxpayers and preparers are
encouraged to contact the Division’s Estate Tax Section by email:
Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov or telephone from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days: 401-
574-8829 option #8.

Notes on non-taxable estates

Non-taxable estates may file an Estate Tax return for various reasons, including:

To obtain a discharge of the automatic statutory lien that attaches to all real
estate that a decedent owns at death.

To obtain a Notice of No Tax Due for probate court purposes.

To obtain a Waiver to allow the sale of Rhode Island securities, including Rhode
Island incorporated stock, Rhode Island state and municipal bonds, and mutual
funds organized as business trusts that do business in Rhode Island.

For Estate Tax forms visit: Estate Tax Forms | Rl Division of Taxation

1 See the Division’s ADV 2021-54 for details regarding the introduction of the RI-706 form.

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, is open to the
public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division of Taxation
at (401) 574-8829 or see https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us.
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