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2024 Tax Changes 

Division reminds taxpayers of new year changes 
 
 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation reminds taxpayers and tax 
professionals of the annual tax changes effective Monday, January 1, 2024. 
 
Many of these changes apply for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2024. Such 
changes generally do not affect Tax Year 2023 filings. The changes can, however, be 
useful for tax-planning purposes throughout calendar year 2024. 
 
 

■ Estate Tax Credit and Threshold Update 
 
The Rhode Island estate tax credit is adjusted every year based on a calculation set in 
statute. For decedents dying on or after January 1, 2024, it will be $83,370. This new 
credit amount is an increase from the 2023 amount of $80,395. 
  
The Rhode Island Estate Tax threshold is similarly adjusted. For decedents dying on or 
after January 1, 2024, the threshold will be $1,774,583. This is also an increase from the 
threshold for 2023 which equaled $1,733,264. 
 
For the estate of a person who passes away in 2024, a net value of $1,774,583 or less 
will generally not be subject to Rhode Island Estate Tax. In certain circumstances, the 
Rhode Island Estate Tax will not apply regardless of the estate’s size. Please see R.I. 
Gen. Laws § 44-22 for full details on the computation of the tax, including factors such 
as marital and charitable deductions. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
For more information about the Rhode Island estate tax credit and threshold, please 
see ADV 2023-19. 
 
 

■ Interest Rates 
 
Interest on overpayments (refunds) for calendar year 2024 has increased to the rate of 
8.50% per annum, up 2.25% from the rate for calendar year 2023.  

Estate Tax Update 
 2023* 2024** 

Estate tax credit amount $80,395 $83,370 
Estate tax threshold $1,733,264 $1,774,583 
*For decedents dying in calendar year 2023. ** For Decedents dying in calendar year 2023. 

http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-22/INDEX.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-22/INDEX.htm
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-12/ADV_2023_19_Estate_Update_0.pdf
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For calendar year 2024, the interest rate on underpayments (delinquencies) will be 18% 
for Trust Fund taxes, and 12% for all other taxes. 
 
For more information regarding interest rates please see ADV 2023-16. 
 

Interest Rates Update 
 2023 2024 
Overpayments 6.25% 8.50% 
Underpayments – Trust Fund Taxes 18% 18% 
Underpayments – Non-Trust Fund Taxes 12% 12% 
Note: Rates are determined by formulas set forth in statute. 

 
 

■ Personal Income Tax 
 
The Personal Income Tax inflation-adjusted amounts have been calculated for 2024. 
These amounts apply for Tax Year 2024. This means the adjusted amounts will not 
appear on tax returns filed in 2024 covering Tax Year 2023. They are important to know 
now for tax-planning purposes and will be the amounts on tax returns seen in early 
2025 for Tax Year 2024. 
 
For details about personal income tax standard deduction amounts, exemptions, tax 
brackets, and related information for Tax Year 2024, please see ADV 2024-01. 
 
 

■ Form T-204R Discontinued 
 
Sales Tax permit holders will notice that the Rhode Island Annual Sales and Use Tax 
Reconciliation Return - Form T-204R-Annual is no longer required for Tax Year 2023 
and forward. Changes to the Sales and Use Tax Return for monthly and quarterly filers 
has made it possible to discontinue annual reconciliations for most sales tax filers. 
Filers of Form T-204W (for writers, artists, and composers) or Form T-204A (for liquor 
stores) are still required to file these annual reconciliation returns covering the 2023 
calendar year. 
 
For details about the discontinuation of Form T-204R, please see ADV 2023-17. 
 
 

■ Tax Credits Extended 
 
Under legislation enacted in the 2023 legislative session, a number of tax credit and 
incentive programs that were scheduled to expire are now extended into 2024. The 
following table shows the updated sunset dates: 

Tax Credits and Incentives Update 
Program: Old Sunset Date: New Sunset Date: 
Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Fellowship December 31, 2023 December 31, 2024 
Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit December 31, 2023 December 31, 2024 
Rhode Island Qualified Jobs Incentive Act of 2015 December 31, 2023 December 31, 2024 
Rhode Island Tax Increment Financing December 31, 2023 December 31, 2024 
Historic Preservation Tax Credits 2013 June 30, 2023 June 30, 2024 

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-11/ADV_2023_16_Interest_Rates.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-01/ADV_2024_01_Inflation_Adjustments_0.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-11/ADV_2023_17_T204R.pdf
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■ Temporary Relief from Gross Earnings Tax 
 
The passage of Rhode Island’s Fiscal Year 2024 budget provides for the addition of 
temporary relief from the gross earnings tax on electricity and gas. For the months of 
December 2023, January 2024, February 2024, and March 2024, the gross earnings tax 
on electricity and gas will not be charged to utility customers. 
 
Find the details in the Summary of Legislative Changes, and on the Division’s website. 
 
 

■ Earned Income Tax Credit Increase 
 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2024, the Earned Income Tax Credit has 
increased to 16% of the federal credit. The refundable portion continues to be 100% of 
the amount by which the Rhode Island EIC exceeded the Rhode Island income tax. 
 
Find the details in ADV 2023-13. 
 
 

■ Medicaid Exemption from Individual Mandate Penalty  
 
A new exemption to Rhode Island’s health insurance mandate (also known as the 
“individual mandate” or “health coverage mandate”) has gone into effect for Tax Year 
2023. This exemption from the individual mandate penalty applies to those who had 
Medicaid during Tax Year 2023 and lost that coverage at some point during the year. 
 
Find the details in the Summary of Legislative Changes. 
 
 

■ Litter Control Permit Eliminated 
 
Effective January 1, 2024, the litter control participation permit and permit fee will no 
longer be a requirement in Rhode Island. 
 
Find the details in the Summary of Legislative Changes. 
 
 

■ Scholarship Tax Credit Increase 
 
The cap on the Tax Credits for Contributions to Scholarship Organizations program tax 
credit allowed for business entities making contributions to scholarship organizations 
has increased from $1.5 million to $1.6 million beginning in Tax Year 2024. 
 
Find the details in the Summary of Legislative Changes. 
 

Tax Credits for Contributions to Scholarship Organizations 
Fiscal Year: 2007-2013 2014-2023 2024 

Credits $1M $1.5M $1.6M 

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-08/2023_summary_of_legislative_changes%20-%20Revised%208-7-2023.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/special-programs/temporary-relief-gross-earnings-tax-electricity-and-gas
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-09/ADV%202023-13.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-08/2023_summary_of_legislative_changes%20-%20Revised%208-7-2023.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-08/2023_summary_of_legislative_changes%20-%20Revised%208-7-2023.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-08/2023_summary_of_legislative_changes%20-%20Revised%208-7-2023.pdf
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■ Identification Cards 
 
The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can issue state identification cards 
to applicants unable to establish legal presence in the United States effective January 
1, 2024. Applicants must provide proof of residence in this state, a tax identification 
number, and must obtain a verification letter from the Division of Taxation to satisfy 
the requirement that the applicant has filed a personal income tax return or was 
claimed as a dependent for the tax year preceding the application. 

 
Find the details in the Summary of Legislative Changes. 

 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, is open to the 
public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division of Taxation 
at (401) 574‐8829 or see https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us. 
 

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-08/2023_summary_of_legislative_changes%20-%20Revised%208-7-2023.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us

