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I INTRODUCTION

The above-entitled matter came before the undersigned as the result of a Notice of
Pre-Hearing Conference and Appointment of Hearing Officer dated January 31, 2018 and
issued to the above captioned taxpayer (“Taxpayer”) by the Division of Taxation
(“Division”) in response to a request for hearing. A hearing was held on July 13, 2018
with the parties resting on the record.! The Division was represented by counsel and the
Taxpayer was pro se.

IL. JURISDICTION

The Division has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-30-1 et
seq., RI. Gen. Laws § 44-1-1 et seq., 280-RICR-20-00-2, Division of Taxation
Administrative Hearing Procedures Regulation, and 220-RICR-50-10-2, Department of
Administration Legal Services Rules of Procedure for Administrative Hearings.

III. ISSUE
Whether the Taxpayer’s request for a refund of payment of sales tax for returned

property is allowable under R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30(58).

! At hearing, the Division submitted a summary of the case law on which it relied.



IV. MATERIAL FACTS AND TESTIMONY

_Revenue Agent, testified on behalf of the Division. He testified
that the Taxpayer purchased a car (“Car”) on January 5, 2017 and the total amount paid
was § ; See Division’s Exhibit A (Car purchase contract). He testified that the
date of purchase is based on the contract date and not on the delivery date. He testified
that the Taxpayer bought the car in Massachusetts, but registered and paid tax on it in
Rhode Island. See Division’s Exhibit B (use tax return jshowing $ payment to Rhode
Island). He testified that the Taxpayer tried to return the Car to the dealer and initially filed
a consumer complaint with Massachusetts Attorney General, and then sent a demand letter
to the dealer in June, 2017. He testified that the Taxpayer returned the Car to the dealer in
June, 2017 and received a refund of $ . See Division’s Exhibits D (consumer
claim); E (demand letter); F (settlement offer), G and H (payoff figure); I (dealer check for
refund); and K (letter confirming Car loan paid off). On cross-examination, he testified
that the Taxpayer did not receive any profit from the Car return and the Car purchase price
was$ . See Division’s Exhibits A and F.

The Taxpayer testified on his behalf. He provided a chronology of his purchase of
the Car and the return of the Car. See Taxpayer’s Exhibit One (1). He testified that he
initiated the return of the Car by filing a consumer complaint on March 29, 2017 with the
Massachusetts’ Attorney General’s office and a month later, someone from the office
called him, and suggested he send a 30 day demand letter to the dealer. He testified that
he sent a demand letter to the dealer in June, 2017. See Division’s Exhibit E. On cross-
examination, the Taxpayer did not deny that the return of the Car was over 120 days from

its purchase, but testified he initiated the return of the Car within 120 days of purchase.



V.  DISCUSSION

A. Legislative Intent

The Rhode Island Supreme Court has consistently held that it effectuates legislative
intent by examining a statute in its entirety and giving words their plain and ordinary
meaning. In re Falstaff Brewing Corp., 637 A.2d 1047 (R.I. 1994). See Parkway Towers
Associates v. Godfrey, 688 A.2d 1289 (R.I. 1997). If a statute is clear and unambiguous,
“the Court must interpret the statute literally and must give the words of the statute their
plain and ordinary meanings.” Oliveira v. Lombardi, 794 A.2d 453, 457 (R.I. 2002)
(citation omitted). The Supreme Court has also established that it will not interpret
legislative enactments in a manner that renders them nugatory or that would produce an
unreasonable result. See Defenders of Animals v. Dept. of Environmental Management,
553 A.2d 541 (R.I. 1989) (citing Cocchiniv. City of Providence, 479 A.2d 108 (R.1. 1984)).
In cases where a statute may contain ambiguous language, the Rhode Island Supreme Court
has consistently held that the legislative intent must be considered. Providence Journal Co.
v. Rodgers, 711 A.2d 1131 (R.I. 1998). The statutory provisions must be examined in their
entirety and the meaning most consistent with the policies and purposes of the legislature
must be effectuated. Id.

B. Relevant Statute and Regulation

R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30 states in part as follows:

Gross receipts exempt from sales and use taxes. — There are exempted
from the taxes imposed by this chapter the following gross receipts:

]

(58) Returned property. The amount charged for property returned by
customers upon rescission of the contract of sale when the entire amount
exclusive of handling charges paid for the property is refunded in either cash or
credit, and where the property is returned within one hundred twenty (120) days
from the date of delivery.



The Division’s Sales and Use Regulation 87-96 (“SU 87-96”) states as follows:

Returned Merchandise

The amount upon which tax is computed does not include the amount
charged for merchandise returned by customers upon rescission of the contract
of sale if the full sale price, exclusive of handling charges paid therefore, is
refunded either in cash or credit and the property is returned within 120 days
from the date of sale or purchase. A deduction may, accordingly, be taken for
returned merchandise, if the following conditions are fulfilled:

(1) The sale is rescinded under the terms of the sale agreement, as in the

case of a sale on trial, on satisfaction, on sale or return, or similar
terms or pursuant to the election of the customer as in the case of a
breach of warranty, and

(2) The full sale price, including that portion designated to be on

account of “sales tax,” exclusive of handling charges paid therefore,
is refunded or credited to the customer, and

(3) The merchandise is returned within 120 days from the date of sale

or purchase.

The term “returned merchandise” does not include repossession or
recapture of merchandise by legal process, abandonment of contract, voluntary
surrender of goods without entire refund or full credit for amount paid, or goods
accepted in trade or barter.

C. Arguments

The Division argued that the Taxpayer did not receive the full amount of the
contract minus handling charges and the Car was not returned within 120 days so the
Taxpayer did not meet the statutory requirements for a refund.

The Taxpayer admitted that the Car was returned after 120 days, but he argued that
he initiated the return process within the 120 days.

D. Whether the Taxpayer Can Receive the Sales Tax Refund Pursuant to
R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30

There are three (3) criteria that must be met for the Taxpayer to be able to receive
arefund under R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30(58): 1) rescission of contract; 2) entire contract
amount exclusive of handling charges is refunded; and 3) the property is returned within

120 days of purchase.



a. Rescission of Contract

SU 87-96 addresses what constitutes a rescission of contract.> As Black’s Law
Dictionary Eighth Edition (West 2004) states about rescission, it restores the parties to their
precontractual conditions. Rescission of contract can be by an agreement by the parties or
by law, but this statute speaks of merchandise being returned by a customer. In other
words, the seller accepts the return of the merchandise from the buyer and refunds the entire
amount paid for the property (minus handling charges) to the customer within 120 days of
purchase. Since the statute envisions this process to be voluntarily, said regulation defines
“returned merchandise” as excluding involuntary returns of merchandise and refunds.
Involuntary returns of merchandise include those executed by legal process. E.g.
repossession. See Administrative Tax Decision 2010-04 (5/20/10); and Administrative Tax

Decision 2010-2 (3/24/10).

2 In Roadway Express, Inc. v. Rhode Island Commission for Human Rights, 416 A.2d 673 (R.I. 1980), the
Court relied on a dictionary definition in applying the “ordinary meaning” of “must.” Id., at 674. As the
Court has found, “[i]n a situation in which a statute does not define a word, courts often apply the common
meaning given, as given by a recognized dictionary.” Defenders of Animals, Inc., at 543.

Black’s Law Dictionary, Eighth Edition (West 2004) defined recession as follows:

1. A party's unilateral unmaking of a contract for a legally sufficient reason, such as
the other party's material breach, or a judgment rescinding the contract; . . . Rescission is
generally available as a remedy or defense for a nondefaulting party and is accompanied by
restitution of any partial performance, thus restoring the parties to their precontractual positions.
... 2. An agreement by contracting parties to discharge all remaining duties of performance
and terminate the contract . . .

equitable rescission. Rescission that is decreed by a court of equity. . .

legal rescission. 1. Rescission that is effected by the agreement of the parties. . . . 2.
Rescission that is decreed by a court of law, as opposed to a court of equity.

" “The modern tendency is to treat rescission as equitable, but rescission was often
available at law. If plaintiff had paid money, or had delivered goods, he could rescind by
tendering whatever he had received from defendant and suing at law to recover his money or
replevy his goods. But if he had delivered a promissory note or securities, or conveyed real
estate, rescission required the court to cancel the instruments or compel defendant to reconvey.
This relief was available only in equity. Many modern courts ignore the distinction. . . . But
versions of the distinction are codified in some states.” Douglas Laycock, Modern American
Remedies 627-28 (3d ed. 2002).



Based on the foregoing, there was a rescission of contract as required by statute
since the return of the Car was voluntary and not due to legal process.

b. The Entire Amount Exclusive of Handling Charges

Was Not Refunded
The purchase price of the Car was § , _ with document preparation fees being
$ and title fee $ ' and service contract $. and GAP contract $ and
new plates § . The total price including the estimated sales tax was §$ . The

statute envisions that the parties are returned to their precontractual condition so that all
money (except for handling charges) paid by a purchaser is returned to a purchaser. The
Taxpayer received a refund of $ . The regulation does not define what constitutes
handling charges; however, the statute and regulation speak of a refund of the full contract
amount and not the purchése price of the vehicle so it envisions a refund for the total
contract amount rather than the purchase price of the vehicle. Thus, there is an expectation
that some of the total contract price would fall under handling charges and some would
not. For example, while the regulation does not delineate if a service contract is a handling
charge, a service contract is presumably related to covering car repairs after the purchase
of a car so it would not be a handling charge related to the actual purchase of this Car.
Furthermore, the GAP contract is related to insurance coverage and not the purchase of the
Car. Certainly, document preparation fees, a title fee, and a license plate fee could all be
considered part of handling charges for the purchase of a vehicle. The regulation includes
the sales tax in the full sale price.

Based on the foregoing, the Taxpayer did not receive a full refund of the entire
amount exclusive of handling charges (full contract amount minus document preparation,

title, and license plate fees).



c. Return of Property was not Within 120 days of Purchase
The Taxpayer admitted he returned the Car after 120 days, but argued that he
initiated the return by filing a consumer complaint within 120 days. However, the statute
and regulation do not require the return to be initiated in 120 days, but rather the return is
to be completed in 120 days. Thus, the return was not completed in 120 days.

VI. FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On or about January 31, 2018, the Division issued a Notice of Pre-Hearing
Conference and Appointment of Hearing Officer to the Taxpayer

2. A hearing in this matter was held on July 13, 2018.

3 The facts as detailed in Section V are incorporated herein by reference.

VII. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Based on the testimony and facts presented:

1. The Division has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §
44-30-1 et seq., and R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-1-1 et seq.

2 Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30(58), the Taxpayer is not entitled to
the claimed refund of sales tax.

VIII. RECOMMENDATION

Based on the above analysis, the Hearing Officer recommends as follows: Pursuant
to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30(58), the Taxpayer is not entitled to the claimed sales tax

payment refund and the Division properly denied Taxpayer’s claim for a refund.

Date: Au'w)( é WD 4@ 2l ~_
. ' Catherine R. Warren
Hearing Officer



ORDER

I have read the Hearing Officer’s Decision and Recommendation in this matter, and
I hereby take the following action with regard to the Decision and Recommendation:

v ADOPT

REJECT
MODIFY

Neena S. Savage ©
Tax Administrator

.sf//o// 4 g

NOTICE OF APPELLATE RIGHTS

THIS DECISION CONSTITUTES A FINAL ORDER OF THE DIVISION.
THIS ORDER MAY BE APPEALED TO THE SIXTH DIVISION DISTRICT
COURT PURSUANT TO THE FOLLOWING WHICH STATES AS FOLLOWS:

R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-19-18 Appeals

Appeals from administrative orders or decisions made pursuant to any
provisions of this chapter are to the sixth (6th) division district court pursuant
to chapter 8 of title 8. The taxpayer's right to appeal under this chapter is
expressly made conditional upon prepayment of all taxes, interest, and
penalties, unless the taxpayer moves for and is granted an exemption from the
prepayment requirement pursuant to § 8-8-26.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that on the /D% day of August, 2018, a copy of the above
Decision and Notice of Appellate Rights were sent by first class mail, postage prepaid and
return receipt requested to the Taxpayer’s address on file with the Division of Taxation and
by hand delivery to Matthew Cate, Esquire, Departme t of Administration, One Capitol
Hill, Providence, RI 02908.




