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Advisory:

Estate tax threshold set for 2013

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has announced the estate tax threshold for the estates of
decedents dying in 2013.

The threshold for 2013 will be $910,725, compared with $892,865 for 2012, an increase of 2
percent. It is the first time that the threshold has exceeded $900,000.

A state law enacted in 2009 raised the threshold to $850,000, from $675,000, effective for
decedents dying in 2010. That law also required that the threshold amount be adjusted each
January thereafter, based on annual inflation (the Consumer Price Index for all Urban
Consumers, CPI-U) compounded annually, and rounded up to the nearest $5 increment.

For decedent whose Rhode Island estate tax
death occurs in: threshold amount:
2009 $ 675,000
2010 $ 850,000
2011 $ 859,350
2012 $ 892,865
2013 $ 910,725

In general, for a decedent dying in 2013, a net taxable estate valued at $910,725 or less will not
be subject to Rhode Island’s estate tax. (In certain circumstances, the Rhode Island estate tax
will not apply no matter the estate’s size: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-22 provides full
details on the computation of the tax, including such factors as the marital and charitable
deductions.)

The Tax Division has also set the unified credit amount at $310,982.75 for decedents dying in
2013, up from $304,017.35 for decedents dying in 2012. More information about the estate tax is
available from the Tax Division’s Estate Tax section, at (401) 574-8900.
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