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Inflation-adjusted amounts set for tax year 2017 
Changes in standard deduction amounts, tax tables, other items 

 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today announced the standard deduction 
amounts, tax bracket ranges, and other key figures for the Rhode Island personal income tax for tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2017. 
 
The inflation-adjusted amounts apply for tax year 2017, and therefore will not appear on tax returns until 
early 2018 (covering the 2017 tax year). Nevertheless, they are important to know now for tax-planning 
purposes.  
 
The inflation-adjusted numbers will also aid tax professionals and taxpayers throughout 2017 as they 
make any needed adjustments to withholding or estimated payments, or for other purposes. The inflation-
adjusted amounts are presented in the following tables. 
 
 

Rhode Island standard deduction amounts 
Filing status  2016 2017 

Single  $8,300 $8,375 

Married filing jointly* $16,600 $16,750 

Head of household $12,450 $12,550 

Married filing separately $8,300 $8,375 
 

* Or qualifying widow or widower. 
Note: Amounts are determined based on inflation figures calculated by U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and applied 
to formulas under Rhode Island General Laws § 44‐30‐2.6. 
 

 
 

Rhode Island personal and dependency exemption amounts 
2016  2017

$3,900  $3,900
Note: Exemption amount is unchanged for 2017. 

 
Most taxpayers are able to claim the full amount of their applicable standard deduction. The same is true 
for personal exemptions and dependency exemptions. However, if a taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross 
income (as modified for Rhode Island tax purposes) falls within a certain income range, the standard 
deduction amount – and the personal and dependency exemption amounts – are limited.  

 
If income exceeds the range, the taxpayer cannot claim a standard deduction or personal or dependency 
exemption amount. The income ranges are listed in the following table. 
  
 
 
 

ADV 2016-30 ADVISORY FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS 
TAX ADMINISTRATION  DECEMBER 13, 2016 

Phase‐out range for standard deduction, exemption amounts 
2016  2017

$193,600 to $215,800 $195,150 to $217,350 
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Personal income tax: uniform rate schedule 
 
The Division of Taxation has recalculated tax bracket ranges for tax year 2017, as required by statute. 
The changes were made to the Rhode Island personal income tax’s uniform tax rate schedule, which is 
used by all filers.  
 
If the dollar figures in tax brackets remained constant, a taxpayer might be bumped into a higher bracket 
solely because of an annual wage increase that is intended to help the worker keep pace with inflation -- 
an outcome often referred to as “bracket creep.” To help offset the effects of bracket creep, the General 
Assembly adopted a provision that requires the tax brackets to be adjusted annually with inflation. 
(Standard deduction and exemption amounts are adjusted in similar fashion.) The effect can be seen in 
the following two tables: one for tax year 2016, the other for tax year 2017.  
 
 

Uniform tax rate schedule for tax year 2016 (personal income tax) 
 

Taxable income: 

Over  But not over  Pay 
+ percent on 

excess 
of the amount over 

$               0 $          60,850 $        ‐‐ 3.75% $                             0 

60,850 138,300 2,281.88 4.75% 60,850 

138,300 ‐‐  5,960.75 5.99% 138,300 

 
 

Uniform tax rate schedule for tax year 2017 (personal income tax) 
 

Taxable income: 

Over  But not over  Pay 
+ percent on 

excess 
of the amount over 

$               0 $          61,300 $        ‐‐ 3.75% $                            0 

61,300 139,400 2,298.75 4.75% 61,300 

139,400 ‐‐  6,008.50 5.99% 139,400 
 
 

Trusts and estates: income tax rate schedule 
 
The Division of Taxation has posted the income tax rate schedule for 2017 that will be used by fiduciaries 
for many trusts and estates. It is as follows: 
 
 

Income tax rate schedule for tax year 2017 (trusts and estates) 
 

Taxable income: 

Over  But not over  Pay 
+ percent on 

excess 
of the amount over 

$               0 $          2,450 $        ‐‐ 3.75% $                          0 

2,450 7,800 91.88 4.75% 2,450 

7,800 ‐‐  346.00 5.99% 7,800 
Table is for non‐grantor trusts and non‐bankruptcy estates. To calculate income tax for grantor trusts and bankruptcy 
estates, use personal income tax table. 
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Withholding tables, W-4 withholding certificate 
 
The Division of Taxation has posted on its website the booklet of income tax withholding tables for tax 
year 2017. Employers use the tables to calculate how much to withhold from an employee’s pay for 
Rhode Island personal income tax purposes. Following is a link: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2017/Withholding/2017%20Withholding%20Tax%20Booklet.pdf 
 
The booklet also includes a copy of the 2017 version of Form RI W-4, “Employee’s Withholding 
Allowance Certificate.” Following is a link: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2017/Withholding/RI%20W-4%202017.pdf 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 

To reach the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, call the Division’s main phone line at (401) 574-8829. The Division is 
normally open to the public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days, and is located at One Capitol Hill in 
Providence, in the Powers Building, which is diagonally across Smith Street from the State House. For forms, 
instructions, and other information, see the Division website: www.tax.ri.gov. For a list of phone numbers and email 
addresses of specific sections within the agency, see: www.tax.ri.gov/contact/ 
 
 
 


