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Filing season reminders ahead of next month’s tax deadline 
 

Division offers pointers about Schedule E, refunds, Wavemaker credits, other topics 
 

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Ahead of next month’s tax-filing deadline, the Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation today issued several reminders for tax preparers and taxpayers. Among the topics 
covered are the new Schedule E for personal income-tax returns, the “Where’s my tax refund?” 
online tool, and the tax treatment of awards from the Wavemaker program. 
 
 

Schedule E 
 
The Division reminds tax preparers and taxpayers to be sure to include the new Schedule E when 
filing personal income tax returns on Form RI-1040 (including resident and nonresident returns). 
 
Schedule E -- “Exemption Schedule for RI-1040 and RI-1040NR” -- is mainly for entering 
information for all the individuals that you can claim as a dependent. 
 
During the last tax-filing season, the Rhode Island Form RI-1040 did not require a separate listing 
of each dependent and each dependent’s Social Security number. Instead, the form instructed 
taxpayers to enter, in a box on the Rhode Island form, the number of federal exemptions.  
 
But because of 
changes in the 
law at the federal 
and Rhode 
Island level, the 
Division of 
Taxation has 
created 
Schedule E (see partial screenshot on this page), which must be used by taxpayers and tax 
preparers beginning with this filing season (covering returns for the 2018 tax year). 
 
On Schedule E, check a box for you, check another box for your spouse (if applicable), and list 
the required information for all individuals you can claim as a dependent. The completed Schedule 
E is used to help compute the overall number of exemptions on page 1 of your Form RI-1040. 
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‘Where’s my tax refund?’ 
 
When you file your Rhode Island personal income tax return, you may be due a personal 
income tax refund. If you are, you can check the status of your refund by using the “Where’s my 
tax refund?” interactive tool on the Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s website. Enter the 
required information as shown on the screen -- including your Social Security number, filing 
status (whether you file your return as “married” or “single”, for example), and the amount of 
your expected refund. 
 
Assuming that all data has been 
correctly entered, the tool should offer 
a prompt response to your query. The 
Division updates the online tool every 
business day during filing season, 
Monday through Friday. 
 
What if your refund is not available? 
The Division upgraded the online tool 
two filing seasons ago, making 
available a number of separate 
messages to give taxpayers and tax 
preparers a better idea of any issue that may be delaying the processing of the return and any 
associated refund.  
 
That way, fewer taxpayers and tax preparers will need to phone or email the Division of 
Taxation about the status of a return and any associated refund. The “Where’s my tax refund?” 
tool can be accessed through the home page of the Division of Taxation website, 
www.tax.ri.gov, or directly, at: https://www.ri.gov/taxation/refund/. 
 
 

Increase in average refund amount 
 
The average Rhode Island personal income tax refund has risen by 7.7 percent compared with 
the same point a year earlier. The average refund is $605.39, compared with $562.13 at 
approximately the same point a year ago. Overall, the Rhode Island Division of Taxation has 
issued approximately $112 million in refunds so far this year, up approximately $7.8 million 
compared with the year-earlier period. 
 
So far this season, the Division has issued approximately 185,000 refunds (by direct deposit 
and paper check), essentially the same amount as last year at this time.  
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rhode Island Division of Taxation refunds 
 LAST FILING SEASON* CURRENT FILING SEASON*  

Total refund amount $ $  104,321,464.18   $  112,120,686.68 +7.5% 

Number of refunds 185,584 185,205 -0.2% 

Average refund  amount $ $  562.13 $  605.39 +7.7% 
 

* Refunds (before interest and offsets) are for current year returns only, so they are refunds for tax year 2017 issued in early 2018, and 

refunds for tax year 2018 issued in early 2019. Measuring periods are for filing seasons up to March 2, 2018, and March 1, 2019. Some 

numbers are rounded. 
 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://www.ri.gov/taxation/refund/
https://www.ri.gov/taxation/refund/
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Most returns are e-filed 
 
Approximately 94 percent of the Rhode Island personal income tax returns filed so far this 
season have been filed electronically. 
 
The Division of Taxation urges all taxpayers and tax preparers to file electronically. E-filing is 
faster, results in fewer errors, and generates refunds more quickly. Furthermore, e-filing is the 
only way a taxpayer can receive a Rhode Island personal income tax refund by direct deposit. 
(Paper filers must receive refunds by check.) Also, for paid preparers of returns, e-filing is 
mandated by statute and regulation. 
 
Of the 276,996 personal income tax returns (resident and nonresident returns) filed so far this 
season, about 94 percent were e-filed. Last year at this time, of the 281,750 returns (resident 
and nonresident) that were filed, 94 percent were e-filed. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Reminder about tax treatment for Wavemaker awards 
 
The “Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Fellowship” program is aimed at graduates working at jobs 
in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and certain design fields. Applicants selected 
as Wavemaker Fellows may receive an annual award to help defray the cost of student loan 
repayments. The award can reach as high as $6,000 per year for up to four years, and may be 
issued as a refund, a tax credit certificate, or a 
combination of the two. 
 
If you meet all of the program’s requirements and 
receive an award under the Wavemaker program, the 
Division of Taxation reports the amount of the award as 
a “taxable grant” in Box 6 of Form 1099-G. 
 
Assuming that the amount of the award you received is included in your federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI), it will be included in your income as a starting point for computing your Rhode 
Island personal income tax.  
 
However, if you receive your Wavemaker award in the form of a refund, it is not taxable for Rhode 
Island purposes. So treat your Wavemaker Fellowship income attributable to your refund as a 
modification decreasing your federal adjusted gross income for Rhode Island purposes. Do this 
by entering your Wavemaker Fellowship income on Schedule M of your Form RI-1040, on line 
1n, “Tax Credit income reported on Federal return exempt for Rhode Island purposes....” 

 

Filing season statistics at a glance 
 LAST FILING SEASON* CURRENT FILING SEASON* 

Number of e-filed returns 265,070 259,776 

Number of paper returns 16,680 17,220 

Total returns filed 281,750 276,996 
 

* “Current filing season” means Rhode Island personal income tax returns for any tax year filed from January 

1, 2019, through March 7, 2019. “Last filing season” means Rhode Island personal income tax returns for any 

tax year filed from January 1, 2018, through March 7, 2018. 

https://wavemaker.commerceri.com/
https://wavemaker.commerceri.com/
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Free File reminder 
 

If you can’t afford a paid preparer, one option is to prepare and file your federal and Rhode Island 
personal income tax returns online at no charge. The free service is made possible from Free 
File, which is a partnership between the Internal Revenue Service, the Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation, a number of other states, and the Free File Alliance. 
 

The Free File Alliance is a group of 
industry-leading private-sector tax 
preparation companies that have 
agreed to provide free commercial 
online tax preparation and electronic 
filing. The Division of Taxation 
website includes a listing of Free File 
offerings. To view, click here. 
 

The offerings include links to the Free File partners’ websites. Please read the information on 
those web sites carefully before you begin the filing process. (If you do not meet the qualifications 
for Free File, you may be charged a fee for filing your taxes electronically.) 
 

➢ Don’t forget that April 15, 2019, is the deadline for filing Rhode Island personal income tax 
returns and making personal income tax payments related to the 2018 tax year. 

 
 

Farmers and Fishermen 
 

The Internal Revenue Service recently announced that it will waive the tax-related penalty for any 
qualifying farmer or fisherman who files his or her 2018 federal income tax return and pays any 
tax due on or before April 15, 2019. 
 
The IRS said it is providing the penalty relief because, due to certain rule changes, many farmers 
and fishermen may have had difficulty accurately determining their tax liability by the March 1, 
2019, deadline that usually applies to them.  
 

➢ For tax year 2018, an individual who received at least two-thirds of his or her total gross 
income from farming or fishing during either 2017 or 2018 qualifies as a “farmer” or 
“fisherman” for federal tax purposes. Qualifying farmers and fishermen who did not make 
the required estimated tax installment payment by January 15, 2019, are not subject to 
an addition to tax for failing to pay estimated income tax if they filed their returns and 
paid the full amount of tax reported on the return by March 1, 2019. 

 

If you were unable to file your Rhode Island return and pay the tax due by the usual deadline, but 
file and pay on or before April 15, 2019, will you be eligible for penalty relief from the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation? The Division will make the determination on a case-by-case basis. To 
request penalty relief in such circumstances, write a letter to: 
 

Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
Attn: Farmer/Fisherman Penalty Relief 

Personal Income Tax 
One Capitol Hill, 1st Floor 
Providence, R.I. 02908 

 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/efile.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/efile.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/efile.php
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-waives-estimated-tax-penalty-for-farmers-fishermen-who-file-returns-and-pay-tax-by-april-15
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/efile.php
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Tax break on income from 401(k) plans, Pensions, Annuities 
 

The Division of Taxation has posted an updated version of its guide to the personal income tax 
modification involving income from 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, profit-sharing plans, private-sector 
pensions, government pensions, military retirement 
pay, annuities, and other such sources. 
 
The 27-page guide is intended as an aid to 
taxpayers and tax preparers during the 2019 tax-
filing season, covering tax year 2018 returns. The 
guide can also be used for future tax-filing seasons. 
For more information, click here. 
 
 
 

Preparer Q&A: Reminder notice 
 

Q: My client has a balance due on her Rhode Island personal income tax for 2018. She 
wants me to e-file her return now, but arrange things so that payment from her bank 
account to the Division of Taxation won’t be made until April 15, or a few days before that 
date. Will the Division mail her a Notice in the meantime? 
 
A: Yes. Although the Notice is titled “Notice of Deficiency”, it is really being used by us to 
provide a reminder to the taxpayer that she has a balance due for 2018; she has until 
April 15, 2019, to pay that balance; and if she fails to pay by the deadline, she will be 
subject to interest and penalty. It is also a reminder that if she has arranged to make 
payment via automatic withdrawal on a certain date, we will make the withdrawal on that 
date. Please consider telling your client that if she receives the Notice from us, it is not a 
bill; it is simply a reminder. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation office is located at One Capitol Hill in Providence, R.I., diagonally across from 

the Smith Street entrance to the State House, and is open to the public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. 

For more information, contact the Division of Taxation at (401) 574-8829 or see http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2019_04.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact
http://www.tax.ri.gov/notice/Pub._2019_01_Guide_to_tax_break_on_pension_income_02_07_19.pdf

