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New law requires remote sellers to collect and remit sales and use tax 
 

New law also applies to marketplace facilitators and referrers 
 

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today issued a reminder that, under 
recently enacted legislation, remote sellers, marketplace facilitators, and referrers will be required 
to register with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation and collect and remit Rhode Island sales 
and use tax, effective July 1, 2019. 
 
The requirement applies to remote sellers with no physical presence in Rhode Island who sell 
products/services into Rhode Island, marketplace facilitators with no physical presence in Rhode 
Island who facilitate the sale of products/services into Rhode Island, and referrers with no physical 
presence in Rhode Island who refer the sale of products/services into Rhode Island, if: 
 

▪ The remote seller, marketplace 
facilitator, or referrer in calendar year 
2018 had gross revenue1 from sales 
into Rhode Island of $100,000 or 
more, or  
 

▪ The remote seller, marketplace 
facilitator, or referrer in calendar year 
2018 had sales into Rhode Island in 
200 or more separate transactions. 

 
The following answers to frequently asked 
questions (FAQs) provide some additional 
information: 
 
 
Q: One requirement of the new law is to register with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
How does a taxpayer register with the Division? 
 
You may register with the Division online, or register by completing and submitting the Business 
Application and Registration (BAR) form, or register online through the Streamlined Sales and 
Use Tax Governing Board website. (The Streamlined option lets a remote seller register with any 
or all of 24 Streamlined member states, including Rhode Island.) 

                                                           
1 “Gross revenue” for this purpose means gross revenue from the sale of  tangible personal property, prewritten computer 

software delivered  electronically or  by  load  and  leave,  vendor- hosted  prewritten  computer software,  and/or 

taxable  services  delivered  into  Rhode Island  that equaled or exceeded $100,000 in the previous calendar year. 
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Key provisions of Rhode Island’s new law 

involving remote sellers, marketplace 

facilitators, and referrers take effect July 1, 

2019. 

 

For more information, see the legislation as 

enacted: House Bill 5278A and Senate Bill 

251A. (They are identical bills and were 

both signed into law.)  

https://www.ri.gov/taxation/BAR/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2017/Misc/TX_BAR_092017.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2017/Misc/TX_BAR_092017.pdf
https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/for-businesses/registration
https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/for-businesses/registration
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/HouseText19/H5278A.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/SenateText19/S0251A.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/SenateText19/S0251A.pdf
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Q: Once a taxpayer registers, how does the taxpayer file and submit Rhode Island sales 
and use tax? 
 
Once you are registered with the Division of Taxation, you may pay online: When you pay online, 
your payment represents your return. Or you may file and pay using Rhode Island sales and use 
tax coupons. (Blank forms are on the Division’s website.)  
 
Alternatively, you may register with Rhode Island (and other states that are members of the 
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement) 
through the Streamlined website; if you use 
a certified service provider (CSP) through 
Streamlined, the CSP will handle filings and 
payments for you. (Depending on the 
circumstances, you may not be charged for 
the CSP’s service.) 
 
 
Q: When must a taxpayer register? 
 
If a taxpayer had gross revenue of $100,000 
or more from sales into Rhode Island in 
calendar year 2018, or had 200 or more 
separate transactions involving sales into Rhode Island in calendar year 2018, the taxpayer must 
register with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation and collect and remit Rhode Island sales and 
use tax effective July 1, 2019 – for taxable sales into Rhode Island from July 1, 2019 through 
December 31, 2019.2  
  
Thereafter, the test applies on a calendar-year basis. For example: 
 

▪ If a remote seller has gross revenue of $100,000 or more from sales into Rhode Island in 
calendar year 2019, or has 200 or more separate transactions involving sales into Rhode 
Island in calendar year 2019, the remote seller must register with the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation and collect and remit Rhode Island sales and use tax effective 
January 1, 2020. 

 
 
Q: How may a taxpayer obtain additional information about Rhode Island’s new law 
involving remote sellers, marketplace facilitators, and referrers? 
 
The Division is in the process of compiling FAQs that will provide additional information. You may 
also call the Division’s Excise & Estate Tax unit at (401) 574-8955 (the line is typically staffed 
from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Eastern Time business days), or email: Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov. To 
view the legislation as enacted, click here or here. 
 
 
 
 

                                                           
22 Under Rhode Island’s August 2017 law involving non-collecting retailers and certain others, you may still have 

obligations until early 2020 for the period of January 1, 2019, through June 30, 2019.  

Rhode Island’s new law was enacted in 

response to a U.S. Supreme Court case 

decided in June 2018: South Dakota v. 

Wayfair, Inc., et al. 

 

For more information, see the Rhode Island 

legislation as enacted: House Bill 5278A and 

Senate Bill 251A. (They are identical bills and 

were both signed into law.)  

https://www.ri.gov/taxation/business/index.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php
https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/for-businesses/registration
https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/certified-service-providers/certified-service-providers-about
mailto:Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/SenateText19/S0251A.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/HouseText19/H5278A.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE44/44-18.2/INDEX.HTM
https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/17pdf/17-494_j4el.pdf
https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/17pdf/17-494_j4el.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/HouseText19/H5278A.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/SenateText19/S0251A.pdf
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Q: How does the new Rhode Island law affect a business that has a physical presence in 
Rhode Island? 
 
Like many other states, Rhode Island adopted its new law involving remote sellers, marketplace 
facilitators, and referrers in response to the U.S. Supreme Court’s June 2018 decision in South 
Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc., et al. Rhode Island’s new law creates a level playing field for local 
retailers: Remote sellers and certain other affected taxpayers must collect and remit Rhode Island 
sales and use tax on taxable sales, just as local retailers must.  
 
From a tax compliance standpoint, a business with a physical presence in Rhode Island that 
makes sales at retail must continue to be registered with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
and collect and remit Rhode Island sales and use tax. That has not changed.  
 
Note: A Rhode Island business that makes sales to customers in other states where it has no 
physical presence should check with those states to determine how those states’ laws may apply 
to them. The Streamlined Sales and Use Tax program provides businesses of all sizes with the 
ability to simultaneously obtain a license and collect and remit sales and use taxes with any or all 
of the program’s 24 member states, including Rhode Island  (see screenshot below). To learn 
more about the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax program, click here. 
 

 
 
 
 
 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation office is located at One Capitol Hill in Providence, R.I., diagonally across from 

the Smith Street entrance to the State House, and is open to the public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. 

For more information, contact the Division of Taxation at (401) 574-8829 or click here.  

https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/home
http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/
https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/home

