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Reminder: Rhode Island gasoline tax rate will remain unchanged 
 

Statutory formula takes inflation into account to determine future tax rate 
 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation reminds retailers, motorists, and 
others that the Rhode Island gasoline tax rate will remain unchanged, at 34 cents per gallon, 
effective July 1, 2021. 
 
By statute, the Division of Taxation every other year must take the measure of inflation and use 
that number to adjust the gasoline tax for the following July. Accordingly, the Division in late 2020 
determined that the percentage of increase in inflation was not enough to increase the gasoline 
tax.  
 
Thus, the Division publicly announced late last year that the tax, commonly known as the “gas 
tax”, will remain at 34 cents per gallon effective July 1, 2021. (Because there is, by statute, a lag 
between the time the measure of inflation is taken and the time the inflation-adjusted gas tax rate 
takes effect, today’s Advisory is issued as a reminder.) 
 

▪ The gas tax is set forth in Rhode Island General Laws § 31-36-7: http://webserver.rilegislature.gov//Statutes/TITLE31/31-
36/31-36-7.HTM 

 
▪ The gas tax applies to diesel and other taxable motor fuels that meet the definition of “fuels” under Rhode Island General 

Laws § 31-36-1(4): http://webserver.rilegislature.gov//Statutes/TITLE31/31-36/31-36-1.HTM 
 

▪ The next measure of inflation for Rhode Island gas tax purposes is scheduled to be taken by the Division of Taxation in the 
fall of 2022 and will apply for purposes of the gas tax beginning July 1, 2023. 
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Rhode Island gasoline tax – biennial inflation adjustment 

EFFECTIVE DATE CHANGE TAX PER GALLON 

July 1, 2021 no change 34 cents 

July 1, 2019 1-cent increase 34 cents 

July 1, 2017 no change 33 cents 

July 1, 2015 1-cent increase 33 cents 

By law, inflation formula is applied once every two years. First application of formula, for July 1, 2015, resulted in 1-cent-per-gallon increase, to 

33 cents per gallon. Second application, for July 1, 2017, resulted in no change. Third application, for July 1, 2019, resulted in a 1-cent-per-

gallon increase, to 34 cents. Fourth application, for July 1, 2021, resulted in no change. 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has normal operating hours from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more 

information, contact the Division of Taxation at (401) 574-8829 or see http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact 
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